DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Said et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0243442 A1).
Regarding claim 20, the recitation of “a non-transitory computer readable-medium storing a video media bitstream that is encoded by an encoding method …” is a product by process claim limitation, where the product is the bitstream and the process is the method. MPEP 2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is a storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method). The structure includes the data in compressed form manipulated by the steps. “To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP 21105.(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable storage medium merely serves as support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP 2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 20, merely serves as support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and the storage medium. Therefore, the bitstream which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP 2111.05 (III). Thus, the scope of claim 20 is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Said et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0243442 A1), where disclosed is “Storage device 112 may include any of a variety of distributed or locally accessed data storage media such as a hard drive, Blu-ray discs, DVDs, CD-ROMs, flash memory, volatile or non-volatile memory, or any other suitable digital storage media for storing encoded video data”, [0035-0036].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,6, 8-10, 14, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Said et al.., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0243442 A1) in view of Wang et al., WO 2023/086330 A1.
As per claim 1, Said teachers a method for video decoding, comprising: receiving a bitstream that comprises coded information of a current block (fig. 9); determining a plurality of hypotheses for a decoder side quantization shifting offset prediction, a hypothesis in the plurality of hypotheses corresponding to potential quantization shifting offset setting in a transform domain of the current block ([0002], [0102], [0117-0118], [0135], [0143], [0145-0146] and figs. 4, 6, 9, 12; “..The method includes determining a set of quantization offset parameters for a group of scaled transform coefficients for a block of video data based on side information associated with the block of video data”); determining one or more quantization shifting offsets for transform coefficients in the transform domain based on the specific hypothesis ([0142]; “.. quantization offsets in an M-dimensional QOV are indexed from 0 to M−1. Thus, video encoder 200 may select a quantization offset from a QOV using the equation v.sub.n=V[min(M−1, n)], where v.sub.n is the quantization offset that is the n-th element of the QOV, if n is less than M−1.”) reconstructing the transform coefficients based on the one or more quantization shifting offsets (figs. 4, 6 and 8-9); calculating residuals in a spatial domain of the current block based on the transform coefficients in the transform domain of the current block based on the transform coefficients in the transform domain (fig. 8-9); and reconstructing the current block according to the residuals (fig.9). Said does not explicitly disclose calculating cost values respectively associated with the plurality of hypotheses; selecting a specific hypothesis from the plurality of hypotheses according to the cost values.
However, Wang teaches the known concept of calculating cost values respectively associated with the plurality of hypotheses (fig. 21-22; el. 2116, 2210), and selecting a specific hypothesis from the plurality of hypotheses according to the cost value (fig. 21-22; el. 2116, 2210).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Xiu with Said for the benefit of improving coding efficiency.
As per claim 6, Said (modified by Wang) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Said teaches a hypothesis that sets a value to at least a quantization shifting offset for a non-zero transform coefficient (fig. 6 and [0156]).
As per claim 8, Although Said (modified by Wang) discloses selecting the video encoder may therefore quantize each group of transform coefficient based on the quantization offset parameters associated with the group of transform coefficients, with performance improvement based on the selection of best offset, [0006], Said does not explicitly disclose selecting the specific hypothesis that has a lowest cost.
However, Wang teaches selecting the specific hypothesis that has the lowest cost value (figs. 21-22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Xiu with Said for the benefit of providing improved coding efficiency.
As per claim 9, Said (modified by Wang) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. Said does not explicitly disclose calculating a cost value associated with a hypothesis according to reconstructed pixels in the current block due to the hypothesis and one or more neighboring reconstructed blocks.
However, Wang teaches calculating a cost value associated with a hypothesis according to reconstructed pixels in the current block due to the hypothesis and one or more neighboring reconstructed blocks ([00144], [00173-00175], [00202] and fig. 16A-B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang with Said for the benefit of improved coding efficiency.
As per claim 10, Said (modified by Wang) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 9. Said does not explicitly disclose calculating the cost value that measures a discontinuity between the reconstructed pixels in the current block due to the hypothesis and the one or more neighboring reconstructed blocks.
However, Wang teaches calculating the cost value that measures a discontinuity between the reconstructed pixels in the current block due to the hypothesis and the one or more neighboring reconstructed blocks ([00122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang with Said for the benefit of improved coding efficiency.
As per claim 14, which is the corresponding method for video encoding with the limitations of the method for video decoding, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here.
As per claim 19, which is the corresponding method for encoding with the limitations of the method for video decoding, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim6 also applies here.
As per claim 20, which is the corresponding non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a video media bitstream that is encoded by an encoding method, with the limitations of the method for video decoding as recited in claim. Thus, the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7, 11-13 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0274583 A1), “Residual Coefficients Sign Prediction With Adaptive Cost Function For Intra Prediction Modes”
Xiu et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2024041375 A1), “Sign Prediction For Block-Based Video Coding”
Lei et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0057418 A1), “Quantization Offset And Cost Factor Modification For Video Encoding”
Contact
JESSICA PRINCE
Examiner
Art Unit 2486
/JESSICA M PRINCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486