DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 19/249285, filed on 06/25/2025.
Claims 1-12 have been examined and are pending in this application. Claims 1, 7, and 10 are independent.
Priority/Continuity
This application is a continuation of application 18/296122, filed on 04/05/2023, currently patent US 12,355,753.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 10/22/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,355,751. Although, the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the reference claims.
The following claims are presented side by side for comparison. The comparison shows how the broader scoped independent apparatus claim 10, of the instant application, is anticipated by the narrower scoped independent apparatus claim 1, of the reference patent. Similarly, the scope of the independent method claim 7, of the instant application, is anticipated by the narrower scoped independent apparatus claim 1. The independent claims 1 and 4, of the instant application, are also anticipated by the narrower scoped independent apparatus claim 1, and as well by the other apparatus claims 9 and 15.
The other broader dependent claims of the instant application, are also anticipated, by the claims of the reference patent, respectively.
Instant Application 19/249,285
Reference Patent US 12,355,751
10. An apparatus, comprising at least one processor and at least one memory, the at least one memory stores program instructions, and the at least one processor is coupled to the at least one memory to execute the program instructions to:
establish a near field communication link to a mobile terminal;
receive a second message from the mobile terminal through the near field communication link, wherein the second message comprises a login binding code;
provide a verification request message to a network side device for verifying whether a login binding code indicates that a first user account has been associated with an in-vehicle system, wherein the verification request message comprises the login binding code;
receive a login indication message sent by the network side device, wherein the login indication message indicates to log in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account; and
log in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account.
11. The apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the verification request message further comprises at least one of the first user account or an in-vehicle system identifier.
12. The apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the second message comprises the first user account, and wherein the login binding code corresponds to the first user account.
7. A method for logging in to an in-vehicle system on a vehicle, comprising:
establishing a near field communication link to a mobile terminal;
receiving a second message from the mobile terminal through the near field communication link, wherein the second message comprises a login binding code;
providing a verification request message to a network side device for verifying whether a login binding code indicates that a first user account has been associated with an in-vehicle system, wherein the verification request message comprises the login binding code;
receiving a login indication message sent by from the network side device, wherein the login indication message indicates to log in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account; and
logging in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account.
8. The method according to claim 7, wherein the verification request message further comprises at least one of the first user account or an in-vehicle system identifier.
9. The method according to claim 7, wherein the second message comprises the first user account, and wherein the login binding code corresponds to the first user account.
1. An apparatus for logging in to an in-vehicle system on a vehicle with a first user account, wherein the vehicle corresponds to the in-vehicle system, the apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory, the at least one memory stores program instructions, and the at least one processor is coupled to the at least one memory to execute the instructions to:
establish a near field communication link to a mobile terminal that requests for logging in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account;
negotiate a login binding code with the mobile terminal through the near field communication link, wherein the login binding code is received from a network side device, wherein the negotiate the login binding code with the mobile terminal through the near field communication link comprises;
receive a first login request message from the mobile terminal through the near field communication link; send a second binding code application message to the network side device;
receive a second binding code feedback message returned by the network side device, wherein the second binding code feedback message comprises the login binding code; and send a login request feedback message to the mobile terminal through the near field communication link, wherein the login request feedback message comprises the login binding code;
provide the login binding code to the network side device for verifying whether the in-vehicle system can be logged in to with the first user account, wherein the provide the login binding code to the network side device comprises at least one of: indirectly provide the login binding code to the network side device by sending the login request feedback message to the mobile terminal; or send a second verification request message to the network side device, wherein the second verification request message comprises the login binding code, and the second verification request message further comprises at least one of the first user account or an in-vehicle system identifier:
receive a login indication message sent by the network side device, wherein the login indication message indicates to log in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account; and log in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account.
2. The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the login binding code is generated by the network side device based on at least one of the first user account, a mobile terminal identifier that identifies the mobile terminal, an in-vehicle system identifier that identifies the in-vehicle system, or a vehicle identifier that identifies the vehicle.
1. A method comprising:
logging in to a first application with a first user account;
transmitting a first message to a network side device to associate the first user account with an in-vehicle system, wherein the first message comprises the first user account and at least one of an in-vehicle system identifier used to identify the in-vehicle system or a vehicle identifier used to identify a vehicle on which the in-vehicle system is installed;
receiving a login binding code from the network side device, wherein the login binding code indicates that the first user account has been associated with the in-vehicle system of the vehicle; and
transmitting a second message to the vehicle through a near field communication link, wherein the second message comprises the login binding code, and the login binding code is used to verify that the in-vehicle system can be logged in to with the first user account.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the second message comprises at least one of the first user account or a mobile terminal identifier used to identify a mobile terminal.
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the in-vehicle system identifier and the vehicle identifier are obtained from the vehicle through a near field communication link.
4. An apparatus, comprising at least one processor and at least one memory, wherein the at least one memory stores program instructions, and the at least one processor is coupled to the at least one memory to execute the program instructions to:
log in to a first application with a first user account;
transmit a first message to a network side device to associate the first user account with an in-vehicle system of a vehicle, wherein the first message comprises the first user account and at least one of an in-vehicle system identifier used to identify the in-vehicle system or a vehicle identifier used to identify the vehicle on which the in-vehicle system is installed;
receive a login binding code from the network side device, wherein the login binding code indicates that the first user account has been associated with the in-vehicle system of the vehicle; and
transmit a second message to the vehicle through a near field communication link, wherein the second message comprises the login binding code, and the login binding code is used to verify that the in-vehicle system can be logged in to with the first user account.
5. (Currently Amended) The apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the second message comprises at least one of the first user account or a mobile terminal identifier used to identify a mobile terminal.
6. (Original) The apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the in-vehicle system identifier and the vehicle identifier are obtained from the vehicle through a near field communication link.
9. An apparatus for a mobile terminal to request to log in to an in-vehicle system with a first user account, comprising at least one processor and at least one memory, wherein the at least one memory stores program instructions, and the at least one processor is coupled to the at least one memory to execute the instructions to:
establish a near field communication link to a vehicle, wherein the vehicle corresponds to the in-vehicle system; negotiate a login binding code with the vehicle through the near field communication link, wherein the login binding code is received from a network side device, wherein the negotiate the login binding code with the vehicle through the near field communication link comprises: send a first binding code application message to the network side device; receive a first binding code feedback message returned by the network side device, wherein the first binding code feedback message comprises the login binding code; and send a third verification request message or a second login request message to the vehicle through the near field communication link, wherein the third verification request message or the second login request message comprises the login binding code; and provide the login binding code to a network side device for verifying whether the in-vehicle system can be logged in to with the first user account, wherein the provide the login binding code to the network side device comprises at least one of: indirectly provide the login binding code to the network side device by sending the third verification request message to the vehicle; or send a first verification request message to the network side device, wherein the first verification request message comprises the login binding code, and the first verification request message further comprises at least one of the first user account or an in-vehicle system identifier.
15. An apparatus for logging in to an in-vehicle system on a vehicle with a first user account, wherein the vehicle corresponds to the in-vehicle system, the apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory, the at least one memory stores program instructions, and the at least one processor is coupled to the at least one memory to execute the instructions to:
establish a near field communication link to a mobile terminal that requests for logging in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account; negotiate a login binding code with the mobile terminal through the near field communication link, wherein the login binding code is received from a network side device, wherein the negotiate the login binding code with the mobile terminal through the near field communication link comprises; receive a third verification request message or a second login request message from the mobile terminal through the near field communication link, wherein the third verification request message or the second login request message comprises the login binding code, and the login binding code is requested from the network side device by the mobile terminal; provide the login binding code to the network side device for verifying whether the in-vehicle system can be logged in to with the first user account, wherein the provide the login binding code to the network side device comprises send a second verification request message to the network side device, wherein the second verification request message comprises the login binding code; receive a login indication message sent by the network side device, wherein the login indication message indicates to log in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account; and log in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al (“Shin,” US 2021/0203498, filed on 05/20/2019 (PCT)), in view of Wu et al (“Wu,” US 2018/0262891, published on 09/13/2018).
As to claim 1, Shin teaches a method (Shin: pars 0006, 0031, 0048-0050; Fig. 1, 2, a system/apparatus and method for performing user’s access to a target device, such as vehicle, from user’s mobile electronic device, such a mobile/smart phone, tablet) comprising:
logging in to a first application with a first user account (Shin: pars 0006, 0031, 0048-0050; Fig. 1, 2, performing short range communication with the vehicle from the user’s mobile device for user authentication for accessing controlling functions of in-vehicle system);
transmitting a first message to associate the first user account with an in-vehicle system, wherein the first message comprises the first user account and at least one of an in-vehicle system identifier used to identify the in-vehicle system or a vehicle identifier used to identify a vehicle on which the in-vehicle system is installed; and
transmitting a second message to the vehicle through a near field communication link (Shin: pars 0006, 0031, 0048-0050; Fig. 1, 2, performing short range communication [i.e., near field communication link] with the vehicle from the user’s mobile device for user authentication for accessing controlling functions of in-vehicle system), wherein the second message comprises the login binding code (Shin: pars 0048-0050, 0054-0056, 0058; Fig. 1, 2, for allowing access, the system uses one or more digital key for performing authentication for one device by another or for authenticating each other, by separately generated digital key by each mobile device and the target/vehicle device [i.e., examples of negotiating login binding code]. Additionally, pars 0060-0061, 0104-0106, teaches on authentication on the target device, and on the user’s mobile device are performed via certificate-based mutual verification [i.e., another example of negotiating login binding code]).
Shin does not explicitly teach transmitting a first message to a network side device; receiving a login binding code from the network side device, wherein the login binding code indicates that the first user account has been associated with the in-vehicle system of the vehicle; and the login binding code is used to verify that the in-vehicle system can be logged in to with the first user account.
However, in an analogous art, Wu teaches transmitting a first message to a network side device; receiving a login binding code from the network side device, wherein the login binding code indicates that the first user account has been associated with the in-vehicle system of the vehicle (Wu: pars 0027-0030, a server receives asset [i.e., a network side device] identification and the user credential from user mobile device for making an access/deny determination based on the user credential, the locking unit device [i.e., vehicle] identifier, and optionally an identifier for the mobile device. User credentials may also include account information, for example logging into one's membership with a vehicle-sharing program); and the login binding code is used to verify that the in-vehicle system can be logged in to with the first user account (Wu: pars 0027-0030, a server receives asset [e.g., vehicle] identification and the user credential, including user account information, from user mobile device for making an access/deny determination based on the user credential, the locking unit device [i.e., vehicle] identifier, and for allowing user to logging in for controlling functions of the vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu with the method/system of Shin to include the limitation(s), transmitting a first message to a network side device; receiving a login binding code from the network side device, wherein the login binding code indicates that the first user account has been associated with the in-vehicle system of the vehicle; and the login binding code is used to verify that the in-vehicle system can be logged in to with the first user account, wherein the login indication message indicates to log in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account, where one would have been motivated to use a server/management device [i.e., a side device] for authenticating of a user mobile device and vehicle/asset-device, and managing communication between the device, as intermediary trusted party, for allowing user access to the control function/operation of the vehicle/asset-device using the user’s mobile device (Wu: pars 0027-0030).
As to claim 2, the combination of Shin and Wu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the second message comprises at least one of the first user account or a mobile terminal identifier used to identify a mobile terminal (Shin: pars 0055-0056, 0140, digital key manager server identifies whether the user 1 is a valid user and whether the vehicle is a valid vehicle, ID number of the sold vehicle. Wu: pars 0027-0030, making an access/deny determination based on the user credential, the locking unit device [i.e., vehicle] identifier, and for allowing user to logging in for controlling functions of the vehicle).
As to claim 3, the combination of Shin and Wu teaches the method according to claim 1,
Shin and Wu further teaches wherein the in-vehicle system identifier and the vehicle identifier are obtained from the vehicle through a near field communication link (Shin: pars 0055-0056, 0140, digital key manager server [i.e., network side device] identifies whether the user 1 is a valid user and whether the vehicle is a valid vehicle, generate and store the digital key in the electronic device [i.e., specific user’s device]. User electronic device is located at a distance capable of short range communication and in operation).
As to claim 4, Shin teaches apparatus, comprising at least one processor and at least one memory,
Shin and Wu further teaches wherein the at least one memory stores program instructions, and the at least one processor is coupled to the at least one memory to execute the program instructions (Shin: pars 0006, 0031, 0048-0050; Fig. 1, 2, a system/apparatus and method for performing user’s access to a target device, such as vehicle, from user’s mobile electronic device, such a mobile/smart phone, tablet) to:
log in to a first application with a first user account (Shin: pars 0006, 0031, 0048-0050; Fig. 1, 2, performing short range communication with the vehicle from the user’s mobile device for user authentication for accessing controlling functions of in-vehicle system);
transmit a first message to associate the first user account with an in-vehicle system of a vehicle, wherein the first message comprises the first user account and at least one of an in-vehicle system identifier used to identify the in-vehicle system or a vehicle identifier used to identify the vehicle on which the in-vehicle system is installed;
transmit a second message to the vehicle through a near field communication link (Shin: pars 0006, 0031, 0048-0050; Fig. 1, 2, performing short range communication [i.e., near field communication link] with the vehicle from the user’s mobile device for user authentication for accessing controlling functions of in-vehicle system), wherein the second message comprises the login binding code (Shin: pars 0048-0050, 0054-0056, 0058; Fig. 1, 2, for allowing access, the system uses one or more digital key for performing authentication for one device by another or for authenticating each other, by separately generated digital key by each mobile device and the target/vehicle device [i.e., examples of negotiating login binding code]. Additionally, pars 0060-0061, 0104-0106, teaches on authentication on the target device, and on the user’s mobile device are performed via certificate-based mutual verification [i.e., another example of negotiating login binding code]),
Shin does not explicitly teach transmitting a first message to a network side device; receive a login binding code from the network side device, wherein the login binding code indicates that the first user account has been associated with the in-vehicle system of the vehicle; and the login binding code is used to verify that the in-vehicle system can be logged in to with the first user account.
However, in an analogous art, Wu teaches transmitting a first message to a network side device; receive a login binding code from the network side device, wherein the login binding code indicates that the first user account has been associated with the in-vehicle system of the vehicle (Wu: pars 0027-0030, a server receives asset [i.e., a network side device] identification and the user credential from user mobile device for making an access/deny determination based on the user credential, the locking unit device [i.e., vehicle] identifier, and optionally an identifier for the mobile device. User credentials may also include account information, for example logging into one's membership with a vehicle-sharing program); and the login binding code is used to verify that the in-vehicle system can be logged in to with the first user account. (Wu: pars 0027-0030, a server receives asset [e.g., vehicle] identification and the user credential, including user account information, from user mobile device for making an access/deny determination based on the user credential, the locking unit device [i.e., vehicle] identifier, and for allowing user to logging in for controlling functions of the vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu with the method/system of Shin to include the limitation(s), transmitting a first message to a network side device; receiving a login binding code from the network side device, wherein the login binding code indicates that the first user account has been associated with the in-vehicle system of the vehicle; and the login binding code is used to verify that the in-vehicle system can be logged in to with the first user account, wherein the login indication message indicates to log in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account, where one would have been motivated to use a server/management device [i.e., a side device] for authenticating of a user mobile device and vehicle/asset-device, and managing communication between the device, as intermediary trusted party, for allowing user access to the control function/operation of the vehicle/asset-device using the user’s mobile device (Wu: pars 0027-0030).
As to claim 5, the combination of Shin and Wu teaches the apparatus according to claim 4,
Shin and Wu further teaches wherein the second message comprises at least one of the first user account or a mobile terminal identifier used to identify a mobile terminal (Shin: pars 0055-0056, 0140, digital key manager server identifies whether the user 1 is a valid user and whether the vehicle is a valid vehicle, ID number of the sold vehicle. Wu: pars 0027-0030, making an access/deny determination based on the user credential, the locking unit device [i.e., vehicle] identifier, and for allowing user to logging in for controlling functions of the vehicle).
As to claim 6, the combination of Shin and Wu teaches the apparatus according to claim 4,
Shin and Wu further teaches wherein the in-vehicle system identifier and the vehicle identifier are obtained from the vehicle through a near field communication link (Shin: pars 0055-0056, 0140, digital key manager server [i.e., network side device] identifies whether the user 1 is a valid user and whether the vehicle is a valid vehicle, generate and store the digital key in the electronic device [i.e., specific user’s device]. User electronic device is located at a distance capable of short range communication and in operation).
As to claim 7, Shin teaches method for logging in to an in-vehicle system on a vehicle (Shin: pars 0006, 0031, 0048-0050; Fig. 1, 2, a system/apparatus for performing user’s access to a target device, such as vehicle, from user’s mobile electronic device, such a mobile/smart phone, tablet), comprising:
establishing a near field communication link to a mobile terminal (Shin: pars 0006, 0031, 0048-0050; Fig. 1, 2, performing short range communication [i.e., near field communication link] with the vehicle from the user’s mobile device for user authentication for accessing controlling functions of in-vehicle system);
receiving a second message from the mobile terminal through the near field communication link, wherein the second message comprises a login binding code (Shin: pars 0048-0050, 0054-0056, 0058; Fig. 1, 2, for allowing access, the system uses one or more digital key for performing authentication for one device by another or for authenticating each other, by separately generated digital key by each mobile device and the target/vehicle device [i.e., examples of negotiating login binding code]. Additionally, pars 0060-0061, 0104-0106, teaches on authentication on the target device, and on the user’s mobile device are performed via certificate-based mutual verification [i.e., another example of negotiating login binding code]); and
logging in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account (Shin: pars 0048-0050, 0054-0056, upon the successful authentication process user is able to access the control features of various operations of the vehicle, such as, open or close a door, start an engine, or control various electronic devices provided in the vehicle, according to the user account information and server managed policy).
Shin does not explicitly teach providing a verification request message to a network side device for verifying whether a login binding code indicates that a first user account has been associated with an in-vehicle system, wherein the verification request message comprises the login binding code; and receiving a login indication message sent by from the network side device, wherein the login indication message indicates to log in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account.
However, in an analogous art, Wu teaches providing a verification request message to a network side device for verifying whether a login binding code indicates that a first user account has been associated with an in-vehicle system, wherein the verification request message comprises the login binding code (Wu: pars 0027-0030, a server receives asset [i.e., a network side device] identification and the user credential from user mobile device for making an access/deny determination based on the user credential, the locking unit device [i.e., vehicle] identifier, and optionally an identifier for the mobile device. User credentials may also include account information, for example logging into one's membership with a vehicle-sharing program); and
receiving a login indication message sent by from the network side device, wherein the login indication message indicates to log in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account (Wu: pars 0027-0030, the server receives asset identification and the user credential, including user account information, from user mobile device for making an access/deny determination based on the user credential, the locking unit device identifier, and for allowing user to logging in for controlling functions of the vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu with the method/system of Shin to include the limitation(s), providing a verification request message to a network side device for verifying whether a login binding code indicates that a first user account has been associated with an in-vehicle system, wherein the verification request message comprises the login binding code; and receiving a login indication message sent by from the network side device, wherein the login indication message indicates to log in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account, where one would have been motivated to use a server/management device [i.e., a side device] for authenticating of a user mobile device and vehicle/asset-device, and managing communication between the device, as intermediary trusted party, for allowing user access to the control function/operation of the vehicle/asset-device using the user’s mobile device (Wu: pars 0027-0030).
As to claim 8, the combination of Shin and Wu teaches the method according to claim 7,
Shin and Wu further teaches wherein the verification request message further comprises at least one of the first user account or an in-vehicle system identifier (Shin: pars 0055-0056, 0140, digital key manager server identifies whether the user 1 is a valid user and whether the vehicle is a valid vehicle, ID number of the sold vehicle. Wu: pars 0027-0030, making an access/deny determination based on the user credential, the locking unit device [i.e., vehicle] identifier, and for allowing user to logging in for controlling functions of the vehicle).
As to claim 9, the combination of Shin and Wu teaches the method according to claim 7,
Shin and Wu further teaches wherein the second message comprises the first user account, and wherein the login binding code corresponds to the first user account (Shin: pars 0055-0056, 0140, digital key manager server [i.e., network side device] identifies whether the user 1 is a valid user and whether the vehicle is a valid vehicle, generate and store the digital key in the electronic device [i.e., specific user’s device]. User electronic device is located at a distance capable of short range communication and in operation).
As to claim 10, Shin teaches an apparatus, comprising at least one processor and at least one memory, the at least one memory stores program instructions, and the at least one processor is coupled to the at least one memory to execute the program instructions (Shin: pars 0006, 0031, 0048-0050; Fig. 1, 2, a system/apparatus for performing user’s access to a target device, such as vehicle, from user’s mobile electronic device, such a mobile/smart phone, tablet) to:
establish a near field communication link to a mobile terminal (Shin: pars 0006, 0031, 0048-0050; Fig. 1, 2, performing short range communication [i.e., near field communication link] with the vehicle from the user’s mobile device for user authentication for accessing controlling functions of in-vehicle system);
receive a second message from the mobile terminal through the near field communication link, wherein the second message comprises a login binding code (Shin: pars 0048-0050, 0054-0056, 0058; Fig. 1, 2, for allowing access, the system uses one or more digital key for performing authentication for one device by another or for authenticating each other, by separately generated digital key by each mobile device and the target/vehicle device [i.e., examples of negotiating login binding code]. Additionally, pars 0060-0061, 0104-0106, teaches on authentication on the target device, and on the user’s mobile device are performed via certificate-based mutual verification [i.e., another example of negotiating login binding code]); and
log in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account (Shin: pars 0048-0050, 0054-0056, upon the successful authentication process user is able to access the control features of various operations of the vehicle, such as, open or close a door, start an engine, or control various electronic devices provided in the vehicle, according to the user account information and server managed policy).
Shin does not explicitly teach provide a verification request message to a network side device for verifying whether a login binding code indicates that a first user account has been associated with an in-vehicle system, wherein the verification request message comprises the login binding code; and receive a login indication message sent by the network side device, wherein the login indication message indicates to log in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account.
However, in an analogous art, Wu teaches provide a verification request message to a network side device for verifying whether a login binding code indicates that a first user account has been associated with an in-vehicle system, wherein the verification request message comprises the login binding code (Wu: pars 0027-0030, a server receives asset [i.e., a network side device] identification and the user credential from user mobile device for making an access/deny determination based on the user credential, the locking unit device [i.e., vehicle] identifier, and optionally an identifier for the mobile device. User credentials may also include account information, for example logging into one's membership with a vehicle-sharing program); and
receive a login indication message sent by the network side device, wherein the login indication message indicates to log in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account (Wu: pars 0027-0030, the server receives asset identification and the user credential, including user account information, from user mobile device for making an access/deny determination based on the user credential, the locking unit device identifier, and for allowing user to logging in for controlling functions of the vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu with the method/system of Shin to include the limitation(s), provide a verification request message to a network side device for verifying whether a login binding code indicates that a first user account has been associated with an in-vehicle system, wherein the verification request message comprises the login binding code; and receive a login indication message sent by the network side device, wherein the login indication message indicates to log in to the in-vehicle system with the first user account, where one would have been motivated to use a server/management device [i.e., a side device] for authenticating of a user mobile device and vehicle/asset-device, and managing communication between the device, as intermediary trusted party, for allowing user access to the control function/operation of the vehicle/asset-device using the user’s mobile device (Wu: pars 0027-0030).
As to claim 11, the combination of Shin and Wu teaches the apparatus according to claim 10,
Shin and Wu further teaches wherein the verification request message further comprises at least one of the first user account or an in-vehicle system identifier (Shin: pars 0055-0056, 0140, digital key manager server identifies whether the user 1 is a valid user and whether the vehicle is a valid vehicle, ID number of the sold vehicle. Wu: pars 0027-0030, making an access/deny determination based on the user credential, the locking unit device [i.e., vehicle] identifier, and for allowing user to logging in for controlling functions of the vehicle).
As to claim 12, the combination of Shin and Wu teaches the apparatus according to claim 10,
Shin and Wu further teaches wherein the second message comprises the first user account, and wherein the login binding code corresponds to the first user account (Shin: pars 0055-0056, 0140, digital key manager server [i.e., network side device] identifies whether the user 1 is a valid user and whether the vehicle is a valid vehicle, generate and store the digital key in the electronic device [i.e., specific user’s device]. User electronic device is located at a distance capable of short range communication and in operation).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Luu Pham can be reached on (571) 270-5002. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAHANGIR KABIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439