DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 10, and 16 are pending. Claims dated 09/16/2026 are being examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/16/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN-117601801-A), in view Takano et al. (US-20140085477-A1), in view of Mohammed et al. (US-20240056554-A1) and herein after will be referred to as Li, Takano, and Mohammed, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches an intelligent safety monitoring system ([0006] …embodiments of this application provide a vehicle anti-theft method, device, electronic device and medium based on sentry mode), comprising:
a monitoring unit configured to monitor status information of a vehicle ([0007] …using multiple sensors built into the vehicle to monitor the vehicle status in real time; [0024] S101 uses multiple built-in sensors to monitor the vehicle's status in real time…; [0025] S102, based on the events detected by the sensors and the behavior generated after analyzing the video footage, identify illegal operations and physical impact events);
wherein the monitoring unit at least comprises one or more of following sensors: a tire pressure sensor configured to monitor tire pressure information of the vehicle; a vibration sensor configured to monitor vibration information of the vehicle; a tilt angle sensor configured to monitor tilt information of the vehicle; a pressure sensor configured to monitor a parked state or a riding state of the vehicle; a displacement sensor configured to monitor a moving status of the vehicle; and a temperature sensor configured to monitor temperature information of the vehicle; and the status information of the vehicle at least comprises one or more of following information: the tire pressure information of the vehicle, the vibration information of the vehicle, the tilt information of the vehicle, the moving status of the vehicle, and the temperature information of the vehicle ([0038] Vibration sensors are used to monitor abnormal vibrations of a stationary vehicle to detect potential movement or sabotage; [0039] Specifically, embodiments of this application utilize multiple sensors to monitor the safety status of a vehicle, effectively identifying and responding to potential acts of sabotage or intrusion); and
a control unit connected to the monitoring unit and configured to determine, based on the status information of the vehicle ([0043] …the system also integrates a central processing unit (CPU) to coordinate data from various sensors and use advanced algorithms to analyze and interpret that data), whether an abnormality occurs on the vehicle and in response to a determination that the abnormality occurs on the vehicle, output, to a camera unit, a control instruction for starting the camera unit to obtain surrounding environment information of the vehicle ([0026] S103, when the events detected by the sensors and/or the behaviors generated after analyzing the video footage meet the preset anti-theft probability threshold, the vehicle's video recording function is activated using the in-vehicle terminal device; [0048] The system performs a comprehensive evaluation based on sensor signals and video analysis results to determine whether the preset anti-theft probability threshold has been reached),
the camera unit connected to the control unit and configured to be started upon receiving the control instruction, so as to capture and send, to the control unit, the surrounding environment information […]; and ([0056] …TBOX then activated the vehicle's built-in high-definition camera and began recording video of key areas inside and outside the vehicle)
a mobile terminal communicatively connected to the control unit and configured to receive and output at least one of the status information of the vehicle and both of the abnormality and the surrounding environment information that are sent by the control unit, and to trigger an alarm in real time upon occurrence of the abnormality so as to notify a user ([0018] When an abnormal situation is detected, it will send an alert to the car owner and start video recording to record the situation around the vehicle. These videos will be uploaded and saved through the vehicle's cloud system, making it convenient for the owner to view them later; [0028] S105: When the owner receives an alarm notification, he can remotely view the real-time video around the vehicle through a preset application; [0070] …an anti-theft alarm notification is sent to the vehicle owner via a robot phone system; [0071]-[0081])
wherein the control unit is further configured to, when a preset communication network is detected, connect to a regulatory platform based on a preset communication signal […] ([0093] In addition, to improve tracking effectiveness, the system can also integrate additional security features, such as automatically notifying the nearest law enforcement agency […] provides law enforcement agencies with valuable information).
Li does not explicitly teach wherein the camera unit comprises “at least one front camera and at least one back camera”.
However, Takano teaches wherein the camera unit comprises “at least one front camera (FIG. 1 camera 1a; [0030] … the camera 1 a that is disposed at a predetermined position in front of the vehicle V) and
at least one back camera” (FIG. 2 camera 1c; [0030] The camera 1 c placed at a predetermined position of the rear of the vehicle V).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to adjust the location and number of the vehicle’s built-in high definition camera as taught in Li to incorporate the teachings of Takano to have one camera in the front and one camera in the back of the vehicle, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, except with regard to the position of the component, as long as the relocation of the component would not have modified the operation of the device, the particular placement would be an obvious matter of design choice (In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)). Furthermore, as evidenced by Takano [0030] “Note that the number of cameras 1 installed and the installing positions may be suitably determined in according to the size, shape, or setting method of the detection region”, the particular number and placement of cameras would have been an obvious design choice motivated by known considerations.
Li does not explicitly teach send the status information of the vehicle and/or the abnormality and the surrounding environment information to the regulatory platform to monitor a status of the vehicle.
However, Mohammed teaches send the status information of the vehicle and/or the abnormality and the surrounding environment information to the regulatory platform to monitor a status of the vehicle ([0027] The sensors 40 are in communication with the vehicle controller 34 and may include […] lidar […] tire pressure […] cameras […] accelerometers […] inclinometers […] ultrasonic sensors, […] and/or other sensors; [0057] The sensor data (e.g., images) from the sensors 40 (e.g., vehicle cameras 41) are then sent to the vehicle controller 34 and/or the law enforcement server 233; [0058] At block 326, the vehicle controller 34 and/or the law enforcement server 233 receive the sensor data from one or more sensors 40 of the vehicle 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the information sent to the law enforcement agency as taught in Li to incorporate the teachings of Mohammed to include status information of the vehicle and/or the abnormality and the surrounding environment information to the regulatory platform to monitor a status of the vehicle, with a reasonable expectation of success since doing so would have achieved the benefit of better informing law enforcement of the situation (Mohammed [0060]).
Regarding claim 3, Li, as modified, teaches the intelligent safety monitoring system according to claim 1.
Li also teaches further comprising: a monitoring startup unit configured to control the monitoring unit to start monitoring when the vehicle meets a preset condition ([0006] …based on sentry mode).
Li does not explicitly teach wherein the preset condition comprises at least one of following conditions: the vehicle is in a locked state; the vehicle is in a power-off state; and the vehicle is in an unattended state.
However, Examiner submits vehicle sentry mode conditions are well-known and it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to recognize “sentry mode” in vehicles encompasses being activated when the vehicle is locked, parked, power-off state, and/or unattended to ensure monitoring when the user is away from the vehicle.
Even so, as additional evidence, to ensure monitoring when the user is away from the vehicle, Takano teaches a monitoring startup unit configured to control the monitoring unit to start monitoring when the vehicle meets a preset condition wherein the preset condition comprises at least one of following conditions: the vehicle is in a locked state; the vehicle is in a power-off state; and the vehicle is in an unattended state ([0036] the monitoring device 100 in the present embodiment can start a monitoring process when an OFF signal of an engine is input to the ignition switch 300 and an electronic key having a communication function of the vehicle V is not present in the vicinity of the vehicle V (i.e., the user carrying the electronic key is remote from the vehicle)…).
Claims 6-7, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Mohammed, in view of Chen et al. (US-20180154908-A1) and herein after will be referred to as Chen.
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches an intelligent safety monitoring method ([0006] …embodiments of this application provide a vehicle anti-theft method, device, electronic device and medium based on sentry mode), comprising:
monitoring, by a monitoring unit, status information of a vehicle ([0007] …using multiple sensors built into the vehicle to monitor the vehicle status in real time; [0024] S101 uses multiple built-in sensors to monitor the vehicle's status in real time…; [0025] S102, based on the events detected by the sensors and the behavior generated after analyzing the video footage, identify illegal operations and physical impact events);
wherein the monitoring unit at least comprises one or more of following sensors: a tire pressure sensor configured to monitor tire pressure information of the vehicle; a vibration sensor configured to monitor vibration information of the vehicle; a tilt angle sensor configured to monitor tilt information of the vehicle; a pressure sensor configured to monitor a parked state or a riding state of the vehicle; a displacement sensor configured to monitor a moving status of the vehicle; and a temperature sensor configured to monitor temperature information of the vehicle; and the status information of the vehicle at least comprises one or more of following information: the tire pressure information of the vehicle, the vibration information of the vehicle, the tilt information of the vehicle, the moving status of the vehicle, and the temperature information of the vehicle ([0038] Vibration sensors are used to monitor abnormal vibrations of a stationary vehicle to detect potential movement or sabotage; [0039] Specifically, embodiments of this application utilize multiple sensors to monitor the safety status of a vehicle, effectively identifying and responding to potential acts of sabotage or intrusion); and
performing, by a control unit, abnormality analysis based on the status information of the vehicle, and generating a control instruction for starting a camera unit to obtain surrounding environment information of the vehicle, in response to determining that the abnormality occurs on the vehicle; wherein performing the abnormality analysis comprises: (FIG. 3 processor 301; [0043] …the system also integrates a central processing unit (CPU) to coordinate data from various sensors and use advanced algorithms to analyze and interpret that data)
comparing the status information of the vehicle with a preset threshold to determine whether an abnormality occurs on the vehicle ([0026] S103, when the events detected by the sensors and/or the behaviors generated after analyzing the video footage meet the preset anti-theft probability threshold, the vehicle's video recording function is activated using the in-vehicle terminal device; [0048] The system performs a comprehensive evaluation based on sensor signals and video analysis results to determine whether the preset anti-theft probability threshold has been reached),
starting the camera unit once receiving the control instruction for capturing and sending, to the control unit, the surrounding environment information of the vehicle; ([0056] …TBOX then activated the vehicle's built-in high-definition camera and began recording video of key areas inside and outside the vehicle);
outputting, by the control unit, at least one of the status information of the vehicle and both of the abnormality and the surrounding environment information to a mobile terminal […] for triggering in real time an alarm upon occurrence of the abnormality so as to notify a user ([0018] When an abnormal situation is detected, it will send an alert to the car owner and start video recording to record the situation around the vehicle. These videos will be uploaded and saved through the vehicle's cloud system, making it convenient for the owner to view them later; [0028] S105: When the owner receives an alarm notification, he can remotely view the real-time video around the vehicle through a preset application; [0070] …an anti-theft alarm notification is sent to the vehicle owner via a robot phone system; [0071]-[0081])
[…] a regulatory platform through a preset communication network to monitor a status of the vehicle ([0093] In addition, to improve tracking effectiveness, the system can also integrate additional security features, such as automatically notifying the nearest law enforcement agency […] provides law enforcement agencies with valuable information).
While Li as taught above in [0093] outputs “valuable information” to law enforcement agencies, Li does not explicitly teach outputting, by the control unit, at least one of the status information of the vehicle and both of the abnormality and the surrounding environment information to a regulatory platform through a preset communication network to monitor a status of the vehicle.
However, Mohammed teaches outputting, by the control unit, at least one of the status information of the vehicle and both of the abnormality and the surrounding environment information to a regulatory platform through a preset communication network to monitor a status of the vehicle ([0027] The sensors 40 are in communication with the vehicle controller 34 and may include […] lidar […] tire pressure […] cameras […] accelerometers […] inclinometers […] ultrasonic sensors, […] and/or other sensors; [0057] The sensor data (e.g., images) from the sensors 40 (e.g., vehicle cameras 41) are then sent to the vehicle controller 34 and/or the law enforcement server 233; [0058] At block 326, the vehicle controller 34 and/or the law enforcement server 233 receive the sensor data from one or more sensors 40 of the vehicle 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the information output to the law enforcement agency as taught in Li to incorporate the teachings of Mohammed to include at least one of the status information of the vehicle and both of the abnormality and the surrounding environment information to the regulatory platform to monitor a status of the vehicle, with a reasonable expectation of success since doing so would have achieved the benefit of better informing law enforcement of the situation (Mohammed [0060]).
Li does not explicitly teach the mobile terminal is connected to the control unit through “near-field communication or through mobile communication”.
However, Chen teaches the mobile terminal is connected to the control unit through “near-field communication or through mobile communication” ([0007] … the multi-purpose vehicle smart monitoring system may be connected to the smart phone or the PC mobile terminal of the vehicle owner through wireless interconnection WiFi).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the type of communication used in Li, as modified, to substitute near-field communication and/or the mobile terminal is connected to the control unit through mobile communication because it has been held that the substitution of one known element for another would have been obvious if the substitution yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In this case, the substitution of different communication protocol would have had the predictable result of establishing communication between the mobile terminal and control unit. Further, Applicant’s specification para. [0035] defines near-field communication as encompassing a variety of communication protocols “including but is not limited to Bluetooth communication, wireless fidelity (WiFi) communication, and StarFlash communication” with no disclosed preference or criticality between the options. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice within one of skill in the art to choose a suitable communication protocol for establishing communications.
Regarding claim 7, Li, as modified, teaches the intelligent safety monitoring method according to claim 6.
Li also teaches further comprising: wherein when the vehicle meets a preset condition, the monitoring and obtaining the status information of the vehicle is performed ([0006] …based on sentry mode).
Li does not explicitly teach wherein the preset condition comprises at least one of following conditions: the vehicle is in a locked state; the vehicle is in a power-off state; and the vehicle is in an unattended state.
However, Examiner submits vehicle sentry mode conditions are well-known and it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to recognize “sentry mode” in vehicles encompasses being activated when the vehicle is locked, parked, power-off state, and/or unattended to ensure monitoring when the user is away from the vehicle.
Even so, as additional evidence, to ensure monitoring when the user is away from the vehicle, Takano teaches wherein when the vehicle meets a preset condition, the monitoring and obtaining the status information of the vehicle is performed, wherein the preset condition comprises at least one of following conditions: the vehicle is in a locked state; the vehicle is in a power-off state; and the vehicle is in an unattended state ([0036] the monitoring device 100 in the present embodiment can start a monitoring process when an OFF signal of an engine is input to the ignition switch 300 and an electronic key having a communication function of the vehicle V is not present in the vicinity of the vehicle V (i.e., the user carrying the electronic key is remote from the vehicle)…).
Regarding claim 10, Li, as modified, also teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program is executed by a processor to implement the intelligent safety monitoring method according to any one of claim 6 ([0010] A fourth aspect of this application provides a computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program that, when executed by a processor, implements the steps of the above-described method).
Regarding claim 16, Li, as modified, also teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program is executed by a processor to implement the intelligent safety monitoring method according to any one of claim 7 ([0010] A fourth aspect of this application provides a computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program that, when executed by a processor, implements the steps of the above-described method).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view Takano, in view of Mohammed, in view of Chen.
Regarding claim 4, Li, as modified, teaches the intelligent safety monitoring system according to claim 1.
Li, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein that the mobile terminal is communicatively connected to the control unit comprises: the mobile terminal is connected to the control unit through near-field communication and/or the mobile terminal is connected to the control unit through mobile communication.
However, Chen teaches wherein that the mobile terminal is communicatively connected to the control unit comprises: the mobile terminal is connected to the control unit through near-field communication and/or the mobile terminal is connected to the control unit through mobile communication ([0007] … the multi-purpose vehicle smart monitoring system may be connected to the smart phone or the PC mobile terminal of the vehicle owner through wireless interconnection WiFi).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the type of communication used in Li, as modified, to substitute near-field communication and/or the mobile terminal is connected to the control unit through mobile communication because it has been held that the substitution of one known element for another would have been obvious if the substitution yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In this case, the substitution of different communication protocol would have had the predictable result of establishing communication between the mobile terminal and control unit. Further, Applicant’s specification para. [0035] defines near-field communication as encompassing a variety of communication protocols “including but is not limited to Bluetooth communication, wireless fidelity (WiFi) communication, and StarFlash communication” with no disclosed preference or criticality between the options. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice within one of skill in the art to choose a suitable communication protocol for establishing communications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
In page 7 of remarks filed 09/16/2026, Applicant emphasizes the technical solution of amended claim 1 is reflected by the control unit actively performing abnormality analysis based on status information from the sensors, but Examiner finds this concept is well-known, routine, and conventional as per cited art above and also as example herein: US-20190135231-A1 – Sakuma et al. alternatively teaches parts of claim 1 relevant to above technical solution see mapping below:
Regarding claim 1, Sakuma teaches an intelligent safety monitoring system (FIG. 4 abnormality-related vehicle-side processing), comprising:
a monitoring unit configured to monitor status information of a vehicle ([0067] …when a monitoring mode is set while vehicle 100 is parked, controller 181 of navigation device 180 of vehicle 100 receives the detection signals from various sensors 160);
wherein the monitoring unit at least comprises one or more of following sensors: a tire pressure sensor configured to monitor tire pressure information of the vehicle; a vibration sensor configured to monitor vibration information of the vehicle; a tilt angle sensor configured to monitor tilt information of the vehicle; a pressure sensor configured to monitor a parked state or a riding state of the vehicle; a displacement sensor configured to monitor a moving status of the vehicle; and a temperature sensor configured to monitor temperature information of the vehicle (FIG. 2 various sensors 160 including at least inclination sensor 163; [0031] Various sensors 160 may include at least one of these sensors, or may include other sensors); and
the status information of the vehicle at least comprises one or more of following information: the tire pressure information of the vehicle, the vibration information of the vehicle, the tilt information of the vehicle, the moving status of the vehicle, and the temperature information of the vehicle ([0071] …inclination sensor 163 senses inclination of vehicle 100, as a predetermined condition, is met, controller 181 determines that theft of a component on the outside of vehicle 100 (for example, a wheel, a tire, or the like), which is one type of theft from the vehicle, occurs as an abnormal action. Thus, when the predetermined condition is met in a case where there is no intrusion into the vehicle and there is no movement of vehicle 100, controller 181 determines that theft of a component on the outside of vehicle 100 occurs in vehicle 100).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVIN SEOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662