Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,422,926. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all aspects of the instant claims are wholly encompassed and thus anticipated by the patent claims, as seen by the chart below.
Instant Application
Patent No. US 12,422,926
1. An information processing device connected to or integrated into a display device configured to receive an input via a controller, the information processing device comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the information processing device to: execute control processing for controlling,
in a case where a user holds the display device with a user's hand wearing the controller, even if the user makes an input through the controller, the display device not to receive the input via the controller, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input via the controller.
2. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the information processing device to execute first obtaining processing for obtaining first information indicating a distance between the display device and the controller, wherein, in the control processing, in a case where the user holds the display device with a user's hand, based on the first information, the display device is controlled not to receive the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device.
3. The information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the information processing device to execute second obtaining processing for obtaining second information indicating a position of the display device; and execute third obtaining processing for obtaining third information indicating a position of the controller, wherein, in the first obtaining processing, the first information is obtained based on the second information and the third information.
4. The information processing device according to claim 3, wherein, in the control processing, in a case where the first information indicating the distance is less than a first threshold, the display device is controlled not to receive the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device.
5. The information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the information processing device to execute communication processing for performing wireless communication with the controller, wherein, in the first obtaining processing, the first information indicating the distance is obtained based on a reception intensity of radio wave in the communication processing.
6. The information processing device according to claim 5, wherein, in the control processing, in a case where the reception intensity of the radio wave in the communication processing exceeds a second threshold, the display device is controlled not to receive the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device.
7. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein, in the control processing, in a case where user's hands each wear the controller and one of the user's hands holds the display device, the display device is controlled to receive the input via the controller worn on the user's hand not holding the display device.
8. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein, in the control processing, in a case where one of user's hands wears the controller and the user holds the display device with a user's hand not wearing the controller, the display device is controlled to receive the input via the controller worn on the user's hand not holding the display device.
9. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the display device is configured to be held by a user's hand or hands, and wherein, in the control processing, in a case where the user is not holding the display device with user's hands, the display device is controlled not to receive the input via the controller, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device.
10. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the display device is configured to be worn on a user's head, and wherein, in the control processing, in a case where the user is not holding the display device with user's hands, the display device is controlled to receive the input via the controller.
11. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the information processing device to execute detection processing for detecting that a predetermined part of the user contacts the display device.
12. The information processing device according to claim 11, wherein, in the detection processing, detecting that the predetermined part of the user contacts the display device is based on one of an infrared sensor and a capacitance sensor.
13. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the controller includes a button, and wherein, in the control processing, the display device is controlled not to receive an input from the button, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input from the button of the controller.
14. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the information processing device to execute fourth obtaining processing for obtaining information indicating at least one of a position and an orientation of the controller, wherein, in the control processing, the display device is controlled not to receive an input based on the information indicating the at least one of the position and the orientation of the controller, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input based on the information indicating the at least one of the position and the orientation of the controller.
15. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the display device receives an input via a ring-shaped controller worn on a user's finger.
16. A control method of an information processing device connected to or integrated into a display device configured to receive an input via a controller, the control method comprising: controlling, in a case where a user holds the display device with a user's hand wearing the controller, even if the user makes an input through the controller, the display device not to receive the input via the controller, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input via the controller.
17. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium which stores a program for causing a computer to execute a control method of an information processing device, the method comprising: controlling, in a case where a user holds the display device with a user's hand wearing the controller, even if the user makes an input through the controller, the display device not to receive the input via the controller, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input via the controller.
1. An information processing device connected to or integrated into a display device configured to receive an input via a controller, the information processing device comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the information processing device to: execute control processing for performing control,
in a case where a user holds the display device with a user's hand wearing the controller, the display device not to receive the input via the controller, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input via the controller;
execute first obtaining processing for obtaining first information indicating a distance between the display device and the controller, wherein in the control processing, in a case where the user holds the display device with a user's hand, based on the first information, the display device is controlled not to receive the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device.
2. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the information processing device to execute second obtaining processing for obtaining second information indicating a position of the display device; and execute third obtaining processing for obtaining third information indicating a position of the controller, wherein in the first obtaining processing, the first information is obtained based on the second information and the third information.
3. The information processing device according to claim 2, wherein in the control processing, in a case where the first information indicating the distance is less than a first threshold, the display device is controlled not to receive the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device.
4. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the information processing device to execute communication processing for performing wireless communication with the controller, wherein in the first obtaining processing, the first information indicating the distance is obtained based on a reception intensity of radio wave in the communication processing.
5. The information processing device according to claim 4, wherein in the control processing, in a case where the reception intensity of the radio wave in the communication processing exceeds a second threshold, the display device is controlled not to receive the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device.
6. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein in the control processing, in a case where user's hands each wear the controller and one of the user's hands holds the display device, the display device is controlled to receive the input via the controller worn on the user's hand not holding the display device.
7. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein in the control processing, in a case where one of user's hands wears the controller and the user holds the display device with a user's hand not wearing the controller, the display device is controlled to receive the input via the controller worn on the user's hand not holding the display device.
8. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the display device is configured to be held by a user's hand or hands, and wherein in the control processing, in a case where the user is not holding the display device with user's hands, the display device is controlled not to receive the input via the controller, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device.
9. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the display device is configured to be worn on a user's head, and wherein in the control processing, in a case where the user is not holding the display device with user's hands, the display device is controlled to receive the input via the controller.
10. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the information processing device to execute detection processing for detecting that a predetermined part of the user contacts the display device.
11. The information processing device according to claim 10, display device is based on one of an infrared sensor and a capacitance sensor.
12. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the controller includes a button, and wherein in the control processing the display device is controlled not to receive an input from the button, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input from the button of the controller.
13. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the information processing device to execute fourth obtaining processing for obtaining information indicating at least one of a position and an orientation of the controller, wherein in the control processing the display device is controlled not to receive an input based on the information indicating the at least one of the position and the orientation of the controller, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input based on the information indicating the at least one of the position and the orientation of the controller.
14. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the display device receives an input via a ring-shaped controller worn on a user's finger.
15. A control method of an information processing device connected to or integrated into a display device configured to receive an input via a controller, the control method comprising: performing control, in a case where a user holds the display device with a user's hand wearing the controller, the display device not to receive the input via the controller, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input via the controller;
obtaining first information indicating a distance between the display device and the controller, wherein the control is performed so that, in a case where the user holds the display device with a user's hand, based on the first information, the display device is controlled not to receive the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device.
16. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium which stores a program for causing a computer to execute a control method of an information processing device, the method comprising: performing control, in a case where a user holds the display device with a user's hand wearing the controller, the display device not to receive the input via the controller, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input via the controller;
obtaining first information indicating a distance between the display device and the controller, wherein the control is performed so that, in a case where the user holds the display device with a user's hand, based on the first information, the display device is controlled not to receive the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input via the controller worn on the user's hand holding the display device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In line 2 of claim 7, "user's hands" is indefinite because "user's hand" is sent forth in claim 1 and it's unclear as to whether applicant is referencing a new user's set of hands, or the user's hand with the other hand of the same user of claim 1. Similar indefiniteness exists in claim 8. In line 5 of claim 17, "the controller" is indefinite because it lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grandi et al (WO 2017/160456) in view of Liu (US 11,188,160).
As per claim 1 Grandi et al discloses: An information processing device connected to or integrated into a display device 110 {figure 1} configured to receive an input via a { [0017] Referring now to FIG. 1, in one embodiment, a system 100 for configuring a graphical user interface (GUI) includes a mobile compute device 110 and a wearable device 120 that is to be worn at a known location on a user. In the illustrative embodiment, the wearable device is embodied as a bracelet associated with (e.g., worn on or near) a hand 130 of a user, which may hold the mobile compute device 110 during use. In other embodiments, the wearable device 120 is embodied as a ring, necklace, belt, anklet, or other device capable of performing the functions described herein.} the information processing device comprising:
a processor 202 {figure 2}; and
a memory storing instructions which, when executed by the processor 202, cause the information processing device to:
execute control processing for controlling, in a case where a user holds the display device 110 with a user's hand 130 wearing the display device 110 not to receive the input via the {figure 5 & [0030] Alternatively, the mobile compute device 110 may receive a user GUI preference to do nothing in response to detecting the context or a change in the context, as indicated in block 440.}.
With respect to claim 1 Grandiet al is silent as to: a controller. Regarding claim 1 Liu discloses: a controller 1 {[column 3, lines 52-56] By using the smart ring 1 and the identification program 241, the wireless controlling system of this disclosure may fulfill a specific purpose that allows the user 3 to directly control the mobile device 2 without touching the mobile device 2. }
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the information processing device of Grandi et al with a controller as taught by Liu. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an information processing device with a controller to control the information processing device without touching the mobile device. See Liu column 3, lines 52-56.
As per claim 8 Grandi et al discloses: The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein, in the control processing, in a case where one of user's hand 130s wears the display device 110 with a user's hand 130 not wearing the display device 110 is controlled to receive the input via the user's hand 130 not holding the display device 110. {figure 5 & [0030] Alternatively, the mobile compute device 110 may receive a user GUI preference to do nothing in response to detecting the context or a change in the context, as indicated in block 440. }
As per claim 9 Grandi et al discloses: The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the display device 110 is configured to be held by a user's hand 130 or hands, and wherein, in the control processing, in a case where the user is not holding the display device 110 with user's hand 130s, the display device 110 is controlled not to receive the input via the user's hand 130 holding the display device 110 {figure 5 & [0030] Alternatively, the mobile compute device 110 may receive a user GUI preference to do nothing in response to detecting the context or a change in the context, as indicated in block 440. }.
As per claim 10. Grandi et al discloses: The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the display device 110 is display device 110 with user's hand 130s, the display device 110 is controlled to receive the input via the
Regarding claim 10 Grandi et al is silent as to: a display device configured to be worn on a user's head. With respect to claim 10: Official notice is taken of the fact that a display device configured to be worn on a user's head is notoriously old and well known in the information processing device art. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the information processing device of Grandi et al with a display device configured to be worn on a user's head as taught in the art. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an information processing device with a display device configured to be worn on a user's head so as to provide a hands free immersive experience.
As per claim 11 Grandi et al discloses: The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor 202, further cause the information processing device to execute detection processing for detecting that a predetermined part of the user contacts the display device 110 {figure 2}.
As per claim 12 Grandi et al discloses: The information processing device according to claim 11, wherein, in the detection processing, detecting that the predetermined part of the user contacts the display device 110 is based on one of an infrared sensor and a capacitance sensor. {[0020] Similarly, the touchscreen sensor 210 may use any suitable touchscreen input technology to detect the user's tactile selection of information displayed on the display 208 including, but not limited to, resistive touchscreen sensors, capacitive touchscreen sensors, surface acoustic wave (SAW) touchscreen sensors, infrared touchscreen sensors, optical imaging touchscreen sensors, acoustic touchscreen sensors, and/or other type of touchscreen sensors. }
As per claim 13 Grandi et al discloses: The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the display device 110 is controlled not to receive an input from the button, or not to execute any processing upon reception of the input from the {figure 5 & [0030] Alternatively, the mobile compute device 110 may receive a user GUI preference to do nothing in response to detecting the context or a change in the context, as indicated in block 440.}
Regarding claim 13 Grandi et al is silent as to: a button. With respect to claim 13: Official notice is taken of the fact that a button is notoriously old and well known in the information processing device art. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the information processing device of Grandi et al with a button as taught in the art. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an information processing device with a button so as to provide a physical tactile way to interact with the controller.
As per claim 14 Grandi et al discloses: The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor 202, further cause the information processing device to execute fourth obtaining processing display device 110 is controlled not to receive an input based on the information indicating the at least one of the position and the orientation of the {figure 5 & [0030] Alternatively, the mobile compute device 110 may receive a user GUI preference to do nothing in response to detecting the context or a change in the context, as indicated in block 440.}
With respect to claim 14 Grandi et al is silent as to: an obtaining unit configured to obtain information indicating at least one of a position and an orientation of the controller. Regarding claim 14 Liu discloses: an obtaining unit configured to obtain information indicating at least one of a position and an orientation of the controller {[column 3, lines 52-56] By using the smart ring 1 and the identification program 241, the wireless controlling system of this disclosure may fulfill a specific purpose that allows the user 3 to directly control the mobile device 2 without touching the mobile device 2. & [column 4, lines 12-24] One technical feature of this disclosure is that, when the user 3 moves with the smart ring 1, the smart ring 1 may continuously detect the movement of the smart ring 1 in the three-dimensional space through the six-axis accelerometer 12 and generate corresponding moving signals. More specific, the six-axis accelerometer 12 may continuously sense the movement of the smart ring 1 on the preset X- axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis (not shown) following the movement of user's hand, and generate corresponding signals in six directions including front, back, left, right, up and down. In one of the exemplary embodiments, a set of moving signals indicates a series of continuous data assembled by the signals in the six directions. }
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the information processing device of Grandi et al with an obtaining unit configured to obtain information indicating at least one of a position and an orientation of the controller as taught by Liu. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an information processing device with an obtaining unit configured to obtain information indicating at least one of a position and an orientation of the controller to control the information processing device without touching the mobile device. See Liu column 3, lines 52-56.
As per claim 15 Grandi et al discloses: The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the display device 110 receives an input via a
With respect to claim 15 Grandi et al is silent as to: a ring-shaped controller. Regarding claim 15 Liu discloses: a ring-shaped controller 1 {figure 1 & [column 3, lines 52-56] By using the smart ring 1 and the identification program 241, the wireless controlling system of this disclosure may fulfill a specific purpose that allows the user 3 to directly control the mobile device 2 without touching the mobile device 2. }
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the information processing device of Grandi et al with a ring-shaped controller as taught by Liu. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an information processing device with a ring-shaped controller to control the information processing device without touching the mobile device. See Liu column 3, lines 52-56.
As per claim 16 Grandi et al discloses: A control method of an information processing device connected to or integrated into a display device 110 {figure 1} configured to receive an input via a {[0017] Referring now to FIG. 1, in one embodiment, a system 100 for configuring a graphical user interface (GUI) includes a mobile compute device 110 and a wearable device 120 that is to be worn at a known location on a user. In the illustrative embodiment, the wearable device is embodied as a bracelet associated with (e.g., worn on or near) a hand 130 of a user, which may hold the mobile compute device 110 during use. In other embodiments, the wearable device 120 is embodied as a ring, necklace, belt, anklet, or other device capable of performing the functions described herein.},the control method {figure 2: 202} comprising: controlling, in a case where a user holds the display device 110 with a user's hand 130 wearing the display device 110 not to receive the input via the {figure 5 & [0030] Alternatively, the mobile compute device 110 may receive a user GUI preference to do nothing in response to detecting the context or a change in the context, as indicated in block 440.}.
With respect to claim 16 Grandiet al is silent as to: a controller. Regarding claim 16 Liu discloses: a controller 1 {[column 3, lines 52-56] By using the smart ring 1 and the identification program 241, the wireless controlling system of this disclosure may fulfill a specific purpose that allows the user 3 to directly control the mobile device 2 without touching the mobile device 2. }
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the information processing device of Grandi et al with a controller as taught by Liu. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an information processing device with a controller to control the information processing device without touching the mobile device. See Liu column 3, lines 52-56.
As per claim 17 Grandi et al discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium which stores a program for causing a computer to execute a control method of an information processing device, the method comprising: controlling, in a case where a user holds the display device 110 with a user's hand 130 wearing the { [0017] Referring now to FIG. 1, in one embodiment, a system 100 for configuring a graphical user interface (GUI) includes a mobile compute device 110 and a wearable device 120 that is to be worn at a known location on a user. In the illustrative embodiment, the wearable device is embodied as a bracelet associated with (e.g., worn on or near) a hand 130 of a user, which may hold the mobile compute device 110 during use. In other embodiments, the wearable device 120 is embodied as a ring, necklace, belt, anklet, or other device capable of performing the functions described herein.}, even if the user makes an input through the display device 110 not to receive the input via the {figure 5 & [0030] Alternatively, the mobile compute device 110 may receive a user GUI preference to do nothing in response to detecting the context or a change in the context, as indicated in block 440.}
With respect to claim 17 Grandiet al is silent as to: a controller. Regarding claim 17 Liu discloses: a controller 1 {[column 3, lines 52-56] By using the smart ring 1 and the identification program 241, the wireless controlling system of this disclosure may fulfill a specific purpose that allows the user 3 to directly control the mobile device 2 without touching the mobile device 2. }
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the information processing device of Grandi et al with a controller as taught by Liu. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an information processing device with a controller to control the information processing device without touching the mobile device. See Liu column 3, lines 52-56.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD