DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 08/06/2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 10-11, and 13 have been amended and claim 8 has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Matsuyama (US 2017/0061936).
As to claim 1, Matsuyama teaches a control apparatus configured to control a display apparatus for displaying a partial image based on a partial area of a right-eye image or left-eye image in a hemispherical image on a display surface, the control apparatus comprising:
a memory storing instructions ([0074] The memory … temporarily stores control data including programs to be used by the processing circuit, [0075]); and
a processor configured to execute the instructions to ([0075] The control circuit section 120 causes a given application, which is stored in the memory or in the storage medium, to be run):
generate the partial image by performing transformation processing for the partial area of the right-eye image or left-eye image in the hemispherical image ([0097] the HMD 110 causes the virtual space 2 to be displayed on the display 112 (S110-4), thereby providing the virtual space 2 into which the user is immersed. As illustrated in FIG. 10, the virtual space 2 into which the user is immersed is preferably such that the virtual camera 1 is located on the center 21 of the hemisphere, and that the main image M and the sub-image S are contained within the vision region 23, which is set based on the basic sightline 5, [0073] the display 112 may be realized by one display device, provided that the image for a right eye and the image for a left eye can be provided thereon, [0044]-[0045], [0058]),
detect a first position of a line of sight of a user on the display surface ([0113] the user inputs a given second action to a target sub-image S (S110-7). The second action is, for example, an action of pointing the basic sightline 5 ),
generate a first partial image based on the first position and display the first partial image on the display surface in a case where the first position is located within a predetermined area for a predetermined duration ([0113] the user inputs a given second action to a target sub-image S (S110-7). The second action is, for example, an action of pointing the basic sightline 5 (a vision direction that is shifted in response to a tilt of the HMD 110 or a sightline direction determined by the gaze sensor 140) at a target sub-image for a certain period of time or more…In a case where the control circuit section 120 is set to the second mode (S120-28), the object control section 300 accepts the second action, and the object selecting section 310 identifies the display object DO (DESIRED IMAGE indicated by the letter “A”) selected by the second action (S120-29). [0114] As illustrated in FIG. 20B, the display form determining section 320 sets the selected display object DO as a main image, and the display adjusting section 330 sets the position and angle of that display object DO), and
switch an image displayed as the partial image between the right-eye image and the left- eye image ([0073] shutters may be alternately opened and closed at a high speed so that an image displayed on the display 112 is perceived by either a right eye or a left eye of the user).
As to claim 2, Matsuyama teaches the control apparatus, wherein the processor is configured to generate the first partial image with the first position as a center ([0113] the user inputs a given second action to a target sub-image S (S110-7). The second action is, for example, an action of pointing the basic sightline 5 (a vision direction that is shifted in response to a tilt of the HMD 110 or a sightline direction determined by the gaze sensor 140) at a target sub-image for a certain period of time or more…In a case where the control circuit section 120 is set to the second mode (S120-28), the object control section 300 accepts the second action, and the object selecting section 310 identifies the display object DO (DESIRED IMAGE indicated by the letter “A”) selected by the second action (S120-29). [0114] As illustrated in FIG. 20B, the display form determining section 320 sets the selected display object DO as a main image, and the display adjusting section 330 sets the position and angle of that display object DO).
As to claim 3, Matsuyama teaches the control apparatus, wherein the processor is configured to generate a second partial image with a second position as a center that is moved from an original position toward the first position by a predetermined amount every predetermined time, and to display the second partial image on the display surface ([0113] the user inputs a given second action to a target sub-image S (S110-7). The second action is, for example, an action of pointing the basic sightline 5 (a vision direction that is shifted in response to a tilt of the HMD 110 or a sightline direction determined by the gaze sensor 140) at a target sub-image for a certain period of time or more…In a case where the control circuit section 120 is set to the second mode (S120-28), the object control section 300 accepts the second action, and the object selecting section 310 identifies the display object DO (DESIRED IMAGE indicated by the letter “A”) selected by the second action (S120-29). [0114] As illustrated in FIG. 20B, the display form determining section 320 sets the selected display object DO as a main image, and the display adjusting section 330 sets the position and angle of that display object DO).
As to claim 4, Matsuyama teaches the control apparatus, wherein the omnidirectional image or hemispherical image is a playback image that has been recorded by a recorder ( [0088] the control circuit section 120 (virtual space image generating section 210) refers to the spatial information storing section 510 to generate a hemispherical virtual space image 22 that forms the virtual space 2 into which the user is immersed).
As to claim 6, Matsuyama teaches the control apparatus, wherein the transformation processing is perspective projection transformation ([0059] determining a basic sightline of the user; selecting a main image from among a plurality of display objects; causing the main image to be displayed in the virtual space in such a manner as to be associated with the basic sightline; and outputting the virtual space to the head-mounted display).
As to claim 7, Matsuyama teaches the control apparatus, wherein coordinates at the first position can be converted into coordinates in the omnidirectional image or hemispherical image([0097] the virtual space 2 into which the user is immersed is preferably such that the virtual camera 1 is located on the center 21 of the hemisphere, and that the main image M and the sub-image S are contained within the vision region 23, which is set based on the basic sightline).
8. (Cancelled).
As to claim 12, Matsuyama teaches a display apparatus comprising: the control apparatus according to claim 1 ( [0088] the control circuit section 120 (virtual space image generating section 210) refers to the spatial information storing section 510 to generate a hemispherical virtual space image 22 that forms the virtual space 2 into which the user is immersed, Fig. 2, element 120); and a display unit (HMD 110, fig. 1).
As to claim 13, Matsuyama teaches a control method configured to control a display apparatus for displaying a partial image based on a partial area of a right-eye image or left-eye image in a hemispherical image on a display surface, the control method comprising the steps of:
generating the partial image by performing transformation processing for the partial area of the right-eye image or left-eye image in the hemispherical image ([0097] the HMD 110 causes the virtual space 2 to be displayed on the display 112 (S110-4), thereby providing the virtual space 2 into which the user is immersed. As illustrated in FIG. 10, the virtual space 2 into which the user is immersed is preferably such that the virtual camera 1 is located on the center 21 of the hemisphere, and that the main image M and the sub-image S are contained within the vision region 23, which is set based on the basic sightline 5, [0073] the display 112 may be realized by one display device, provided that the image for a right eye and the image for a left eye can be provided thereon, [0044]-[0045], [0058]),
detecting a first position of a line of sight of a user on the display surface ([0113] the user inputs a given second action to a target sub-image S (S110-7). The second action is, for example, an action of pointing the basic sightline 5 ),
generating a first partial image based on the first position and display the first partial image on the display surface in a case where the first position is located within a predetermined area for a predetermined duration ([0113] the user inputs a given second action to a target sub-image S (S110-7). The second action is, for example, an action of pointing the basic sightline 5 (a vision direction that is shifted in response to a tilt of the HMD 110 or a sightline direction determined by the gaze sensor 140) at a target sub-image for a certain period of time or more…In a case where the control circuit section 120 is set to the second mode (S120-28), the object control section 300 accepts the second action, and the object selecting section 310 identifies the display object DO (DESIRED IMAGE indicated by the letter “A”) selected by the second action (S120-29). [0114] As illustrated in FIG. 20B, the display form determining section 320 sets the selected display object DO as a main image, and the display adjusting section 330 sets the position and angle of that display object DO) and
switching an image displayed as the partial image between the right-eye image and the left-eye image ([0073] shutters may be alternately opened and closed at a high speed so that an image displayed on the display 112 is perceived by either a right eye or a left eye of the user).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuyama (US 2017/0061936) in view of Koyama (US 2020/0029111).
As to claim 5, Matsuyama does not teach a live-view image as claimed.
However, Koyama teaches the control apparatus, wherein the omnidirectional image or hemispherical image is a live-view image captured by an image pickup apparatus ([0055] the image processing unit 24 generates a single VR image by implementing basic image processing on two images (fisheye images) during VR display in the live view mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Matsuyama to teach, a live-view image captured by an image pickup apparatus, as suggested by Koyama. The motivation would have been in order to improve "operability when modifying a display region during playback of a moving image" ([0006]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuyama (US 2017/0061936) in view of Schluessler et al (US 2018/0292895).
As to claim 9, Matsuyama does not teach intentional blink as claimed.
However, Schluessler teaches the control apparatus, wherein the processor can determine an intentional blink of the user ([0165] control a VR system based on eye blinking. For example, some embodiments may provide hands-free control to adjust resolution of a VR image using a detected voluntary blink. In some embodiments, a number of blinks (e.g. blink twice) may cause the system to enhance resolution of the VR image (e.g. or change the contrast or some other parameter or action)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Matsuyama to teach, wherein the processor can determine an intentional blink of the user, as suggested by Schluessler. The motivation would have been in order to adjust "graphics rendering based on facial expression." ([0001]). The invention improves user operability and user experience.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuyama (US 2017/0061936) in view of Park et al (US 2018/0081171).
As to claim 14, Matsuyama does not teach a non-transitory readable storage medium as claimed.
However, Park teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to execute the control method according to claim 13 ([0089] At least some of the devices (e.g., modules or functions thereof) or methods (e.g., operations) according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be implemented by an instruction which is stored in a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (e.g., the memory 130 in FIG. 1) ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Matsuyama to teach, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to execute the control method, as suggested by Park. The motivation would have been in order to save time and computational resources ([0006]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMEN W BOGALE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628