DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III drawn to Figures 10-14 and claims 1-20 in the reply filed on 2/18/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al Chinese Patent No. CN 109999333A.
With regard to claim 1, and as shown in Figure 21, Yu et al disclose a fluid coupling device comprising:
a main body (at 2) comprising:
a front face (at 2.1);
a first projection (at 5.2 as shown in Fig 20); and
a first projection receptacle (at 5.1 as shown in Fig 20);
a seal (at 2.3 as shown in Fig 4) coupled to the main body, a portion of the seal protruding from the front face of the main body (paragraph 115, lines 2-5 – see the attached English translation;
a removable membrane (at 3 as shown in Fig 21) releasably attached to the front face of the main body and covering the portion of the seal protruding from the front face of the main body ; and
a protective cover (at 4 as shown in Fig 21) engaged with the first projection and the first projection receptacle of the main body (as shown in Fig 6), wherein the protective cover is structured without a fluid flow path.
With regard to claim 2, Yu et al disclose wherein the protective cover (at 4) is removable from the main body (as shown in Fig 3-2 and paragraph 11, lines 1-2).
With regard to claim 3, Yu et al disclose wherein the protective cover (at 4) is required to be disengaged from the main body to allow the fluid coupling device to be operatively mated with another fluid handling device (paragraph 104, lines 13-16).
With regard to claim 4, Yu et al disclose wherein the main body defines a fluid flow path (at 2.2) extending along a longitudinal axis (axis thru 2).
With regard to claim 5, Yu et al disclose wherein the first projection extends parallel to the longitudinal axis (as shown in Fig 21).
With regard to claim 6, Yu et al disclose wherein the seal is positioned between the first projection and the first projection receptacle (as shown in Fig 17).
With regard to claim 7, Yu et al disclose wherein two layers of the removable membrane (at 3) are captured between the protective cover (at 4) and the front face (at 2.1) of the main body (as shown in Fig 16).
With regard to claim 8, Yu et al disclose wherein an outer surface of the seal (at 2.3) defines an annular concavity (as shown in Fig 3-2).
With regard to claim 11, Yu et al disclose wherein the protective cover (at 4) includes a membrane receiver portion that holds and protects a portion of the removable membrane (as shown in Fig 4 where a portion of the removable membrane is received in a portion of the protective cover).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al.
With regard to claim 10, Yu et al disclose the claimed invention but do not disclose that the protective cover includes a pull ring that defines an opening configured to receive a finger. Arthun et al teach that a pull ring (at 21) can be attached to a protective cover (at 20) to remove the protective cover (paragraph 45, lines 12-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the protective cover include a pull ring that defines an opening with a reasonable expectation of success to remove the protective cover and therefore the membrane in order to couple the device as taught by Arthun et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 9-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5-7 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,366,314. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader recitation of a fluid coupling device with a main body, a seal, a removable membrane and a protective cover as presently claimed in the current application along with the independently and dependently claimed limitations of claims 1-6 and 9-11 are merely a broadened form of the limitations as disclosed in claims 1, 3, 5-7 and 9 of patent ‘314.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
/F.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679