DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 2-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 24-25 & 27-53 of U.S. Patent No. 12,040,630. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant Application 19/249,391
U.S. Patent No. 12,040,630
Claim 2.
A first device, comprising: a battery; one or more memories coupled with the battery; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the first device to: transmit, to a second device, an indication of a type of the battery; receive, from the second device, a signal that has an associated radio frequency power, wherein the radio frequency power is based at least in part on the type of the battery; store at least a first portion of the radio frequency power of the signal as direct current power at the first device; and transmit, to the second device and based at least in part on storage of at least the first portion of the radio frequency power, a second indication of a power level of the battery.
Claim 39.
An apparatus for wireless communication at a first device, comprising: a battery; one or more memories coupled with the battery; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the first device to: transmit, to a second device, a first indication of a first power level of the battery and a second indication of a type of the battery; receive, from the second device, a signal comprising a radio frequency power, wherein the radio frequency power is based at least in part on the transmitted first indication and the transmitted second indication; store at least a first portion of the radio frequency power of the signal as direct current power at the first device; and transmit, based at least in part on the storage, a third indication of a second power level of the battery to the second device.
Claim 14.
A method for wireless communication at a first device, comprising: transmitting, to a second device, an indication of a type of a battery associated with the first device; receiving, from the second device, a signal that has an associated radio frequency power, wherein the radio frequency power is based at least in part on the type of the battery; storing at least a first portion of the radio frequency power of the signal as direct current power at the first device; and transmitting, to the second device and based at least in part on storage of at least the first portion of the radio frequency power, a second indication of a power level of the battery.
Claim 24.
A method for wireless communication by a first device, comprising: transmitting, to a second device, a first indication of a first power level of a battery of the first device and a second indication of a type of the battery; receiving, from the second device, a signal comprising a radio frequency power, wherein the radio frequency power is based at least in part on the transmitted first indication and the transmitted second indication; storing at least a first portion of the radio frequency power of the signal as direct current power at the first device; and transmitting, based at least in part on the storing, a third indication of a second power level of the battery to the second device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 11-15, 17, 20, & 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fayram et al. (US 2018/0085593 A1), hereinafter Fayram, in view of Xu et al. (US 2022/0078779 A1), hereinafter Xu.
Regarding claim 1, Fayram discloses, in figures 4, 5, 98, 103, & 110, a first device, comprising:
a battery (Para [0518], “battery 11442”);
one or more memories (558 of device 110) coupled with the battery (Para [0518], “battery 11442 can provide electric power to the electric and electronic components (e.g., the internal circuitry 10430, such as can include a transceiver 11444 and other components, such as circuitry of the external device, the source 102 or the like)”); and
one or more processors (548 of device 110) coupled with the one or more memories (558 of device 110) and configured to cause the first device to (110):
transmit, to a second device (102), an indication of the battery (Para [0615], “a DC component of the received signal can be measured when the external source 102 receives the backscatter signal 12234”);
receive, from the second device, a signal that has an associated radio frequency power, wherein the radio frequency power is based at least in part on the indication (Para [0602], “the encoded information can be transmitted from the implanted device 110…via the backscatter signal 12234…external source 102 can be used to decode the received signal…the method 12300 can include using the decoded information to update a power and/or data signal transmission characteristic. The method 12300 can return to operation 12310 to transmit a subsequent power and/or data signal”);
store at least a first portion of the radio frequency power of the signal as direct current power at the first device (Para [0396], “The energy harvesting circuitry 4212 can include a rectifier and one or more capacitors to help store a rectified signal…to power the implantable device 4201”); and
transmit, to the second device and based at least in part on storage of at least the first portion of the radio frequency power, a second indication of a power level of the battery (Para [0602] & [0615], “encoded information can be transmitted from the implanted device 110 via the backscatter signal 12234…at operation 12720, a DC component of the received signal can be measured when the external source 102 receives the backscatter signal 12234…if the DC signal is outside of the threshold margin, then, at operation 12730, the initial gain level and/or the initial phase shift level can be changed or perturbed, such as at the same time or in turn”), but does not explicitly disclose the transmitted indication indicative of a type of the battery and the radio frequency power based at least in part on the type of the battery.
However, Xu discloses, in figures 6 & 11, the transmitted indication indicative of a type of the battery and the radio frequency power based at least in part on the type of the battery (Para [0082], “the operation for triggering of energy harvesting on the UE side may also include reporting the energy status, the priority of energy harvesting, the neighbor cell identification, and/or the user equipment type and the battery type of the user equipment to the base station”…thus triggering the transmittal of radio frequency power from the base station to the user equipment based at least in part on the type of battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the battery type indication of Xu in the wireless communication of Fayram, to achieve the benefit of determining safe operation of energy harvesting at the device which depends on the battery and its physical/chemical characteristics (Xu, Para [0082]-[0086]).
Regarding claim 3, Fayram in view of Xu disclose the first device of claim 2, and Xu continues to disclose, in figures 6 & 11, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first device to:
transmit, to the second device, a third indication of an initial power level of the battery (Para [0082], “the operation for triggering of energy harvesting on the UE side may also include reporting the energy status”…i.e., initial power level), the radio frequency power is based at least in part on the initial power level of the battery (Para [0084], “Based on the information…the energy harvesting process facilitates the timely transmission of energy to a user”…based at least in part on the initial reported energy status, radio frequency power is transmitted to the user equipment).
Regarding claim 5, Fayram in view of Xu disclose the first device of claim 3, and Xu continues to disclose, in figures 6, 9, & 11, wherein the transmission of the third indication is in response to a wake-up procedure at the first device (Para [0165], “the smartphone 2500 shown in FIG. 9, the transceiver device of the wireless communication device at the user equipment side according to the embodiment of the present disclosure may be implemented by the wireless communication interface 2512. At least a part of the functions of the processing circuitry and/or respective units of the electronic device or the wireless communication device at the user equipment side according to the embodiment of the present disclosure may also be implemented by the processor 2501 or the auxiliary controller 2519”…once the user equipment is determined to be within range of the base stations [i.e., wake up] data transmittal occurs to enable energy harvesting).
Regarding claim 8, Faymar in view of Xu discloses the first device of claim 2, and Faymar continues to disclose, in Figures 1, 102, & 107, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first device to:
transmit, to the second device, a third indication of a target amount of converted direct current power, wherein the radio frequency power of the received signal is based at least in part on the target amount of converted direct current power (Para [0602] & [0615], “encoded information can be transmitted from the implanted device 110 via the backscatter signal 12234…at operation 12720, a DC component of the received signal can be measured when the external source 102 receives the backscatter signal 12234…if the DC signal is outside of the threshold margin, then, at operation 12730, the initial gain level and/or the initial phase shift level can be changed or perturbed, such as at the same time or in turn”).
Regarding claim 11, Faymar in view of Xu discloses the first device of claim 2, and Faymar continues to disclose, in Figure 48, the one or more processors further configured to cause the first device to:
convert at least the first portion of the radio frequency power of the signal to the direct current power, wherein the storage is based at least in part on the conversion (Para [0396], “The energy harvesting circuitry 4212 can include a rectifier and one or more capacitors to help store a rectified signal. The energy harvesting circuitry 4212 can power the implantable device 4201”).
Regarding claim 12, Faymar in view of Xu discloses the first device of claim 2, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the type of battery comprises a lithium ion battery type or a lithium polymer battery type.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include either battery type as the battery in the user equipment of Xu, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. [i.e., using standard high-density battery types in mobile user equipment] (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415‐421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Regarding claim 13, Fayram in view of Xu disclose the first device of claim 2, and Xu continues to disclose, in figures 6, 9, & 11, wherein the power level of the battery corresponds to an amount of energy stored in the battery of the first device, a rate of change of the amount of energy stored in the battery, or both (Para [0082] & [0083], “UE side may also include reporting the energy status, the priority of energy harvesting, the neighbor cell identification, and/or the user equipment type and the battery type of the user equipment to the base station…Specifically, the user equipment can detect its own remaining power in real time, for example”).
Regarding claim 14, Faymar discloses, in figures 1, 48, 104, & 107, a method for wireless communication at a first device, comprising:
transmitting, to a second device, an indication of a battery (Para [0396], “The energy harvesting circuitry 4212 can include a rectifier and one or more capacitors to help store a rectified signal…to power the implantable device 4201”) of the first device (Para [0615], “a DC component of the received signal can be measured when the external source 102 receives the backscatter signal 12234”);
receiving, from the second device, a signal comprising a radio frequency power, wherein the radio frequency power is based at least in part on the transmitted first indication (Para [0602], “the encoded information can be transmitted from the implanted device 110…via the backscatter signal 12234…external source 102 can be used to decode the received signal…the method 12300 can include using the decoded information to update a power and/or data signal transmission characteristic. The method 12300 can return to operation 12310 to transmit a subsequent power and/or data signal”);
storing at least a first portion of the radio frequency power of the signal as direct current power at the first device (Para [0396], “The energy harvesting circuitry 4212 can include a rectifier and one or more capacitors to help store a rectified signal…to power the implantable device 4201”); and
transmitting, to the second device and based at least in part on the storage of at least the first portion of the radio frequency power, a second indication of a power level of the battery (Para [0602] & [0615], “encoded information can be transmitted from the implanted device 110 via the backscatter signal 12234…at operation 12720, a DC component of the received signal can be measured when the external source 102 receives the backscatter signal 12234…if the DC signal is outside of the threshold margin, then, at operation 12730, the initial gain level and/or the initial phase shift level can be changed or perturbed, such as at the same time or in turn”), but does not explicitly disclose the transmitted indication indicative of a type of the battery and the radio frequency power based at least in part on the type of the battery.
However, Xu discloses, in figures 6 & 11, the transmitted indication indicative of a type of the battery and the radio frequency power based at least in part on the type of the battery (Para [0082], “the operation for triggering of energy harvesting on the UE side may also include reporting the energy status, the priority of energy harvesting, the neighbor cell identification, and/or the user equipment type and the battery type of the user equipment to the base station”…thus triggering the transmittal of radio frequency power from the base station to the user equipment based at least in part on the type of battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the battery type indication of Xu in the wireless communication of Fayram, to achieve the benefit of determining safe operation of energy harvesting at the device which depends on the battery and its physical/chemical characteristics (Xu, Para [0082]-[0086]).
Regarding claim 15, Fayram in view of Xu disclose the method of claim 14, and Xu continues to disclose, in figures 6 & 11, transmitting, to the second device, a third indication of an initial power level of the battery (Para [0082], “the operation for triggering of energy harvesting on the UE side may also include reporting the energy status”…i.e., initial power level), the radio frequency power is based at least in part on the initial power level of the battery (Para [0084], “Based on the information…the energy harvesting process facilitates the timely transmission of energy to a user”…based at least in part on the initial reported energy status, radio frequency power is transmitted to the user equipment).
Regarding claim 17, Fayram in view of Xu disclose the method of claim 15, and Xu continues to disclose, in figures 6, 9, & 11, wherein the transmission of the third indication is in response to a wake-up procedure at the first device (Para [0165], “the smartphone 2500 shown in FIG. 9, the transceiver device of the wireless communication device at the user equipment side according to the embodiment of the present disclosure may be implemented by the wireless communication interface 2512. At least a part of the functions of the processing circuitry and/or respective units of the electronic device or the wireless communication device at the user equipment side according to the embodiment of the present disclosure may also be implemented by the processor 2501 or the auxiliary controller 2519”…once the user equipment is determined to be within range of the base stations [i.e., wake up] data transmittal occurs to enable energy harvesting).
Regarding claim 20, Faymar in view of Xu discloses the method of claim 14, and Faymar continues to disclose, in Figures 1, 102, & 107, transmitting, to the second device, a third indication of a target amount of converted direct current power, wherein the radio frequency power of the received signal is based at least in part on the target amount of converted direct current power (Para [0602] & [0615], “encoded information can be transmitted from the implanted device 110 via the backscatter signal 12234…at operation 12720, a DC component of the received signal can be measured when the external source 102 receives the backscatter signal 12234…if the DC signal is outside of the threshold margin, then, at operation 12730, the initial gain level and/or the initial phase shift level can be changed or perturbed, such as at the same time or in turn”).
Regarding claim 23, Faymar in view of Xu discloses the method of claim 14, and Faymar continues to disclose, in Figure 48, converting at least the first portion of the radio frequency power of the signal to the direct current power, wherein the storage is based at least in part on the conversion (Para [0396], “The energy harvesting circuitry 4212 can include a rectifier and one or more capacitors to help store a rectified signal. The energy harvesting circuitry 4212 can power the implantable device 4201”).
Regarding claim 24, Faymar in view of Xu discloses the method of claim 14, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the type of battery comprises a lithium ion battery type or a lithium polymer battery type.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include either battery type as the battery in the user equipment of Xu, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. [i.e., using standard high-density battery types in mobile user equipment] (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415‐421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Regarding claim 25, Fayram in view of Xu disclose the method of claim 14, and Xu continues to disclose, in figures 6, 9, & 11, wherein the power level of the battery corresponds to an amount of energy stored in the battery of the first device, a rate of change of the amount of energy stored in the battery, or both (Para [0082] & [0083], “UE side may also include reporting the energy status, the priority of energy harvesting, the neighbor cell identification, and/or the user equipment type and the battery type of the user equipment to the base station…Specifically, the user equipment can detect its own remaining power in real time, for example”).
Claims 9 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faymar in view Xu, as applied to claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 11-15, 17, 20, & 23-25 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2021/0067991 A1), hereinafter Zhu.
Regarding claim 9, Faymar in view of Xu discloses the first device of claim 2, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first device to:
transmit the second indication via a media access control-control element, a transmission via a physical uplink channel, or a combination thereof.
However, Zhu discloses, in Figure 5, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first device to:
transmit the second indication via a media access control-control element, a transmission via a physical uplink channel, or a combination thereof (Para [0064], “user equipment may transmit, to the base station, a communication…in some aspects, the communication may include an uplink control information (UCI) communication, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) communication, and/or another type of uplink communication”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the information transmittal of Zhu in the apparatus of Faymar and Xu, to achieve the benefit of identifying one or more user equipment capability parameters that the user equipment may support for cross-link interference measurement (Zhu, Para [0076]).
Regarding claim 21, Faymar in view of Xu discloses the method of claim 14, but do not explicitly disclose transmitting the second indication via a media access control-control element, a transmission via a physical uplink channel, or a combination thereof.
However, Zhu discloses, in Figure 5, transmitting the second indication via a media access control-control element, a transmission via a physical uplink channel, or a combination thereof (Para [0064], “user equipment may transmit, to the base station, a communication…in some aspects, the communication may include an uplink control information (UCI) communication, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) communication, and/or another type of uplink communication”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the information transmittal of Zhu in the apparatus of Faymar and Xu, to achieve the benefit of identifying one or more user equipment capability parameters that the user equipment may support for cross-link interference measurement (Zhu, Para [0076]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-7, 10, 16, 18-19, & 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fieldbinder et al. (US 12,068,622 B2) [Figure 2. Discloses a wireless charging device with a plurality of charging stations. The wireless charging device may communicate with a first battery pack via at least one of a wireless communication device and a first battery pack detection sensor of a first charging station. The wireless charging device may communicate with a second battery pack via at least one of the wireless communication device and a second battery pack detection sensor of a second charging station. The wireless charging device may determine that the first battery pack was manufactured by a different manufacturer than the second battery pack. The wireless charging device may communicate status information to an external device for display by the external device. The status information may include a first manufacturer of the first battery pack and a second manufacturer of the second battery pack that is different than the first manufacturer.]
Leabman (US 2017/0077995 A1) [Figure 1. Discloses the generation and transmittal of power waves that, as result of their physical waveform characteristics (e.g., frequency, amplitude, phase, gain, direction), converge at a predetermined location in a transmission field to generate a pocket of energy. Receivers associated with an electronic device being powered by the wireless charging system, may extract energy from these pockets of energy and then convert that energy into usable electric power for the electronic device associated with a receiver. The pockets of energy may manifest as a three-dimensional field (e.g., transmission field) where energy may be harvested by a receiver positioned within or nearby the pocket of energy.]
/TYLER J PERENY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2836