DETAILED ACTION
Specification Objections
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
¶ 0001: Add the patent number corresponding to Application No. 18/399,922.
¶ 0002: Add the patent number corresponding to Application No. 18/399,917.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 19 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8: Change to “…wherein the data message indicative of [[the]] that result by each of those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance includes a backup result output.” (page 2)
Claim 19: Change to “…wherein the data message indicative of [[the]] that result by each of those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance includes a backup result output.” (page 5)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations (e.g. Claim 23) in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recite the limitation “…may alter a current state…” The term “may” is indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. Is the claimed current state altered, or is it not?
Because Claims 2-11 and 13-22 depend upon Claims 1 and 12, respectively, Claims 2-11 and 13-22 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 12, and 23 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of anticipatory-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 7 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,417,155 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the aforementioned, broadened claims of the instant application are anticipated by respective claims of the parent patent. These double patenting claim mappings are shown in the table below.
Claims 1, 12, and 23 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of anticipatory-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 6 and 25 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,487,894 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the aforementioned claims of the instant application are anticipated by respective claims of the related patent. These double patenting claim mappings are shown in the table below.
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 12, 15, 18, 20, and 23 of the instant application are provisionally rejected on the ground of anticipatory-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-3, 6, 11-13, 16, and 21 of copending Application No. 19/245,156 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the aforementioned claims of the instant application are anticipated by respective claims of the related patent application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The elements of the aforementioned claims are mapped below in the aforementioned table. Underlined claim elements are anticipated.
19/249,618
12,417,155
12,487,894
19/245,156
(Claim) 1. A system comprising:
a plurality of fault tolerance processors, each of the plurality of fault tolerance processors coupled with one of a plurality of transaction processing servers, wherein each of the plurality of transaction processing servers is configured to receive an incoming request for a transaction, process the received incoming request to identify a previously received request for a transaction counter thereto in an attempt to satisfy one or both of the incoming request and the previously received request, and generate a result indicative thereof which may alter a current state of each of the plurality of transaction processing servers, each of the plurality of fault tolerance processors configured to:
establish which one of the plurality of transaction processing servers is designated as a primary instance, each of others of the plurality of transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance, the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance at least commencing processing of the incoming request prior to each of those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance; and
determine that a failure has occurred in the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance and, subsequent thereto, cause one of the those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance to be designated as a new primary instance.
(Claim) 1. A system comprising:
a plurality of transaction processing servers coupled with each other via an electronic communications network, each of the plurality of transaction processing servers comprising a processor which implements a plurality of components coupled with each other, each of the plurality of components characterized by a current state and configured to perform one or more of receiving an electronic message, processing the received electronic message and generating an electronic result message indicative of a result of an operation which may alter the current state thereof, wherein one of the plurality of transaction processing servers is designated as a primary instance and each other of the plurality of transaction processing servers is designated as a backup instance, wherein each of the plurality of transaction processing servers is operative to receive an incoming request for a transaction, process the received incoming request to identify a previously received request for a transaction counter thereto in an attempt to satisfy one or both of the incoming request and the previously received request and generate a result indicative thereof, the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance at least commencing processing of the incoming request prior to each of the other of the plurality of transaction processing servers designated as the backup instance, wherein one or more of the plurality of components of the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance are each configured to communicate the electronic result message indicative of the result of the operation thereof to a corresponding component of each of the other of the plurality of transaction processing servers designated as the backup instance; and
a plurality of fault tolerance processors, each of the plurality of transaction processing servers coupled with one of the plurality of fault tolerance processors, each of the plurality of fault tolerance processors configured to determine that a failure has occurred in the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance and, subsequent thereto, cause one of the other of the plurality of transaction processing servers to be designated as a new primary instance, wherein the one of other of the plurality of transaction processing servers which is designated as the new primary instance is configured to synchronize the current state of each of the plurality of components thereof based on received electronic messages indicative of the result of the operation of the corresponding component of the primary instance, and process any incoming requests not processed by the primary instance before commencing processing of new incoming requests.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of fault tolerance processors, establish, upon the plurality of transaction processing servers starting up, which of the plurality of transaction processing servers is designated as the primary instance.
Also: 20
(Claim) 1. A system comprising:
a plurality of transaction processing servers coupled with each other via an electronic communications network, each of the plurality of transaction processing servers comprising a processor which implements a plurality of components coupled with each other, each of the plurality of components characterized by a current state and configured to perform one or more of receiving an electronic message, processing the received electronic message and generating an electronic result message indicative of a result of an operation which may alter the current state thereof, wherein one of the plurality of transaction processing servers is designated as a primary instance and each other of the plurality of transaction processing servers is designated as a backup instance, wherein each of the plurality of transaction processing servers is operative to receive an incoming request for a transaction, process the incoming request to identify a previously received request for a transaction counter thereto in an attempt to satisfy one or both of the incoming request and the previously received request and generate a result indicative thereof, the primary instance at least commencing processing of the incoming request prior to each of the other of the plurality of transaction processing servers designated as the backup instance; and
a plurality of fault tolerance processors, each of the plurality of transaction processing servers coupled with one of the plurality of fault tolerance processors, each of the plurality of fault tolerance processors configured to determine whether a failure has occurred in the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance and, subsequent thereto, cause one of the other of the plurality of transaction processing servers to be designated as a new primary instance.
Also: 25
(Claim) 1. A system comprising:
a plurality of transaction processing servers coupled with each other via an electronic communications network, each of the plurality of transaction processing servers configured to:
establish, upon initialization, which one of the plurality of transaction processing servers is designated as a primary instance, each of others of the plurality of transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance; and
receive an incoming request for a transaction, process the incoming request to identify a previously received request for a transaction counter thereto in an attempt to satisfy one or both of the incoming request and the previously received request, and generate a result indicative thereof, the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance at least commencing processing of the incoming request prior to those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance,
wherein the system further comprises a plurality of fault tolerance processors, each coupled with one of the plurality of transaction processing servers and configured to determine whether a failure has occurred in the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance, and subsequent thereto, cause one of the others of the plurality of transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance to be designated as the primary instance.
Also: 11 and 21
2
3
4
2 and 12
5
6
7
3 and 13
8
9
6 and 16
10
11
12
20 and 7
25 and 6
11, 1, and 21
13
14
15
12 and 2
16
17
18
13 and 3
19
20
16 and 6
21
22
23
7 and 20
6 and 25
21, 1, and 11
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morosan et al. (U.S. Patent No. US 7,725,764 B2), hereinafter “Morosan.”
With regards to Claim 1, Morosan teaches:
a system (Fig. 1 and col. 6, lines 33-44; regarding, e.g., system 50.) comprising:
a plurality of fault tolerance processors (Fig. 1; col. 6, lines 61-67; col. 7, lines 17-23; Fig. 2; and col. 7, lines 47-50; regarding, e.g., CPUs in each server 62 capable of processing software elements to service client requests and providing failover functionality.), each of the plurality of fault tolerance processors coupled with one of a plurality of transaction processing servers (Fig. 1; col. 6, lines 61-67; Fig. 2; and col. 7, lines 47-50.), wherein each of the plurality of transaction processing servers is configured to receive an incoming request for a transaction (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; col. 8, lines 3-22; regarding, e.g., either a sell order or a buy order associated with, e.g., order matching; and TABLE I.), process the received incoming request to identify a previously received request for a transaction counter thereto in an attempt to satisfy one or both of the incoming request and the previously received request (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; col. 8, lines 3-22; and col. 9, lines 7-24; regarding, e.g., a sell order corresponding to a matched buy order [a transaction counter].), and generate a result indicative thereof which may alter a current state of each of the plurality of transaction processing servers (Fig. 3; col. 11, lines 47-67; col. 12, lines 1-33; col. 12, lines 56-67; col. 13, lines 1 and 2; and col. 13, lines 14-28.), each of the plurality of fault tolerance processors configured to:
establish which one of the plurality of transaction processing servers is designated as a primary instance (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; col. 7, lines 34-45; and col. 8, lines 43-54.), each of others of the plurality of transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance (col. 14, lines 38-45; regarding, e.g., two [or more] servers [others]; Fig. 1; Fig. 2; and col. 8, lines 43-54.), the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance at least commencing processing of the incoming request prior to each of those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance (Fig. 3; Fig. 4; col. 9, lines 52-67; TABLE I; and col. 13, lines 14-28.); and
determine that a failure has occurred in the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance (Fig. 15; col. 15, lines 56-67; and col. 16, lines 1-12.) and, subsequent thereto, cause one of the those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance to be designated as a new primary instance (Fig. 15; col. 15, lines 56-67; and col. 16, lines 1-12.).
With regards to Claim 2, Morosan teaches the system of Claim 1 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
wherein the transaction processing server designated as the new primary instance is configured to process any incoming requests not processed by the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance before commencing processing of new incoming requests (Fig. 19; col. 16, lines 47-65; and col. 17, lines 9-28.).
With regards to Claim 3, Morosan teaches the system of Claim 1 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
wherein the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance is configured to communicate the generated result to those plurality of transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance (Fig. 3; col. 12, lines 56-67; and col. 13, lines 1 and 2.).
With regards to Claim 4, Morosan teaches the system of Claim 1 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
wherein those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance are configured to receive the incoming request from the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance (Fig. 3; col. 12, lines 56-67; col. 13, lines 1 and 2; and col. 13, lines 14-28.).
With regards to Claim 5, Morosan teaches the system of Claim 1 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
wherein those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance include a queue configured to store previously received incoming request messages from the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance (Fig. 19; col. 16, lines 47-65; and col. 17, lines 9-28.), and
wherein the transaction processing server designated as the new primary instance is configured to process all of the previously received incoming request messages stored in the queue before becoming the new primary instance (Fig. 19; col. 16, lines 47-65; and col. 17, lines 9-28.).
With regards to Claim 6, Morosan teaches the system of Claim 1 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
wherein each of the transaction processing servers is configured to generate a data message indicative of the generated result of the attempt to satisfy one or both of the incoming request and the previously received request (Fig. 3 and col. 13, lines 14-43; regarding, e.g., a confirmation.).
With regards to Claim 7, Morosan teaches the system of Claim 6 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
wherein only the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance is configured to transmit the data message indicative of the generated result of the attempt to satisfy one or both of the incoming request and the previously received request to an external recipient (Fig. 3 and col. 13, lines 14-43; regarding, e.g., service 94-1 sending the confirmation to client 54-1.).
With regards to Claim 8, Morosan teaches the system of Claim 6 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
wherein the data message indicative of the generated result by the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance includes a primary result output (Fig. 3 and col. 13, lines 14-43.), and
wherein the data message indicative of the result by each of those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance includes a backup result output (Fig. 3 and col. 13, lines 14-43.).
With regards to Claim 9, Morosan teaches the system of Claim 1 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of fault tolerant processors is configured to periodically receive a communication from others of the plurality of fault tolerant processors, wherein a failure to receive the communication from one of the plurality of fault tolerant processors is deemed to indicate a failure of the transaction processing server coupled therewith (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; and col. 7, lines 51-64; regarding, e.g., a keep-alive signal [a communication].).
With regards to Claim 10, Morosan teaches the system of Claim 1 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
wherein the current state of those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance corresponds to a state of the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance subsequent to the processing of an electronic transaction message preceding the electronic transaction message currently being processed by the one of the plurality of transaction processing servers designated as the primary instance (Fig. 3; col. 11, lines 47-67; col. 12, lines 1-33; col. 12, lines 56-67; col. 13, lines 1 and 2; Fig. 19; and col. 16, lines 47-65.).
With regards to Claim 11, Morosan teaches the system of Claim 1 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
wherein when the one of the plurality of fault tolerance processors coupled with the primary instance determines that the failure has occurred in the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance, each of the plurality of fault tolerance processors is configured to cause the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance to at least de-couple from the others of the plurality of transaction processing servers (Fig. 2; Fig. 19; and col. 17, lines 20-40; regarding, e.g., setting failover agent 114-2 to a primary-only state.).
With regards to Claim 12, Morosan teaches:
a computer implemented method comprising:
establishing, upon initializing, by each of a plurality of fault tolerance processors coupled with each other via an electronic communications network (Fig. 1; col. 6, lines 33-44; Fig. 2; col. 7, lines 34-45; col. 7, lines 51-64; regarding, e.g., periodically testing the integrity of link 78 and each other [regarding server 62-1 to server 62-2]; and col. 8, lines 43-54. This reads similarly to the instant specification: ¶ 0058: “Each component is configured to start up, initialize communications, and communicate with the corresponding FT via status messages. …”), each of the plurality of fault tolerance processors coupled with one transaction processing server of a plurality of transaction processing servers (Fig. 1; col. 6, lines 61-67; Fig. 2; and col. 7, lines 47-50.), which one of the plurality of transaction processing servers is designated as a primary instance (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; col. 7, lines 34-45; and col. 8, lines 43-54.), each of others of the plurality of transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance (col. 14, lines 38-45; regarding, e.g., two [or more] servers [others]; Fig. 1; Fig. 2; and col. 8, lines 43-54.), wherein each of the plurality of transaction processing servers is operative to receive an incoming request for a transaction (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; col. 8, lines 3-22; regarding, e.g., either a sell order or a buy order associated with, e.g., order matching; and TABLE I.), process the received incoming request to identify a previously received request for a transaction counter thereto in an attempt to satisfy one or both of the incoming request and the previously received request (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; col. 8, lines 3-22; and col. 9, lines 7-24; regarding, e.g., a sell order corresponding to a matched buy order [a transaction counter].), and generate a result indicative thereof which may alter a current state of each of the plurality of transaction processing servers (Fig. 3; col. 11, lines 47-67; col. 12, lines 1-33; col. 12, lines 56-67; col. 13, lines 1 and 2; and col. 13, lines 14-28.), the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance at least commencing processing the incoming request prior to those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance (Fig. 3; Fig. 4; col. 9, lines 52-67; TABLE I; and col. 13, lines 14-28.);
determining, by the plurality of fault tolerance processors that a failure has occurred in the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance (Fig. 15; col. 15, lines 56-67; and col. 16, lines 1-12.); and
causing, by the plurality of fault tolerance processors, one of those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance to be designated as a new primary instance (Fig. 15; col. 15, lines 56-67; and col. 16, lines 1-12.).
With regards to Claim 13, Morosan teaches the method of Claim 12 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
processing, by the transaction processing server, any incoming requests not processed by the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance before commencing processing of new incoming requests (Fig. 19; col. 16, lines 47-65; and col. 17, lines 9-28.).
With regards to Claim 14, Morosan teaches the method of Claim 12 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
communicating, by the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance, the generated result to those plurality of transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance (Fig. 3; col. 12, lines 56-67; and col. 13, lines 1 and 2.).
With regards to Claim 15, Morosan teaches the method of Claim 12 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
receiving, by those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance, the incoming request from the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance (Fig. 3; col. 12, lines 56-67; col. 13, lines 1 and 2; and col. 13, lines 14-28.).
With regards to Claim 16, Morosan teaches the method of Claim 12 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
wherein those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance include a queue configured to store previously received incoming request messages from the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance (Fig. 19; col. 16, lines 47-65; and col. 17, lines 9-28.), and
wherein the transaction processing server designated as the new primary instance is configured to process all of the previously received incoming request messages stored in the queue before becoming the new primary instance (Fig. 19; col. 16, lines 47-65; and col. 17, lines 9-28.).
With regards to Claim 17, Morosan teaches the method of Claim 12 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
generating, by each of the transaction processing servers, a data message indicative of the generated result of the attempt to satisfy one or both of the incoming request and the previously received request (Fig. 3 and col. 13, lines 14-43; regarding, e.g., a confirmation.).
With regards to Claim 18, Morosan teaches the method of Claim 17 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
transmitting, by only the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance, the data message indicative of the generated result of the attempt to satisfy one or both of the incoming request and the previously received request to an external recipient (Fig. 3 and col. 13, lines 14-43; regarding, e.g., service 94-1 sending the confirmation to client 54-1.).
With regards to Claim 19, Morosan teaches the method of Claim 17 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
wherein the data message indicative of the generated result by the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance includes a primary result output (Fig. 3 and col. 13, lines 14-43.), and
wherein the data message indicative of the result by each of those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance includes a backup result output (Fig. 3 and col. 13, lines 14-43.).
With regards to Claim 20, Morosan teaches the method of Claim 12 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
receiving periodically, by each of the plurality of fault tolerant processors, a communication from others of the plurality of fault tolerant processors, wherein a failure to receive the communication from one of the plurality of fault tolerant processors is deemed to indicate a failure of the transaction processing server coupled therewith (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; and col. 7, lines 51-64; regarding, e.g., a keep-alive signal [a communication].).
With regards to Claim 21, Morosan teaches the method of Claim 12 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
wherein the current state of those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance corresponds to a state of the transaction processing server not designated as the primary instance subsequent to the processing of an electronic transaction message preceding the electronic transaction message currently being processed by the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance (Fig. 3; col. 11, lines 47-67; col. 12, lines 1-33; col. 12, lines 56-67; col. 13, lines 1 and 2; Fig. 19; and col. 16, lines 47-65.).
With regards to Claim 22, Morosan teaches the method of Claim 12 as referenced above. Morosan further teaches:
when the one of the plurality of fault tolerance processors coupled with the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance determines that the failure has occurred in the transaction processing server designated as primary instance, causing, by each of the plurality of fault tolerance processors, the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance to at least de-couple from the other of the plurality of transaction processing servers (Fig. 2; Fig. 19; and col. 17, lines 20-40; regarding, e.g., setting failover agent 114-2 to a primary-only state.).
With regards to Claim 23, the method of Claim 12 performs the same steps as the system of Claim 23, and Claim 23 is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of Claim 12 by the teachings of Morosan.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Studnitzer et al. (U.S. Patent No. US 9,691,102 B2); teaching per, e.g., col. 8, lines 58-64, the claimed “a transaction counter thereto” found in at least the independent claims of the instant application.
Thurimella et al. (U.S. Patent No. US 10,855,749 B2); teaching per, e.g., col. 10, lines 40-55, the claimed “determine” (per Claim 1), “determining” (per Claims 12 and 23), and “causing” (per Claims 12 and 23) limitations found in at least the independent claims of the instant application.
Fugitt et al. (U.S. Patent No. US 10,904,155 B2); teaching per, e.g., col. 2, lines 29-55, the claimed “determine” (per Claim 1), “determining” (per Claims 12 and 23), and “causing” (per Claims 12 and 23) limitations found in at least the independent claims of the instant application.
/JOSEPH R KUDIRKA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2114