DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement of Amendment
The following office action is in response to the applicant’s amendment filed on 07/20/2026. Claims 1, 3-4, 7, and 9-12 are pending. Claims 2, 5-6, and 8 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-4, 7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the reasons stated in the Response to Arguments and 35 U.S.C. 103 sections below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 6, filed 07/20/2026 with respect to the objections to the specification and claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections to the specification and claims in the non-final rejection of 04/23/2026 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 6-7, filed 07/20/2026 with respect to the interpretation of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The examiner acknowledges that the claims have been amended such that “information processing unit” is now “processor” and “transmission and reception unit” is now “controller”.
The interpretation of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) in the non-final rejection of 04/23/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 7-8, filed 07/20/2026 with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
The Applicant notes that, in Tanaka, a feature value is calculated from features of a reception signal processed through phasing addition to physically identify a blood flow and a clutter with high accuracy, and a signal reduction map based on the calculated feature value is applied to I/Q data obtained from the reception signal, to thereby reduce a clutter component in the I/Q data.
In Mo, statistical information (mean and variance) of the power and frequency of a clutter component included in I/Q data is measured in real time for each data group (packet) on which FFT is performed, and a wall filter cutoff frequency is adaptively controlled on a packet-by-packet basis.
On the other hand, in amended claim 1, according to an operation performed while the B- mode image is displayed, a blood flow evaluation area and a clutter evaluation area are set in a region where the B-mode image data is generated, pixel evaluation values are respectively obtained for the blood evaluation area and the clutter evaluation area based on pixels contained in the areas, and at least one of a transmission and reception condition in the transmission reception unit or a characteristic of the wall filter processing is set based on the pixel evaluation values. Also, in amended claim 9, an observation site is specified according to an operation of setting each control parameter for a corresponding one of functions of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus, and a transmission and reception condition in the transmission and reception unit and a characteristic of the wall filter processing are set according to the specified observation site.
Applicant contends that at least the feature of setting operation of an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus based on the areas being set according to an operation performed while the B-mode image is displayed in accordance with amended claim 1 is neither disclosed nor suggested in the cited references. Further, Applicant contends that at least the feature of setting operation of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus based on an observation site which is specified according to an operation of setting each control parameter for a corresponding one of functions of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus in accordance with amended claim 9 is neither disclosed nor suggested in the cited references.
The Applicant suggests that Tanaka describes that the clutter component in the reception signal is reduced based on the feature value of the reception signal. Applicant contends that, in Tanaka, the feature value is not a value being set according to user operation, but is obtained from the reception signal.
Additionally, the Applicant suggests that Mo describes that statistical information of the power and frequency of a clutter component included in I/Q data is measured in real time for each packet on which FFT is performed, and a wall filter cutoff frequency is adaptively controlled on a packet-by-packet basis. However, Applicant contends that, in Mo, the statistical information is not values being set according to user operation, but is obtained from the reception signal.
Finally, the Applicant contends that neither Tanaka nor Mo describes any processing corresponding to the processing of obtaining a pixel evaluation value according to user operation. As such, Applicant contends that the features of the amended claims would not have been obvious from the cited references.
The examiner respectfully acknowledges that claim 1 has been amended to require, according to an operation performed while the B- mode image is displayed, set a blood flow evaluation area and a clutter evaluation area in a region where the B-mode image data is generated. Furthermore, pixel evaluation values are respectively obtained for the blood evaluation area and the clutter evaluation area based on pixels contained in the areas, and at least one of a transmission and reception condition in the transmission reception unit or a characteristic of the wall filter processing is set based on the pixel evaluation values. Also, in amended claim 9, an observation site is specified according to an operation of setting each control parameter for a corresponding one of functions of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus, and a transmission and reception condition in the transmission and reception unit and a characteristic of the wall filter processing are set according to the specified observation site.
However, the examiner disagrees that at least the feature of setting operation of an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus based on the areas being set according to an operation performed while the B-mode image is displayed in accordance with amended claim 1 is neither disclosed nor suggested in the cited references of Tanaka and Mo.
Specifically, the examiner notes that Tanaka discloses “In the clutter reduction processing, as illustrated in FIG. 4, first, the feature detecting unit 251 detects, based on the signals or the data, a feature for determining a blood flow and a clutter (S41). The feature may be a single feature, or may be detected for each of a plurality of items (for example, an amplitude, a velocity, a variance, Or a standard deviation). The determining unit 252 determines whether one or each of a plurality of features is a clutter (S42), and the reduction map generating unit 253 combines the features to generate a map of clutter estimated values based on a clutter determination result (S43). The map is a map representing the clutter estimated values at respective positions where the packet signal is obtained, and may take a binary value of 1 or 0 regarding whether the packet signal is a clutter, or may take an intermediate value between 0 and 1 when the determination includes a gray zone” [0040]; “In order to reduce a body motion signal, the determining unit 252 generates a reduction filter 500 in which a value for distinguishing the organ parenchyma and the clutter is set as a cutoff value” [0047]; “As the cutoff value, a threshold value determined based on the histogram can be used. The width x.sub.w and the offset “a” can be set to predetermined values in advance based on an experience value, a simulation using a phantom, or the like. However, since characteristics of the reduction filter 500 differ depending on a setting method thereof, the width x.sub.w and the offset “a” may be set according to characteristics desired by a user […] The characteristics may be represented as, for example, “Low”, “Mid”, or “High” according to values of the width x.sub.w and the offset “a”, and the user may select a desired characteristic via the display unit 14” [0049]; “Next, the reduction map generating unit 253 generates a final clutter reduction map using reduction filters generated for the plurality of features, here, the IQ standard deviation and the velocity variance value. A final clutter reduction map 700 has, for example, coefficients from 0 to 1 at the respective positions, and may be obtained by simply multiplying a plurality of reduction filters 700A and 700B as illustrated in FIG. 7, or may be obtained by weighting” [0052].
In this case, the clutter reduction maps are displayed on the B-mode image (see [0032]: “The reduction map to be generated is determined as a map of a space corresponding to an image space of the B-mode image”). As shown in FIG. 7, the rectangles represented in gray represent clutter evaluation areas, while the region displayed in black represents the blood flow evaluation area (i.e. a blood vessel). Therefore, the evaluation area setting processing includes processing of setting the blood flow evaluation area and the clutter evaluation area according to an operation (see [0047], [0049], FIG. 6) performed while the B-mode image is displayed.
Furthermore, since the feature detecting unit 251 detects a feature for determining a blood flow and a clutter (i.e. the feature for determining blood flow representing a blood flow evaluation area (see black areas in FIG. 7) and the feature for determining clutter being a clutter evaluation area (see gray areas in FIG. 7)) and the determining unit 252 identifies whether one or each of a plurality of features is a clutter such that a map (i.e. reduction map) of estimated values is generated, the feature detecting unit 251 in combination with the determining unit 252 (i.e. each present within the clutter processing unit 25 of the signal processing unit 20) executes evaluation area setting processing of setting a blood flow evaluation area (i.e. black areas in FIG. 7 corresponding to blood flow) and a clutter evaluation area (i.e. with estimated values, see [0040]) in a region where the B-mode image data is generated and according to an operation performed while the B-mode image is displayed (i.e. according to user selection of reduction map characteristics, see [0047], [0049]).
Additionally, the examiner disagrees that at least the feature of setting operation of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus based on an observation site which is specified according to an operation of setting each control parameter for a corresponding one of functions of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus in accordance with amended claim 9 is neither disclosed nor suggested in the cited references of Tanaka and Mo.
The examiner respectfully asserts that since a user may set characteristics of the reduction filter 500 (i.e. used to perform clutter reduction) to low, mid or high (see [0047], [0049], FIG. 6), thereby enabling the feature detecting unit 251 to detect, based on the signals or the data, a feature for determining a blood flow and a clutter, the processor (i.e. clutter processing unit 25 of the signal processing unit 20) is configured to execute identifying an observation site according to an operation in which each control parameter (i.e. characteristics of the reduction filter, for example) is set for a corresponding one of functions of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus.
Additionally, the examiner respectfully disagrees that, in Tanaka, the feature value is not a value being set according to user operation, but is obtained from the reception signal. Specifically, the examiner refers the applicant to paragraphs [0047] and [0049] in which the user selects characteristics of the reduction filter for pixel evaluation (i.e. filtering to determine the black and gray areas shown in FIG. 7 of Tanaka).
The examiner respectfully agrees that Mo describes that statistical information of the power and frequency of a clutter component included in I/Q data is measured in real time for each packet on which FFT is performed, and a wall filter cutoff frequency is adaptively controlled on a packet-by-packet basis. However, Applicant contends that, in Mo, the statistical information is not values being set according to user operation, but is obtained from the reception signal.
Therefore, the examiner respectfully disagrees that neither Tanaka nor Mo describes any processing corresponding to the processing of obtaining a pixel evaluation value according to user operation. Specifically, Tanaka obtains a pixel evaluation value (i.e. cutoff value for the reduction filter 500 (see [0047]), selected by the user (see [0049]) and used by the determining unit 252 to distinguish clutter and generate a reduction map (see [0040], FIG. 7).
Thus, the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 in the non-final rejection of 04/23/2026 is respectfully maintained. The examiner notes that the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection has been updated to reflect the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. US 2022/0413136 A1 “Tanaka” and further in view of Mo et al. US 6,296,612 B1 “Mo”.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Tanaka teaches “An ultrasound diagnostic apparatus comprising:” (Claims 1 and 9) (“As illustrated in FIG. 1, an ultrasound imaging device 1 according to the present embodiment includes: an ultrasonic signal generator 12 and an ultrasonic wave reception unit 13, as an ultrasonic wave transmission and reception unit, to which an ultrasonic probe 2 is connected; a signal processing unit 20 that executes various types of signal processing and calculation on an ultrasonic signal (a reception signal) received by the ultrasonic wave reception unit 13; and a control unit 10 that controls operations of the ultrasonic wave transmission and reception unit and the signal processing unit 20. The ultrasound imaging device 1 may further includes an input unit 11 for inputting information, a condition, a command, and the like, which are necessary for the signal processing and control, to the control unit 10 and a display unit 14 that displays an ultrasonic image or the like being a processing result of the signal processing unit 20” [0023]. Therefore, FIG. 1 displays an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus.);
“a controller that transmits an ultrasonic wave to a subject through an ultrasound probe and receives a reflected wave reflected by the subject through the ultrasound probe” (Claims 1 and 9) (See ultrasonic signal generator 12, ultrasonic wave reception unit 13 and ultrasonic probe 2 in [0023] and “A function of the ultrasonic wave transmission and reception unit is the same as that of a general ultrasound imaging device. The ultrasonic signal generator 12 generates an ultrasonic pulse having a predetermined frequency (a transmission frequency) and transmits the ultrasonic pulse to each element of the ultrasonic probe 2 at a predetermined timing. The ultrasonic wave reception unit 13 includes a phasing unit and an A/D converting circuit (which are not illustrated) and a reception data memory, and executes phasing for each frame, stores a reception signal after A/D conversion in the reception data memory, and transmits the reception signal to the signal processing unit 20” [0025]. Therefore, the ultrasonic signal generator 12 in combination with the ultrasonic wave reception unit 13 represents a transmission and reception unit that transmits an ultrasonic wave to a subject (i.e. see subject 3 in FIG. 1) through an ultrasound probe (i.e. ultrasonic probe 2 in FIG. 1) and receives a reflected wave reflected by the subject through the ultrasound probe.); and
“a processor configured to execute” (Claims 1 and 9) (“The signal processing unit 20 includes: a tomogram forming unit 21; a Doppler velocity calculating unit 22; a display image forming unit 23; a memory 24; and a clutter processing unit 25 that executes processing for clutter reduction on the reception signal [0026]. In this case, the signal processing unit 20 represents an information processing unit which is configured to execute specific functions.);
“B-mode image generation processing of generating B-mode image data based on a reception signal generated by the controller” (Claim 1); “display processing of displaying a B-mode image based on the B-mode image data on a display device” (Claim 1) (“Briefly, the tomogram forming unit 21 receives a reception signal for each frame from the reception data memory of the ultrasonic wave reception unit 13, and sends the reception signal as a packet signal to the display image forming unit 23. […] The display image forming unit 23 includes a digital scan converter (DSC), and generates, by using a digital signal from the tomogram forming unit 21, a tomogram (a B-mode image) to be displayed on the display unit 14” [0026]. As shown in FIG. 1, the tomogram forming unit 21 and the display image forming unit 23 are included within the signal processing unit 20 (i.e. information processing unit). Therefore, since the tomogram forming unit 21 receives a reception signal and sends it to the display image forming unit 23 such that a tomogram (i.e. a B-mode image) is generated for display, the information processing unit executes B-mode image generation processing of generating B-mode image data based on a reception signal generated by the transmission and reception unit (i.e. ultrasonic signal generator 12 in combination with the ultrasonic wave reception unit).);
“evaluation area setting processing of, according to an operation performed while the B-mode image is displayed, setting a blood flow evaluation area and a clutter evaluation area in a region where the B-mode image data is generated” (Claim 1); “identifying an observation site according to an operation in which each control parameter is set for a corresponding one of functions of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus” (Claim 9) (“In the clutter reduction processing, as illustrated in FIG. 4, first, the feature detecting unit 251 detects, based on the signals or the data, a feature for determining a blood flow and a clutter (S41). The feature may be a single feature, or may be detected for each of a plurality of items (for example, an amplitude, a velocity, a variance, Or a standard deviation). The determining unit 252 determines whether one or each of a plurality of features is a clutter (S42), and the reduction map generating unit 253 combines the features to generate a map of clutter estimated values based on a clutter determination result (S43). The map is a map representing the clutter estimated values at respective positions where the packet signal is obtained, and may take a binary value of 1 or 0 regarding whether the packet signal is a clutter, or may take an intermediate value between 0 and 1 when the determination includes a gray zone” [0040]; “In order to reduce a body motion signal, the determining unit 252 generates a reduction filter 500 in which a value for distinguishing the organ parenchyma and the clutter is set as a cutoff value” [0047]; “As the cutoff value, a threshold value determined based on the histogram can be used. The width x.sub.w and the offset “a” can be set to predetermined values in advance based on an experience value, a simulation using a phantom, or the like. However, since characteristics of the reduction filter 500 differ depending on a setting method thereof, the width x.sub.w and the offset “a” may be set according to characteristics desired by a user […] The characteristics may be represented as, for example, “Low”, “Mid”, or “High” according to values of the width x.sub.w and the offset “a”, and the user may select a desired characteristic via the display unit 14” [0049]; “Next, the reduction map generating unit 253 generates a final clutter reduction map using reduction filters generated for the plurality of features, here, the IQ standard deviation and the velocity variance value. A final clutter reduction map 700 has, for example, coefficients from 0 to 1 at the respective positions, and may be obtained by simply multiplying a plurality of reduction filters 700A and 700B as illustrated in FIG. 7, or may be obtained by weighting” [0052].
In this case, the clutter reduction maps are displayed on the B-mode image (see [0032]: “The reduction map to be generated is determined as a map of a space corresponding to an image space of the B-mode image”). As shown in FIG. 7, the rectangles represented in gray represent clutter evaluation areas, while the region displayed in black represents the blood flow evaluation area (i.e. a blood vessel). Therefore, the evaluation area setting processing includes processing of setting the blood flow evaluation area and the clutter evaluation area according to an operation performed while the B-mode image is displayed.
Therefore, since the feature detecting unit 251 detects a feature for determining a blood flow and a clutter (i.e. the feature for determining blood flow representing a blood flow evaluation area (see black areas in FIG. 7) and the feature for determining clutter being a clutter evaluation area (see gray areas in FIG. 7)) and the determining unit 252 identifies whether one or each of a plurality of features is a clutter such that a map (i.e. reduction map) of estimated values is generated, the feature detecting unit 251 in combination with the determining unit 252 (i.e. each present within the clutter processing unit 25 of the signal processing unit 20) executes evaluation area setting processing of setting a blood flow evaluation area (i.e. black areas in FIG. 7 corresponding to blood flow) and a clutter evaluation area (i.e. with estimated values, see [0040]) in a region where the B-mode image data is generated and according to an operation (see [0047], [0049]) performed while the B-mode image is displayed.
Additionally, since a user may set characteristics of the reduction filter 500 (i.e. used to perform clutter reduction) to low, mid or high (see [0047], [0049], FIG. 6), thereby enabling the feature detecting unit 251 to detect, based on the signals or the data, a feature for determining a blood flow and a clutter, the processor (i.e. clutter processing unit 25 of the signal processing unit 20) is configured to execute identifying an observation site (i.e. black region in FIG. 7, for example) according to an operation in which each control parameter (i.e. characteristics of the reduction filter, for example) is set for a corresponding one of functions (i.e. reduction filters generated for the plurality of features [0052]) of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus.);
“wall filter processing on a Doppler reception signal generated by the controller” (Claims 1 and 9) (“The filter unit 255 includes a low-pass filter such as a known wall filter or MIT filter, and removes a clutter in the data processed by the clutter reducing unit 254. The processing by the filter unit 255 may be executed at a stage before the feature detecting unit 251” [0033]. As shown in FIG. 1, the Doppler velocity calculating unit 22 outputs to both the memory 24 and the clutter processing unit 25. Therefore, The Doppler velocity calculating unit 22 outputs Doppler reception signals to the memory 24 and clutter processing unit 25. Furthermore, FIG. 2 shows that the filter unit 255 (i.e. which includes a low-pass filter such as a wall filter) is included within the clutter processing unit. Therefore, the information processing unit (i.e. signal processing unit 20) executes wall filter processing on a Doppler reception signal generated by the transmission and reception unit (i.e. ultrasonic signal generator 12 in combination with the ultrasonic wave reception unit 13).);
“color Doppler processing of generating color mapping data for the B-mode image data based on the Doppler reception signal subjected to the wall filter processing” (Claims 1 and 9) (“The display image forming unit 23 generates a color Doppler image by superimposing information relating to the blood flow velocity calculated by the Doppler velocity calculating unit on the B-mode tomogram” [0027]. Therefore, the information processing unit executes color Doppler processing of generating color mapping data for the B-mode image data based on the Doppler reception signal subjected to the wall filter processing.),
“evaluation processing of obtaining a pixel evaluation value for each of the blood flow evaluation area and the clutter evaluation area, the pixel evaluation value indicating a tendency of size of pixels included in the area for which the pixel evaluation value is required” (Claim 1) (See [0040], [0047] and [0052] above and “The calculated blood flow velocity information is input to the display image forming unit 23 as color Doppler information to which different colors are added depending on an angle with respect to a direction of a transmitted ultrasonic signal, is converted into a color Doppler image superimposed on the tomogram in the display image forming unit 23, and is displayed on the display unit 14 (S7)” [0042]. In this case, since the feature detecting unit 251 detects a feature for determining blood flow (i.e. in blood flow evaluation area) and clutter (i.e. clutter evaluation area), and the feature may be a plurality of items including amplitude, velocity, variance or standard deviation (See [0040], [0052]), the determining unit 252 generates a reduction filter (i.e. corresponding to a user input, see [0049]) with a value for distinguishing the organ parenchyma and the clutter (i.e. cutoff value, see [0047]) and calculated blood flow velocity information is converted into a color Doppler image superimposed on the tomogram (see [0042], and FIG. 7), the processor (i.e. signal processor 20) executes evaluation processing of obtaining a pixel evaluation value (i.e. amplitude, velocity, variance, standard deviation, or cutoff value) for each of the blood flow evaluation area and the clutter evaluation area, the pixel evaluation value indicating a tendency of size of pixels (i.e. amplitude, velocity, variance, standard deviation, or cutoff value corresponding to the pixels) included in the area for which the pixel evaluation value is required.).
However, Tanaka does not teach that the processor executes evaluation area setting processing of setting a blood flow evaluation area and a clutter evaluation area in a region where the B-mode image data is generated, “according to an operation performed while the B-mode image is displayed” (Claim 1), “measurement condition setting processing of setting at least one of a transmission and reception condition in the controller or a characteristic of the wall filter processing according to each pixel evaluation value” (Claim 1); “identifying an observation site according to an operation in which each control parameter is set for a corresponding one of functions of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus” (Claim 9); “measurement condition processing of setting a transmission and reception condition in the controller and a characteristic of the wall filter processing according to the identified observation site” (Claim 9).
Mo is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it involves a method and an apparatus for adaptive wall filtering to remove low-frequency clutter in spectral Doppler I/Q data prior to FFT processing (see [Abstract]).
Mo teaches that the information processing unit executes “measurement condition setting processing of setting at least one of a transmission and reception condition in the controller or a characteristic of the wall filter processing according to each pixel evaluation value” (Claim 1); “measurement condition processing of setting a transmission and reception condition in the controller and a characteristic of the wall filter processing according to an observation site” (Claim 9) (“The transmitter provides a transmit ultrasound burst which is fired repeatedly at a pulse repetition frequency (PRF). The PRF is typically in the kilohertz range” [Column 3, Lines 8-10]; “Typically, the wall filter cutoff frequency is manually selected via a front-panel control key 20. Usually the wall filter cutoff frequency is increased when bright, low-frequency clutter is seen in the spectral image. Each time the wall filter cutoff setting is changed, a corresponding set of filter coefficient values are read out of the LUT 22 and loaded into the wall filters 10. To minimize transient noise, the y(n-1) and y(n-2) values for each filter stage can be assumed to be zero right after the new filter coefficient set is loaded” [Column 3, Lines 52-61]; “The present invention is an improvement over the manual wall filter cutoff frequency technique shown in FIG. 2. In accordance with the preferred embodiment of the invention, low-frequency clutter is removed in the Doppler I/Q data prior to FFT processing. As shown in FIG. 3, the I/Q data is passed through a low-pass filter (LPF) 26 whose cutoff frequency is set at the highest anticipated clutter frequency (e.g. 40% of PRF) for the current Doppler application” [Column 3, Line 62-Column 4, Line 2]; “In the first alternative, the system is pre-calibrated by trying different combinations of gain settings, recording the resulting noise values and storing those gain settings and corresponding noise values in a LUT” [Column 4, Lines 37-40]; “computing the total power of the output of said low pass filter; comparing the total power of said low pass filter output to an estimated mean system noise power in said low pass filter output; selecting filter coefficients for said wall filter which are a function of the results of comparing the total power to the mean system noise power; setting said wall filter in accordance with said selected wall filter coefficients” [Claim 18].
Therefore, since the wall filter cutoff frequency is either manually selected or set at the highest anticipated clutter frequency for the current Doppler application (i.e. each Doppler application having a specific pulse repetition frequency PRF), the system is pre-calibrated by trying different combinations of gain setting and storing those gain setting with their corresponding noise (i.e. clutter values), and the system sets the wall filter in accordance with selected wall filter coefficients (see [Claim 18]), the information processing unit executes measurement condition setting processing of setting at least one of a transmission and reception condition (i.e. PRF, see [Column 3, Lines 8-10], [Column 3, Line 62-Column 4, Line 2]) in the transmission and reception unit or a characteristic of the wall filter processing (i.e. specifically, the characteristic of the wall filter processing, such as the cutoff frequency or wall coefficients) according to each pixel evaluation value (i.e. the brightness/amplitude of the low-frequency clutter). Furthermore, the information processing unit executes measurement condition setting processing of setting a transmission and reception condition in the transmission and reception unit and a characteristic of the wall filter processing according to an observation site (i.e. its corresponding clutter, for example).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus of Tanaka such that the information processing unit executes measurement condition setting processing of setting at least one of a transmission and reception condition in the transmission and reception unit or a characteristic of the wall filter processing (i.e. setting wall filter coefficients, for example) according to each pixel evaluation value or to an observation site as disclosed in Mo in order to effectively remove clutter from B-mode images. Changing characteristics of the wall filter such as the wall filter coefficients in response to comparing the total power of said low pass filter output to an estimated mean system noise power in said low pass filter output (See Mo: Claim 18) is one of a finite number of techniques which can be used to improve the removal of clutter with a reasonable expectation of success. Additionally, setting a transmission and reception condition (i.e. such as PRF) is one of a finite number of techniques which can produce different responses within tissue and thus lead to different clutter amount within tissue with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus of Tanaka such that the information processing unit executes measurement condition setting processing of setting at least one of a transmission and reception condition in the transmission and reception unit or a characteristic of the wall filter processing (i.e. setting wall filter coefficients, for example) according to each pixel evaluation value as disclosed in Mo would yield the predictable result of adjusting wall filter settings and/or transmission and reception conditions such that it can effectively remove clutter from B-mode images.
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka in view of Mo discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Mo further teaches “wherein the measurement condition setting processing includes processing of setting at least one of the transmission and reception condition in the controller or the characteristic of the wall filter processing within a range determined according to an observation site” (See [Column 3, Line 62-Column 4, Line 2] as discussed in claim 1 above. Therefore, since the cutoff frequency of the low-pass filter (i.e. wall filter) is set at the highest anticipated clutter frequency (e.g., 40% of PRF) for the current Doppler application, the measurement condition setting processing includes processing of setting at least one of the transmission and reception condition in the controller or the characteristic of the wall filter (i.e. cutoff frequency) processing within a range determined according to an observation site (i.e. within the subject 3, see FIG. 1).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus of Tanaka such that the information processing unit executes the measurement condition setting processing including processing of setting at least one of the transmission and reception condition in the transmission and reception unit or the characteristic of the wall filter processing within a range determined according to an observation site as disclosed in Mo in order to effectively remove clutter from B-mode images. Changing characteristics of the wall filter such as the wall filter coefficients and cutoff frequency in response to comparing the total power of said low pass filter output to an estimated mean system noise power in said low pass filter output (See Mo: Claim 18) is one of a finite number of techniques which can be used to improve the removal of clutter with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus of Tanaka such that the information processing unit executes the measurement condition setting processing including processing of setting at least one of the transmission and reception condition in the transmission and reception unit or the characteristic of the wall filter processing within a range determined according to an observation site as disclosed in Mo would yield the predictable result of adjusting wall filter settings and/or transmission and reception conditions such that it can effectively remove clutter from B-mode images.
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Tanaka in view of Mo discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claims 3 and 9 above, and Tanaka further teaches “wherein the processor specifies the observation site according to a preset operation of setting each control parameter for each function of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus” (“The ultrasound imaging device 1 may further includes an input unit 11 for inputting information, a condition, a command, and the like, which are necessary for the signal processing and control, to the control unit 10 and a display unit 14 that displays an ultrasonic image or the like being a processing result of the signal processing unit 20” [0023]; “First, the ultrasonic probe 2 is brought into contact with a body surface of the subject 3, and packet transmission and reception are repeated while a tissue or an organ, which is an inspection target 30, is scanned with the ultrasonic probe 2 at a predetermined angle” [0036]. Therefore, since the input unit 11 receives information, a condition, a command and the like, and transmission and reception are repeated within an inspection target 30, the processor specifies the observation site (i.e. inspection target 30) according to a preset operation of setting each control parameter (i.e. by the control unit 10) for each function of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus.).
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka in view of Mo discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Mo further teaches “wherein the processor executes the evaluation processing a plurality of times while changing at least one of the transmission and reception condition or the characteristic of the wall filter processing” (“The reduction map generating unit 253 calculates a clutter estimated value as a ratio of estimating a signal as a clutter signal using the threshold value of the feature determined by the determining unit 252, and determines a reduction map having the clutter estimated value as a coefficient. The clutter estimated value may be determined using only one feature, and is preferably calculated by combining a plurality of features. Accordingly, as compared with the case of using one feature, an accuracy of the reduction map is improved, that is, an accuracy of identifying the clutter and the blood flow is improved” [0031]. In order for the reduction map generating unit to be able to combine a plurality of features (i.e. each of features being obtained at different times), the processor must execute the evacuation processing a plurality of times while changing at least one of the transmission and reception condition or characteristic of the wall filter processing.), and
“searches for the transmission and reception condition and the characteristic of the wall filter processing in a case where a ratio of the pixel evaluation value for the blood flow evaluation area to the pixel evaluation value for the clutter evaluation area satisfies a predetermined condition” (See [0031] above. Therefore, since the reduction map generating unit calculates a clutter estimated value as a ratio of estimating a signal as a clutter signal using the threshold value, the information processing unit searches for the transmission and reception condition and the characteristic of the wall filter processing in a case where a ratio of the pixel evaluation value for the blood flow evaluation area to the pixel evaluation value of the clutter evaluation area satisfies a predetermined condition (i.e. threshold value).); and
Mo further teaches “the measurement condition setting processing includes processing of setting at least one of the transmission and reception condition or the characteristic of the wall filter processing such that the ratio satisfies the predetermined condition” (“wherein said selection logic selects wall filter coefficients corresponding to the lowest cutoff frequency stored in said memory when said comparing means determine that the total power does not exceed the mean system noise power by at least a predetermined amount” [Claim 4]. Therefore, since the selection logic selects wall filter coefficients corresponding to the lowest cutoff frequency such that the total power does not exceed the mean system noise power by at least a predetermined amount (i.e. predetermined condition), the information processing unit executes the measurement condition setting processing includes processing of setting at least one of the transmission and reception condition or the characteristic of the wall filter (i.e. wall filter coefficient) processing such that the ratio satisfies the predetermined condition (i.e. predetermined amount).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus of Tanaka such that the information processing unit executes measurement condition setting processing of setting at least one of the transmission and reception condition or the characteristic of the wall filter processing such that the ratio satisfies the predetermined condition as disclosed in Mo in order to effectively remove clutter from B-mode images. Changing characteristics of the wall filter such as the wall filter coefficients in response to comparing the total power of said low pass filter output to an estimated mean system noise power in said low pass filter output (See Mo: Claim 18) is one of a finite number of techniques which can be used to improve the removal of clutter with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus of Tanaka such that the information processing unit executes measurement condition setting processing of setting at least one of the transmission and reception condition or the characteristic of the wall filter processing such that the ratio satisfies the predetermined condition would yield the predictable result of adjusting wall filter settings and/or transmission and reception conditions such that it can effectively remove clutter from B-mode images.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Tanaka in view of Mo discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claims 9 and 10 above, and Mo further teaches “wherein a cutoff frequency of the characteristic of the wall filter processing is set to a predetermined frequency with respect to the observation site” (“The present invention is an improvement over the manual wall filter cutoff frequency technique shown in FIG. 2. In accordance with the preferred embodiment of the invention, low-frequency clutter is removed in the Doppler I/Q data prior to FFT processing. As shown in FIG. 3, the I/Q data is passed through a low-pass filter (LPF) 26 whose cutoff frequency is set at the highest anticipated clutter frequency (e.g. 40% of PRF) for the current Doppler application” [Column 3, Line 62-Column 4, Line 2]. Therefore, since the cutoff frequency of the low-pass filter (LPF) (i.e. wall filter) is set at the highest anticipated clutter frequency (e.g., 40% PRF), a cutoff frequency of the characteristic of the wall filter processing is set to a predetermined frequency with respect to the observation site.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus of Tanaka such that the information processing unit sets a cutoff frequency of the characteristic of the wall filter processing to a predetermined frequency with respect to the observation site as disclosed in Mo in order to effectively remove clutter from B-mode images. Changing characteristics of the wall filter such as the wall filter coefficients and cutoff frequency in response to comparing the total power of said low pass filter output to an estimated mean system noise power in said low pass filter output (See Mo: Claim 18) is one of a finite number of techniques which can be used to improve the removal of clutter with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus of Tanaka such that the information processing unit sets a cutoff frequency of the characteristic of the wall filter processing to a predetermined frequency with respect to the observation sit as disclosed in Mo would yield the predictable result of adjusting wall filter settings and/or transmission and reception conditions such that it can effectively remove clutter from B-mode images.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hamada US 2010/0331701 A1 “Hamada” is pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because it discloses “A clutter region calculation unit 9 compares the pixel value of each blood flow image with a threshold predetermined mainly according to the clutter noise level of the mother body, and specifies a region (clutter region candidate) where pixels having pixel values larger than the threshold (a pixel in which clutter components occupy the majority of a pixel value) are connected to form a single lump. The clutter region calculation unit 9 compares the volume or area of the specified clutter region candidate with a threshold predetermined to detect a region that requires interpolation processing because its size spatially impairs visual recognition of a blood flow region. A clutter region candidate having a volume or area larger than the threshold is determined as an interpolation target clutter region” [0025].
/KAITLYN E SEBASTIAN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3797