DETAILED ACTION
This application has been examined. Claims 1-20 are pending.
The prior art submitted on 10/22/25 and 12/11/25 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 11-12, 14-15, and 18-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takla (US 2021/0280064 A1).
As per claims 1 and 15, Takla discloses a method, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising: receiving a basic safety message from a vehicle indicating a direction of operation and a speed of the vehicle (see at least [0010-0014], [0018], and [0057-0059], all para. disclose receiving direction of operation and a speed of a vehicle); receiving trajectory information of a mobile device associated with a user (see at least [0016-0018] disclose receiving trajectory information of mobile communication device 120); determining a driving region for the vehicle using the basic safety message (see at least [0014] disclose OBD device 112 may include a group of sensors, such as position, bearing, and/or acceleration sensors, that generate information relating to the movement of the vehicle 110; and also para. [0057]); detecting that the mobile device is present in the driving region using the trajectory information; estimating movements of the vehicle and the mobile device (see at least [0057-0059] disclose vehicles 110 may send telematics data to V2X communication handler 610 via RAN 130. According to one implementation, for every reported vehicle 110, V2X communications handler 610 may create a trajectory of the path of that vehicle for the next 2-3 seconds; and also para. [0016-0018] disclose mobile actors 116 may include pedestrians, bicyclists, and electric scooters in a vicinity of vehicles 110. The vicinity may include, for example, a default radius around a vehicle 110, a geo-fence calculation, or an area determined by any other algorithm); determining, using a machine learning model, a likelihood of a collision between the vehicle and the user based on the estimated movements (see at least [0015] disclose OBD device 112 may also include a communications management device (e.g., V2X communication handler 610, figure 6) and/or collision avoidance system to analyze information received from other BD devices 112, mobile communication devices 120, cameras 122, and map system 170 to manage incoming location information and predict collisions involving vehicles 110); and generating an alert indicating a potential collision when the likelihood of a collision exceeds a predetermined threshold (see at least [0035-0039]). Takla discloses the telematics data message include vehicle data such as a vehicle identifier (see at least [0053]) and anonymizing the basic safety message by removing some data information (see at least [0054-0056]). Takla does not explicitly disclose removing personally identifiable information. However, Takla discloses remove or exclude redundant less-accurate data for reporting to collision avoidance system 620 (see at least [0055-0056]). It would have been obvious, removing personally identifiable information is just an engineering design desired choice. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teach of Takla by combining anonymizing the basic safety message by removing personally identifiable information for safety transmit vehicles information for detecting collision between vehicles and mobile device.
As per claims 4, and 18, Takla discloses the machine learning model is a convolutional neural network trained using timestamped events from multiple vehicles to predict potential collisions (see at least [0057-0059] disclose vehicles 110 may send telematics data to V2X communication handler 610 via RAN 130. According to one implementation, for every reported vehicle 110, V2X communications handler 610 may create a trajectory of the path of that vehicle for the next 2-3 seconds).
As per claims 5, and 19, Takla discloses the basic safety message is received by a roadside unit over a PC5 interface, and wherein the roadside unit is located at less than a threshold distance from both the vehicle and the mobile device (see at least [0019-0024]).
As per claims 7, and 20, Takla discloses encapsulating the basic safety message into Internet Protocol packets using an N2 control plane interface and an N3 user plane interface for processing by a local mobile edge computing server (see at least [0021-0024]).
Claims 8, 11-12, and 14, are system claims corresponding to method claims 1, 4-5, and 7 above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same rationales set forth as above.
Claims 2-3, 6, 9-10, 13, and 16-17, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takla (US 2021/0280064 A1) in view of Ohlarik et al. (11915593).
As per claims 2 and 16, Takla does not explicitly disclose the alert includes at least one of a text alert, an audible alert, a graphic displayed on a screen of the mobile device, or a signal configured to cause the mobile device to vibrate. However, Ohlarik et al. disclose sending the alert to the mobile device, wherein the alert includes at least one of a text alert, an audible alert, a graphic displayed on a screen of the mobile device, or a signal configured to cause the mobile device to vibrate (see at least columns 16-17, lines 42-18 disclose generate visual and/or auditory collision avoidance alerts). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teach of Takla by combining the alert includes at least one of a text alert, an audible alert, a graphic displayed on a screen of the mobile device, or a signal configured to cause the mobile device to vibrate, for collision avoidance safety between vehicles and mobile device.
As per claims 3 and 17, Takla does not explicitly disclose the vehicle to reduce speed or alter its course. However, Ohlarik et al. disclose sending a message to an on-board unit of the vehicle indicating the potential collision, wherein the message is configured to cause the vehicle to reduce speed or alter its course (see at least columns 16-17, lines 42-18 disclose user interface 590 may sound an alarm, flash lights, activate an indicator, and/or otherwise get the driver’s attention to a potential collision situation so the driver can slow down or stop vehicle). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teach of Takla by combining sending a message to an on-board unit of the vehicle indicating the potential collision, wherein the message is configured to cause the vehicle to reduce speed or alter its course, for collision avoidance safety between vehicles and mobile device.
As per claim 6, Takla does not explicitly disclose an end-to-end latency between receiving the basic safety message and generating the alert is less than a threshold end-to-end latency. However, Ohlarik et al. disclose an end-to-end latency between receiving the basic safety message and generating the alert is less than a threshold end-to-end latency (see at least columns 3-4, lines 37-41). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teach of Takla by combining an end-to-end latency between receiving the basic safety message and generating the alert is less than a threshold end-to-end latency, for collision avoidance safety between vehicles and mobile device.
Claims 9-10, and 13, are system claims corresponding to method claims 2-3, and 6 above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same rationales set forth as above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
.Aoude et al. (10950130)
. Manohar et al. (US 2021/0065551 A1)
. Correia (US 2019/0378407 A1)
. Yang et al. (US 2019/0311614 A1)
/DALENA TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657