DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Supplemental Amendment filed 8/31/2026. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claim 8 is withdrawn and not examined at this point.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous objection to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 12 is sufficient to overcome the previous objection to claim 12.
Applicant’s arguments that Oka et al. does not teach wherein the x-ray detectable material comprises an x-ray detectible powder extruded into a flexible thermoplastic have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration and in view of Applicant’s amendment, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lerner et al. (US 3,834,378 A).
Applicant's remaining argument(s) filed 8/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Oka et al. teaches away from the use of a powder, the examiner notes that simply that there are differences between two references is insufficient to establish that such references “teach away” from any combination thereof. In re Beattie, 974 F. 2d 1309, 1312-13, 24 USPQ2d, 1042 (Fed. Cir. 1992). Oka et al. does not teach the use of a powder to be ineffective or detrimental to the user.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 1 and 9 recite “the x-ray detectable material comprises an x-ray detectible powder extruded into a flexible thermoplastic,” which is a claim limitation lacking proper antecedent basis in the specification. This is not an issue of new matter. Applicant should amend the specification to include the cited language to avoid this error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 3 recites “the metal detectable material is provided in the x-ray detectable layer,” which is a claim limitation lacking proper antecedent basis in the specification. This is not an issue of new matter. Applicant should amend the specification to include the cited language to avoid this error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 20 recites “wherein the x-ray detectable layer is an isotropic mixture of the EVA and an x-ray detectable powder,” which is a claim limitation lacking proper antecedent basis in the specification. This is not an issue of new matter. Applicant should amend the specification to include the cited language to avoid this error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 15 recites “wherein a thickness of the x-ray detectable layer is less than 0.40 millimeters.” No support is provided for this claim limitation in Applicant’s specification as originally filed. Applicant’s original disclosure explicitly teaches that “a thickness of the x-ray detectable layer is in a range of 0.25 to 0.40 millimeters” (see [0023] of the publication of the present application, for instance), but does not teach the thickness of the x-ray detectable layer being any magnitude less than 0.40 millimeters, as claimed. Claims 16-20 depend on claim 15 and therefore, include the same error.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 18 recites “the thickness of the x-ray detectable layer is up to 2 millimeters.” No support is provided for this claim limitation in Applicant’s specification as originally filed. Applicant’s original disclosure explicitly teaches that “a thickness of the x-ray detectable layer is in a range of 0.25 to 0.40 millimeters” (see [0023] of the publication of the present application, for instance), but does not teach the thickness of the x-ray detectable layer being any magnitude is up to 2 millimeters, as claimed. Claims 19-20 depend on claim 18 and therefore, include the same error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oka et al. (US 2014/0012175 A1) in view of Lerner et al. (US 3,834,378 A).
Regarding claim 1, Oka et al. teaches in [0047], [0165-0166], [0203], the abstract and Figure 5A
a backing layer (backing 28);
a pad (absorbent pad 24) configured to be applied to a wound of a user contacting the user on (the top surface of absorbent pad 24 is capable of being positioned in direct contact with a user’s wound) a front side (top surface of absorbent pad 24, as shown in Figure 5A) and comprising a back side (bottom surface of absorbent pad 24, as shown in Figure 5A) opposite (as shown in Figure 5A) the front side (top surface of absorbent pad 24, as shown in Figure 5A);
a metal detectable material (the material forming metal foil 22; since the material forming foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) provided between (as shown in Figure 5A) the backing layer (backing 28) and the pad (absorbent pad 24);
an x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) comprising an x-ray detectable material (the material forming X-ray detectable material 12),
wherein the x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) is laminated between (layered between, as shown in Figure 5A) the pad (absorbent pad 24) and (Figure 5A teaches the X-ray detectable material 12 being positioned between absorbent pad 24 and backing 28) the backing layer (backing 28); and
an adhesive (pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 26) on (as shown in Figure 5A; [0203] teaches “the backing 28, on which the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 26 is formed”) the backing layer (backing 28) configured to contact and adhere to a skin of the user to hold the detectable bandage (X-ray detectable adhesive bandage 20’) on the skin when in use ([0165-0166] teaches “an organopolysiloxane pressure-sensitive adhesive is preferably used as a main component of the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer” and “the organopolysiloxane pressure-sensitive adhesive used could exhibit moderate adhesion to the skin”).
Oka et al. does not teach wherein the x-ray detectable material comprises an x-ray detectible powder extruded into a flexible thermoplastic.
However, Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51 and the abstract an analogous device (radio-opaque medical device, as taught in column 1, lines 41-51) wherein the x-ray detectable material (radio-opaque barium sulfate particulate, taught in column 1, lines 49-50 and “plastic matrix,” taught in column 1, lines 41-42) comprises an x-ray detectible powder (radio-opaque barium sulfate particulate, taught in column 1, lines 49-50) extruded into (column 1, lines 49-51 teaches “a radio-opaque particulate, such as barium sulfate, is preferably also dispersed within the matrix”) a flexible thermoplastic (“plastic matrix,” taught in column 1, lines 41-42; the abstract teaches “a plastic matrix, such as a copolymer of ethylene and vinyl acetate;” ethylene-vinyl acetate is a flexible thermoplastic material).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the x-ray detectable material of Oka et al. to comprise an x-ray detectible powder extruded into a flexible thermoplastic as taught by Lerner et al. because this element is known in the art to provide suitable stabilization and encapsulation of radio-opaque particulate barium sulfate, as Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51.
Regarding claim 2, Oka et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Oka et al. teaches in Figure 5A a metal detectable layer (metal foil 22; since the foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) comprising the metal detectable material (the material forming metal foil 22; since the material forming foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system), wherein the metal detectable layer (metal foil 22) is disposed adjacent to (near, as shown in Figure 5A) the elastic backing layer (backing 28) and the x-ray detectable material (the material forming X-ray detectable material 12) is disposed between (as shown in Figure 5A) the metal detectable layer (metal foil 22) and the pad (absorbent pad 24).
Regarding claim 3, Oka et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Oka et al. does not teach that the metal detectable material is provided in the x-ray detectable layer.
However, Lerner et al. teaches in the abstract and columns 2-3, lines 65-3 an analogous device (radio-opaque medical device, as taught in column 1, lines 41-51) wherein the metal detectable material (“metal,” taught in the abstract) is provided in (as taught in the abstract) the x-ray detectable layer (layer of “composite,” taught in the abstract; taught in the abstract to include “both a metal and a salt, such as a sulfate;” the abstract teaches “a radio-opaque particulate such as barium sulfate is preferably also dispersed within the composite”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the x-ray detectable layer of Oka et al. as modified by Lerner et al. such that the metal detectable material is provided in the x-ray detectable layer as taught by Lerner et al. because this element is known to enable the x-ray detectable layer to be both x-ray detectable and metal detectable, which provides versatility in the manner in which the x-ray detectable layer is able to be detected, as Lerner et al. teaches in the abstract and columns 2-3, lines 65-3.
Regarding claim 4, Oka et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claims 1 and 3. Oka et al. does not teach that the x-ray detectable layer further comprises a matrix, wherein the flexible thermoplastic comprises ethylene-vinyl acetate.
However, Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51 and the abstract an analogous device (radio-opaque medical device, as taught in column 1, lines 41-51) wherein the x-ray detectable layer (radio-opaque barium sulfate particulate, taught in column 1, lines 49-50 and “plastic matrix,” taught in column 1, lines 41-42) further comprises a matrix (“plastic matrix,” taught in column 1, lines 41-42; column 1, lines 49-51 teaches “a radio-opaque particulate, such as barium sulfate, is preferably also dispersed within the matrix”), wherein the flexible thermoplastic (“plastic matrix,” taught in column 1, lines 41-42; the abstract teaches “a plastic matrix, such as a copolymer of ethylene and vinyl acetate;” ethylene-vinyl acetate is a flexible thermoplastic material) comprises ethylene-vinyl acetate (the abstract teaches “a plastic matrix, such as a copolymer of ethylene and vinyl acetate”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the x-ray detectable layer of Oka et al. to further comprise a matrix, wherein the flexible thermoplastic comprises ethylene-vinyl acetate as taught by Lerner et al. because this element is known in the art to provide suitable stabilization and encapsulation of radio-opaque particulate barium sulfate, as Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51.
Regarding claim 5, Oka et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claims 1, 3 and 4. Oka et al. teaches in [0021] that a thickness of the x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) is approximately 0.25 to 0.40 millimeters ([0021] teaches “the X-ray detectable material is preferably linear and preferably has an average length in the range of 0.3 mm to 10 mm and an average thickness in the range of 0.1 mm to 3 mm,” which overlaps with the claimed thickness range).
Regarding claim 6, Oka et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Oka et al. teaches in Figure 5A and [0147] that the metal detectable material (the material forming metal foil 22; since the material forming foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) is a first metal detectable material (the material forming metal foil 22; since the material forming foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system); and further comprising a second metal detectable material (metal particles 34; since the material forming particles 34 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) disposed in (Figure 5A teaches metal particles 34 being disperse throughout backing 28; [0147] teaches “a backing-forming material 32 as a component of the backing 28 in the pressure-sensitive adhesive protective member 30 preferably contains metal particles 34”) the backing layer (backing 28).
Regarding claim 7, Oka et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Oka et al. teaches in [0110] that the metal detectable material (the material forming metal foil 22; since the material forming foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) comprises tin ([0110] teaches “examples of metal used to form the specific metal foil include, but are not limited to, aluminum, copper, stainless steel, nickel, tin, gold, silver, titanium, etc.”).
Regarding claim 9, Oka et al. teaches in [0047], [0165-0166], [0203], the abstract and Figure 5A
a backing layer (backing 28);
a pad (absorbent pad 24) comprising a front side (top surface of absorbent pad 24, as shown in Figure 5A) configured to be applied to a wound of a user (the top surface of absorbent pad 24 is capable of being positioned in direct contact with a user’s wound) and a back side (bottom surface of absorbent pad 24, as shown in Figure 5A) opposite (as shown in Figure 5A) the front side (top surface of absorbent pad 24, as shown in Figure 5A);
a metal detectable material (the material forming metal foil 22; since the material forming foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) provided between (as shown in Figure 5A) the backing layer (backing 28) and the pad (absorbent pad 24);
an x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) comprising an x-ray detectable material (the material forming X-ray detectable material 12), the x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) is laminated between (layered between, as shown in Figure 5A) the backing layer (backing 28) and the pad (absorbent pad 24);
wherein the x-ray detectable layer (metal foil 22) covers less than 100% of an area of (as shown in Figure 5A, the metal foil 22 is not positioned on the bottom surface of absorbent pad 24 and therefore, does not cover any of the area thereof) the back side (bottom surface of absorbent pad 24, as shown in Figure 5A) of the pad (absorbent pad 24); and
an adhesive (pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 26) on (as shown in Figure 5A; [0203] teaches “the backing 28, on which the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 26 is formed”) the backing layer (backing 28) configured to contact and adhere to skin of the user to hold the detectable bandage (X-ray detectable adhesive bandage 20’) on the skin ([0165-0166] teaches “an organopolysiloxane pressure-sensitive adhesive is preferably used as a main component of the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer” and “the organopolysiloxane pressure-sensitive adhesive used could exhibit moderate adhesion to the skin”).
Oka et al. does not teach wherein the x-ray detectable material comprises an x-ray detectible powder extruded into a flexible thermoplastic.
However, Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51 and the abstract an analogous device (radio-opaque medical device, as taught in column 1, lines 41-51) wherein the x-ray detectable material (radio-opaque barium sulfate particulate, taught in column 1, lines 49-50 and “plastic matrix,” taught in column 1, lines 41-42) comprises an x-ray detectible powder (radio-opaque barium sulfate particulate, taught in column 1, lines 49-50) extruded into (column 1, lines 49-51 teaches “a radio-opaque particulate, such as barium sulfate, is preferably also dispersed within the matrix”) a flexible thermoplastic (“plastic matrix,” taught in column 1, lines 41-42; the abstract teaches “a plastic matrix, such as a copolymer of ethylene and vinyl acetate;” ethylene-vinyl acetate is a flexible thermoplastic material).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the x-ray detectable material of Oka et al. to comprise an x-ray detectible powder extruded into a flexible thermoplastic as taught by Lerner et al. because this element is known in the art to provide suitable stabilization and encapsulation of radio-opaque particulate barium sulfate, as Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51.
Regarding claim 10, Oka et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claim 9. Oka et al. teaches in Figure 5A a metal detectable layer (metal foil 22; since the foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system), wherein the metal detectable layer (metal foil 22) is disposed adjacent to (near, as shown in Figure 5A) the backing layer (backing 28) and the x-ray detectable material (the material forming X-ray detectable material 12) is disposed between (as shown in Figure 5A) the metal detectable layer (metal foil 22) and the pad (absorbent pad 24).
Regarding claim 11, Oka et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claims 9 and 10. Oka et al. does not teach wherein the flexible thermoplastic comprises ethylene-vinyl acetate.
However, Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51 and the abstract an analogous device (radio-opaque medical device, as taught in column 1, lines 41-51) wherein the flexible thermoplastic (“plastic matrix,” taught in column 1, lines 41-42; the abstract teaches “a plastic matrix, such as a copolymer of ethylene and vinyl acetate;” ethylene-vinyl acetate is a flexible thermoplastic material) comprises ethylene-vinyl acetate (the abstract teaches “a plastic matrix, such as a copolymer of ethylene and vinyl acetate”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the flexible thermoplastic of Oka et al. to comprise ethylene-vinyl acetate as taught by Lerner et al. because this element is known in the art to provide suitable stabilization and encapsulation of radio-opaque particulate barium sulfate, as Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51.
Regarding claim 12, Oka et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claims 9-11. Oka et al. teaches in Figure 5A that the x-ray detectable material (the material forming X-ray detectable material 12) covers a portion of the area of (as shown in Figure 5A) a back side (bottom surface of absorbent pad 24, as shown in Figure 5A) of the pad (absorbent pad 24).
Oka et al. and Lerner et al. do not teach that the x-ray detectable material covers approximately an entire surface area of a back side of the pad.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to provide that the x-ray detectable material covers approximately an entire surface area of a back side of the pad, since it has been held that a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459,105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention would find it obvious that the x-ray detectable material would maintain its functionality if increased in size such that it covers approximately an entire surface area of a back side of the pad.
Regarding claim 13, Oka et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claim 9. Oka et al. teaches in [0021] that a thickness of the x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) is approximately 0.25 to 0.40 millimeters ([0021] teaches “the X-ray detectable material is preferably linear and preferably has an average length in the range of 0.3 mm to 10 mm and an average thickness in the range of 0.1 mm to 3 mm,” which overlaps with the claimed thickness range).
Regarding claim 14, Oka et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claim 9. Oka et al. teaches in [0110] that the metal detectable material (the material forming metal foil 22; since the material forming foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) comprises tin ([0110] teaches “examples of metal used to form the specific metal foil include, but are not limited to, aluminum, copper, stainless steel, nickel, tin, gold, silver, titanium, etc.”).
Regarding claim 15, Oka et al. teaches in [0021], [0047], [0165-0166], [0203], the abstract and Figure 5A
a backing layer (backing 28);
a pad (absorbent pad 24) configured to be applied to a wound of a user (absorbent pad 24 is capable of being positioned in direct contact with a user’s wound);
a metal detectable material (the material forming metal foil 22; since the material forming foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) provided between (as shown in Figure 5A) the backing layer (backing 28) and the pad (absorbent pad 24);
an x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) comprising an x-ray detectable material (the material forming X-ray detectable material 12), the x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) is laminated between (layered between, as shown in Figure 5A) the backing layer (backing 28) and the pad (absorbent pad 24); and
wherein a thickness of the x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) is less than 0.40 millimeters ([0021] teaches “the X-ray detectable material is preferably linear and preferably has an average length in the range of 0.3 mm to 10 mm and an average thickness in the range of 0.1 mm to 3 mm,” which overlaps with the claimed thickness range), and
an adhesive (pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 26) on (as shown in Figure 5A; [0203] teaches “the backing 28, on which the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 26 is formed”) the backing layer (backing 28) configured to contact and adhere to a skin of the user to hold the detectable bandage (X-ray detectable adhesive bandage 20’) on the skin ([0165-0166] teaches “an organopolysiloxane pressure-sensitive adhesive is preferably used as a main component of the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer” and “the organopolysiloxane pressure-sensitive adhesive used could exhibit moderate adhesion to the skin”).
Oka et al. does not teach the x-ray detectable layer comprising a thermoplastic matrix.
However, Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51 and the abstract an analogous device (radio-opaque medical device, as taught in column 1, lines 41-51) with the x-ray detectable layer (radio-opaque barium sulfate particulate, taught in column 1, lines 49-50) comprising a thermoplastic matrix (“plastic matrix,” taught in column 1, lines 41-42; column 1, lines 49-51 teaches “a radio-opaque particulate, such as barium sulfate, is preferably also dispersed within the matrix;” the abstract teaches “a plastic matrix, such as a copolymer of ethylene and vinyl acetate;” ethylene-vinyl acetate is a thermoplastic material).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the x-ray detectable layer of Oka et al. to comprise a thermoplastic matrix as taught by Lerner et al. because this element is known in the art to provide suitable stabilization and encapsulation of radio-opaque particulate barium sulfate, as Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51.
Regarding claim 16, Oka et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claim 15. Oka et al. teaches in Figure 5A a metal detectable layer (metal foil 22; since the foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system), wherein the metal detectable layer (metal foil 22) is disposed adjacent to (near, as shown in Figure 5A) the backing layer (backing 28) and the x-ray detectable material (the material forming X-ray detectable material 12) is disposed between (as shown in Figure 5A) the metal detectable layer (metal foil 22) and the pad (absorbent pad 24).
Regarding claim 17, Oka et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claims 15 and 16. Oka et al. and Lerner et al. do not teach that the x-ray detectable material covers approximately 100% of a surface area of a back side of the pad.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to provide that the x-ray detectable material covers approximately 100% of a surface area of a back side of the pad, since it has been held that a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459,105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention would find it obvious that the x-ray detectable material would maintain its functionality if increased in size such that it covers approximately 100% of a surface area of a back side of the pad.
Regarding claim 18, Oka et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claims 15-17. Oka et al. teaches in [0021] that the thickness of the x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) is up to 2 millimeters ([0021] teaches “the X-ray detectable material is preferably linear and preferably has an average length in the range of 0.3 mm to 10 mm and an average thickness in the range of 0.1 mm to 3 mm,” which overlaps with the claimed thickness range).
Regarding claim 19, Oka et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claims 15-18. Oka et al. teaches in [0110] that the metal detectable material (the material forming metal foil 22; since the material forming foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) comprises tin foil ([0110] teaches “examples of metal used to form the specific metal foil include, but are not limited to, aluminum, copper, stainless steel, nickel, tin, gold, silver, titanium, etc.”).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oka et al. (US 2014/0012175 A1), in view of Lerner et al. (US 3,834,378 A) and further in view of Mumby et al. (US 2014/0249495 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Oka et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claims 15-19. Oka et al. does not teach wherein the thermoplastic matrix comprises ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA); and that the x-ray detectable layer is an isotropic mixture of the EVA and an x-ray detectable powder.
However, Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51 and the abstract an analogous device (radio-opaque medical device, as taught in column 1, lines 41-51) wherein the thermoplastic matrix (“plastic matrix,” taught in column 1, lines 41-42; column 1, lines 49-51 teaches “a radio-opaque particulate, such as barium sulfate, is preferably also dispersed within the matrix;” the abstract teaches “a plastic matrix, such as a copolymer of ethylene and vinyl acetate;” ethylene-vinyl acetate is a thermoplastic material) comprises ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA) (the abstract teaches “a plastic matrix, such as a copolymer of ethylene and vinyl acetate;” ethylene-vinyl acetate is a thermoplastic material); and wherein the x-ray detectable layer (radio-opaque barium sulfate particulate, taught in column 1, lines 49-50) is a mixture of the EVA and an x-ray detectable powder (column 1, lines 49-51 teaches “a radio-opaque particulate, such as barium sulfate, is preferably also dispersed within the matrix;” the abstract teaches “a plastic matrix, such as a copolymer of ethylene and vinyl acetate”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the thermoplastic matrix and the x-ray detectable layer of Oka et al. as modified Lerner et al. to provide that the thermoplastic matrix comprises ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA); and that the x-ray detectable layer is a mixture of the EVA and an x-ray detectable powder as taught by Lerner et al. because this element is known in the art to provide suitable stabilization and encapsulation of radio-opaque particulate barium sulfate, as Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51.
Oka et al. and Lerner et al. do not teach that the x-ray detectable layer is isotropic.
However, Mumby et al. teaches in [0282] an analogous device wherein the layer is isotropic ([0282] teaches “the isotropic nature of the dressing”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the x-ray detectable layer of Oka et al. as modified by Lerner et al. to be isotropic as taught by Mumby et al. because this element “gives the advantage that the user is not required to orientate the dressing in a specific manner before applying the dressing to a wound,” as Mumby et al. teaches in [0282].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTORIA HICKS FISHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786 10/26/2026