DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: LAMP HAVING A LAMP HOUSING WITH AN ELASTIC WATERPROOF SEALING LAYER WHERE THE SEALING LAYER HAS PENTRATING THROUGH HOLES
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The applicant is respectfully advised that in examining a pending application, the claims are interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably convey. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 70 USPQ2d. 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004). MPEP § 2111.01.
Claims 1-4, 6 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (U.S. Patent No 12,259,120) in view of Freeman (U.S. Patent no. 9,626,884).
Regarding Claims 1 and 13-14, Wu discloses in Figures 1-3, a lamp comprising: a lamp housing (comprising base 1,and housing 5), a lamp component (circuit board 2 with light source 21 and lens 3), and an elastic waterproof layer (sealing ring 41), wherein: the lamp housing 1, 5 has an accommodating space and a plurality of penetrating through holes (light transmitting hole 51 and wire outlet 52) communicating with the accommodating space, the lamp component 21, 2 and the elastic waterproof layer 41 are both disposed in the accommodating space where the waterproof layer 41 is connected to a bottom surface of the housing 1, at least one of an upper structure (Lens 3) of the lamp component and a side structure of the lamp component extends out of the lamp housing through the corresponding penetrating through hole 51 and wire outlet 52); the elastic waterproof layer 41 is connected to an inner bottom wall of the lamp housing 1, 5 and the lamp component separately to fill a gap between the lamp component 2, 3 and the inner bottom wall of the lamp housing 2, 3;
Regarding Claims 1-2, and 13-15 Wu does not disclose the elastic waterproof layer 41 is provided with two mounting through holes along a radial direction of the lamp, and the side structure of the lamp is configured to pass through a mounting through hole and extend into the corresponding penetrating through hole the mounting through holes are formed on the waterproof ring body, the lamp component is disposed on a radial inner side of the waterproof ring body.
Freemen discloses in Figure 10, a similar lamp 110 with a sealing waterproof layer (sealant material 170) provided with two mounting through holes (at positions 171, 172) along a radial direction of the lamp, and the side structure (wire terminals 112, 114) of the lamp 110 is configured to pass through a mounting through hole and extend into the corresponding penetrating through hole (of a housing 120, Col 6, lines 30-55) which provides a strain relief as well as water sealing of the housing to prevent ingress of moisture.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply two mounting through holes for the side structures (wires of lamp component 2, 3 to extend through and provide a sealing strain relief structure).
Regarding Claims 2 and 17, Wu does not disclose the elastic waterproof layer 41 is made of silicone material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to use silicone material as it was known that silicone exhibits exceptional temperature resistance (both high and low), excellent flexibility, superior chemical/UV/ozone resistance, and inherent hygiene (non-porous, non-toxic), making it ideal for diverse applications from kitchenware and medical devices (biocompatible) to automotive seals and electrical insulation, due to its durability, low chemical reactivity, and stability in extreme conditions. It has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Regarding Claims 3 and 19-20, Wu discloses in Figure 3, the lamp according to claim 2, wherein: the waterproof ring body 41 is provided with a plurality of limiting protrusions (shown not labelled in Figure 3), a plurality of the limiting protrusions are sequentially arranged along a circumferential direction of the waterproof ring body 41, and one or both of: the limiting protrusions are configured to abut against an inner side wall of the lamp housing 1, 5; or the inner bottom wall of the lamp housing is provided with a plurality of limiting baffles (mounting portion 11 with retaining protrusion 19) and the limiting baffles are limiting-connected with the limiting protrusions (Col 3, lines 35-40).
Regarding Claim 4 and 18, Wu discloses in Figures 1-6, the lamp according to claim 2, wherein: the lamp component 2, 3 comprises a lens 3 and a lamp panel (circuit board 2 and light source 21); the lamp panel comprises a main body (circuit board 2) and two support bodies , the two support bodies are disposed on both sides of the main body 2 (inherently the wires connect with the circuit board 2 Col 4, lines 18-35), one end of each of the support bodies is connected to the main body, and the other end of each of the support bodies passes through the corresponding mounting through hole; and the lens covers the main body and is stacked on the elastic waterproof layer (lens 3 is shown to be mounted on the ring 41 (Figures 2-4), the penetrating through holes comprise a first penetrating through hole 51 extending along an axial direction of the lamp 2, 3 and penetrating the lamp housing 1, 5, and an upper structure of the lens 3 passes through the first penetrating through hole 51.
Regarding Claim 6, Wu discloses in the lamp according to claim 4, wherein: a radial outer side wall of the lens 3 is provided with a first locking part (connecting portion 31), the lamp housing (housing base 1) is provided with a second locking part (first connecting portion 12), and the lens 3 is locked with the second locking part 12 of the lamp housing 1 via the first locking part 31 (using fastener 6).
Regarding Claim 16, Wu discloses in Figures 1-3, the lamp of claim 13, wherein: the elastic waterproof layer 41 comprises a waterproof ring body, the mounting through hole is formed on the waterproof ring body, and the lamp component 3 is disposed on a radial inner side of the waterproof ring body 41.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding Claim 5, the closest art does not teach or suggest the support bodies of the lamp component has a first and second straight section and bent section connected in between the first and second straight sections where the second straight section passes through a second penetrating through hole of the elastic waterproof layer.
Claims 7-12 are objected to because of the dependency on Claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pachler (U.S. PG Publication No. 2013/0183779) discloses a lamp with waterproof sealing structure in a housing.
/ROBERT J MAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875