DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 13-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Patent JP 5359435 B2 to Nissan.
Regarding claim 1, Nissan discloses a ball joint arrangement for a vehicle (see at least Figure 2), the ball joint arrangement comprising: a ball stud (6), the ball stud comprising a joint ball (10) and a stud portion (7), the stud portion (7) comprising a threaded hole (8); a joint housing (not shown but discussed on page 3, paragraph 6 of English translation stating that the ball is installed in a housing on the lower control arm), the joint ball being mounted inside the joint housing (see joint housing discussion on page 3, paragraph 6 of English translation); a vehicle part (1), the vehicle part (1) comprising a recess (5) into which at least part of a part of a connection section (cylindrical part of the stud 7) of the stud portion (7) is positively inserted (see at least Figure 2); and a screw (14), the screw (14) being fastened inside the threaded hole (8) such that it attaches the vehicle part (1) to the ball stud (7); wherein the recess (5) and /or at least a part of the connection section (cylinder part of stud 7) comprises a structured surface (convex section 13 or shoulder 9 on cylinder).
Regarding claim 2, Nissan discloses the structured surface (13) is configured for limiting rotation of the ball stud (6) relative to the vehicle part (1) during fastening of the screw (see at least last paragraph on page 3, and first on page 4 of English translation).
Regarding claim 3, Nissan discloses the structured surface (13) is a knurled surface (see at least the first full paragraph on page 3 of the English translation).
Regarding claim 4, Nissan discloses the structure surface (13) comprises multiple protrusions (see at least Figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Nissan discloses the protrusions (see Figure 3) are notched into an opposing surface of the at least the part of the connection section and/or the recess (the protrusions are notched into the surface opposing the recess 5; see at least Figures 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 13, Nissan discloses the screw (14) comprises a spherically shaped head (20) and the vehicle part (1) comprises a spherically shaped socket (3), the spherically shaped head being positively inserted in the spherically shaped socket (see at least Figures 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 14, Nissan discloses the ball joint arrangement further comprises a control arm for a vehicle suspension of the vehicle (see at least page 3, paragraph 6 of English translation), the control arm comprising the joint housing (see at least page 3, paragraph 6 of English translation), and wherein the vehicle part (1) is a steering knuckle for the vehicle suspension (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 15, Nissan discloses a vehicle suspension of a vehicle (see Abstract), the vehicle suspension comprising: a ball joint arrangement (see Figure 1) comprising: a ball stud (6), the ball stud comprising a joint ball (10) and a stud portion (7), the stud portion (7) comprising a threaded hole (8); a joint housing (not shown but discussed on page 3, paragraph 6 of English translation stating that the ball is installed in a housing on the lower control arm), the joint ball being mounted inside the joint housing (see joint housing discussion on page 3, paragraph 6 of English translation); a vehicle part (1), the vehicle part (1) comprising a recess (5) into which at least part of a part of a connection section (cylindrical part of the stud 7) of the stud portion (7) is positively inserted (see at least Figure 2); and a screw (14), the screw (14) being fastened inside the threaded hole (8) such that it attaches the vehicle part (1) to the ball stud (7); wherein the recess (5) and /or at least a part of the connection section (cylinder part of stud 7) comprises a structured surface (convex section 13 or shoulder 9 on cylinder).
Regarding claim 16, Nissan discloses the structured surface (13) is configured for limiting rotation of the ball stud (6) relative to the vehicle part (1) during fastening of the screw (see at least last paragraph on page 3, and first on page 4 of English translation).
Regarding claim 17, Nissan discloses the structured surface (13) is a knurled surface (see at least the first full paragraph on page 3 of the English translation).
Regarding claim 19, Nissan discloses the screw (14) comprises a spherically shaped head (20) and the vehicle part (1) comprises a spherically shaped socket (3), the spherically shaped head being positively inserted in the spherically shaped socket (see at least Figures 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 20, Nissan discloses the ball joint arrangement further comprises a control arm for a vehicle suspension of the vehicle (see at least page 3, paragraph 6 of English translation), the control arm comprising the joint housing (see at least page 3, paragraph 6 of English translation), and wherein the vehicle part (1) is a steering knuckle for the vehicle suspension (see Abstract).
Claims 1, 7, 10-13, 15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 1 637 751 A1 to Audi.
Modified Figure 1
Regarding claim 1, Audi discloses a ball joint arrangement for a vehicle (see Abstract), the ball joint arrangement (see Figure 1) comprising: a ball stud (12), the ball stud comprising a joint ball (12) and a stud portion (11), the stud portion comprising a threaded hole (21; see Figure 1); a joint housing (16), the joint ball (12) being mounted inside the joint housing (16); a vehicle part (18), the vehicle part (18) comprising a recess (17) into which at least a part of a connection section of the stud portion is positively inserted (see where tapered section 11 inserts into 17 in Figure 1); and a screw (20), the screw (20) being fastened inside the threaded hole (21) such that it attaches the vehicle part (18) to the ball stud (12); wherein the recess and/or the at least the part of the connection section comprises a structured surface (tapered wall near 11 in Figure 1 that aligns with recess 17).
Regarding claim 7, Audi discloses the connection section (near 11 in Figure 1) comprises a tapered shaft segment (see Figure 1), which is positively inserted into the recess (17).
Regarding claim 10, Audi discloses the tapered shaft segment comprises the structured surface (the outside surface of 11 in connection with 17 is structured).
Regarding claim 11, Audi discloses the connection section further comprises a collar segment (see collar segments labelled in Modified Figure 1 above), the collar segment (see Modified Figure 1 above) being configured as a limit stop for the vehicle part (1).
Regarding claim 12, Audi discloses the collar segment comprises the structured surface (see Modified Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, Audi discloses the screw (20) comprises a spherically shaped head (22) and the vehicle part (18) comprises a spherically shaped socket (23), the spherically shaped head (22) being positively inserted in the spherically shaped socket (23, see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Audi discloses a vehicle suspension of a vehicle (see Abstract), the vehicle suspension comprising: a ball joint arrangement (see Figure 1) comprising: a ball stud (12), the ball stud comprising a joint ball (12) and a stud portion (11), the stud portion comprising a threaded hole (21; see Figure 1); a joint housing (16), the joint ball (12) being mounted inside the joint housing (16); a vehicle part (18), the vehicle part (18) comprising a recess (17) into which at least a part of a connection section of the stud portion is positively inserted (see where tapered section 11 inserts into 17 in Figure 1); and a screw (20), the screw (20) being fastened inside the threaded hole (21) such that it attaches the vehicle part (18) to the ball stud (12); wherein the recess and/or the at least the part of the connection section comprises a structured surface (tapered wall near 11 in Figure 1 that aligns with recess 17).
Regarding claim 18, Audi discloses the connection section (near 11 in Figure 1) comprises a tapered shaft segment (see Figure 1), which is positively inserted into the recess (17).
Regarding claim 19, Audi discloses the screw (20) comprises a spherically shaped head (22) and the vehicle part (18) comprises a spherically shaped socket (23), the spherically shaped head (22) being positively inserted in the spherically shaped socket (23, see Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nissan.
Nissan is discussed above and discloses having protrusions on the structured surface. Nissan discloses all of the claimed features except for the protrusions having a height in the range of 0.1 to 0.5 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to have protrusions in the height range of 0.1 to 0.5 mm with a reasonable expectation of success since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The use of protrusions having a height range of 0.1 to 0.5mm on Nissan would yield predictable results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Audi.
Audi is discussed above and discloses having a tapered shaft segment that has an inclined surface. However, Nissan does not discuss the exact inclination of angel of the tapered shaft segment. Nissan discloses all of the claimed features except for the inclination angle the range of 2 to 8 degrees relative to a center axis (A) of the tapered shaft segment.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to have the tapered shaft segment have an inclined surface with an inclination angle in the range of 2 to 8 degrees relative to a center axis of the tapered shaft segment with a reasonable expectation of success since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The inclination angle of the inclined surface being in the range of 2 to 8 degrees relative to a center axis on the tapered shaft segment of Nissan would yield predictable results.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Audi in view of WIPO Publication WO 02/23054 to Bodin et al. (hereinafter Bodin).
Audi is discussed above, including having a tapered shaft segment (see Modified Figure 1 above). Audi discloses the tapered shaft segment engages the recess of the vehicle part (18). However, Audi fails to disclose that the tapered shaft segment is press-fitted into the recess.
Bodin discloses a ball joint arrangement (see page 2, lines 22-31) having a tapered shaft (8) inserted in to a recess (10) of a vehicle part where the cylindrical part of the stud portion is connected with a tight press fit (see at least page 11, lines 24-31 discussing a press fit of the tapered portion into the tapered hole).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to have press fit the tapered shaft segment of Audi into the recess as disclosed by Bodin with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a tight fit between the ball stud and the vehicle part. The combination would yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited on the attached PTO-892 all related to ball joint construction.
/T.L.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/PAUL N DICKSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614