DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 10 recites the broad recitation “each one of the sets including at least one of the lath-transfer unit”, and the claim also recites “wherein each one of the sets comprises at least two of the lath-transfer unit” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-14, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thuemler (United States Patent US 10,308,447 B2) in view of Lepage (United States Patent US 9,926,144 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Thuemler discloses A lath placer configured to dispose a lath perpendicular to and over a row of lumbers, (Figure 1: Stick placer assembly 20)the lath placer comprising: a conveyor assembly including at least one lath-supporting lug to move the lath seized at a lath pick-up position along a lath conveying direction;(Figure 1: Stick transfer assembly 24 with Bar chain 28 supporting stick 32)and a lath-transfer assembly, adjacent to the conveyor assembly, (Figure 1: Transfer arm assemblies 26).
However, Thuemler does not disclose including at least one lath-transfer unit comprising: a unit frame including a transient lath store; a lath-capturing finger movable to capture the lath from a corresponding one of the at least one lath-supporting lug located at a lath-transferring position and release the lath on the transient lath store; a lath-pushing finger movable to push the lath away from the transient lath store; a rotatable lath-transfer arm including a lath-supporting segment configured to receive the lath transferred by the lath-pushing finger, the rotatable lath-transfer arm is rotatable between a lath-grasping configuration and a lath-delivering configuration; and a lath-grasping finger movable to grasp the lath located on the lath- supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm at the lath-grasping configuration and to release the lath at the lath- delivering configuration.
Lepage discloses a similar lath placer including at least one lath-transfer unit comprising: a unit frame including a transient lath store;(Column 9, lines 42-51: "According to an embodiment of the lumber transfer system 10 featuring positioning fingers 44 , the positioning fingers 44 are placed right after (or in other words “downstream of”) the blocking fingers 18 , before (or in other words “upstream of”) the grasping fingers 46 . The positioning fingers 44 are for lying up or halting the pieces of lumber 12 that have passed the blocking fingers 18 (when present) in the proper location and position so that they may be adequately grasped or pinched by the grasping assemblies 22 .", wherein the holding space pf fingers 44 acts as a store)a lath-capturing finger movable to capture the lath from a corresponding one of the at least one lath-supporting lug located at a lath-transferring position and release the lath on the transient lath store;(Figure 10: Blocking fingers 18)a lath-pushing finger movable to push the lath away from the transient lath store;(Figure 11: Tooth 48)a rotatable lath-transfer arm including a lath-supporting segment configured to receive the lath transferred by the lath-pushing finger, the rotatable lath-transfer arm is rotatable between a lath-grasping configuration and a lath-delivering configuration;(Column 11, lines 23-38: " Now referring particularly to FIG. 8, each grasping finger 46 is mounted on a first side of a disk 38 according to a control pivot axis 62 . A control arm 54 connects the grasping finger 46 to the control pivot axis 62 , controlling the position of the grasping finger 46 through rotation of the control arm 54 . The plier surface of the grasping finger 46 is located distant from the control pivot axis 62 on the opposite portion of the grasping finger 46 . The disk 38 has an oblong opening 56 for the passage of a control arm 54 connecting the grasping motor 52 (mounted to the opposite side of the disks 38 ) to the grasping finger 46 at the control pivot axis 62 . The shape of the opening 56 is for allowing, when connection and positioning initially the pieces together, fine positioning of the grasping finger 46 and therefore having the grasping finger 46 capable of occupying the desired grasping and stowed positions.")and a lath-grasping finger movable to grasp the lath located on the lath- supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm at the lath-grasping configuration and to release the lath at the lath- delivering configuration.(Column 10, lines 13-23: "Regarding the grasping assemblies 22 , each one of the grasping assemblies 22 comprises a grasping finger 46 that is individually controllable between a grasping position and a stowed position; the grasping position consisting in a raised position wherein the grasping finger 46 is able, in collaboration with a tooth 48 , to grasp or pinch a piece of lumber 12 , while the stowed position consisting in a laid down position wherein the gasping finger 46 has its top face beneath or close to the outer surface of the disk 38 and wherein one piece of lumber 12 being located close to the disk 38 would not be grasped by the gasping finger 46 .")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thuemler to include the lumber transfer unit as taught by Lepage. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a system that properly transfers lumber regularly spaced, as well as allow for a high transfer rate of pieces of lumber (Column 1, lines 24-42).
Regarding Claim 2, Thuemler in view of Lepage discloses the lath placer according to claim 1, as seen above. Lepage further discloses wherein the lath-capturing finger is rotatably mounted to the unit frame and rotatable about a lath-capturing finger rotation axis, the lath-capturing finger rotating in a rotation direction corresponding to the lath conveying direction to transfer the lath from the lath- supporting lug to the transient lath store(Column 9, lines 4-11: " According to an embodiment, control signals are sent in response to the detecting signals, for moving the respective blocking fingers 18 for which a lumber presence is detected from a blocking to an unblocking position and otherwise keeping the respective motorized blocking fingers 18 in their blocking position. Between each longitudinal piece of lumber 12 detected, the blocking fingers 18 may be kept in an unblocking position, or may return to a blocking position.")and the transient lath store is located below the corresponding one of the at least one lath-supporting lug at the lath- transferring position.(Figure 4: Positioning fingers 44 located downstream the movement direction)
Regarding Claim 3, Thuemler in view of Lepage discloses the lath placer according to claim 1, as seen above. Lepage further discloses wherein the lath-capturing finger comprises a lath-supporting segment to support the lath during a transfer to the transient lath store and a lath-capturing abutting ridge extending upwardly from the lath-supporting segment, wherein the lath conveyed by the conveyor assembly abuts against the lath-capturing abutting ridge at a lath-capturing configuration and is transferred onto the lath-supporting segment of the lath- capturing finger.(Figure 10: Lumber 12 is caught by teeth of blocking fingers 18 and supported therein)
Regarding Claim 5, Thuemler in view of Lepage discloses the lath placer according to claim 1, as seen above. Lepage further discloses wherein the lath-pushing finger is rotatably mounted to the unit frame and rotatable about a lath-pushing rotation axis between a rearward configuration located behind the lath supported by the transient lath store and a forward configuration located behind the lath supported by the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm.(Column 11, lines 13-22: "According to an embodiment, the tooth 48 are mounted to the disks 38 in a slidable manner. The tooth 48 are able to slide between an extended position (acting in collaboration with the gasping fingers 46 as pliers) and a contracted position. The tooth 48 are operatively connected to the grasping motors 52 , the grasping motors 52 actuating concurrently a grasping finger 46 and its cooperating tooth 48 to move in a grasping position and an extended position. The contacted tooth 48 , with the present embodiment, is out of the path of any piece of lumber 12 not to be grasped.")
Regarding Claim 7, Thuemler in view of Lepage discloses the lath placer according to claim 1, as seen above. Lepage further discloses wherein the lath-grasping finger is rotatably mounted to the rotatable lath-transfer arm, is rotatable about a lath- grasping rotation axis, and is located below the transient lath store when the lath- pushing finger transfers the lath from the transient lath store to the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm, configured in the lath-grasping configuration.(Column 11, lines 23-38: " Now referring particularly to FIG. 8, each grasping finger 46 is mounted on a first side of a disk 38 according to a control pivot axis 62 . A control arm 54 connects the grasping finger 46 to the control pivot axis 62 , controlling the position of the grasping finger 46 through rotation of the control arm 54 . The plier surface of the grasping finger 46 is located distant from the control pivot axis 62 on the opposite portion of the grasping finger 46 . The disk 38 has an oblong opening 56 for the passage of a control arm 54 connecting the grasping motor 52 (mounted to the opposite side of the disks 38 ) to the grasping finger 46 at the control pivot axis 62 . The shape of the opening 56 is for allowing, when connection and positioning initially the pieces together, fine positioning of the grasping finger 46 and therefore having the grasping finger 46 capable of occupying the desired grasping and stowed positions.")
Regarding Claim 9, Thuemler in view of Lepage discloses the lath placer according to claim 1, as seen above. Lepage further discloses wherein the lath-capturing finger, the lath-pushing finger, and the rotatable lath-transfer arm rotates in a same rotation direction to transfer the lath from one location to a subsequent location and the rotatable lath-transfer arm rotates of an angle of from 135 to 200 degrees from the lath-grasping configuration to the lath-delivering configuration.(Column 10, lines 40-48: "The grasping assemblies 22 are, according to an embodiment, mounted to disks 38 . A plurality of grasping assemblies 22 are mounted to each disk 38 ; the grasping assemblies 22 being disposed at different angles along the periphery of the disks 38 . The grasping assemblies 22 are designed to operate with the disks 38 rotating in a single direction, with one grasping assembly 22 taking the relay once the rotation of the disks 38 has moved a grasping assembly 22 in a non-operative angle.", wherein all components of grasping assemblies 22 rotate about disk 38)
Regarding Claim 10, Thuemler in view of Lepage discloses the lath placer according to claim 1, as seen above. Lepage further discloses wherein the lath-transfer assembly comprises a plurality of lath-transfer unit sets, each one of the sets including at least one of the lath-transfer unit, wherein each one of the sets comprises at least two of the lath-transfer unit, spaced-apart transversally from one another, and wherein the lath-capturing finger, the lath-pushing finger, the rotatable lath- transfer arm, and the lath-grasping finger of a respective one of the sets are synchronized,(Column 10, lines 40-48: "The grasping assemblies 22 are, according to an embodiment, mounted to disks 38 . A plurality of grasping assemblies 22 are mounted to each disk 38 ; the grasping assemblies 22 being disposed at different angles along the periphery of the disks 38 . The grasping assemblies 22 are designed to operate with the disks 38 rotating in a single direction, with one grasping assembly 22 taking the relay once the rotation of the disks 38 has moved a grasping assembly 22 in a non-operative angle.", wherein all components of grasping assemblies 22 rotate about disk 38); and Thuemler further discloses wherein the lath is released on the row of lumbers.(Figure 13D: Shows sticks 32 being placed on lumber 110).
Regarding Claim 11, Thuemler discloses A lath placer configured to dispose laths perpendicular and over a row of lumbers, (Figure 1: Stick placer assembly 20)the lath placer comprising: a conveyor assembly including lath-supporting lugs to convey the laths seized at a lath pick-up position along a lath conveying direction;(Figure 1: Stick transfer assembly 24 with Bar chain 28 supporting stick 32)and a lath-transfer assembly, adjacent to the conveyor assembly (Figure 1: Transfer arm assemblies 26).
However, Thuemler does not disclose comprising: a unit frame including a transient lath store; a lath-capturing finger movable to capture the laths from the lath- supporting lugs when located at a lath-transferring position and release the captured laths on the transient lath store; a plurality of lath-pushing fingers, each one of the lath-pushing fingers being movable to push away a respective one of the laths located at the transient lath store; a rotatable lath-transfer arm including a lath-supporting segment configured to receive the respective one of the laths transferred by a respective one of lath-pushing fingers, the rotatable lath-transfer arm is rotatable between a lath- grasping configuration and a lath-delivering configuration; and a lath-grasping finger movable to grasp the respective one of the laths located on the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm at the lath-grasping configuration and to release the respective one of the laths at the lath-delivering configuration.
Lepage discloses a similar lath placer comprising: a unit frame including a transient lath store; (Column 9, lines 42-51: "According to an embodiment of the lumber transfer system 10 featuring positioning fingers 44 , the positioning fingers 44 are placed right after (or in other words “downstream of”) the blocking fingers 18 , before (or in other words “upstream of”) the grasping fingers 46 . The positioning fingers 44 are for lying up or halting the pieces of lumber 12 that have passed the blocking fingers 18 (when present) in the proper location and position so that they may be adequately grasped or pinched by the grasping assemblies 22 .", wherein the holding space pf fingers 44 acts as a store)a lath-capturing finger movable to capture the laths from the lath- supporting lugs when located at a lath-transferring position and release the captured laths on the transient lath store;(Figure 10: Blocking fingers 18)a plurality of lath-pushing fingers, each one of the lath-pushing fingers being movable to push away a respective one of the laths located at the transient lath store; (Figure 11: Tooth 48)a rotatable lath-transfer arm including a lath-supporting segment configured to receive the respective one of the laths transferred by a respective one of lath-pushing fingers,(Column 11, lines 23-38: " Now referring particularly to FIG. 8, each grasping finger 46 is mounted on a first side of a disk 38 according to a control pivot axis 62 . A control arm 54 connects the grasping finger 46 to the control pivot axis 62 , controlling the position of the grasping finger 46 through rotation of the control arm 54 . The plier surface of the grasping finger 46 is located distant from the control pivot axis 62 on the opposite portion of the grasping finger 46 . The disk 38 has an oblong opening 56 for the passage of a control arm 54 connecting the grasping motor 52 (mounted to the opposite side of the disks 38 ) to the grasping finger 46 at the control pivot axis 62 . The shape of the opening 56 is for allowing, when connection and positioning initially the pieces together, fine positioning of the grasping finger 46 and therefore having the grasping finger 46 capable of occupying the desired grasping and stowed positions.")the rotatable lath-transfer arm is rotatable between a lath- grasping configuration and a lath-delivering configuration; and a lath-grasping finger movable to grasp the respective one of the laths located on the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm at the lath-grasping configuration and to release the respective one of the laths at the lath-delivering configuration.(Column 10, lines 13-23: "Regarding the grasping assemblies 22 , each one of the grasping assemblies 22 comprises a grasping finger 46 that is individually controllable between a grasping position and a stowed position; the grasping position consisting in a raised position wherein the grasping finger 46 is able, in collaboration with a tooth 48 , to grasp or pinch a piece of lumber 12 , while the stowed position consisting in a laid down position wherein the gasping finger 46 has its top face beneath or close to the outer surface of the disk 38 and wherein one piece of lumber 12 being located close to the disk 38 would not be grasped by the gasping finger 46 .")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thuemler to include the lumber transfer unit as taught by Lepage. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a system that properly transfers lumber regularly spaced, as well as allow for a high transfer rate of pieces of lumber (Column 1, lines 24-42).
Regarding Claim 12, Thuemler in view of Lepage discloses the lath placer according to claim 11, as seen above. Lepage further discloses wherein the lath-capturing finger is rotatably mounted to the unit frame and rotatable about a lath-capturing finger rotation axis, the lath-capturing finger rotating in a rotation direction corresponding to the lath conveying direction to transfer the laths from one of the lath-supporting lugs to the transient lath store(Column 9, lines 4-11: " According to an embodiment, control signals are sent in response to the detecting signals, for moving the respective blocking fingers 18 for which a lumber presence is detected from a blocking to an unblocking position and otherwise keeping the respective motorized blocking fingers 18 in their blocking position. Between each longitudinal piece of lumber 12 detected, the blocking fingers 18 may be kept in an unblocking position, or may return to a blocking position.") and the transient lath store is located below the corresponding one of the lath-supporting lugs at the lath- transferring position.(Figure 4: Positioning fingers 44 located downstream the movement direction)
Regarding Claim 13, Thuemler in view of Lepage discloses the lath placer according to claim 11, as seen above. Lepage further discloses wherein the lath-capturing finger comprises a lath-supporting segment to support the captured laths during a transfer to the transient lath store and a lath-capturing abutting ridge extending upwardly from the lath-supporting segment, wherein the laths conveyed by the conveyor assembly abut against the lath-capturing abutting ridge at the lath transferring position and are transferred onto the lath-supporting segment of the lath-capturing finger.(Figure 10: Lumber 12 is caught by teeth of blocking fingers 18 and supported therein)
Regarding Claim 14, Thuemler in view of Lepage discloses the lath placer according to claim 11, as seen above. Lepage further discloses wherein each of the plurality of lath-pushing fingers is rotatably mounted to the unit frame and rotatable about a respective of lath-pushing rotation axis to sequentially push the respective one of the laths between a rearward configuration located behind the respective one of the laths supported by the transient lath store and a forward configuration located behind the respective one of the laths supported by the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm.(Column 11, lines 13-22: "According to an embodiment, the tooth 48 are mounted to the disks 38 in a slidable manner. The tooth 48 are able to slide between an extended position (acting in collaboration with the gasping fingers 46 as pliers) and a contracted position. The tooth 48 are operatively connected to the grasping motors 52 , the grasping motors 52 actuating concurrently a grasping finger 46 and its cooperating tooth 48 to move in a grasping position and an extended position. The contacted tooth 48 , with the present embodiment, is out of the path of any piece of lumber 12 not to be grasped.")
Regarding Claim 16, Thuemler in view of Lepage discloses the lath placer according to claim 11, as seen above. Lepage further discloses wherein the lath-grasping finger is located below the transient lath store when a downstream one of the plurality of lath-pushing fingers transfers the respective one of the laths from the transient lath store to the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm, configured in the lath-grasping configuration.(Column 11, lines 23-38: " Now referring particularly to FIG. 8, each grasping finger 46 is mounted on a first side of a disk 38 according to a control pivot axis 62 . A control arm 54 connects the grasping finger 46 to the control pivot axis 62 , controlling the position of the grasping finger 46 through rotation of the control arm 54 . The plier surface of the grasping finger 46 is located distant from the control pivot axis 62 on the opposite portion of the grasping finger 46 . The disk 38 has an oblong opening 56 for the passage of a control arm 54 connecting the grasping motor 52 (mounted to the opposite side of the disks 38 ) to the grasping finger 46 at the control pivot axis 62 . The shape of the opening 56 is for allowing, when connection and positioning initially the pieces together, fine positioning of the grasping finger 46 and therefore having the grasping finger 46 capable of occupying the desired grasping and stowed positions.")
Regarding Claim 18, Thuemler in view of Lepage discloses the lath placer according to claim 11, as seen above. Lepage further discloses wherein the lath-transfer assembly comprises a plurality of lath-transfer unit sets, each one of the sets including at least one lath-transfer unit; and wherein the lath-capturing finger, the plurality of lath-pushing fingers, and the rotatable lath-transfer arm rotates in a same rotation direction to transfer the respective one of the laths from one location to a subsequent location.(Column 10, lines 40-48: "The grasping assemblies 22 are, according to an embodiment, mounted to disks 38 . A plurality of grasping assemblies 22 are mounted to each disk 38 ; the grasping assemblies 22 being disposed at different angles along the periphery of the disks 38 . The grasping assemblies 22 are designed to operate with the disks 38 rotating in a single direction, with one grasping assembly 22 taking the relay once the rotation of the disks 38 has moved a grasping assembly 22 in a non-operative angle.", wherein all components of grasping assemblies 22 rotate about disk 38)
Regarding Claim 19, Thuemler discloses A method to dispose a lath perpendicular to and over a row of lumbers with a lath placer,(Figure 1: Stick placer assembly 20)the method comprising: conveying the lath along a conveying direction from a lath pick-up position to a lath-transfer assembly;(Figure 1: Stick transfer assembly 24 with Bar chain 28 supporting stick 32 with transfer arm assemblies 26)located above the row of lumbers.(Figure 13D: Shows sticks 32 being placed on lumber 110).
However, Thuemler does not disclose capturing the lath at a lath-transferring position and transferring the lath to a transient lath store; pushing the lath located on the transient lath store onto a lath-supporting segment of a rotatable lath-transfer arm; grasping the lath between the rotatable lath-transfer arm and a lath- grasping finger; rotating the rotatable lath-transfer arm to transfer the lath to a lath- delivering configuration; and releasing the lath at the lath-delivering configuration.
Lepage discloses a similar method comprising capturing the lath at a lath-transferring position and transferring the lath to a transient lath store;(Column 9, lines 42-51: "According to an embodiment of the lumber transfer system 10 featuring positioning fingers 44 , the positioning fingers 44 are placed right after (or in other words “downstream of”) the blocking fingers 18 , before (or in other words “upstream of”) the grasping fingers 46 . The positioning fingers 44 are for lying up or halting the pieces of lumber 12 that have passed the blocking fingers 18 (when present) in the proper location and position so that they may be adequately grasped or pinched by the grasping assemblies 22 .", wherein the holding space pf fingers 44 acts as a store)pushing the lath located on the transient lath store onto a lath-supporting segment of a rotatable lath-transfer arm;(Column 11, lines 23-38: " Now referring particularly to FIG. 8, each grasping finger 46 is mounted on a first side of a disk 38 according to a control pivot axis 62 . A control arm 54 connects the grasping finger 46 to the control pivot axis 62 , controlling the position of the grasping finger 46 through rotation of the control arm 54 . The plier surface of the grasping finger 46 is located distant from the control pivot axis 62 on the opposite portion of the grasping finger 46 . The disk 38 has an oblong opening 56 for the passage of a control arm 54 connecting the grasping motor 52 (mounted to the opposite side of the disks 38 ) to the grasping finger 46 at the control pivot axis 62 . The shape of the opening 56 is for allowing, when connection and positioning initially the pieces together, fine positioning of the grasping finger 46 and therefore having the grasping finger 46 capable of occupying the desired grasping and stowed positions.")grasping the lath between the rotatable lath-transfer arm and a lath- grasping finger; rotating the rotatable lath-transfer arm to transfer the lath to a lath- delivering configuration; and releasing the lath at the lath-delivering configuration (Column 10, lines 13-23: "Regarding the grasping assemblies 22 , each one of the grasping assemblies 22 comprises a grasping finger 46 that is individually controllable between a grasping position and a stowed position; the grasping position consisting in a raised position wherein the grasping finger 46 is able, in collaboration with a tooth 48 , to grasp or pinch a piece of lumber 12 , while the stowed position consisting in a laid down position wherein the gasping finger 46 has its top face beneath or close to the outer surface of the disk 38 and wherein one piece of lumber 12 being located close to the disk 38 would not be grasped by the gasping finger 46 .").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thuemler to include the lumber transfer unit as taught by Lepage. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a system that properly transfers lumber regularly spaced, as well as allow for a high transfer rate of pieces of lumber (Column 1, lines 24-42).
Regarding Claim 20, Thuemler in view of Lepage discloses the method according to claim 19, as seen above. Lepage further discloses wherein the lath-transfer assembly transfers captures and release more than one lath simultaneously over the row of lumbers.(Column 10, lines 40-48: "The grasping assemblies 22 are, according to an embodiment, mounted to disks 38 . A plurality of grasping assemblies 22 are mounted to each disk 38 ; the grasping assemblies 22 being disposed at different angles along the periphery of the disks 38 . The grasping assemblies 22 are designed to operate with the disks 38 rotating in a single direction, with one grasping assembly 22 taking the relay once the rotation of the disks 38 has moved a grasping assembly 22 in a non-operative angle.").
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 8, 15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 4, there is no prior art alone or in combination that included the combination of recited limitations in Claims 1, 3 and 4. The art alone or in combination did not disclose wherein the lath-transferring position is located on the lower segment of the conveyor chain and the lath-supporting segment of the lath-capturing finger is substantially aligned with or extends below a lower-facing surface of the lath conveyed by the conveyor assembly. The closest prior arts of record Thuemler (United States Patent US 10,308,447 B2) and Lepage (United States Patent US 9,926,144 B1) disclose a similar lath placer comprising a conveyor assembly, lath supporting lug, a lath transfer assembly, a lath transfer unit, a lath store, a lath capturing finger, a lath pushing finger, a rotatable lath transfer arm and a conveyor chain, but both fail to teach wherein the lath-transferring position is located on the lower segment of the conveyor chain and the lath-supporting segment of the lath-capturing finger is substantially aligned with or extends below a lower-facing surface of the lath conveyed by the conveyor assembly. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.
Regarding Claim 6, there is no prior art alone or in combination that included the combination of recited limitations in Claims 1 and 6. The art alone or in combination did not disclose wherein the transient lath store extends horizontally and is located rearwardly of and extends continuously with the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm when the rotatable lath-transfer arm is configured in the lath-grasping configuration. The closest prior arts of record Thuemler (United States Patent US 10,308,447 B2) and Lepage (United States Patent US 9,926,144 B1) disclose a similar lath placer comprising a conveyor assembly, lath supporting lug, a lath transfer assembly, a lath transfer unit, a lath store, a lath capturing finger, a lath pushing finger and a rotatable lath transfer arm, but both fail to teach wherein the transient lath store extends horizontally and is located rearwardly of and extends continuously with the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm when the rotatable lath-transfer arm is configured in the lath-grasping configuration. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.
Regarding Claim 8, there is no prior art alone or in combination that included the combination of recited limitations in Claims 1 and 8. The art alone or in combination did not disclose wherein the lath-grasping finger comprises a prehension end contacting a rearward-facing surface of the lath located on the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm at the lath-grasping configuration and the rotatable lath-transfer arm comprises a lath- transfer abutting ridge contacting a forward facing surface of the lath located on the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm, the lath being clamped between the prehension end of the lath-grasping finger and the lath- transfer abutting ridge of the rotatable lath-transfer arm during rotation to the lath- delivering configuration. The closest prior arts of record Thuemler (United States Patent US 10,308,447 B2) and Lepage (United States Patent US 9,926,144 B1) disclose a similar lath placer comprising a conveyor assembly, lath supporting lug, a lath transfer assembly, a lath transfer unit, a lath store, a lath capturing finger, a lath pushing finger and a rotatable lath transfer arm, but both fail to teach wherein the lath-grasping finger comprises a prehension end contacting a rearward-facing surface of the lath located on the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm at the lath-grasping configuration and the rotatable lath-transfer arm comprises a lath- transfer abutting ridge contacting a forward facing surface of the lath located on the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm, the lath being clamped between the prehension end of the lath-grasping finger and the lath- transfer abutting ridge of the rotatable lath-transfer arm during rotation to the lath- delivering configuration. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.
Regarding Claim 15, there is no prior art alone or in combination that included the combination of recited limitations in Claims 11 and 15. The art alone or in combination did not disclose wherein the transient lath store extends horizontally and is located rearwardly of and extends continuously with the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm when the rotatable lath-transfer arm is configured in the lath-grasping configuration. The closest prior arts of record Thuemler (United States Patent US 10,308,447 B2) and Lepage (United States Patent US 9,926,144 B1) disclose a similar lath placer comprising a conveyor assembly, lath supporting lug, a lath transfer assembly, a lath transfer unit, a lath store, a lath capturing finger, a lath pushing finger and a rotatable lath transfer arm, but both fail to teach wherein the transient lath store extends horizontally and is located rearwardly of and extends continuously with the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm when the rotatable lath-transfer arm is configured in the lath-grasping configuration. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.
Regarding Claim 17, there is no prior art alone or in combination that included the combination of recited limitations in Claims 11 and 17. The art alone or in combination did not disclose wherein the lath-grasping finger comprises a prehension end contacting a rearward-facing surface of the respective one of the laths located on the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm at the lath-grasping configuration and the rotatable lath-transfer arm comprises a lath-transfer abutting ridge contacting a forward facing surface of the respective one of the laths located on the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm, the respective one of the laths being clamped between the prehension end of the lath-grasping finger and the lath-transfer abutting ridge of the rotatable lath-transfer arm during rotation to the lath- delivering configuration. The closest prior arts of record Thuemler (United States Patent US 10,308,447 B2) and Lepage (United States Patent US 9,926,144 B1) disclose a similar lath placer comprising a conveyor assembly, lath supporting lug, a lath transfer assembly, a lath transfer unit, a lath store, a lath capturing finger, a lath pushing finger and a rotatable lath transfer arm, but both fail to teach wherein the lath-grasping finger comprises a prehension end contacting a rearward-facing surface of the respective one of the laths located on the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm at the lath-grasping configuration and the rotatable lath-transfer arm comprises a lath-transfer abutting ridge contacting a forward facing surface of the respective one of the laths located on the lath-supporting segment of the rotatable lath-transfer arm, the respective one of the laths being clamped between the prehension end of the lath-grasping finger and the lath-transfer abutting ridge of the rotatable lath-transfer arm during rotation to the lath- delivering configuration. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application US 2009/0095597 A1 (Bilodeau, Alain): Bilodeau teaches a similar board positioning system and method comprising a conveyor, lugs, lug chains, guide rails and actuators, as seen in Figure 1.
United States Patent US 8,104,604 B2 (Beaudet, Louis): Beaudet teaches a similar lumber transfer system and method for individually transferring lumber comprising a feeding conveyor, an outfeed conveyor, detectors, motorized blocking fingers and a controller for moving the fingers, as seen in Figure 1.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651