DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Note
Upon further review and consideration, claim(s) 12-20 has/have been withdrawn by Examiner as allowable subject matter. A new non-final Office Action is set forth below.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending. Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s amendments to claim 1.
Terminal Disclaimer
The Terminal Disclaimers filed 6/15/26 have been approved.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-9, 12 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gerst et al U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0062946 A1.
With regard to claim 1, and as shown in Figure 78, Gerst et al disclose a fluid coupling device (as shown in Fig. 87 below) comprising:
a main body (at 1410) comprising:
a front face (front face of 1410 surrounding seal 1430 as shown in Fig. 81);
a first projection (at 1412); and
a first projection receptacle (at 1416);
a seal (at 1430) coupled to the main body, a portion of the seal protruding from the front face of the main body (as shown in Fig. 81);
a removable membrane (at 1440) releasably attached to the front face of the main body and covering the portion of the seal protruding from the front face of the main body (as shown in Fig 78); and
a protective cover (as shown in Fig 87 below) connected to engaged with the first projection and the first projection receptacle of the main body such that (i) the first projection is received by a portion of the protective cover and (ii) the first projection receptacle receives another portion of the protective cover (as shown in Fig. 87).
With regard to claim 2, Gerst et al disclose wherein the protective cover is removable from the main body (wherein the cover as shown in Fig. 87 above is removable from the main body).
With regard to claim 4, Gerst et al disclose wherein the main body (at 1410) defines a fluid flow path extending along a longitudinal axis (at 1501 as shown in Fig. 89).
With regard to claim 5, Gerst et al disclose wherein the first projection (at 1412) extends parallel to the longitudinal axis (as shown in Fig. 87).
With regard to claim 6, Gerst et al disclose wherein the seal (at 1430) is positioned between the first projection and the first projection receptacle (as shown in Fig. 81).
With regard to claim 7, Gerst et al disclose wherein two layers of the removable membrane (at 1442 as shown in Fig. 78) are captured between the protective cover and the front face of the main body (as shown in Fig. 87).
With regard to claim 8, Gerst et al disclose wherein an outer surface of the seal (at 1430) defines an annular concavity (at 1433, 1434 as shown in Fig. 83).
With regard to claim 9, Gerst et al disclose wherein the fluid coupling device is genderless such that two of the fluid coupling devices can be coupled to each other (paragraph 163, lines 1-2).
With regard to claim 12, and as shown in Figure 81, Gerst et al disclose a fluid coupling device (as shown in Fig. 87 above) comprising:
a main body (at 1410) comprising a front face (front face of 1410 surrounding the seal 1430);
a termination member (at 1460 as shown in Fig. 82) that is snapped into engagement with the main body (paragraph 171, lines 1-3), the termination member comprising a fluid connection end and an opposite end (as shown in Fig. 82);
a seal (at 1430 as shown in Fig. 89) comprising:
a front portion (portion of seal 1430 seated within main body 1410) in engagement with an inner diameter of the main body and protruding from the front face of the main body (as shown in Fig. 81); and
a rear portion in engagement with an inner diameter of the opposite end of the termination member (as shown in Fig. 89);
a removable membrane (at 1440) releasably attached to the front face of the main body, a portion of the removable membrane covering the front portion of the seal protruding from the front face of the main body (as shown in Fig 78); and
a protective cover removably engaged with the main body and covering the portion of the removable membrane (as shown in Fig. 87 above).
With regard to claim 14, and as shown in Figure 78, Gerst et al disclose wherein the main body (at 1410) further comprises a first projection (at 1412) and a first projection receptacle (at 1416).
With regard to claim 15, Gerst et al disclose wherein the protective cover is releasably engaged with the first projection and the first projection receptacle of the main body (as shown in Fig. 87).
With regard to claim 16, Gerst et al disclose wherein the protective cover comprises:
a second projection receptacle releasably engaged with the first projection of the main body (as shown in Fig. 87 and 88 where a second projection engages with the first projection); and
a second projection releasably engaged with the first projection receptacle of the main body (as shown in Fig. 87 and 88 where a second projection engages with the first projection).
With regard to claim 17, Gerst et al disclose wherein the seal (at 1430) is positioned between the first projection and the first projection receptacle (as shown in Fig. 81).
With regard to claim 18, Gerst et al disclose wherein two layers of the removable membrane (at 1442 as shown in Fig. 78) are captured between the protective cover and the front face of the main body (as shown in Fig. 87).
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-15, 17, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gerst et al U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0062946 A1.
With regard to claim 1, and as shown in Figures 73-76, Gerst et al disclose a fluid coupling device (at 1400) comprising:
a main body (at 1410) comprising:
a front face (as shown in Fig. 76 below);
a first projection (as shown in Fig. 74 below); and
a first projection receptacle (as shown in Fig. 74 below);
a seal (at 1430) coupled to the main body, a portion of the seal protruding from the front face of the main body (as shown in Fig. 76);
a removable membrane (at 1440) releasably attached to the front face of the main body and covering the portion of the seal protruding from the front face of the main body (as shown in Fig. 76); and
a protective cover (at 1402) engaged with the first projection and the first projection receptacle of the main body such that (i) the first projection is received by a portion of the protective cover and (ii) the first projection receptacle receives another portion of the protective cover (as shown in Fig. 75 where the cover at 1402 is received within a portion of the first projection and the first projection receptacle).
With regard to claim 2, and as shown in Figures 73-76, Gerst et al disclose wherein the protective cover (at 1402) is removable from the main body (paragraph 164, lines 1-2).
With regard to claim 3, and as shown in Figures 73-76, Gerst et al disclose wherein the protective cover (at 1402) is required to be disengaged from the main body to allow the fluid coupling device to be operatively mated with another fluid handling device (paragraph 165, lines 4-10).
With regard to claim 4, Gerst et al disclose wherein the main body (at 1410) defines a fluid flow path (flow path thru 1410 between 1406 and 1460) extending along a longitudinal axis (as shown in Fig. 76).
With regard to claim 5, Gerst et al disclose wherein the first projection (as shown in Fig. 74 ) extends parallel to the longitudinal axis.
With regard to claim 6, Gerst et al disclose wherein the seal (at 1430) is positioned between the first projection and the first projection receptacle (as shown in Fig. 75).
With regard to claim 7, Gerst et al disclose wherein two layers of the removable membrane (paragraph 164, lines 6-7) are captured between the protective cover and the front face of the main body (as shown in Fig. 76).
With regard to claim 8, Gerst et al disclose wherein an outer surface of the seal (at 1430) defines an annular concavity (as shown in Fig. 76).
With regard to claim 9, Gerst et al disclose wherein the fluid coupling device is genderless such that two of the fluid coupling devices can be coupled to each other (paragraph 163, lines 1-2).
With regard to claim 11, Gerst et al disclose wherein the protective cover (at 1402) includes a membrane receiver portion (as shown in Fig 76 above) that holds and protects a portion of the removable membrane.
With regard to claim 12, and as shown in Figures 73-76, Gerst et al disclose a fluid coupling device (at 1400) comprising:
a main body (at 1410) comprising a front face (as shown in Fig. 76 above);
a termination member (at 1460) that is snapped into engagement with the main body (paragraph 171, lines 1-3), the termination member comprising a fluid connection end and an opposite end (as shown in Fig. 76);
a seal (at 1430) comprising:
a front portion (portion of seal 1430 seated within main body 1410) in engagement with an inner diameter of the main body and protruding from the front face of the main body (as shown in Fig. 76); and
a rear portion in engagement with an inner diameter of the opposite end of the termination member (as shown in Fig. 76);
a removable membrane (at 1440) releasably attached to the front face of the main body, a portion of the removable membrane covering the front portion of the seal protruding from the front face of the main body (as shown in Fig 76); and
a protective cover (at 1402) removably engaged with the main body and covering the portion of the removable membrane (as shown in Fig. 76).
With regard to claim 13, and as shown in Figures 73-76, Gerst et al disclose wherein the protective cover (at 1402) is structured without a fluid flow path.
With regard to claim 14, Gerst et al disclose wherein the main body further comprises a first projection and a first projection receptacle (as shown in Fig. 74 above).
With regard to claim 15, Gerst et al disclose wherein the protective cover (at 1402) is releasably engaged with the first projection and the first projection receptacle of the main body (as shown in Fig. 75 where the cover at 1402 is releasably engaged with the first projection and the first projection receptacle).
With regard to claim 17, Gerst et al disclose wherein the seal (at 1430) is positioned between the first projection and the first projection receptacle (as shown in Fig. 75).
With regard to claim 18, Gerst et al disclose wherein two layers of the removable membrane (paragraph 164, lines 6-7) are captured between the protective cover and the front face of the main body (as shown in Fig. 76).
With regard to claim 20, Gerst et al disclose wherein the protective cover (at 1402) includes a membrane receiver portion (as shown in Fig 76 above) that holds and protects a portion of the removable membrane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerst et al in view of Arthun et al U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0217915 A1.
With regard to claim 10, Gerst et al disclose the claimed invention but do not disclose that the protective cover includes a pull ring that defines an opening configured to receive a finger. Arthun et al teach that a pull ring (at 21) can be attached to a protective cover (at 20) to remove the protective cover (paragraph 45, lines 12-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the protective cover include a pull ring that defines an opening with a reasonable expectation of success to remove the protective cover in order to couple the device as taught by Arthun et al.
With regard to claim 19, Gerst et al disclose the claimed invention but do not disclose that the protective cover includes a pull ring that defines an opening configured to receive a finger. Arthun et al teach that a pull ring (at 21) can be attached to a protective cover (at 20) to remove the protective cover (paragraph 45, lines 12-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the protective cover include a pull ring that defines an opening with a reasonable expectation of success to remove the protective cover in order to couple the device as taught by Arthun et al.
Conclusion
/F.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679