DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because "In the start of the art, transitory signals are commonplace as a medium for transmitting computer instruction and thus, in the absence of any evidence to the contrary and give the broadest reasonable interpretation, the scope of a “computer readable medium' covers a signal per se." In order to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection, the "computer- readable medium" should be changed to "non-transitory computer- readable medium".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-10 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being described by Gluckman et al (US 12,518,798).
For claim 1, Gluckman et al teach a video recorder (e.g. figure 1, abstract: system and techniques are described for continuous video recording and event streaming), comprising:
one or more processors;
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and operable, when executed by the one or more processors (e.g. column 9: lines 30-33: software executed by one or more processors of the camera device 120 and figure 4 shows camera device 120 includes encoder 132), to cause the video recorder to:
select, based at least in part on one or more of a usage pattern of requesting video from a camera or a detected content of a video from the camera (e.g. column 16, lines 17-28: The encoder 132 may modify the GoP size based on the amount of detected motion (block 404). In general, if little to no motion is occurring and the scene is relatively static, the GoP size may be increased. Conversely, if there is a lot of motion in the scene, the GoP size may be reduced) or an access control event in an area associated with the camera, one or more encoding parameter values for capturing the video using the camera;
configure the camera to provide a video stream using the one or more encoding parameter values (e.g. figure 4 shows camera 120 includes encoder 132; column 15, lines 55-60: As described, in various examples, the camera device 120 may continuously and/or semi-continuously record and/or stream video data. Accordingly, camera device 120 may dynamically configure the encoder 132 according to various parameters );
receive, from the camera, the video stream encoded based on the one or more encoding parameter values (e.g. figure 4 shows camera 120 includes encoder 132; column 15, lines 55-60: As described, in various examples, the camera device 120 may continuously and/or semi-continuously record and/or stream video data. Accordingly, camera device 120 may dynamically configure the encoder 132 according to various parameters); and
provide, to a viewing device and based on a current request from the viewing device, the video stream (e.g. figure 4 shows camera 120 includes encoder 132; column 15, lines 55-60: As described, in various examples, the camera device 120 may continuously and/or semi-continuously record and/or stream video data. Accordingly, camera device 120 may dynamically configure the encoder 132 according to various parameters ).
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above.
For claims 6 and 15, Gluckman et al teach the camera to provide the video stream using the one or more encoding parameter values and at least a second video stream using other encoding parameter values, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the video recorder to receive at least the second video stream as well (e.g. column 15, lines 55-60: Accordingly, camera device 120 may dynamically configured the encoder 132 according to various parameters; column 16, lines 17-28: The encoder 132 may modify the GoP size based on the amount of detected motion (block 404). In general, if little to no motion is occurring and the scene is relatively static, the GoP size may be increased. Conversely, if there is a lot of motion in the scene, the GoP size may be reduced).
For claims 7 and 16, Gluckman et al teach detect the detected content including detecting, using object detection, one or more persons in the video (e.g. column 10, lines: 65-66: “person detection” video event).
For claims 8 and 17, Gluckman et al teach the access control event includes an access attempt by a person at an entry point (e.g. column 24, lines 56-60: Notifications representing detected video events may be sent to a companion application of the camera device 120. Notifications may be described using text stating the type of video event (e.g., “Answered doorbell button press,” “Person detected,” etc.)) .
For claims 9 and 18, Gluckman et al teach select the one or more encoding parameter values further based on determining an identity of the person (e.g. column 24, lines 56-60: Notifications representing detected video events may be sent to a companion application of the camera device 120. Notifications may be described using text stating the type of video event (e.g., “Answered doorbell button press,” “Person detected,” etc.) and column 16, lines 17-28: The encoder 132 may modify the GoP size based on the amount of detected motion (block 404)) .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 11-14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bendapudi et al (US 2023/0108645) teach, see paragraph 112: the video encoder system automatically estimates the level of motion in video content and changes encoding parameters dynamically, so that either smooth playback or crisp playback is favored depending on the video content.
Ardo et al (US 2018/0191952) teach, see paragraph 21: the processor may be further configured to determine to instruct the camera to adjust an encoding parameter for an encoding processing unit associated with the low interest area, and the instruction to decrease the bit rate of the video stream in the low interest area may include an instruction to adjust the encoding parameter for the encoding processing unit associated with the low interest area.
Email: daquan.zhao1@uspto.gov.
Phone: (571)270-1119
/DAQUAN ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484