DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/25/2025, 02/12/2026, and 05/12/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recites the limitation “a computer-readable storage medium”. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers transitory forms of computer-readable storage media, such as signals per se, which is non-statutory subject matter. Examiner recommends amending the claim to limit the term to non-transitory computer-readable storage media.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230127743 A1, with an earliest priority date of July 23rd, 2020, hereinafter “Mo”, in view of US 20210323406 A1, with an earliest priority date of April 20th, 2020, hereinafter “So”.
Regarding claim 1, Mo teaches A human-machine interaction method for an electronic device. See at least [0089] and figure 5.
the method comprises: displaying a first page of a driving mode, wherein the first page comprises a display window of a first application, and the first application is a map application having a navigation function. See at least [0037], [0087]-[0089], and figure 5, wherein, at step 404, a first application interface is displayed in full screen. The first application is a navigation interface that displays a location of the navigation object in a map in real time.
detecting a first operation of a user and displaying a second page of the driving mode in response to the first operation of the user, wherein the second page comprises a display window of a second application and a first floating window, the first floating window is displayed above the display window of the second application in a floating manner, the first floating window is used to display navigation guidance information of the first application, and the second application is a non-map-type application. See at least [0090]-[0095] and figure 5, steps 405-406, wherein in response to detecting a switching operation from the user, the display screen is switched to a second display page. The second display page comprises a display window of a target application (second application) in full screen and a floating window displayed above the second application. The target application is a news application, and the first application (navigation) is displayed in the floating window above the second application.
detecting a second operation of the user and displaying a third page of the driving mode in response to the second operation of the user, wherein the third page comprises a display window of a third application and a second floating window, the second floating window is displayed above the display window of the third application in a floating manner, the second floating window is used to display audio playing control information of a fourth application, the fourth application is an audio-type application, and the third application is a non-audio-type application. See at least [0028], [0102]-[0103], and figure 7, wherein, in another embodiment, after detecting an operation of the user, a third page is displayed. The third page comprises a display window of a third application (system main interface) and a second floating window 72 displayed above the third application. The second floating window is used to display an audio recording interface.
Mo remains silent on displaying the second or third page in response to determining that the navigation function of the first application is enabled or disabled.
So teaches in response to determining that the navigation function of the first application is enabled or disabled. See at least [0558]-[0561] and figures 63-64, steps 6312-6316, wherein, based on a first application being designated or not, two different display pages are displayed. A designated application is an application currently executing vehicle navigation. As seen in figure 64, if the application is designated, the display screen 6411 is displayed, wherein a navigation application is active in a floating window, and if the application is not designated, the display screen 6415 is displayed, wherein an audio-type interface is displayed.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Mo with So’s technique of displaying different interfaces based on whether a navigation application is being executed. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of navigation systems to have a more convenient and safe driving experience, as recognized by So (see at least [0003]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Mo and So in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Mo additionally teaches wherein in response to determining that the navigation function of the first application is enabled, the method further comprises: detecting a third operation performed by the user on the first floating window; switching the first floating window to the second floating window in response to the third operation. See at least [0109] and figure 8, wherein, in another embodiment, after detecting an operation 85/86 performed by the user on the first floating window 82, the first floating window 82 is switched with the second floating window 83.
wherein the second floating window is displayed above the display window of the second application in a floating manner, the second floating window is used to display audio control information of a fourth application, the fourth application is an audio-type application, and the second application is a non-audio-type application. See at least [0108], [0116], and figures 7-8, wherein the second floating window displays an audio recording interface of an audio application, and the second application is a system main interface.
Mo remains silent on audio playing control.
So teaches audio playing control. See at least [0088] and figure 49, wherein the display windows include audio playback controls.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Mo with So’s audio playback controls. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of navigation systems to have a more convenient and safe driving experience, as recognized by So (see at least [0003]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Mo and So in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above, and Mo remains silent on wherein the third operation is a sliding operation.
So teaches wherein the third operation is a sliding operation. See at least [0495] and figure 49, wherein the user performs a sliding operation 4900/4910 to switch the display window to the audio playback control interface.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Mo with So’s sliding operation. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of navigation systems to have a more convenient and safe driving experience, as recognized by So (see at least [0003]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 4, Mo and So in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Mo additionally teaches wherein in response to determining that the navigation function of the first application is enabled, the method further comprises: detecting a tap operation performed by the user on the first floating window; and displaying the first page in response to the tap operation, wherein a navigation interface of the first application is displayed in the display window of the first application. See at least [0095] and figures 4-5, wherein, in step 402, a click operation is detected by the user on first floating window 51, and the first navigation application is displayed in full screen in response.
Regarding claim 7, Mo and So in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Mo remains silent on the method further comprises: displaying a third floating window on a current page in response to detecting that the electronic device receives an incoming call, wherein the third floating window is used to display incoming call information.
So teaches the method further comprises: displaying a third floating window on a current page in response to detecting that the electronic device receives an incoming call, wherein the third floating window is used to display incoming call information. See at least [0556]-[0557] and figure 64, wherein a third floating window 6407 is displayed in response to an incoming call, and displays the contact information of the caller.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Mo with So’s incoming call floating window displaying incoming call information. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of navigation systems to have a more convenient and safe driving experience, as recognized by So (see at least [0003]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 8, Mo and So in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above, and Mo remains silent on wherein when the current page is the second page, the third floating window partially overlaps or does not overlap the first floating window; or when the current page is the third page, the third floating window partially overlaps or does not overlap the second floating window.
So teaches wherein when the current page is the second page, the third floating window partially overlaps or does not overlap the first floating window; or when the current page is the third page, the third floating window partially overlaps or does not overlap the second floating window. See at least [0556]-[0557] and figure 64, wherein a third floating window 6407 partially overlaps the navigation window on the right.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Mo with So’s incoming call floating window partially overlapping existing floating windows. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of navigation systems to have a more convenient and safe driving experience, as recognized by So (see at least [0003]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 9, Mo and So in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above, and Mo remains silent on wherein the third floating window comprises at least one of an answer control, a hang-up control, and an ignore control, the answer control is used to answer the incoming call, the hang-up control is used to hang up the incoming call immediately, and the ignore control is used to delay hanging up the incoming call.
So teaches wherein the third floating window comprises at least one of an answer control, a hang-up control, and an ignore control, the answer control is used to answer the incoming call, the hang-up control is used to hang up the incoming call immediately, and the ignore control is used to delay hanging up the incoming call. See at least [0556]-[0557] and figure 64, wherein the third floating window 6407 comprises an answer control and a hang-up control.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Mo with So’s incoming call floating window partially overlapping existing floating windows. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of navigation systems to have a more convenient and safe driving experience, as recognized by So (see at least [0003]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 10, Mo and So in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Mo additionally teaches wherein the second floating window comprises at least one of a pause control, a playing control, a forward control, a backward control, a fast-forward control, a fast-backward control, a speed control, and a close control. See at least [0124] and figures 7-9, wherein the second floating window includes a pause control.
Regarding claim 11, Mo and So in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Mo additionally teaches wherein the display window of the first application is a full-screen display window. See at least [0089] and figure 5, wherein the first application display window is a full-screen display window.
Regarding claim 19, Mo teaches An electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories, wherein the one or more memories store one or more computer programs, the one or more computer programs comprise instructions. See at least [0192]-[0193] and figure 15.
and when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors, the electronic device is enabled to: display a first page of a driving mode, wherein the first page comprises a display window of a first application, and the first application is a map application having a navigation function. See at least [0037], [0087]-[0089], and figure 5, wherein, at step 404, a first application interface is displayed in full screen. The first application is a navigation interface that displays a location of the navigation object in a map in real time.
detect a first operation of a user and displaying a second page of the driving mode in response to the first operation of the user, wherein the second page comprises a display window of a second application and a first floating window, the first floating window is displayed above the display window of the second application in a floating manner, the first floating window is used to display navigation guidance information of the first application, and the second application is a non-map-type application. See at least [0090]-[0095] and figure 5, steps 405-406, wherein in response to detecting a switching operation from the user, the display screen is switched to a second display page. The second display page comprises a display window of a target application (second application) in full screen and a floating window displayed above the second application. The target application is a news application, and the first application (navigation) is displayed in the floating window above the second application.
detect a second operation of the user and displaying a third page of the driving mode in response to the second operation of the user, wherein the third page comprises a display window of a third application and a second floating window, the second floating window is displayed above the display window of the third application in a floating manner, the second floating window is used to display audio playing control information of a fourth application, the fourth application is an audio-type application, and the third application is a non-audio-type application. See at least [0028], [0102]-[0103], and figure 7, wherein, in another embodiment, after detecting an operation of the user, a third page is displayed. The third page comprises a display window of a third application (system main interface) and a second floating window 72 displayed above the third application. The second floating window is used to display an audio recording interface.
Mo remains silent on displaying the second or third page in response to determining that the navigation function of the first application is enabled or disabled.
So teaches in response to determining that the navigation function of the first application is enabled or disabled. See at least [0558]-[0561] and figures 63-64, steps 6312-6316, wherein, based on a first application being designated or not, two different display pages are displayed. A designated application is an application currently executing vehicle navigation. As seen in figure 64, if the application is designated, the display screen 6411 is displayed, wherein a navigation application is active in a floating window, and if the application is not designated, the display screen 6415 is displayed, wherein an audio-type interface is displayed.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Mo with So’s technique of displaying different interfaces based on whether a navigation application is being executed. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of navigation systems to have a more convenient and safe driving experience, as recognized by So (see at least [0003]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 20, Mo teaches A computer-readable storage medium, comprising computer instructions. See at least [0192]-[0193] and figure 15.
wherein when the computer instructions are run on an electronic device, the electronic device is enabled to: display a first page of a driving mode, wherein the first page comprises a display window of a first application, and the first application is a map application having a navigation function. See at least [0037], [0087]-[0089], and figure 5, wherein, at step 404, a first application interface is displayed in full screen. The first application is a navigation interface that displays a location of the navigation object in a map in real time.
detect a first operation of a user and displaying a second page of the driving mode in response to the first operation of the user, wherein the second page comprises a display window of a second application and a first floating window, the first floating window is displayed above the display window of the second application in a floating manner, the first floating window is used to display navigation guidance information of the first application, and the second application is a non-map-type application. See at least [0090]-[0095] and figure 5, steps 405-406, wherein in response to detecting a switching operation from the user, the display screen is switched to a second display page. The second display page comprises a display window of a target application (second application) in full screen and a floating window displayed above the second application. The target application is a news application, and the first application (navigation) is displayed in the floating window above the second application.
detect a second operation of the user and displaying a third page of the driving mode in response to the second operation of the user, wherein the third page comprises a display window of a third application and a second floating window, the second floating window is displayed above the display window of the third application in a floating manner, the second floating window is used to display audio playing control information of a fourth application, the fourth application is an audio-type application, and the third application is a non-audio-type application. See at least [0028], [0102]-[0103], and figure 7, wherein, in another embodiment, after detecting an operation of the user, a third page is displayed. The third page comprises a display window of a third application (system main interface) and a second floating window 72 displayed above the third application. The second floating window is used to display an audio recording interface.
Mo remains silent on displaying the second or third page in response to determining that the navigation function of the first application is enabled or disabled.
So teaches in response to determining that the navigation function of the first application is enabled or disabled. See at least [0558]-[0561] and figures 63-64, steps 6312-6316, wherein, based on a first application being designated or not, two different display pages are displayed. A designated application is an application currently executing vehicle navigation. As seen in figure 64, if the application is designated, the display screen 6411 is displayed, wherein a navigation application is active in a floating window, and if the application is not designated, the display screen 6415 is displayed, wherein an audio-type interface is displayed.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Mo with So’s technique of displaying different interfaces based on whether a navigation application is being executed. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of navigation systems to have a more convenient and safe driving experience, as recognized by So (see at least [0003]-[0005]).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo and So in combination as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20240061549 A1, with an earliest priority date of August 10th, 2021, hereinafter “Chen”.
Regarding claim 5, Mo and So in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Mo remains silent on wherein the first floating window comprises a close control, and in response to determining that the navigation function of the first application is enabled, the method further comprises: detecting a tap operation performed by the user on the close control; and closing the first floating window on the second page in response to the tap operation.
So teaches and in response to determining that the navigation function of the first application is enabled. See at least [0558]-[0561] and figures 63-64, steps 6312-6316, wherein, based on a first application being designated or not, two different display pages are displayed. A designated application is an application currently executing vehicle navigation. As seen in figure 64, if the application is designated, the display screen 6411 is displayed, wherein a navigation application is active in a floating window, and if the application is not designated, the display screen 6415 is displayed, wherein an audio-type interface is displayed.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Mo with So’s technique of displaying different interfaces based on whether a navigation application is being executed. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of navigation systems to have a more convenient and safe driving experience, as recognized by So (see at least [0003]-[0005]).
Chen teaches wherein the first floating window comprises a close control, the method further comprises: detecting a tap operation performed by the user on the close control; and closing the first floating window on the second page in response to the tap operation. See at least [0289] and figure 5T, wherein the floating window comprises a close control, and in response to detecting a tap operation performed by the user on the close control, the floating window is closed.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Mo with Chen’s floating window close control. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to easily browse a plurality of applications and quickly switch between applications, as recognized by Chen (see at least [0003]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 6, Mo and So in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above, and Mo additionally teaches wherein the first application is switched to a background for running. See at least [0030], wherein the first application is switched to run in the background.
Mo remains silent on and the navigation guidance information of the first application is broadcast in a voice manner; or the first application is stopped.
Chen teaches or the first application is stopped. See at least [0289] and figure 5T, wherein the floating window comprises a close control, and in response to detecting a tap operation performed by the user on the close control, the floating window is closed and the associated application is stopped.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Mo with Chen’s floating window close control. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to easily browse a plurality of applications and quickly switch between applications, as recognized by Chen (see at least [0003]-[0005]).
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo and So in combination as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20160054137 A1, filed August 20th, 2014, hereinafter “Wheatman”.
Regarding claim 12, Mo and So in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Mo additionally teaches a second map application. See at least [0124] and figure 8, wherein the system comprises two different map applications in windows 83 and 84.
Mo remains silent on wherein the first page further comprises a shortcut navigation bar, the shortcut navigation bar is pinned on each page of the driving mode, and the shortcut navigation bar comprises a home screen shortcut entry, a map-type application shortcut entry, an audio-type application shortcut entry, and a recent application shortcut entry; the home screen shortcut entry is an entry for accessing a home screen of the driving mode, the home screen comprises an application window region and a widget region that are displayed on split screens, the application window region is used to display an interface of a first map application, and the widget region is used to display at least one widget; the map-type application shortcut entry is an entry for accessing a map application; the audio-type application shortcut entry is an entry for accessing a first audio application; and the recent application shortcut entry is an entry for accessing a fifth application, and the fifth application is a non-map-type and non-audio-type application recently used by the user.
So teaches wherein the first page further comprises a shortcut navigation bar, the shortcut navigation bar is pinned on each page of the driving mode, and the shortcut navigation bar comprises a home screen shortcut entry, a map-type application shortcut entry, an audio-type application shortcut entry, and a recent application shortcut entry; the home screen shortcut entry is an entry for accessing a home screen of the driving mode, the map-type application shortcut entry is an entry for accessing a map application; the audio-type application shortcut entry is an entry for accessing a first audio application; and the recent application shortcut entry is an entry for accessing a fifth application, and the fifth application is a non-map-type and non-audio-type application recently used by the user. See at least [0097]-[0099], [0234], and figures 3-7, wherein the page further comprises a shortcut navigation bar 320, comprises a list 30 of icons including a home button 31, a map button 32, and a music button 35. The home button returns to a home screen, the map button accesses the navigation application, and the music button 35 accesses a media playback function. See at least [0234], [0423]-[0425] and figure 35, wherein the shortcut bar additionally includes a control representing the most recently executed function of the device, which is a climate control function.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Mo with So’s shortcut navigation bar comprising home, map, audio, and recent application entries providing home, navigation, audio, and recent application access. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of navigation systems to have a more convenient and safe driving experience, as recognized by So (see at least [0003]-[0005]).
Wheatman teaches the home screen comprises an application window region and a widget region that are displayed on split screens, the application window region is used to display an interface of a first map application, and the widget region is used to display at least one widget. See at least [0119], [0127], and figure 6, wherein the home screen comprises split screens representing an application window region 610 displaying a navigation application, and a widget region 620 displaying a widget.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Mo with Wheatman’s home screen. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables enhanced navigation applications by enabling navigation applications to integrate information from other applications, as recognized by Wheatman (see at least [0020]).
Regarding claim 13, Mo, So, and Wheatman in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above, and Mo remains silent on wherein an icon of the second map application is displayed at the map-type application shortcut entry; an icon of the first audio application is displayed at the audio-type application shortcut entry; and an icon of the fifth application is displayed at the recent application shortcut entry.
So teaches wherein an icon of the second map application is displayed at the map-type application shortcut entry; an icon of the first audio application is displayed at the audio-type application shortcut entry; and an icon of the fifth application is displayed at the recent application shortcut entry. See at least [0097]-[0099], [0234], and figures 3-7, wherein the page further comprises a shortcut navigation bar 320, comprises a list 30 of icons including a home button icon 31, a map button icon 32, and a music button icon 35. See at least [0234], [0423]-[0425] and figure 35, wherein the shortcut bar additionally includes a control representing the most recently executed function of the device, which is a climate control function with a climate control icon.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Mo with So’s shortcut navigation bar comprising home, map, audio, and recent application entries providing home, navigation, audio, and recent application access. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of navigation systems to have a more convenient and safe driving experience, as recognized by So (see at least [0003]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 14, Mo, So, and Wheatman in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above, and Mo additionally teaches wherein the first map application or the second map application is a map application that is selected based on frequency of use within a preset time period, or a map application that is recently used, or a map application that is recently used to use a navigation service, or a map application that is latest installed, or a map application pre-installed when the electronic device is delivered from a factory, or a map application that is preset and used, or a map application recommended for the driving mode; and/or the first audio application is an audio application that is most frequently used by the user within a preset time period, or an audio application that is based on frequency of use, or an audio application that is recently used to use a playing service, or an audio application that is latest installed, or an audio application pre-installed when the electronic device is delivered from the factory, or an audio application that is preset and used, or an audio application recommended for the driving mode. See at least [0110], [0141], and [0167], wherein the target application to be displayed is selected according to an application with a highest frequency of use in a historical application record, or an application that is most recently used.
Regarding claim 15, Mo, So, and Wheatman in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, and Mo remains silent on wherein before displaying the first page of the driving mode, the method further comprises: displaying the home screen, wherein the home screen further comprises the shortcut navigation bar; detecting a tap operation performed on the home screen shortcut entry in the shortcut navigation bar; and displaying a home screen extension page of the driving mode in response to the tap operation, wherein the home screen extension page is used to display icons of one or more applications and/or one or more widgets, and the icon is used to start a corresponding application.
Chen teaches displaying a home screen extension page of the driving mode in response to the tap operation, wherein the home screen extension page is used to display icons of one or more applications and/or one or more widgets, and the icon is used to start a corresponding application. See at least [0078], [0185]-[0186], and figure 3A, wherein a home screen extension page is displayed which displays icons representing applications and widgets in the user interface, which start the corresponding applications.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Mo with Chen’s home screen extension page displaying icons of applications and widgets. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to easily browse a plurality of applications and quickly switch between applications, as recognized by Chen (see at least [0003]-[0005]).
Wheatman teaches wherein before displaying the first page of the driving mode, the method further comprises: displaying the home screen, wherein the home screen further comprises the shortcut navigation bar; detecting a tap operation performed on the home screen shortcut entry in the shortcut navigation bar. See at least [0144] and figure 8, wherein the home screen 800 is displayed, comprising the shortcut navigation bar 808 which the user can perform operations on to access certain applications represented in the bat.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Mo with Wheatman’s home screen. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables enhanced navigation applications by enabling navigation applications to integrate information from other applications, as recognized by Wheatman (see at least [0020]).
Regarding claim 16, Mo, So, Chen, and Wheatman in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above, and Mo remains silent on wherein the home screen extension page comprises a first control and a second control, the first control is used to display the icons of the one or more applications on the home screen extension page in response to the tap operation, and the second control is used to display the one or more widgets on the home screen extension page in response to the tap operation.
Chen teaches wherein the home screen extension page comprises a first control and a second control, the first control is used to display the icons of the one or more applications on the home screen extension page in response to the tap operation. See at least [0185][0193] and figures 3A-F, wherein the home screen extension page comprises controls that the user can perform to display icons on the home screen extension page.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Mo with Chen’s home screen extension page displaying icons of applications and widgets. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to easily browse a plurality of applications and quickly switch between applications, as recognized by Chen (see at least [0003]-[0005]).
Wheatman teaches and the second control is used to display the one or more widgets on the home screen extension page in response to the tap operation. See at least [0054], wherein the home screen contains a page that the user can select to display only widgets.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Mo with Wheatman’s home screen page displaying only widgets. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables enhanced navigation applications by enabling navigation applications to integrate information from other applications, as recognized by Wheatman (see at least [0020]).
Regarding claim 17, Mo, So, Chen, and Wheatman in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above, and Mo remains silent on wherein when the home screen extension page is used to display the icons of the one or more applications, the home screen extension page further comprises a third control, and the method further comprises: detecting a tap operation performed by the user on the third control; and displaying a first interface in response to the tap operation, wherein the first interface comprises a plurality of options and a plurality of fourth controls, the plurality of options are in a one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of fourth controls, each of the plurality of options corresponds to one application, and the fourth control is used to control an icon of a corresponding application to be displayed on the home screen extension page or removed from the home screen extension page.
Chen teaches wherein when the home screen extension page is used to display the icons of the one or more applications, the home screen extension page further comprises a third control, and the method further comprises: detecting a tap operation performed by the user on the third control; and displaying a first interface in response to the tap operation, wherein the first interface comprises a plurality of options and a plurality of fourth controls, the plurality of options are in a one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of fourth controls, each of the plurality of options corresponds to one application, and the fourth control is used to control an icon of a corresponding application to be displayed on the home screen extension page or removed from the home screen extension page. See at least [0192]-[0196] and figures 3B-H, wherein the home screen extension page comprises a third control 305, and in response to detecting the user tapping the third control 305, a first interface 306 is displayed. The first interface 306 comprises a plurality of options and a plurality of fourth controls, each control associated with an application option, and selecting the fourth controls results in the corresponding application displayed on the home screen extension page.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Mo with Chen’s home screen extension page with a third control, and first user interface with application options and corresponding fourth controls. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to easily browse a plurality of applications and quickly switch between applications, as recognized by Chen (see at least [0003]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 18, Mo, So, Chen, and Wheatman in combination disclose all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above, and Mo remains silent on wherein when the home screen extension page is used to display the icons of the one or more applications, the method further comprises: detecting a touch-and-hold operation performed on an icon of a sixth application in the one or more applications; and displaying a prompt box on the home screen extension page in response to the touch- and-hold operation, wherein the prompt box is used to remove the icon of the sixth application from the home screen extension page.
Chen teaches wherein when the home screen extension page is used to display the icons of the one or more applications, the method further comprises: detecting a touch-and-hold operation performed on an icon of a sixth application in the one or more applications; and displaying a prompt box on the home screen extension page in response to the touch- and-hold operation, wherein the prompt box is used to remove the icon of the sixth application from the home screen extension page. See at least [0207]-[0208] and figures 3I-K, wherein when a touch and hold operation is detected on an application icon, a prompt 304A is displayed on the home screen extension page, which the user can use to remove the icon of the associated application.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Mo with Chen’s touch-and-hold operation to remove application icons from the home screen extension page. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users to easily browse a plurality of applications and quickly switch between applications, as recognized by Chen (see at least [0003]-[0005]).
Conclusion
/S.M.J./ Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/FARIS S ALMATRAHI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667