DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 65 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the last line of claim 65, the term “patient” should be changed to --patient’s--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 74 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, Applicant), regards as the invention. The structural cooperation between the rotating disc as recited in the second line of dependent claim 74 and the patient support is generally unclear, thereby rendering claim 74 indefinite.
Double Patenting
Claims 65-67, 71, 72, 79 and 80 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-12 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,343,184. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 65-67, 71, 72, 79 and 80 are generic to all that is recited in claims 1- 3, 6, 7, 9-12 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,343,184. In other words, claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-12 and 16
of U.S. Patent No. 12,343,184 fully encompass the subject matter of claims 65-67, 71, 72, 79 and 80 and therefore anticipate claims 65-67, 71, 72, 79 and 80. Since claims 65-67, 71, 72, 79 and 80 are anticipated by claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-12 and 16 of the patent, they are not patentably distinct from claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-12 and 16. Thus the invention of claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-12 and 16 of the patent is in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of claims 65-67, 71, 72, 79 and 80. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 65-67, 71, 72, 79 and 80 are anticipated (fully encompassed) by claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-12 and 16 of the patent, claims 65-67, 71, 72, 79 and 80 not patentably distinct from claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-12 and 16, regardless of any additional subject matter present in claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-12 and 16.
Claims 68-70, 73, 75-78 and 81 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-12 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,343,184 in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0183641 to Harper et al. Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-12 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,343,184 do not specifically disclose conditions wherein the patient support is configurable between a first configuration to support a patient in a substantially seated position to a second configuration to support a patient in a substantially standing position; wherein the seat is horizontal and configured to contact a patient's buttocks; wherein the seat is inclined downward and is configured to contact a patient's thighs; wherein the shin rest is horizontally translatable; wherein the patient support is vertically and/or horizontally translatable; wherein the patient support is tiltable; wherein the
patient support is configured to support a patient in an upright position and with a patient torso tilted at an angle with respect to a vertical axis; wherein the patient torso is tiled at an angle of approximately 0 to 20°; and further comprising a head rest. Harper et al. ‘641 provides the basic teaching of a patient support comprising all of the structural limitations as recited in independent claim 65 as well as in dependent claims 68-70, 73, 75-78 and 81, since U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0268327 to Feain et al. is incorporated by reference as stated on page 23, in paragraph 0169 of Harper et al. ‘641; please also refer to paragraph 4 of the previous Office action dated May 28, 2026 for the detailed rejection of claims 68-70, 73, 75-78 and 81 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-12 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,343,184 in view of Feain et al. ‘327. The skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the patient support disclosed in claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-12 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,343,184 with the various patient support configurations and head rest taught in Harper et al. ‘641 with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have achieved the desirable results of facilitating treatment and positioning of patients of different sizes relative to a radiation source and "to comfortably receive patients of varying size" secured to the patient support as taught by Harper et al. '641 (see Feain et al. ‘327, Figures 13, 15A, 15B & 24A; page 6, paragraphs 0171 & 0176; page 8, paragraph 0187 and page 10, paragraph 0196).
Claim 82 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-12 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,343,184 in view of U.S.
Patent Application Publication 2013/0219621 to Eder et al. Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-12 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,343,184 do not specifically disclose the use of a fluid control cassette. Eder et al. '621 provides the basic teaching of a patient support (31) for use with a magnetic resonance apparatus (10), and a fluid control cassette (32, 45) disposed underneath the patient support
(see Figures 1-3; page 2, paragraphs 0024 & 0025; page 3, paragraphs 0029 & 0030 and page 4, paragraph 0039). The skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the patient support disclosed in claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-12 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,343,184 with the fluid control cassette taught in Eder et al. '621 with a reasonable expectation of success because this would have achieved the desirable results of protecting the patient support (and an associated medical imaging apparatus) from damage and "[facilitating] simple cleaning" of the patient support as taught by Eder et al. '621 (page 1, paragraphs 0006 & 0009 and page 2, paragraph 0020).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 65-73, 75-81 and 84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Harper et al. ‘641. With respect to claims 65-67, Harper et al. ‘641 provides the basic teaching of a patient support comprising a seat (2003-2005), a back rest (2010), a shin rest (2001), and a heel stop (2002), wherein the heel stop is configured to contact one or both of a patient’s heel(s), wherein the patient support is configured to support a patient in an upright position, and wherein the patient support is configured to support a patient in a standing, a sitting, a kneeling or a perched position (as shown in Figures 20A-20C and as described on page 23, in paragraph 0169).
With respect to claims 68-73, 75-81 and 84, Harper et al. ‘641 further discloses all of the structural limitations as recited in these claims, since U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0268327 to Feain et al. is incorporated by reference as stated on page 23, in paragraph 0169 of Harper et al. ‘641; please also refer to paragraph 8 of the previous Office action dated May 28, 2026 for the detailed rejection of claims 68-73, 75-81 and 84 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 as being anticipated by Feain et al. ‘327.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 74, 86 and 87, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harper et al. ‘641. Harper et al. ‘641 does not specifically disclose conditions wherein the heel stop (2002) is slidably mounted with respect to a rotating disc and is lockable in position; wherein the heel stop is mounted to a platform comprising a plurality of holes provided at several horizontal offsets relative to the back rest (2010), such that a horizontal distance between the back rest and the heel stop is adjusted by mounting the heel stop (2002) to a different hole; and wherein the heel top is horizontally translatable. However, Harper et al. ‘641 also discloses that the heel stop (2002) “[comprises] interface structures (e.g., pegs, tabs, hooks) that are structured to interface with and attach the [heel stop] to the patient support” and “[is] also movable and/or translatable” (as described on page 23, in paragraph 0169). Accordingly, the examiner respectfully asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the patient support of Harper et al. ‘641 with a heel stop which is slidably mounted with respect to a rotating disc and is lockable in position; which is mounted to a platform comprising a plurality of holes provided at several horizontal offsets relative to the back rest, such that a horizontal distance between the back rest and the heel stop is adjusted by mounting the heel stop to a different hole; or which is horizontally translatable, in order to impart adjustability to the heel stop which “[provides] custom configurable support for a patient placed on the patient support” also as taught by Harper et al. ‘641 (page 23, paragraph 0169).
Claim 82 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harper et al. ‘641 in view of Eder et al. ‘621. Harper et al. '641 does not specifically disclose the use of a fluid control cassette. Eder et al. '621 provides the basic teaching of a patient support (31) for use with a magnetic resonance apparatus (10), and a fluid control cassette (32, 45) disposed underneath the patient support (see Figures 1-3; page 2, paragraphs 0024 & 0025; page 3, paragraphs 0029 & 0030 and page 4, paragraph 0039). The skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the patient support disclosed in Harper et al. ‘641 with the fluid control cassette taught in Eder et al. '621 with a reasonable expectation of success because this would have achieved the desirable results of protecting the patient support (and an associated medical imaging apparatus) from damage and "[facilitating] simple cleaning" of the patient support as taught by Eder et al. '621 (page 1, paragraphs 0006 & 0009 and page 2, paragraph 0020).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments on pages 5-10 of the amendment with respect to the rejections of claims 65-82 and 84 under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 have been considered but are moot in view the new ground(s) of rejection. Moreover, with respect to Applicant’s arguments on pages 8 and 9 of the amendment with respect to independent claim 83 and newly-added dependent claim 85, the examiner respectfully agrees. Hence, the rejection of claim 83 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as indicated in the previous Office action has been respectfully withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 83 and 85 are allowed. The examiner respectfully asserts that none of the prior art, taken either singly or in combination is seen to teach or suggest the use of a patient support comprising the particular structural configuration of and cooperation between the seat, the back rest, the shin rest, the heel stop and the non-metallic axle, wherein the seat is configured to rotate around the non-metallic axle between the claimed first and second positions and the non-metallic axle is positioned so as not to interfere with an imaging or treatment beam, as explicitly recited in independent claim 83.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: U.S. Patent Application Publication Nos. 2026/0224915 and 2026/0137358 as listed in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited form are both considered to disclose the use of a patient support comprising a seat, a back rest, a shin rest and a heel stop.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT G SANTOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673