DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the sliding member" in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 17 and 18 recites the limitation "the flexible flap" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2, 6, 7, 12-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (a)(2) as being anticipated by KR 200496191.
Regarding claim 1, KR 200496191 discloses a dispensing device comprising: a container (storage container 200, fig. 3) defining an interior storage chamber and a container opening providing access to the interior storage chamber (fig. 3); a bowl (B) supported by a moveable bowl support (distribution member 300), wherein the moveable bowl support is configured to move the bowl between a filling position aligned with the container opening (fig. 1 and 5) and a serving position in front of the container housing (fig. 2 and 5); and an actuator including a first end (top end of lever member 400) and a second end (bottom end of lever member 400), wherein the second end operates to move the moveable bowl support (bottom end of lever member 400 moves the bowl support via protrusion 312, fig. 3 and 5); wherein, when the first end of the actuator is in a first position, the moveable bowl support positions the bowl in the filling position (top end of lever member 400 is in a first position shown in fig. 1 and 5); wherein, when the first end of the actuator is in a second position, the moveable bowl support positions the bowl in the serving position (top end of lever member 400 is in a second position shown in fig. 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 2, KR 200496191 discloses comprising a locking mechanism preventing free movement of the first end out of the first position or the second position (locking jaw 311A, para. 0035).
Regarding claim 6, KR 200496191 discloses further comprising a housing defining an inner volume (housing 100), wherein the housing includes a housing opening providing a passage to the inner volume (discharge hole 121), wherein the container opening is aligned with the passage (fig. 6a).
Regarding claim 7, KR 200496191 discloses further comprising one or more tracks located below the container (sliding part 311, fig. 4), and wherein the one or more tracks includes first and second tracks located on opposing sides of the opening on the upper side of a housing bottom surface (sliding parts 311 are located on opposite sides of discharge hole 121, fig. 6b).
Regarding claim 12, KR 200496191 discloses wherein a rear bottom inner surface of the interior storage chamber slopes towards the container opening (storage container 200 bottom slopes towards the container opening, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, KR 200496191 discloses wherein a front surface of the container includes a window through which a portion of the interior storage chamber can be seen (through-hole 110A, para. 0025, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, KR 200496191 discloses wherein the housing includes a sealable lid providing access to the interior storage chamber (cover 101, para. 0020, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, KR 200496191 discloses wherein the bowl (B) is removable from the bowl support (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, KR 200496191 discloses a dispensing device comprising: a housing (housing 100); a storage chamber located within the housing (storage container 200), the storage chamber including an opening (discharge hole 210, fig. 3); a bowl (B) supported by a moveable bowl support (distribution member 300, fig. 2); and an actuator (lever member 400) operable to move the moveable bowl support between a filling position (fig. 1 and 5) and a serving position (fig. 2 and 5); and wherein initiating movement of the actuator between the filling position and the serving position requires a first force to be applied along a first vector followed by a second force applied along a second vector (para. 0046).
Regarding claim 19, see claim 15 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 200496191 in view of Terenzi (US 5794560).
Regarding claim 8, KR 200496191 discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach a wall surrounding a portion of the container opening below a bottom surface of the container. However, Terenzi teaches a wall surrounding a portion of the container opening below a bottom surface of the container (bottom portion of 36 extending below base support 32, fig. 7A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify KR 200496191 system with an opening as taught by Terenzi to guide feed into a bowl positioned below the feeder to prevent feed from falling outside of the bowl.
Regarding claim 9, KR 200496191 as modified by Terenzi discloses the invention substantially as claimed and Terenzi further teaches wherein a first portion of the wall is located within the passage and a second portion of the wall is located below the bottom surface of the housing (reducer 36 is positioned within hopper 26 feed outlet, fig. 6 and 7A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 10 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/EBONY E EVANS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647