DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Response to Election/Restriction filed 4/15/2026. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1, Figures 1, 2 and 4 (corresponding to claims 1-20) in the reply filed on 4/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Applicant amended the claim(s) such that nothing is claimed that encompasses alternative embodiments with mutually exclusive features of patentably distinct species. This is not found persuasive as detailed in the comments regarding claim 8 provided immediately below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 8 is withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a nonelected species. Claim 8 recites wherein the x-ray detectable material covers at least a portion of the elastic backing layer adjacent the pad. This is not a feature of elected Species 1, Figures 1, 2 and 4. Rather, non-elected Species 5, Figure 3D teaches wherein the x-ray detectable material (forming x-ray detectable layer 26) covers at least a portion of (as shown in Figure 3D) the elastic backing layer (backing 12) adjacent (as shown in Figure 3D) the pad (pad 16). Claim 8 is therefore, withdrawn. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/15/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second metal detectable material (see claim 6) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: in order to improve the clarity of the claim(s), “a back side of the pad” in line 2 of the claim should be amended to recite ---the back side of the pad---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oka et al. (US 2014/0012175 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oka et al. teaches in [0047], [0165-0166], [0203], the abstract and Figure 5A an elastic backing layer (backing 28; the abstract teaches that the device “does not have impaired adhesive bandage elasticity;” thus, it is clear that the backing 28 has elasticity); a pad (absorbent pad 24) configured to be applied to a wound of a user contacting the user on (the top surface of absorbent pad 24 is capable of being positioned in direct contact with a user’s wound) a front side (top surface of absorbent pad 24, as shown in Figure 5A) and comprising a back side (bottom surface of absorbent pad 24, as shown in Figure 5A) opposite (as shown in Figure 5A) the front side (top surface of absorbent pad 24, as shown in Figure 5A); a metal detectable layer (metal foil 22; since the foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) comprising a metal detectable material (the material forming metal foil 22; since the material forming foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) disposed between (as shown in Figure 5A) the elastic backing layer (backing 28) and the pad (absorbent pad 24); an x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) comprising an x-ray detectable material (the material forming X-ray detectable material 12), the x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) disposed between (as shown in Figure 5A) the elastic backing layer (backing 28) and the pad (absorbent pad 24) adjacent (Figure 5A teaches the X-ray detectable material 12 being positioned immediately adjacent metal foil 22) the metal detectable layer (metal foil 22); and an adhesive (pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 26) on (as shown in Figure 5A; [0203] teaches “the backing 28, on which the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 26 is formed”) the elastic backing layer (backing 28) configured to contact and adhere to a skin of the user to hold the detectable bandage (X-ray detectable adhesive bandage 20’) on the skin when in use ([0165-0166] teaches “an organopolysiloxane pressure-sensitive adhesive is preferably used as a main component of the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer” and “the organopolysiloxane pressure-sensitive adhesive used could exhibit moderate adhesion to the skin”).
Regarding claim 2, Oka et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Oka et al. teaches in Figure 5A that the metal detectable layer (metal foil 22) is disposed adjacent (near, as shown in Figure 5A) the elastic backing layer (backing 28) and the x-ray detectable material (the material forming X-ray detectable material 12) is disposed between (as shown in Figure 5A) the metal detectable layer (metal foil 22) and the pad (absorbent pad 24).
Regarding claim 6, Oka et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Oka et al. teaches in Figure 5A and [0147] that the metal detectable material (the material forming metal foil 22; since the material forming foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) is a first metal detectable material (the material forming metal foil 22; since the material forming foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system); and further comprising a second metal detectable material (metal particles 34; since the material forming particles 34 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) disposed in (Figure 5A teaches metal particles 34 being disperse throughout backing 28; [0147] teaches “a backing-forming material 32 as a component of the backing 28 in the pressure-sensitive adhesive protective member 30 preferably contains metal particles 34”) the elastic backing layer (backing 28).
Regarding claim 7, Oka et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Oka et al. teaches in [0110] that the metal detectable material (the material forming metal foil 22; since the material forming foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) comprises tin ([0110] teaches “examples of metal used to form the specific metal foil include, but are not limited to, aluminum, copper, stainless steel, nickel, tin, gold, silver, titanium, etc.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 9, 10, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oka et al. (US 2014/0012175 A1) in view of Jones et al. (US 4,185,626 A).
Regarding claim 3, Oka et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Oka et al. does not teach that the x-ray detectable material is barium sulfate.
However, Jones et al. teaches in column 1, lines 45-48 and claim 5 an analogous device in which the x-ray detectable material is barium sulfate (column 1, lines 45-48 teaches “as X-ray opaque filler material an element such as barium, of atomic weight above 100, or one of its compounds, may be used” and “it is particularly advantageous to use barium sulphate;” claim 5 teaches “the X-ray opaque substance is powdered barium sulphate”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the x-ray detectable material of Oka et al. to be barium sulfate as taught by Jones et al. because this element is known in the art to be a “particularly advantageous” x-ray detectable material, as Jones et al. teaches in column 1, lines 45-48 and claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, Oka et al. teaches in [0047], [0165-0166], [0203], the abstract and Figure 5A an elastic backing layer (backing 28; the abstract teaches that the device “does not have impaired adhesive bandage elasticity;” thus, it is clear that the backing 28 has elasticity); a pad (absorbent pad 24) comprising a front side (top surface of absorbent pad 24, as shown in Figure 5A) configured to be applied to a wound of a user (the top surface of absorbent pad 24 is capable of being positioned in direct contact with a user’s wound) and a back side (bottom surface of absorbent pad 24, as shown in Figure 5A) opposite (as shown in Figure 5A) the front side (top surface of absorbent pad 24, as shown in Figure 5A); a metal detectable layer (metal foil 22; since the foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) comprising a metal detectable material (the material forming metal foil 22; since the material forming foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) disposed between (as shown in Figure 5A) the elastic backing layer (backing 28) and the pad (absorbent pad 24); an x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) comprising an x-ray detectable material (the material forming X-ray detectable material 12), the x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) disposed between (as shown in Figure 5A) the elastic backing layer (backing 28) and the pad (absorbent pad 24) adjacent (Figure 5A teaches the X-ray detectable material 12 being positioned immediately adjacent metal foil 22) the metal detectable layer (metal foil 22); wherein the x-ray detectable layer (metal foil 22) covers less than 100% of an area of (as shown in Figure 5A, the metal foil 22 is not positioned on the bottom surface of absorbent pad 24 and therefore, does not cover any of the area thereof) the back side (bottom surface of absorbent pad 24, as shown in Figure 5A) of the pad (absorbent pad 24); and an adhesive (pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 26) on (as shown in Figure 5A; [0203] teaches “the backing 28, on which the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 26 is formed”) the elastic backing layer (backing 28) configured to contact and adhere to a skin of the user to hold the detectable bandage (X-ray detectable adhesive bandage 20’) on the skin ([0165-0166] teaches “an organopolysiloxane pressure-sensitive adhesive is preferably used as a main component of the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer” and “the organopolysiloxane pressure-sensitive adhesive used could exhibit moderate adhesion to the skin”).
Oka et al. does not teach that the x-ray detectable layer comprises barium sulfate
However, Jones et al. teaches in column 1, lines 45-48 and claim 5 an analogous device in which the x-ray detectable layer comprises barium sulfate (column 1, lines 45-48 teaches “as X-ray opaque filler material an element such as barium, of atomic weight above 100, or one of its compounds, may be used” and “it is particularly advantageous to use barium sulphate;” claim 5 teaches “the X-ray opaque substance is powdered barium sulphate”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the x-ray detectable layer of Oka et al. to comprise barium sulfate as taught by Jones et al. because this element is known in the art to be a “particularly advantageous” x-ray detectable material, as Jones et al. teaches in column 1, lines 45-48 and claim 5.
Regarding claim 10, Oka et al. and Jones et al. teach the apparatus of claim 9. Oka et al. teaches in Figure 5A that the metal detectable layer (metal foil 22) is disposed adjacent (near, as shown in Figure 5A) the elastic backing layer (backing 28) and the x-ray detectable material (the material forming X-ray detectable material 12) is disposed between (as shown in Figure 5A) the metal detectable layer (metal foil 22) and the pad (absorbent pad 24).
Regarding claim 13, Oka et al. and Jones et al. teach the apparatus of claim 9. Oka et al. teaches in [0021] that a thickness of the x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) is approximately 0.25 to 0.40 millimeters ([0021] teaches “the X-ray detectable material is preferably linear and preferably has an average length in the range of 0.3 mm to 10 mm and an average thickness in the range of 0.1 mm to 3 mm,” which overlaps with the claimed thickness range).
Regarding claim 14, Oka et al. and Jones et al. teach the apparatus of claim 9. Oka et al. teaches in [0110] that the metal detectable material (the material forming metal foil 22; since the material forming foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) comprises tin ([0110] teaches “examples of metal used to form the specific metal foil include, but are not limited to, aluminum, copper, stainless steel, nickel, tin, gold, silver, titanium, etc.”).
Claim(s) 4, 5, 11, 12 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oka et al. (US 2014/0012175 A1), in view of Jones et al. (US 4,185,626 A) and further in view of Lerner et al. (US 3,834,378 A).
Regarding claim 4, Oka et al. and Jones et al. teach the apparatus of claims 1 and 3. Oka et al. and Jones et al. do not teach that the x-ray detectable layer further comprises a matrix, wherein the matrix comprises ethylene-vinyl acetate.
However, Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51 and the abstract an analogous device (radio-opaque medical device, as taught in column 1, lines 41-51) wherein the x-ray detectable layer (radio-opaque barium sulfate particulate, taught in column 1, lines 49-50) further comprises a matrix (“plastic matrix,” taught in column 1, lines 41-42; column 1, lines 49-51 teaches “a radio-opaque particulate, such as barium sulfate, is preferably also dispersed within the matrix”), wherein the matrix comprises ethylene-vinyl acetate (the abstract teaches “a plastic matrix, such as a copolymer of ethylene and vinyl acetate”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the x-ray detectable layer of Oka et al. as modified by Jones et al. to further comprise a matrix, wherein the matrix comprises ethylene-vinyl acetate as taught by Lerner et al. because this element is known in the art to provide suitable stabilization and encapsulation of radio-opaque particulate barium sulfate, as Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51.
Regarding claim 5, Oka et al., Jones et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claims 1, 3 and 4. Oka et al. teaches in [0021] that a thickness of the x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) is approximately 0.25 to 0.40 millimeters ([0021] teaches “the X-ray detectable material is preferably linear and preferably has an average length in the range of 0.3 mm to 10 mm and an average thickness in the range of 0.1 mm to 3 mm,” which overlaps with the claimed thickness range).
Regarding claim 11, Oka et al. and Jones et al. teach the apparatus of claims 9 and 10. Oka et al. and Jones et al. do not teach that the x-ray detectable layer further comprises a matrix, wherein the matrix comprises ethylene-vinyl acetate.
However, Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51 and the abstract an analogous device (radio-opaque medical device, as taught in column 1, lines 41-51) wherein the x-ray detectable layer (radio-opaque barium sulfate particulate, taught in column 1, lines 49-50) further comprises a matrix (“plastic matrix,” taught in column 1, lines 41-42; column 1, lines 49-51 teaches “a radio-opaque particulate, such as barium sulfate, is preferably also dispersed within the matrix”), wherein the matrix comprises ethylene-vinyl acetate (the abstract teaches “a plastic matrix, such as a copolymer of ethylene and vinyl acetate”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the x-ray detectable layer of Oka et al. as modified by Jones et al. to further comprise a matrix, wherein the matrix comprises ethylene-vinyl acetate as taught by Lerner et al. because this element is known in the art to provide suitable stabilization and encapsulation of radio-opaque particulate barium sulfate, as Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51.
Regarding claim 12, Oka et al., Jones et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claims 9-11. Oka et al. teaches in Figure 5A that the x-ray detectable material (the material forming X-ray detectable material 12) covers a portion of the area of (as shown in Figure 5A) a back side (bottom surface of absorbent pad 24, as shown in Figure 5A) of the pad (absorbent pad 24).
Oka et al., Jones et al. and Lerner et al. do not teach that the x-ray detectable material covers approximately an entire surface area of a back side of the pad.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to provide that the x-ray detectable material covers approximately an entire surface area of a back side of the pad, since it has been held that a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459,105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention would find it obvious that the x-ray detectable material would maintain its functionality if increased in size such that it covers approximately an entire surface area of a back side of the pad.
Regarding claim 15, Oka et al. teaches in [0047], [0165-0166], [0203], the abstract and Figure 5A an elastic backing layer (backing 28; the abstract teaches that the device “does not have impaired adhesive bandage elasticity;” thus, it is clear that the backing 28 has elasticity); a pad (absorbent pad 24) configured to be applied to a wound of a user (absorbent pad 24 is capable of being positioned in direct contact with a user’s wound); a metal detectable layer (metal foil 22; since the foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) comprising a metal detectable material (the material forming metal foil 22; since the material forming foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) disposed between (as shown in Figure 5A) the elastic backing layer (backing 28) and the pad (absorbent pad 24); an x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) comprising an x-ray detectable material (the material forming X-ray detectable material 12), the x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) disposed between (as shown in Figure 5A) the elastic backing layer (backing 28) and the pad (absorbent pad 24) adjacent (Figure 5A teaches the X-ray detectable material 12 being positioned immediately adjacent metal foil 22) the metal detectable layer (metal foil 22); and an adhesive (pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 26) on (as shown in Figure 5A; [0203] teaches “the backing 28, on which the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 26 is formed”) the elastic backing layer (backing 28) configured to contact and adhere to a skin of the user to hold the detectable bandage (X-ray detectable adhesive bandage 20’) on the skin ([0165-0166] teaches “an organopolysiloxane pressure-sensitive adhesive is preferably used as a main component of the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer” and “the organopolysiloxane pressure-sensitive adhesive used could exhibit moderate adhesion to the skin”).
Oka et al. does not teach the x-ray detectable layer comprising a matrix comprising ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA); and wherein the x-ray detectable layer comprises barium sulfate.
However, Jones et al. teaches in column 1, lines 45-48 and claim 5 an analogous device in which the x-ray detectable layer comprises barium sulfate (column 1, lines 45-48 teaches “as X-ray opaque filler material an element such as barium, of atomic weight above 100, or one of its compounds, may be used” and “it is particularly advantageous to use barium sulphate;” claim 5 teaches “the X-ray opaque substance is powdered barium sulphate”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the x-ray detectable layer of Oka et al. to comprise barium sulfate as taught by Jones et al. because this element is known in the art to be a “particularly advantageous” x-ray detectable material, as Jones et al. teaches in column 1, lines 45-48 and claim 5.
Oka et al. and Jones et al. do not teach the x-ray detectable layer comprising a matrix comprising ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA).
However, Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51 and the abstract an analogous device (radio-opaque medical device, as taught in column 1, lines 41-51) with the x-ray detectable layer (radio-opaque barium sulfate particulate, taught in column 1, lines 49-50) comprising a matrix (“plastic matrix,” taught in column 1, lines 41-42; column 1, lines 49-51 teaches “a radio-opaque particulate, such as barium sulfate, is preferably also dispersed within the matrix”) comprising ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA) (the abstract teaches “a plastic matrix, such as a copolymer of ethylene and vinyl acetate”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the x-ray detectable layer of Oka et al. as modified by Jones et al. to further comprise a matrix comprising ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA) as taught by Lerner et al. because this element is known in the art to provide suitable stabilization and encapsulation of radio-opaque particulate barium sulfate, as Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51.
Regarding claim 16, Oka et al., Jones et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claim 15. Oka et al. teaches in Figure 5A that the metal detectable layer (metal foil 22) is disposed adjacent (near, as shown in Figure 5A) the elastic backing layer (backing 28) and the x-ray detectable material (the material forming X-ray detectable material 12) is disposed between (as shown in Figure 5A) the metal detectable layer (metal foil 22) and the pad (absorbent pad 24).
Regarding claim 17, Oka et al., Jones et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claims 15 and 16. Oka et al., Jones et al. and Lerner et al. do not teach that the x-ray detectable material covers approximately 100% of a surface area of a back side of the pad.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to provide that the x-ray detectable material covers approximately 100% of a surface area of a back side of the pad, since it has been held that a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459,105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention would find it obvious that the x-ray detectable material would maintain its functionality if increased in size such that it covers approximately 100% of a surface area of a back side of the pad.
Regarding claim 18, Oka et al., Jones et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claims 15-17. Oka et al. teaches in [0021] that a thickness of the x-ray detectable layer (X-ray detectable material 12) is in a range of 0.25 to 0.40 millimeters ([0021] teaches “the X-ray detectable material is preferably linear and preferably has an average length in the range of 0.3 mm to 10 mm and an average thickness in the range of 0.1 mm to 3 mm,” which overlaps with the claimed thickness range).
Regarding claim 19, Oka et al., Jones et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claims 15-18. Oka et al. teaches in [0110] that the metal detectable material (the material forming metal foil 22; since the material forming foil 22 is taught to be made of metal, it is capable of being detected by a metal detection system) comprises tin foil ([0110] teaches “examples of metal used to form the specific metal foil include, but are not limited to, aluminum, copper, stainless steel, nickel, tin, gold, silver, titanium, etc.”).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oka et al. (US 2014/0012175 A1), in view of Jones et al. (US 4,185,626 A), in view of Lerner et al. (US 3,834,378 A) and further in view of Mumby et al. (US 2014/0249495 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Oka et al., Jones et al. and Lerner et al. teach the apparatus of claims 15-19. Oka et al. and Jones et al. do not teach that the x-ray detectable layer is an isotropic mixture of the EVA and the barium sulfate.
However, Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51 and the abstract an analogous device (radio-opaque medical device, as taught in column 1, lines 41-51) wherein the x-ray detectable layer (radio-opaque barium sulfate particulate, taught in column 1, lines 49-50) is a mixture of the EVA and the barium sulfate (column 1, lines 49-51 teaches “a radio-opaque particulate, such as barium sulfate, is preferably also dispersed within the matrix;” the abstract teaches “a plastic matrix, such as a copolymer of ethylene and vinyl acetate”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the x-ray detectable layer of Oka et al. as modified by Jones et al. and Lerner et al. to be a mixture of the EVA and the barium sulfate as taught by Lerner et al. because this element is known in the art to provide suitable stabilization and encapsulation of radio-opaque particulate barium sulfate, as Lerner et al. teaches in column 1, lines 41-51.
Oka et al., Jones et al. and Lerner et al. do not teach that the layer is isotropic.
However, Mumby et al. teaches in [0282] an analogous device wherein the layer is isotropic ([0282] teaches “the isotropic nature of the dressing”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the layer of Oka et al. as modified by Jones et al. and Lerner et al. to be isotropic because this element “gives the advantage that the user is not . required to orientate the dressing in a specific manner before applying the dressing to a wound,” as Mumby et al. teaches in [0282].
Conclusion
/VICTORIA HICKS FISHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786 5/7/2026