Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because “A wireless power transmitter to a wireless power receiver” is a concept describing the functional relationship in a power communication system, not a single physical device.
The Examiner interprets the preamble as a system for the sake of applying the following prior art examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitation “during the slot” is not clear because the slot is a place not a timing entity.
The following art rejection is based on the opinion of European search report cited by the applicant. Although newly added amendments contain indefiniteness and non-statutory subject matters, the examiner interprets “during the slot” as - - during the time specified in the slot --; and the subject matter “A wireless power transmitter to a wireless power receiver” as -- A wireless power transmitter to a wireless power receiver system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ettes (US 2023/0017317)(one of the patent family members of EP3528364A1 the patent document used in European search report and cited by the applicant).
Regarding claim 3, US2023/0017317 discloses a method in a wireless power transfer system (FIG 1-6), the method performed by a wireless power transmitter (101) and comprising:
receiving, during a negotiation phase (¶[0236]), a Specific Request (SRQ) packet (SLOT_duration, ¶[0236]) from a wireless power receiver, wherein the SRQ packet includes information related to a time duration of a slot (¶[0236]));
entering a power transfer phase (¶[0199]); and
after entering the power transfer phase (¶[0199]), performing a foreign object detection (FOD) during the slot (¶[0203], ¶[0237]-[0265]).
Regarding claim 4|3, US2023/0017317 discloses the method wherein the wireless power transmitter terminates power transfer during the slot (¶[0093],[0128],[0190],[0218]).
Regarding claim 6, US2023/0017317 discloses a wireless power transmitter (101 in FIG 1) to a wireless power receiver (105 in FIG 1) system, comprising:
a power converter (¶[0108]-[0109] 201) for transferring wireless power to the wireless power receiver; and
a communicator/controller (¶[0110], 203 and 205) for controlling the wireless power, wherein the wireless power transmitter is configured for:
receiving, during a negotiation phase (¶[0236]), a Specific Request (SRQ) packet (SLOT_duration, ¶[0236]) from the wireless power receiver, wherein the SRQ packet includes information related to a time duration of a slot (¶[0236]); entering a power transfer phase (¶[0199]); and after entering the power transfer phase (¶[0199]), performing a foreign object detection (FOD) during the slot (¶[0203], ¶[0237]-[0265]).
Regarding claim 7|6, US2023/0017317 discloses the wireless power transmitter wherein the wireless power transmitter terminates power transfer during the slot (¶[0093],[0128],[0190],[0218]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ettes
Regarding claims 5|4|3, 8|7|6, Ettes discloses the method and the system except wherein, based on no foreign object being detected, the wireless power transmitter transmits an acknowledgment (ACK) to the wireless power receiver and proceeds to a calibration phase.
As known in the art, ACK refers to a signal that a device sends to indicate that data has been received successfully in some digital communication protocols. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such a protocol in the system because such a usage would have been a mere and routine practice of setting up of digital communication protocol.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836