In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Status of Claims
- Claim(s) 1-15 is/are pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 22, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160163268.
Consider claim 1, Yoo teaches a display device, comprising: an image receiver configured to receive an image (see Yoo paragraph 0045 where display panel 120 may display a whole image BIM according to an input image signal provided from outside);
a first panel including a plurality of pixels and configured to display the image through the plurality of pixels (see Yoo figure 1, element 120 and paragraph 0045 where display panel 120 may display a whole image BIM according to an input image signal provided from outside. For this operation, the display panel 120 may include a plurality of pixels);
a second panel corresponding to the first panel and configured to selectively transmit light to an area of the first panel (see Yoo figure 1, element 140, figure 3, element 140 , HIM and paragraph 0046 where when a region having a dynamic range that is greater than a reference range exists in the whole image BIM displayed on the display panel 120, the transparent display panel 140 may display a partial image HIM corresponding to the region having the dynamic range that is greater that the reference range); and
a controller configured to: obtain image information of the image displayed on the first panel (see Yoo figure 1, element 160 and paragraph 0047 where as illustrated in FIG. 1, the display device 100 may include the controller 160 that controls the display panel 120 and the transparent display panel 140 (i.e., indicated as CTL1 and CTL2). Here, the controller 160 may synchronize an operation for displaying the whole image BIM on the display panel 120 with an operation for displaying the partial image HIM on the transparent display panel 140.); and
control a transmittance of the second panel based on the obtained image information (see Yoo figure 1, element 160, CTL1, CTL2 and paragraph 0047 where as illustrated in FIG. 1, the display device 100 may include the controller 160 that controls the display panel 120 and the transparent display panel 140 (i.e., indicated as CTL1 and CTL2). Here, the controller 160 may synchronize an operation for displaying the whole image BIM on the display panel 120 with an operation for displaying the partial image HIM on the transparent display panel 140.).
Consider claim 7, Yoo teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the transmittance of the second panel locally based on the obtained image information (see Yoo figure 1, element 160, CTL1, CTL2, figure 3, element HIM and paragraph 0047 where as illustrated in FIG. 1, the display device 100 may include the controller 160 that controls the display panel 120 and the transparent display panel 140 (i.e., indicated as CTL1 and CTL2). Here, the controller 160 may synchronize an operation for displaying the whole image BIM on the display panel 120 with an operation for displaying the partial image HIM on the transparent display panel 140.).
Consider claim 8, Yoo teaches all the limitations of claim 7 and further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: adjust the transmittance of a first area of the second panel to a first transmittance, based on the image information, and adjust the transmittance of a second area of the second panel to a second transmittance different from the first transmittance (see Yoo figure 1, element 160, CTL1, CTL2 and paragraph 0047 where as illustrated in FIG. 1, the display device 100 may include the controller 160 that controls the display panel 120 and the transparent display panel 140 (i.e., indicated as CTL1 and CTL2). Here, the controller 160 may synchronize an operation for displaying the whole image BIM on the display panel 120 with an operation for displaying the partial image HIM on the transparent display panel 140. Where for example HIM may correspond to a first area and the remaining area of 140 may correspond to a second area).
Consider claim 9, Yoo teaches all the limitations of claim 8 and further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: obtain a main image (see Yoo figure 3, element HIM) and a background image (see Yoo figure 3, element BIM) of the displayed image based on the image information, reduce the transmittance of the first area of the second panel corresponding to the main image (see Yoo figure 1, element 160, CTL1, CTL2 and paragraph 0047 where as illustrated in FIG. 1, the display device 100 may include the controller 160 that controls the display panel 120 and the transparent display panel 140 (i.e., indicated as CTL1 and CTL2). Here, the controller 160 may synchronize an operation for displaying the whole image BIM on the display panel 120 with an operation for displaying the partial image HIM on the transparent display panel 140.), and increase the transmittance of the second area of the second panel (see Yoo figure 3 where remaining area of 140 is transparent).
Consider claim 10, Yoo teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the second panel is one of a Liquid Crystal Display (LCD) panel, a Micro Electro Mechanical System (MEMS) panel, or an Electro wetting panel (see Yoo paragraph 0046 where transparent display panel 140 may be a liquid crystal display panel or an organic light emitting display panel. However, the transparent display panel 140 is not limited thereto).
Consider claim 12, Yoo teaches an operating method of a display device, the method comprising: receiving an image to be displayed (see Yoo paragraph 0045 where display panel 120 may display a whole image BIM according to an input image signal provided from outside);
displaying the image through a plurality of pixels of a first panel of the display device (see Yoo figure 1, element 120 and paragraph 0045 where display panel 120 may display a whole image BIM according to an input image signal provided from outside. For this operation, the display panel 120 may include a plurality of pixels);
obtaining image information of the image displayed on the first panel (see Yoo figure 1, element 160 and paragraph 0047 where as illustrated in FIG. 1, the display device 100 may include the controller 160 that controls the display panel 120 and the transparent display panel 140 (i.e., indicated as CTL1 and CTL2). Here, the controller 160 may synchronize an operation for displaying the whole image BIM on the display panel 120 with an operation for displaying the partial image HIM on the transparent display panel 140.); and
controlling a transmittance of a second panel of the display device, corresponding to the first panel, based on the obtained image information (see Yoo figure 1, element 160, CTL1, CTL2 and paragraph 0047 where as illustrated in FIG. 1, the display device 100 may include the controller 160 that controls the display panel 120 and the transparent display panel 140 (i.e., indicated as CTL1 and CTL2). Here, the controller 160 may synchronize an operation for displaying the whole image BIM on the display panel 120 with an operation for displaying the partial image HIM on the transparent display panel 140.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160163268 in view of Ko, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130314453.
Consider claim 2, Yoo teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the image information comprises a gray level (see Yoo paragraph 0005 where grayscale representation is disclosed) applied to each of the plurality of pixels, and wherein the controller is configured to control the second panel to reduce the transmittance of a partial area of the second panel corresponding to a partial area of the first panel (see Yoo figure 1, element 140, figure 3, element 140 , HIM and paragraph 0046 where when a region having a dynamic range that is greater than a reference range exists in the whole image BIM displayed on the display panel 120, the transparent display panel 140 may display a partial image HIM corresponding to the region having the dynamic range that is greater that the reference range. Note that by displaying partial image HIM the transparency of 140 is reduced where HIM is presented)
Yoo is silent regarding where the gray level is less than a certain threshold. In a related field of endeavor, Ko teaches a transparent display having a unit for selectively blocking or scattering light where when the gray level is less than a certain threshold so as to adjust transparency of the display and improve image display (see Ko paragraphs 0017, 0020, 0042 where processing unit 106 then determines whether the gray scale level of the image object is lower than a predetermined gray scale level in step S404. If the gray scale level of the image object is lower than the predetermined gray scale level, the processing unit 106 controls the backlight-penetrating unit 104 to scatter or to block the backlight L1 corresponding to the image object).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Yoo with the teachings of Ko to have selectively blocked or scattered light when the gray level is less than a certain threshold so as to adjust transparency of the display and improve image display using known techniques with predictable results.
Claim 13 recites similar claim limitations as claim 2, and thus is rejected under similar rational as claim 2 detail above.
Claim(s) 3-6, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160163268 in view of Chen et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20250061866 and Takeuchi, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20070008334.
Consider claim 3, Yoo as modified by of claim 1 wherein the image information comprises pixel values applied to each of the plurality of pixels (see Yoo paragraph 0005, 0045-0046, 0051-0053 where display device may convert an input image signal (i.e., a digital signal) into a data voltage (i.e., an analog signal) and provide the data voltage to pixels to display an image), and wherein the controller is configured to:
control the second panel to reduce the transmittance of a partial area of the second panel (see Yoo paragraph 0046 where the transparent display panel 140 may display a partial image HIM corresponding to the region having the dynamic range that is greater that the reference range. Note that by displaying partial image HIM the transparency of 140 is reduced where HIM is presented)
Yoo s silent regarding identify a fixed area of the first panel at which one or more pixel values is applied for longer than a certain time threshold. In the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches identifying static image data for presentation on a separately stacked display from dynamic image data so as to create a composite image with multiple visual effects (see Chen paragraph 0024, 0031-0044 specifically for example figures 8A-9C and paragraph 0024 where front and rear panels respectively present static and dynamic images, or 3D effects with different depths of field, so the image overlapping method can be used to create the composite image with multiple visual effects).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Yoo with the teachings of Chen to have identifying static image data for presentation on a separately stacked display from dynamic image data so as to create a composite image with multiple visual effects using known techniques with predictable results.
Chen classifies image content into static image data and dynamic image data via AI algorithm (see Chen paragraph 0033 where AI algorithm 1302 differentiates frame-by-frame before and after changes of the static image data and the dynamic image data, and classifies the image content data 1101 into the static image data and the dynamic image data. Then, the image management module 130 can integrate the static image data into the first image setting signal 131, so that the first image displayed by the first display panel 111 presents a static image). One of ordinary skill would have readily recognized classification of static image data as corresponding to identify a fixed area of the first panel at which one or more pixel values is applied for longer than a certain time threshold.
Yoo/Chen is silent regarding control the second panel to reduce the transmittance of a partial area of the second panel corresponding to the fixed area. In a related field of endeavor, Takeuchi teaches reducing transmittance of a stationary image area including in a moving image so as to reduce a potential luminance difference between a motion are and a stationary area of a displayed image (see Takeuchi paragraph 0103-0104). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have further modified Yoo with the teachings of Takeuchi to have control the second panel to reduce the transmittance of a partial area of the second panel corresponding to the fixed area displaying a static (stationary) image so as to reduce a potential luminance difference between a motion are and a stationary area of a displayed image using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 4, Yoo as modified by Chen and Takeuchi teaches all the limitations of claim 3 and further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to control the first panel to reduce a luminance at the fixed area of the first panel (see Takeuchi paragraph 0103-0104).
Consider claim 5, Yoo as modified by Chen and Takeuchi teaches all the limitations of claim 3 and further teaches wherein the fixed area of the first panel is an area where a logo, a channel number, a menu, or static information is displayed (see Chen paragraph 0024, 0031-0044 specifically for example figures 8A-9C and paragraph 0024 where front and rear panels respectively present static and dynamic images, or 3D effects with different depths of field, so the image overlapping method can be used to create the composite image with multiple visual effects. Examiner notes that a logo, channel number and menu correspond to specific examples of static information).
Consider claim 6, Yoo as modified by Chen and Takeuchi teaches all the limitations of claim 3 and further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to move the partial area of the second panel to match a movement of the fixed area (implicit see Chen paragraph 0033 where AI algorithm 1302 differentiates frame-by-frame before and after changes of the static image data and the dynamic image data, and classifies the image content data 1101 into the static image data and the dynamic image data. Then, the image management module 130 can integrate the static image data into the first image setting signal 131, so that the first image displayed by the first display panel 111 presents a static image).
Claims 14-15 recite similar claim limitations as claims 3-4, and thus are rejected under similar rational as claims 3-4 detail above.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160163268 in view of Kim et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140185129.
Consider claim 11, Yoo teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Yoo is silent regarding wherein the controller is further configured to: based on the image being a high dynamic range (HDR) image, identify a bright image area of the HDR image based on the image information; obtain an ambient brightness of the display device; control the second panel to lower the transmittance of a transmission area of the second panel corresponding to the bright image area based on the obtained ambient brightness being greater than a certain brightness threshold; and, control the second panel to increase the transmittance of the transmission area of the second panel corresponding to the bright image area and control the second panel to increase a luminance of the bright image area based on the obtained ambient brightness being less than the certain brightness threshold. Yoo teaches high dynamic range image (see Yoo figure 3, element HIM).
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches identify a bright image area of the and paragraph 0146); obtain an ambient brightness of the display device (see Kim figure 12, element S110 and paragraph 0147); control the second panel to lower the transmittance of a transmission area of the second panel corresponding to the bright image area based on the obtained ambient brightness being greater than a certain brightness threshold (see Kim paragraphs 0015, 0048, 0124-0139 and figures 7-9 specifically for example figure 7 and paragraphs 0131-0133); and, control the second panel to increase the transmittance of the transmission area of the second panel corresponding to the bright image area and control the second panel to increase a luminance of the bright image area based on the obtained ambient brightness being less than the certain brightness threshold (see Kim paragraph 0101 where control unit 515 controls, for example, the processing unit 510 to decrease the transmittance on the basis of the light characteristics from the optical sensor so as to improve the visibility of the image displayed on the transparent display apparatus 500 and to operate various modes of the transparent display apparatus 500.) so as to improve visibility of an image according to environment brightness sensed.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Yoo with the teachings of Kim to have controlled transmissive levels according to environment brightness so as to improve visibility of an image when viewed in different lighting environments using known techniques with predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pance, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20110164047 (transparent electronic device), Yim et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130147851 (display device), Armstrong-Muntner, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140063049 (information display using electronic diffusers), Yoo et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140139559 (controlling transparent display), Kawai et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160379575 (display device), Chang et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20170177150 (display control for transparent display), Huang et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210280122 (display device), Lee et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220157265 (stacked display device), Li et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220179251 (display dimming operations), Park et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220342270 (high contrast transparent display), Kim, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20250392780 (display system)
/Dorothy Harris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625