DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In applicant’s reply filed 06/09/2026, the claims and specification were amended. Based on these amendments, drawing objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C 112 are withdrawn. Revised rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 can be found below.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1-2, 9, 20 and claim 26 recite "without sealing the…element to any other element in the package. "Sealing" and "without sealing," are claimed and disclosed broadly and no further details are given in the specification. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation is used to determine the meaning of “without sealing”. The drawings show the elements coming in contact/placed atop one another with each other within a singular packaging, so for examination purposes the broadest reasonable interpretation is that "sealing" will mean attached in a manner that cannot be easily removed. Claims 3-8, 10-19, and 21-24 are similarly interpreted as they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7-8 and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(a) as being anticipated by Bertin (US 9808028 B2), found in copending application # 17/218,447.
Regarding Claim 1, Bertin teaches a method of preparing a food item (method of preparing a food item Col. 1 lines 43-44),
comprising the steps of:
partially cooking at least one protein element to reduce its fluid content from a raw state, wherein partially cooking includes cooking to a temperature that is less than a desired fully cooked temperature (second food element, meat Col. 3 lines 27-38; at least one of the food items may be par-cooked Col. 3 lines 43-50). Though Bertin merely teaches par-cooking, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that par-cooking (partial cooking) would be a process in which the food item is merely partially cooked, therefore cooked to a temperature less than that of a fully cooked food item. Further, the process of cooking inherently reduces fluid content through evaporation as heat is applied.
placing the at least one partially-cooked protein element (second food element, meat Col. 3 lines 27-38)
and at least one uncooked dough element (first food element, crepe dough or raw puff pastry Col. 3 lines 12-14)
into a package without sealing the at least one uncooked dough element to any other element in the package (placing first food element then second food element in a package base Col. 1 lines 45-47 fig. 4-6). There is no mention of sealing the elements together so it can be assumed that can be removed from each other.
sealing the package without sealing the at least one uncooked dough element to any other element in the package (vacuum sealing package Col. 1 line 49). There is no mention of sealing the elements together so it can be assumed that can be removed from each other.
forming the food item by placing the sealed package into a temperature-controlled water bath to further cook the partially-cooked protein element to a desired fully cooked state and to cook the uncooked dough element to a desired fully cooked state in the sealed package via sous vide methods without sealing the at least one cooked bread element to any other element in the package. (forming food item by cooking the first and second elements in the sealed package Col. 1 lines 48-51, the food item is sous vide cooked Col. 2 lines 64-65). There is no mention of sealing the elements together so it can be assumed that can be removed from each other.
Regarding Claim 3, Bertin further teaches the partially-cooked protein element comprises meat or fish (meat Col. 3 lines 27-38).
Regarding Claim 7, Bertin further teaches the at least one uncooked dough element is par- cooked prior to placing the par-cooked bread element in the package (at least one of the food items may be par-cooked Col. 3 lines 43-50).
Regarding Claim 10, Bertin further teaches placing cheese in the package prior to sealing the package (cheese Col. 3 lines 27-34).
Regarding Claim 11, Bertin further teaches placing cooked onions in the package prior to sealing the package (onions, can be combination of elements Col. 3 lines 27-34, at least one food element can be cooked Col. 3 lines 48-50).
Regarding Claim 12, Bertin further teaches placing a sauce or condiment in the package prior to sealing the package (chili Col. 3 lines 27-34).
Regarding Claim 13, Bertin further teaches placing seasoning in the package prior to sealing the package (chili, vegetables, cheese Col. 3 lines 27-34). Examiner notes that under broadest reasonable interpretation “seasoning” can encompass any element which adds flavor.
Regarding Claim 14, Bertin further teaches placing a second protein element in the package prior to sealing the package (second element can include a combination of listed elements – sausage, beef, ham, bacon, turkey Col. 3 lines 27-34).
Regarding Claim 15, Bertin further teaches the second protein element is one of partially cooked and fully cooked prior to placing the second protein element in the package (at least one of the food elements could be cooked prior to placing in the package Col. 3 lines 48-50).
Regarding Claim 16, Bertin further teaches the second kind of protein is cooked or uncooked bacon (bacon Col. 3 lines 27-34, at least one of the food elements could be cooked prior to placing in the package Col. 3 lines 48-50).
Regarding Claim 18, Bertin further teaches the protein element is ground meat (hamburger and sausage Col. 3 lines 27-34).
Regarding Claim 19, Bertin further teaches the protein element is one of fish, sausage, beef, chicken, turkey, or pork (sausage, beef, chicken, turkey Col. 3 lines 27-34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertin.
Regarding Claim 4, Bertin discloses egg (Col. 3 lines 7-19), but discloses it as a first element rather than the second element (protein element). It further discloses an embodiment in which the second element is not meat, and a preference for the second element to be a protein. This would motivate one to use the egg of the first element as an additional second element.
Bertin does not disclose that the one of egg and egg white are frozen.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Bertin further discloses the one of frozen egg and frozen egg white further comprises cheese (cheese as second element, may be a combination Col. 3 lines 27-42).
Claims 6 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertin in view of Geisler (US 2834677 A).
Regarding Claim 6, Bertin teaches the limitation of claim 1 above. Bertin further teaches the food product may be frozen after cooking (Col. 5 lines 42-48), but it does not teach the uncooked dough element is frozen prior to cooking.
Geisler, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a bread element which is frozen prior to assembly and packaging (sandwich is made with frozen bread and promptly wrapped Col. 1 lines 44-54).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the uncooked dough element of Bertin with the frozen aspect of Geisler. One would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid the liquid content of the filling being absorbed by the dough element (Geisler Col. 1 lines 44-54).
Regarding Claim 24, Bertin teaches a method of preparing a food item (method of preparing a food item Col. 1 lines 43-44),
comprising the steps of: partially cooking at least one protein element to reduce its fluid content from a raw state, wherein partially cooking includes cooking to a temperature that is less than a desired fully cooked temperature (second food element, meat Col. 3 lines 27-38; at least one of the food items may be par-cooked Col. 3 lines 43-50). Though Bertin merely teaches par-cooking, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that par-cooking (partial cooking) would be a process in which the food item is merely partially cooked, therefore cooked to a temperature less than that of a fully cooked food item. Further, the process of cooking inherently reduces fluid content through evaporation as heat is applied.
placing the at least one partially-cooked protein element (second food element, meat Col. 3 lines 27-38; at least one food item can be cooked Col. 3 lines 48-49)
and at least one uncooked dough element (first food element, crepe dough or raw puff pastry Col. 3 lines 12-14)
into a package without sealing the at least one frozen uncooked dough element to any other element in the package (placing first food element then second food element in a package base Col. 1 lines 45-47 fig. 4-6). There is no mention of sealing the elements together so it can be assumed that can be removed from each other.
sealing the package without sealing the at least one frozen uncooked dough element to any other element in the package (vacuum sealing package Col. 1 line 49). There is no mention of sealing the elements together so it can be assumed that can be removed from each other.
forming a food item by placing the sealed package into a temperature-controlled water bath to further cook the cooked protein element to a fully cooked state and to cook the at least one uncooked dough element to a desired fully cooked state in the sealed package via sous vide methods without sealing the at least one cooked bread element to any other element in the package (forming food item by cooking the first and second elements in the sealed package Col. 1 lines 48-51, the food item is sous vide cooked Col. 2 lines 64-65). There is no mention of sealing the elements together so it can be assumed that can be removed from each other.
Bertin does not teach a frozen dough element.
Geisler, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a bread element which is frozen prior to assembly and packaging (sandwich is made with frozen bread and promptly wrapped Col. 1 lines 44-54).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the uncooked dough element of Bertin with the frozen aspect of Geisler. One would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid the liquid content of the filling being absorbed by the dough element (Geisler Col. 1 lines 44-54).
Claims 9, 20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertin in view of Pfeiffer (US 2003/0044510 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Bertin teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Bertin does not teach the partially-cooked protein element is placed between two dough elements without sealing either of the two uncooked dough elements to any other element in the package.
Pfeiffer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches placing a protein element between two dough elements (patty is disposed between two bread roll halves Par. 0016). Further, there is no mention of sealing the elements together so it can be assumed that can be removed from each other.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the invention of Bertin with the dough placement of Pfeiffer. One would have been motivated to make this modification to create a complete ready meal (Pfeiffer Par. 0016).
Regarding Claim 20, Bertin teaches a method of preparing a food item (method of preparing a food item Col. 1 lines 43-44),
Partially cooking ground meat to reduce its fluid content from a raw state, wherein partially cooking includes cooking to a temperature that is less than a desired fully cooked temperature (second food element, hamburger and sausage Col. 3 lines 27-38; at least one of the food items may be par-cooked Col. 3 lines 43-50). Though Bertin merely teaches par-cooking, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that par-cooking (partial cooking) would be a process in which the food item is merely partially cooked, therefore cooked to a temperature less than that of a fully cooked food item. Further, the process of cooking inherently reduces fluid content through evaporation as heat is applied.
comprising the steps: placing the ground meat (second food element, hamburger and sausage Col. 3 lines 27-38)
and uncooked dough (first food element, crepe dough or raw puff pastry Col. 3 lines 12-14)
in a package without sealing the uncooked dough to anything in the package (placing first food element then second food element in a package base Col. 1 lines 45-47 fig. 4-6). There is no mention of sealing the elements together so it can be assumed that can be removed from each other.
vacuum sealing the package without sealing the uncooked dough to anything in the package (vacuum sealing package Col. 1 line 49). There is no mention of sealing the elements together so it can be assumed that can be removed from each other.
forming a food item by placing the vacuum sealed package into a temperature-controlled water bath to further cook the partially-cooked ground meat to a desired fully cooked state in the sealed package without sealing the uncooked dough to anything in the package (forming food item by cooking the first and second elements in the sealed package Col. 1 lines 48-51; the food item is sous vide cooked Col. 2 lines 64-65). There is no mention of sealing the elements together so it can be assumed that can be removed from each other.
Bertin does not teach two portions of bun.
Pfeiffer teaches two portions of bun (two bread roll halves Par. 0016).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the invention of Bertin with the buns of Pfeiffer. One would have been motivated to make this modification to create a complete ready meal (Pfeiffer Par. 0016).
Regarding Claim 22, Bertin further teaches placing uncooked or cooked bacon in the package prior to sealing the package (can be a combination of listed elements, bacon Col. 3 lines 27-34).
Regarding Claim 23, Bertin further teaches placing at least one of cheese, cooked onions, one or more sauces, and one or more condiments in the package prior to sealing the package (chili, onions, cheese Col. 3 lines 27-34; at least one food element can be cooked Col. 3 lines 48-50).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertin in view of Pfeiffer, further in view of Black (US 2008/0248168 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Bertin teaches the limitations of claim 20 above. Bertin further teaches fully cooking the ground meat in the package (cooking first and second elements in the package Col. 1 lines 48-51), but does not teach browning at least one of the two uncooked portions of the bun.
Pfeiffer does not teach browning at least one of the uncooked portions of the bun.
Black, in the same field of endeavor, teaches browning the dough during cooking (enhancing browning reactions during cooking Par. 0010).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the invention of modified Bertin with the browning of Black. One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a product which may be cooked without thawing that is acceptable to consumers (Black Par. 0010, Abstract).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 (in particular Claim 1), 20-23 (in particular Claim 20), and 24-25 (in particular Claim 24) are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-19 (in particular claim 1), 20-24 (in particular Claim 20), and claims 25-26 (in particular Claim 25) of copending Application No. 17/813,416 in view of Bertin.
Regarding claim 1 of the present application, claim 1 of the copending application teaches a method of preparing a food item
comprising the steps of: placing at least one protein element and at least one dough element into a package without sealing the at least one dough element to any other element in the package
sealing the package without sealing the at least one dough element to any other element in the package
forming a food item by cooking the protein element and the dough element in the sealed package without sealing the at least one cooked bread element to any other element in the package (dough element is in the package with the protein element so it can be assumed it is also cooked with the protein element).
It does not teach partially cooking at least one protein element to reduce its fluid content from a raw state, wherein partially cooking includes cooking to a temperature that is less than a desired fully cooked temperature, the dough element is uncooked, or placing the sealed package into a temperature-controlled water bath to cook via sous vide.
Bertin teaches partially cooking at least one protein element to reduce its fluid content from a raw state, wherein partially cooking includes cooking to a temperature that is less than a desired fully cooked temperature (second food element, meat Col. 3 lines 27-38; at least one of the food items may be par-cooked Col. 3 lines 43-50). Though Bertin merely teaches par-cooking, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that par-cooking (partial cooking) would be a process in which the food item is merely partially cooked, therefore cooked to a temperature less than that of a fully cooked food item. Further, the process of cooking inherently reduces fluid content through evaporation as heat is applied.
and an uncooked dough element (first food element, crepe dough or raw puff pastry Col. 3 lines 12-14)
and placing the sealed package into a temperature-controlled water bath to cook via sous vide (the food item is sous vide cooked Col. 2 lines 64-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of the copending application with the cooked protein and uncooked dough of Bertin. One would have been motivated to make this modification to prevent the juices of the protein element to be included in the final product (Bertin Col. 3 lines 43-49) and providing a product which does not require culinary skill of the user and offers consistent results (Col. 5 lines 38-46).
Regarding claim 20 of the present application, claim 20 of the copending application teaches a method of preparing a food item
comprising the steps: placing ground meat and two portions of bun in a package without sealing the two portions of the bun to anything in the package
vacuum sealing the package without sealing the two portions of the bun to anything in the package
forming a food item by further cooking the ground meat in the sealed package without sealing the two portions of the bun to anything in the package.
It does not teach partially cooking ground meat to reduce its fluid content from a raw state, wherein partially cooking includes cooking to a temperature that is less than a desired fully cooked temperature, the two portions of bun are uncooked, or placing the sealed package into a temperature-controlled water bath to cook via sous vide.
Bertin teaches partially cooking ground meat to reduce its fluid content from a raw state, wherein partially cooking includes cooking to a temperature that is less than a desired fully cooked temperature (second food element, hamburger and sausage Col. 3 lines 27-38; at least one of the food items may be par-cooked Col. 3 lines 43-50). Though Bertin merely teaches par-cooking, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that par-cooking (partial cooking) would be a process in which the food item is merely partially cooked, therefore cooked to a temperature less than that of a fully cooked food item. Further, the process of cooking inherently reduces fluid content through evaporation as heat is applied.
an uncooked dough element (first food element, crepe dough or raw puff pastry Col. 3 lines 12-14)
and placing the sealed package into a temperature-controlled water bath to cook via sous vide (the food item is sous vide cooked Col. 2 lines 64-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of the copending application with the cooked ground meat and uncooked dough of Bertin. One would have been motivated to make this modification to prevent the juices of the protein element to be included in the final product (Bertin Col. 3 lines 43-49) and providing a product which does not require culinary skill of the user and offers consistent results (Col. 5 lines 38-46).
Regarding claim 24 of the present application, claim 25 of the copending application teaches a method of preparing a food item
comprising the steps of: placing at least one protein element and at least one frozen uncooked dough element into a package
sealing the package
forming a food item by cooking the protein element and by cooking the at least one frozen uncooked dough element in the sealed package
It does not teach partially cooking at least one protein element to reduce its fluid content from a raw state, wherein partially cooking includes cooking to a temperature that is less than a desired fully cooked temperature, the placing, sealing, and forming are done without sealing the at least one frozen uncooked dough element to any other element in the package, or placing the sealed package into a temperature-controlled water bath to cook via sous vide.
Bertin teaches partially cooking ground meat to reduce its fluid content from a raw state, wherein partially cooking includes cooking to a temperature that is less than a desired fully cooked temperature (second food element, hamburger and sausage Col. 3 lines 27-38; at least one of the food items may be par-cooked Col. 3 lines 43-50). Though Bertin merely teaches par-cooking, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that par-cooking (partial cooking) would be a process in which the food item is merely partially cooked, therefore cooked to a temperature less than that of a fully cooked food item. Further, the process of cooking inherently reduces fluid content through evaporation as heat is applied.
the placing, sealing, and forming are done without sealing the at least one frozen uncooked dough element to any other element in the package. There is no mention of sealing the elements together so it can be assumed that can be removed from each other.
and placing the sealed package into a temperature-controlled water bath to cook via sous vide (the food item is sous vide cooked Col. 2 lines 64-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of the copending application with the cooked ground meat and uncooked dough of Bertin. One would have been motivated to make this modification to prevent the juices of the protein element to be included in the final product (Bertin Col. 3 lines 43-49) and providing a product which does not require culinary skill of the user and offers consistent results (Col. 5 lines 38-46).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that because Bertin’s invention teaches a food element which envelops another food element which is the opposite of the defined meaning of without sealing according to the present discloser. Firstly, the cited section of applicant’s specification which is meant to define “not sealing” does not explicitly define this phrase using defining terminology but merely recites it as an embodiment. Without a formalized definition disclosed, the examiner has included the interpretation of this phrase in the claim interpretation section above (as well as the previous action). As the drawings show the elements coming in contact/placed atop one another with each other within a singular packaging, "sealing" is interpreted to mean attached in a manner that cannot be easily removed. With this interpretation in mind, Bertin’s invention describes a product in which the outer element is not necessarily sealed to the inner element. For example, even if the dough element is enrobing the protein element, there is nothing in Bertin to suggest any attachment other than contact of the elements, which one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize could be easily removed by pulling apart. Bertin teaches a food element which substantially envelops another food element (Abstract). This leaves room for a portion of the inner element to be exposed, but even if it is not, it is the examiners assertion that the elements of Bertin could be easily removed from each other by pulling off the exterior element.
Applicant argues that modifying Bertin with Geisler and Pfieffer would render the invention unsuitable for its intended purpose. The invention of Bertin discloses a method of forming a food item which would reasonably have the intended purpose of providing an edible food product. The combination of Bertin with Geisler/Pfieffer appears to still result in an edible product, making an operable combination under the intended purpose of Bertin.
Further, As Bertin discloses a product in which the first food element substantially envelops the second food elements (Abstract), it is the examiners assertion that the dough element of the combination of Bertin with Geisler or Pfeiffer could substantially envelop the protein element. The cooked/frozen dough element resulting from the combination of Bertin and Geisler could substantially envelop the protein element if cooked/frozen to a shape in which the majority of the protein is concealed such as a cup or tube. The two uncooked dough elements resulting from the combination of Bertin and Pfieffer could also substantially envelop the protein element once vacuum sealed, such as a sausage patty with two uncooked biscuits on either side.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cones, Sr. (US 5,101,716) discloses a method of producing prepackaged meat sandwiches.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792