Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Amendments and arguments filed on 08/14/2026 have been fully considered and are not found to place the application in a condition for allowance.
The applicant asserts Huang does not teach “a first backlight disposed under the liquid crystal panel and first pixels of the plurality of pixels in the first area, the first pixels overlapping the first backlight in a direction perpendicular to a light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel; a second backlight disposed under the liquid crystal panel and second pixels of the plurality of pixels in the second area, the second pixels overlapping the second backlight in the direction perpendicular to the light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel” … “wherein a light source is not disposed under the liquid crystal panel in the light-transmissive area”. The Office respectfully disagrees and maintains that Huang clearly teaches such limitations. Specifically, as clearly shown in fig. 1B of Huang, the first backlight is comprised of elements 1024 and 1025, while the second backlight is comprised of elements 1022 and 1021. Accordingly, Huang teaches a first backlight disposed under the liquid crystal panel and first pixels of the plurality of pixels in the first area, the first pixels overlapping the first backlight in a direction perpendicular to a light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel (first pixels overlap at least element 1025 of the first backlight); a second backlight disposed under the liquid crystal panel and second pixels of the plurality of pixels in the second area, the second pixels overlapping the second backlight in the direction perpendicular to the light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel (second pixels overlap at least element 1021 of the second backlight) … wherein a light source is not disposed under the liquid crystal panel in the light-transmissive area (a light source such as 1022 is configured as such). The applicant admits that elements 1022 and 1024 do not overlap any pixels and further admits that element 1021 is a light source that overlaps the transmission area 101a. In other words, the applicant admits to the overlapping of the backlights with the pixels. However, the applicant points to the light diffusion layer (a portion of the backlight) as a light source while Huang clearly identifies elements 1022 and 1024 as light sources. Accordingly, this argument is not found persuasive.
The applicant further asserts that Huang does not teach the limitations of new claims 21 and 22. The Office respectfully disagrees. The claim language requires that “no light from any light source under the liquid crystal panel is configured to emit light towards the bottom surface of the liquid crystal panel in the direction perpendicular to the bottom surface of the liquid crystal panel at a position corresponding to the camera”. Note that during the sensing state when the camera is on, this limitation is met, wherein no light from any light source under the liquid crystal panel is configured to emit light towards the bottom surface of the liquid crystal panel in the direction perpendicular to the bottom surface of the liquid crystal panel at a position corresponding to the camera because the light source is turned off (fig. 4).
The applicant further asserts that Huang does not teach that “in response to the camera being turned on, the first backlight emits a white light and the second backlight is turned off, and in response to the camera being turned off, the first backlight emits a white light and the second backlight emits red, green and blue light.” The Office respectfully disagrees and maintains that Huang clearly teaches such a limitation. Huang clearly teaches that fig. 3 represents the device in a “display state” and fig. 4 represents the device in a “sensing state”. Specifically, ¶ 61-64 clearly teach that at the display state the camera is off and at the sensing state the camera is on. In other words, the backlight states as claimed are in response to the state of the camera being on or off which itself is in response to the display being in a sensing or display state, respectively. Accordingly, Huang is found to teach such a limitation.
The applicant further asserts that the combination of Huang in view of Tsai does not teach “a reflective surface disposed under the liquid crystal panel, the reflective surface receiving light traveling in a direction perpendicular to a light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel, and reflecting the received light toward a light receiving element of the camera light in a direction parallel to the light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel” … “wherein a light receiving element of the camera is positioned to receive the reflected light in the direction parallel to the light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel”. The Office maintains that elements 242 of Tsai receives light which propagates in all directions, including in a direction perpendicular to a light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel, and it is internally reflected within the “wedge portion” at which point it is directed in a parallel direction to the bottom of the LCD panel towards the camera. Please note that the arrow drawn in fig. 3 of Tsai is only a representation of one ray of light in order to assist in understanding the concept of internal reflections and it is by no means the only path the light travels towards and within the wedge portion.
The applicant further asserts that the combination of Huang in view of Tsai is erroneous. The Office respectfully disagrees. First, the assumption that the manufacturing process is greatly increased due to the addition of the prism layer is not persuasive as it is not supported by any further statement as to why such a conclusory statement was made. While a prism layer is added, the inclusion of a sensitive light sensing device among the pixels is eliminated and the camera is moved to a non-display potion of the device which facilitates the placement of the camera and ultimately the manufacturing of the display stack/panel. The Office maintains that Tsai clearly teaches an alternative display stack for achieving on-display optical sensing which is also the goal of Huang. Second, the applicant makes a second conclusory statement that combining Huang and Tsai would make Huang’s camera “unsuitable for its intended purpose” of “taking a picture or determining a fingerprint”. The Office respectfully disagrees as Tsai clearly teaches in ¶ 29 that an “image” is formed and detected according to such a configuration. In other words, the optical system of Tsai, similarly to that of Huang, is capable of forming images. Applicant’s third argument is further found unpersuasive. As explained regarding the second point, Tsai clearly teaches that such a configuration is capable of forming an image and detecting the image using an image detector (see ¶ 29 of Tsai).
The applicant further asserts that Huang does not teach the limitations of dependent claim 15. The Office respectfully disagrees. Note that “a bottom surface” of the liquid crystal panel is a two-dimensional surface. Huang clearly teaches that the direction of light emitted by the LED packages is perpendicular to the bottom surface from at least one side of the surface when viewed from a top/bottom view as shown in, for example, fig. 1D of Huang.
Accordingly, the arguments are found non-persuasive and the amendments are not found to overcome the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al., US 2024/0019731 A1, hereinafter “Huang”.
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a display device (fig. 1A, display panel, ¶ 25) comprising: a liquid crystal panel including a display area having a plurality of pixels and including a first area (fig. 1A/B, 101b, ¶ 26-27) and a second area (fig. 1A/B, 101a, ¶ 26-27) at least partially surrounded with the first area (see fig. 1A), and a non-display area surrounding the display area (fig. 1A, 101c, ¶ 26); a first backlight disposed under the liquid crystal panel and first pixels of the plurality of pixels in the first area, the first pixels overlapping the first backlight in a direction perpendicular to a light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel (fig. 1B, elements 1024 and 1025, ¶ 51-53; note at least element 1025 is disposed under and overlapping the first pixels); a second backlight disposed under the liquid crystal panel and second pixels of the plurality of pixels in the second area, the second pixels overlapping the second backlight in the direction perpendicular to the light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel (fig. 1B, elements 1021 and 1022, ¶ 44; note at least element 1021 disposed under and overlapping the second pixels); and a camera (fig. 1B, element 103, ¶ 35) disposed under the liquid crystal panel and adjacent to the second backlight (see fig. 1B, ¶ 36), wherein the second area includes: a light-transmissive area (fig. 1B, area 101a) vertically overlapping the camera (fig. 1B, ¶ 33-37), wherein a light source is not disposed under the liquid crystal panel in the light-transmissive area (see fig. 1B); a peripheral area surrounding the light-transmissive area, wherein the second backlight is disposed under the liquid crystal panel in the peripheral area (fig. 1B, see positioning of element 1022 in the periphery; also see fig. 1C/D); and a color filter disposed above the liquid crystal panel in the first area (fig. 1B, element 106, ¶ 31) and excluded above the liquid crystal panel in the second area (fig. 1B, ¶ 31).
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches that the first backlight includes a plurality of first light sources facing and vertically overlapping the liquid crystal panel and configured to emit light of a same color (¶ 51-52, note that the “direct light source” provides first light sources and emit the same white light which is then filtered by the color filters to produce RGB pixel colors), and wherein the second backlight includes a plurality of second light sources facing and vertically overlapping the liquid crystal panel and configured to emit light of different colors (fig. 3, see light sources shown by arrows each of which is of a different color, ¶ 63), respectively.
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches that each first light source includes a plurality of white LEDs (¶ 50-52; note that since the same light is passed through the RGB color filters, the light sources are necessarily white LEDs), and wherein each second light source includes a plurality of red LEDs, a plurality of green LEDs, and a plurality of blue LEDs (¶ 54 and ¶ 44).
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches that the camera vertically overlaps the light-transmissive area of the second area, and wherein a light receiving element of the camera faces the liquid crystal panel (fig. 1B, element 103, ¶ 36; also see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 19, Huang teaches a display device (fig. 1A, display panel, ¶ 25) comprising: a liquid crystal panel including a display area (fig. 1A/B, 101a and 101b, ¶ 26-27) and a non-display area (fig. 1A, 101c, ¶ 26) surrounding the display area (see fig. 1A); a camera (fig. 1B, element 103, ¶ 33-35) disposed under the liquid crystal panel and configured to capture images through the liquid crystal panel (see fig. 1B, ¶ 33-35); first and second backlights disposed under the liquid crystal panel excluding at a position corresponding to the camera (fig. 1, see backlights 1022 and 1024), wherein the second backlight is disposed adjacent to the camera (fig. 1B, backlight 1022), and the first backlight is disposed adjacent to the second backlight (see fig. 1D and 1B wherein the side-edge-mounted backlights are adjacent each other); and a color filter disposed above the liquid crystal panel in an area excluding a position of the camera (fig. 1B, element 106, ¶ 31), wherein in response to the camera being turned on (¶ 61-64, see “sensing state”), the first backlight emits a white light and the second backlight is turned off (¶ 51-52, note that the “direct light source” provides first light sources and emit the same white light which is then filtered by the color filters to produce RGB pixel colors, furthermore, the display area 101b does not correspond to the camera and displays images normally based on the white light of the backlight going through color filters; see fig. 4, ¶ 64 regarding the second backlight in the sensing state in response to which the camera being turned on in response to which the first back light emits white light and the second backlight is off), and in response to the camera being turned off, the first backlight emits a white light and the second backlight emits red, green and blue light (figs. 2-3, ¶ 44 and 61-63).
Regarding claims 21-22, Huang teaches that the first backlight is configured to emit light towards a bottom surface of the liquid crystal panel in a direction perpendicular to the bottom surface of the liquid crystal panel (fig. 1B, 1025 portion of first backlight), wherein the second backlight is configured to emit light towards the bottom surface of the liquid crystal panel in the direction perpendicular to the bottom surface of the liquid crystal panel (fig. 1B, 1021 portion of the second backlight), and wherein no light from any light source under the liquid crystal panel is configured to emit light towards the bottom surface of the liquid crystal panel in the direction perpendicular to the bottom surface of the liquid crystal panel at a position corresponding to the camera (fig. 4, no light is emitted; ¶ 64).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of Tsai et al., US 2011/0122095 A1, hereinafter “Tsai”.
Regarding claim 5, Huang does not teach an optical prism disposed under the liquid crystal panel and above the second backlight in the second area, wherein the camera is disposed in the non-display area and perpendicular to a light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel, and wherein a light receiving element of the camera faces the light incident surface in a second direction perpendicular to a first direction which light from the second backlight is emitted to the liquid crystal panel.
Tsai, however, teaches an optical prism (fig. 3, elements 242 and 244, ¶ 28; note that an optical element which redirects light is considered to be a prism) disposed under the liquid crystal panel (fig. 3, element 110, ¶ 34) and above the backlight (fig. 3, element 220, ¶ 24), wherein the camera (fig. 3, element 250, ¶ 34) is disposed in the non-display area and perpendicular to a light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel (fig. 3, see position of element 250), and wherein a light receiving element of the camera faces the light incident surface in a second direction perpendicular to a first direction which light from the second backlight is emitted to the liquid crystal panel (fig. 3, see elements 250 and 270).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang in view of Tsai. The references teach under-display optical elements for imaging. Tsai further teaches that the optical sensor may be positioned vertically in a non-display area of the display while detecting images of objects over the display area. Huang teaches the placement of backlight sources vertically in a non-display area. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to place the optical sensor in a non-display area thereby simplifying the manufacturing process of forming the display stack while expecting the same result of detecting images in front of the display device.
Regarding claim 6, Huang does not teach that the camera is disposed in a side portion of the non-display area.
Tsai, however, teaches that the image sensor is disposed in a side portion of the non-display area (fig. 3, element 250, ¶ 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang in view of Tsai. The references teach under-display optical elements for imaging. Tsai further teaches that the optical sensor may be positioned vertically in a non-display area of the display while detecting images of objects over the display area. Huang teaches the placement of backlight sources vertically in a non-display area. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to place the optical sensor in a non-display area thereby simplifying the manufacturing process of forming the display stack while expecting the same result of detecting images in front of the display device.
Regarding claim 14, Huang teaches a display device (fig. 1A, display panel, ¶ 25) comprising: a liquid crystal panel including a display area (fig. 1A/B, areas 101a and 101b, ¶ 26-27) and a non-display area (fig. 1A, 101c, ¶ 26); wherein the display area includes a first area (fig. 1A/B, 101b, ¶ 26-27) and a second area (fig. 1A/B, 101a, ¶ 26-27), a camera (fig. 1B, element 103, ¶ 35) disposed under the liquid crystal panel and in one of both opposing sides in the column of the non-display area in the plan view (see fig. 1A(a)); a light guide plate disposed under the liquid crystal panel in the display area (fig. 1B, element 1025a, ¶ 53; element 1022 may also be considered as a light guide plate, see fig. 3); and an LED package module spaced apart from a side surface of the light guide plate and disposed under the liquid crystal panel in the non-display area (fig. 1C/D, elements 1022 and 1023, note that per configuration of fig. 1B, elements 1024 are disposed similarly as elements 1022 in fig. 1C/D), wherein the LED package module includes: a first backlight facing the side surface of the light guide plate (see fig. 1B, see element 1024), and configured to emit light of a same color to the light guide plate such that the light of the same color is incident from the light guide plate onto the first area (¶ 51-52, note that the “direct light source” provides first light sources and emit the same white light which is then filtered by the color filters to produce RGB pixel colors); and a second backlight (fig. 1B, element 1022) facing the side surface of the light guide plate and configured to emit light of different colors to the light guide plate such that the light of different colors are incident from the light guide plate onto the second area (fig. 3, see light sources shown by arrows each of which is of a different color, ¶ 63), and wherein a color filter is not disposed above the liquid crystal panel in the second area, and the color filter is disposed above the liquid crystal panel in the first area (fig. 1B, ¶ 31).
Huang does not specifically teach that the display area includes a first area and a second area having a same length in a column direction in a plan view of the display device, and wherein the first area includes two portions respectively disposed on both opposing sides in a row direction of the second area, wherein the camera and the second area are aligned with each other in a line in the column direction.
However, Huang clearly teaches that “Optionally, a number of the first display region 101a of the display panel is not limited to one. Optionally, in a top view, a shape of the first display region 101a is not limited to shapes such as a semicircle, a sector, a rectangle, and a polygon. The first display region 101a and the non-display region 101c can have at least one junction 101d.” (see ¶ 27)
By simply extending the 101a area of fig. 1A(a) vertically across the entirety of the display panel, a tall rectangular 101a area is achieved which is sandwiched by two 101b areas on each side and includes a camera aligned with area 101a in the column direction.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Huang to achieve such a first and second area configuration. Huang clearly teaches that the shape of area 101a is not limited to the shapes shown in fig. 1A and one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to assign any portion of the display device to belong to areas 101a and 101b while expending the same result of achieving an under-display camera system.
Huang does not teach a reflective surface disposed under the liquid crystal panel, the reflective surface receiving light traveling in a direction perpendicular to a light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel, and reflecting the received light toward a light receiving element of the camera light in a direction parallel to the light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel, wherein a light receiving element of the camera is positioned to receive the reflected light in the direction parallel to the light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel.
Tsai further teaches a reflective surface disposed under the liquid crystal panel, the reflective surface receiving light traveling in a direction perpendicular to a light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel, and reflecting the received light toward a light receiving element of the camera light in a direction parallel to the light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel (fig. 3, see element 242 including such reflective surfaces which perform internal reflection for receiving light, at least some of which, necessarily travels in a direction perpendicular to the light incident surface of the LC panel, and the light is reflected in a direction parallel to the light incident surface towards a camera), wherein a light receiving element of the camera is positioned to receive the reflected light in the direction parallel to the light incident surface of the liquid crystal panel (fig. 3, see elements 250 and 270, ¶ 34 wherein at least some of the light, such as light directed towards the center of element 270, is received in the direction parallel to the light incident surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang in view of Tsai. The references teach under-display optical elements for imaging. Tsai further teaches that the optical sensor may be positioned vertically in a non-display area of the display while detecting images of objects over the display area. Huang teaches the placement of backlight sources vertically in a non-display area. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to place the optical sensor in a non-display area thereby simplifying the manufacturing process of forming the display stack while expecting the same result of detecting images in front of the display device.
Regarding claim 15, Huang teaches that the LED package module comprises: an LED module substrate (fig. 1C/D, element 1023, ¶ 33); and a plurality of LED packages mounted on the LED module substrate (see fig. 1C/D, elements 1022, ¶ 33), each of the plurality of LED packages configured to emit light in a direction perpendicular to a bottom surface of the liquid crystal panel (Note that “a bottom surface” of the liquid crystal panel is a two-dimensional surface. Huang clearly teaches that the direction of light emitted by the LED packages is perpendicular to the bottom surface from at least one side of the surface when viewed from a top/bottom view as shown in, for example, fig. 1D), and wherein each of the plurality of LED packages has both opposing short sides and both opposing long sides in a plan view of each of the plurality of LED packages (fig. 1B, see the rectangular form of the LED packages 1022).
Claims 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of Duan et al., US 2021/0295797 A1, hereinafter “Duan”.
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches a backlight driver circuit configured to independently drive the first backlight and the second backlight (¶ 51-54 regarding the first backlight 1024 which is controlled independently than the second backlight 1022 per ¶ 63);
Huang does not specifically teach that the liquid crystal panel includes: a plurality of gate lines extending along a first direction in the display area; a plurality of data lines extending along a second direction intersecting the first direction in the display area; wherein each of the plurality of pixels are respectively disposed in intersection areas between the plurality of gate lines and the plurality of data lines, wherein the plurality of data lines includes: a plurality of first data lines disposed in the first area; and a plurality of second data lines disposed both in the first area and the second area, and wherein the display device further comprises a data driver circuit configured to apply data signals of different driving frequencies to the plurality of first data lines and the plurality of second data lines, respectively.
Duan, however, teaches that the liquid crystal panel includes: a plurality of gate lines extending along a first direction in the display area (fig.3, horizonal gate lines, ¶ 18); a plurality of data lines extending along a second direction intersecting the first direction in the display area (fig. 3, vertical data lines, ¶ 18); wherein each of the plurality of pixels are respectively disposed in intersection areas between the plurality of gate lines and the plurality of data lines (¶ 18), wherein the plurality of data lines includes: a plurality of first data lines disposed in the first area (fig. 3, data lines connected to pixels in the LCD sub-regions); and a plurality of second data lines disposed both in the first area and the second area (fig. 3, data lines connected to pixels in the waveguide region), and wherein the display device further comprises a data driver circuit configured to apply data signals of different driving frequencies to the plurality of first data lines and the plurality of second data lines, respectively (fig. 4, notice the frequency of STV_wg activation corresponding to the frequency of data line driving of the second data lines driving the pixels in the camera region, compared to the STV_pr, STV_pg, and or STV_pb activation corresponding to the frequency of data line driving of the first data lines driving the pixels in the non-camera region of the display; in other words, the driving frequency in the camera region is three times the driving frequency in the non-camera region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang and Duan. The references teach displays designed for under-display camera systems. While Huang teaches a similar field sequential driving of the pixels in the camera region (fig. 2, ¶ 48 and ¶ 63), Duan further teaches details regarding the driving of the pixels in the non-camera region of the display device. Specifically, Duan teaches that in each frame (see Duan, fig. 4), second data lines are driven three times as much as the first data lines. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to properly drive the pixels of the display device wherein the pixels in the camera region are driven field-sequentially and the pixels elsewhere are driven normally, thereby properly driving the entire display device while achieving an under-display camera capability.
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches that in response to the camera being turned off (fig. 3, ¶ 61, note that the process of fig. 3 is for a display state during which the camera is off), for a first period, displaying a first color disposed in the second area (fig. 3(a), ¶ 63); for a second period displaying a second color disposed in the second area (fig. 3(b), ¶ 63); and for a third period displaying a third color disposed in the second area (fig. 3(c), ¶ 63; also see fig. 2, T1-T3, ¶ 47-48).
Huang does not specifically teach that the details regarding the data driver and the data lines. Specifically Huang does not specifically teach that the data driver circuit is configured to: for a first period of a first frame among a plurality of consecutive frames, apply a data signal to first color pixels of the plurality of pixels displaying a first color disposed in the second area through the plurality of second data lines; for a first period of a second frame among the plurality of consecutive frames, apply a data signal to second color pixels of the plurality of pixels displaying a second color disposed in the second area through the plurality of second data lines; and for a first period of a third frame among the plurality of consecutive frames, apply a data signal to third color pixels of the plurality of pixels displaying a third color disposed in the second area through the plurality of second data lines.
Duan, however, clearly teaches that in response to the camera being turned off (¶ 40 is the display process during which a camera is off), the data driver circuit is configured to: for a first period of a first frame among a plurality of consecutive frames, apply a data signal to first color pixels of the plurality of pixels displaying a first color disposed in the second area through the plurality of second data lines (fig. 4, see driving of G_wg lines corresponding to the second data lines for red color, ¶ 41); for a first period of a second frame among the plurality of consecutive frames, apply a data signal to second color pixels of the plurality of pixels displaying a second color disposed in the second area through the plurality of second data lines (fig. 4, see driving of G_wg lines corresponding to the second data lines for green color, ¶ 43); and for a first period of a third frame among the plurality of consecutive frames, apply a data signal to third color pixels of the plurality of pixels displaying a third color disposed in the second area through the plurality of second data lines (fig. 4, see driving of G_wg lines corresponding to the second data lines for blue color, ¶ 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang and Duan. The references teach displays designed for under-display camera systems. While Huang teaches a similar field sequential driving of the pixels in the camera region (fig. 2, ¶ 48 and ¶ 63), Duan further teaches details regarding the driving of the pixels in the non-camera region of the display device. Specifically, Duan teaches that in each frame (see Duan, fig. 4), second data lines are driven three times as much as the first data lines. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to properly drive the pixels of the display device wherein the pixels in the camera region are driven field-sequentially and the pixels elsewhere are driven normally, thereby properly driving the entire display device while achieving an under-display camera capability.
Regarding claim 9, Huang does not teach that the data driver circuit is further configured to: for a second period subsequent to the first period of each of the first to third frames, simultaneously apply data signals to the plurality of pixels respectively displaying the first to third colors disposed in the first area through the plurality of second data lines.
Duan, however, teaches the data driver circuit is further configured to: for a second period subsequent to the first period of each of the first to third frames, simultaneously apply data signals to the plurality of pixels respectively displaying the first to third colors disposed in the first area through the plurality of second data lines (fig. 4, ¶ 42, 44 and 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang and Duan. The references teach displays designed for under-display camera systems. While Huang teaches a similar field sequential driving of the pixels in the camera region (fig. 2, ¶ 48 and ¶ 63), Duan further teaches details regarding the driving of the pixels in the non-camera region of the display device. Specifically, Duan teaches that in each frame (see Duan, fig. 4), second data lines are driven three times as much as the first data lines. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to properly drive the pixels of the display device wherein the pixels in the camera region are driven field-sequentially and the pixels elsewhere are driven normally, thereby properly driving the entire display device while achieving an under-display camera capability.
Regarding claim 10, Huang does not teach that the data driver circuit is further configured to apply data signals to the plurality of pixels respectively displaying the first to third colors through the plurality of first data lines for each of the plurality of consecutive frames.
Duan teaches that the data driver circuit is further configured to apply data signals to the plurality of pixels respectively displaying the first to third colors through the plurality of first data lines for each of the plurality of consecutive frames (fig. 4, ¶ 41-46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang and Duan. The references teach displays designed for under-display camera systems. While Huang teaches a similar field sequential driving of the pixels in the camera region (fig. 2, ¶ 48 and ¶ 63), Duan further teaches details regarding the driving of the pixels in the non-camera region of the display device. Specifically, Duan teaches that in each frame (see Duan, fig. 4), second data lines are driven three times as much as the first data lines. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to properly drive the pixels of the display device wherein the pixels in the camera region are driven field-sequentially and the pixels elsewhere are driven normally, thereby properly driving the entire display device while achieving an under-display camera capability.
Regarding claim 11, Huang teaches that the backlight driver circuit is further configured to turn off all of the plurality of second light sources when the camera is turned on (fig. 4, 64: light source 1022 including the second light sources is off).
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches that the data driver circuit is further configured to: apply data signals for outputting a black image to the first color pixels displaying the first color, the second color pixels displaying the second color, and the third color pixels displaying the third color disposed in the peripheral area of the second area through the plurality of second data lines; and apply data signals for outputting a white image to the first color pixels displaying the first color, the second color pixels displaying the second color, and the third color pixels displaying the third color disposed in the light-transmissive area of the second area through the plurality of second data lines (fig. 4, ¶ 64 note that the LCD pixels of the camera region are “defected under an action of the driving voltage” which necessitates data lines driven by a driving circuit to provide such a voltage to the pixels. The pixels are in a fully open state to allow the light to pass to the camera which places them in a “white image” state. Furthermore, per fig. 4, the pixels in area 101b which is in the periphery of area 101a, are in a closed or “black image” state).
Regarding claim 13, Huang teaches that in response to the camera being turned off, the backlight driver circuit is further configured to: for the first frame, turn on a second light source corresponding to the first color of the second backlight, and turn off a second light source corresponding to each of the second and third colors (fig. 3(a), ¶ 63, when T1 is valid); for the second frame, turn on the second light source corresponding to the second color of the second backlight, and turn off the second light source corresponding to each of the first and third colors (fig. 3(b), ¶ 63, when T2 is valid); and for the third frame, turn on the second light source corresponding to the third color of the second backlight, and turn off the second light source corresponding to each of the first and second colors (fig. 3(c), ¶ 63, T3 is valid; also see ¶ 48).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of Tsai, as applied above, and further in view of Nakata et al., US 2010/0231824 A1, hereinafter “Nakata”.
Regarding claim 16, Huang and Tsai do not teach that each of the plurality of LED packages comprises: at least one LED chip mounted on the LED module substrate; a mold frame supporting the LED chip, wherein both opposing side surfaces of the mold frame are open based on the short sides; and an encapsulant sealing the LED module substrate and the LED chip in the mold frame, wherein the encapsulant has an open surface exposed to an outside via the mold frame.
Nakata, however, teaches that each of the plurality of LED packages comprises: at least one LED chip (fig. 3B, elements 20-22, ¶ 51) mounted on the LED module substrate (fig. 3B, element 41 and or 42, ¶ 52); a mold frame supporting the LED chip (fig. 3B, element 13, ¶ 41 and ¶ 53), wherein both opposing side surfaces of the mold frame are open based on the short sides (see fig. 3A and 3B); and an encapsulant (fig. 3B, element 43) sealing the LED module substrate and the LED chip in the mold frame (¶ 53), wherein the encapsulant has an open surface exposed to an outside via the mold frame (see fig. 3A and 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang, Tsai and Nakata. The references teach display devices including backlights. Huang clearly teaches the use of LED packages as backlights and Nakata further teaches the structural details of such LED backlight packages. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Huang, Tsai and Nakata in order to properly manufacture the LED backlight units achieving small and thin LED packages as disclosed by Nakata in ¶ 58. Nakata further teaches that such a structural configuration allows the RGB LED units to be “independently driven” (see ¶ 59), which is also required by Huang, further motivating one of ordinary skill to make such a combination.
Regarding claim 17, Huang teaches that the first backlight includes a plurality of first LED packages among the plurality of LED packages (fig. 1B, element 1024 is one of a plurality of led packages per ¶ 53 and fig. 1D), wherein each of the plurality of first LED packages is mounted such that the open surface thereof faces the side surface of the light guide plate (fig. 1B, see 1024 facing element 1025a, ¶ 53), wherein the second backlight includes a plurality of second LED packages among the plurality of LED packages (fig. 1B, element 1022 is one of a plurality of led packages, also see fig. 1C/D), and wherein each of the plurality of second LED packages is mounted such that the open surface thereof faces the side surface of the light guide plate (fig. 1B and 3, element 1022 facing element 1021).
Regarding claim 18, Huang teaches that the plurality of first LED packages include a plurality of white LED chips (¶ 44, and 53-54 wherein the first light source goes through color RGB color filters. In other words, the first light source is white and per ¶ 54 it is an LED package), and wherein the plurality of second LED packages include a plurality of red LED chips, a plurality of green LED chips, and a plurality of blue LED chips (¶ 44, ¶ 48 and ¶ 54, also see fig. 1D, elements 1022a-c).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of Liu, US 2021/0407440 A1, hereinafter “Liu”.
Regarding claim 20, Huang teaches that when the camera is turned off, the second backlight emits a red light in a first frame, emits a green light in a second frame and emits a blue light in a third frame (see fig. 3, ¶ 63, T1-T3).
Huang does not specifically teach that the first backlight emits the white light in the first, second and third frames.
Liu, however, teaches that in response to the camera being turned off, the second backlight emits a red light in a first frame, emits a green light in a second frame and emits a blue light in a third frame (¶ 33, sequential driving of RGB), and the first backlight emits the white light in the first, second and third frames (¶ 33, second light source emits light while the sequential driving is occurring; per ¶ 42, the second light source is white).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Huang in view of Liu. The references teach under-display camera systems and teach driving two different portions of the display device using two different backlight units independently based on the camera operation. Liu further clearly teaches that while the camera is off (during the display function), the display portion corresponding to the camera is driven using a tri-color LED sequentially (see ¶ 43) while the backlights for the other display areas emit white light (¶ 42). One would have been motivated to make such a combination because while Huang and Liu teach similar driving schemes, Liu further clarifies the use and timing of white light and further notes that “in this manner, normal color display can be realized by an area of the liquid crystal display device corresponding to the camera 70, thereby achieving a greater quality product” (see ¶ 35).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEPEHR AZARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621