Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirsanske et al. (WO2023079169A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kirsanske discloses an intraoral scanning device configured to perform a scanning of a dental object inside an oral cavity, the device comprising: one or more electronic units (8); a cooling system (6, 7) configured to remove heat from the one or more electronic units, the cooling system comprising a heat exchanger unit (6) and a flow generating unit (7), wherein at least a part of the flow generating unit is covered by the heat exchanger unit (Fig. 8a and 8b); and an air inlet (4) and an air outlet (5), wherein the air inlet and air outlet are separated by the heat exchanger unit (note Fig. 2), wherein the flow generating unit is configured to move air into the air inlet, through the heat exchanger unit, and out through the air outlet while moving the air in a direction mainly perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the intraoral scanning device (note the air moving directions close to the fan 7 as shown in Fig. 10a).
Regarding claim 2, Kirsanske discloses the one or more electronic units comprise: a projector unit that is configured to project light onto the dental object in the oral cavity; an image sensor that is configured to capture reflected light from the dental object in the oral cavity; and one or more processors that are configured to process a plurality of data acquired by the intraoral scanning device during the scanning of the dental object in the oral cavity (note page 2, 1st par.).
Regarding claim 3, Kirsanske discloses the one or more processors comprise a field- programmable gate array (FPGA) and/or an advanced RISC machine (ARM) (note page 2, 1st par.); wherein the projector unit comprises at least one light source that is configured to generate light of a single wavelength and/or light that is a combination of wavelengths (note the page 2, 1st par.).
Regarding claim 5, Kirsanske discloses a battery unit (2), wherein the flow generating unit (7) comprises a fan unit (7) and the fan unit is permanently mounted in vicinity to a rear end of the battery unit (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Kirsanske discloses a battery unit that is configured to power the flow generating unit via at least one electrical connection or at least one inductive connection (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Kirsanske discloses a battery unit, and wherein the flow generating unit is permanent mounted to the battery unit or the flow generating unit is detachable mounted to the battery unit via a magnetic force or a snap couple (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Kirsanske discloses the flow generating unit is configured to slide through the heat exchanger unit until at least a part of the flow generating unit is covered by the heat exchanger unit (see Fig. 7 and Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 10, Kirsanske discloses a battery unit, wherein the battery unit and the flow generating unit are permanent or detachable mounted to a first housing of the intraoral scanning device, and the battery unit and the flow generating unit are maintained in the first housing when detaching the first housing from a second housing of the intraoral scanning device, and wherein the second housing includes the one or more electronic components. That is, when broadly interpreted, Fig. 2 meets the claimed invention because the battery 2 and fan unit 7 are separable from the electronic unit 8.
Regarding claim 21, Kirsanske discloses that the flow generating unit is configured to move the air through the intraoral scanning device substantially only in the direction mainly perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the intraoral scanning device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirsanske et al. (WO2023/079169A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kirsanske does not discloses that a battery unit, wherein the battery unit or the flow generating unit includes an extractor, and wherein the battery unit and the flow generating unit are arranged within the first housing of the intraoral scanning device, and the extractor is configured to pull out the battery unit and the flow generating unit upon a user pulling the extractor as claimed. Instead, Kirsanske shows the fan unit 7 and battery 2 are connected in series while the battery 2 can be removed from the housing 4 by pulling the battery 2 outward. It is understood that the fan unit 7 might require repair or maintenance during its service time period; however, removing the fan unit 7 from the housing 4 can be a daunting task since it is buried deep inside the housing 4. To overcome such difficulty, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an extractor into Kirsanske so that the fan unit 7 and battery 2 could be removed readily. Such extractor could be the well known nylon cloth ribbon that normally included in battery holders or compartments so by pulling the ribbon, the batteries in the holder or compartment can be removed quickly. Therefore, the Official Notice is taken.
Claim(s) 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirsanske et al. (WO2023/079169A1) in view of Chen (CN208106798U).
Regarding claim 12, Kirsanske does not disclose that the battery unit comprises a Universal Serial Bus (USB) port as claimed. Chen, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches a battery with a USB port (note 32 in Fig. 1). By using the USB port on a battery 2, the battery can be charged conveniently since a USB port is a world recognition standard. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Chen into Kirsanske so that the battery 2 could be charged by a USB charger.
Regarding claim 13, in addition of rejection to claim 12, it would have been obvious to arrange the USB port in an end-facet of the battery in vicinity to a rear end of the battery unit based on the longitudinal placement of the battery 2 as shown in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 14, Kirsanske does not disclose the flow generating unit includes a USB plug configured to be connected to the USB port of the battery unit, and wherein at least one electrical connection between the flow generating unit and the battery unit is obtained by the connection between the USB plug and the USB port. Chen discloses a USB plug 22 on a cooling fan unit side (1). By providing the USB plug, the battery 3 can be connected to the fan unit 1 readily and quickly. Thus, in addition to rejection to claim 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the USB plug of Chen into the fan unit 2 of Kirsanske so that the battery 2 and the fan unit 7 could be connected readily and quickly.
Regarding claim 15, Kirsanske does not disclose that the USB port is arranged in a front-facet of a front end of the battery unit, and wherein the front end is arranged opposite to the rear end of the battery unit as claimed. Chen, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches a battery with a USB port (note 32 in Fig. 1). By using the USB port on a battery 2, the battery can be charged conveniently since a USB port is a world recognition standard. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Chen into Kirsanske so that the battery 2 could be charged by a USB charger.
Regarding claim 16, Kirsanske does not disclose that at least one of the one or more electronic units comprises a USB plug configured to be connected to the USB port comprised in the battery unit, and wherein at least one electrical connection between the battery unit and the one or more electronic units is obtained by the connection between the USB plug and the USB port as claimed. For the similar motivation as set forth for claim 14, it would have been obvious to include the USB plug of Chen into the electronic means 8 of Kirsanske so that the battery 2 and the electronic means 8 could be connected directly without the fan unit 7 (note the air moving directions close to the fan 7 as shown in Fig. 10a).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 8/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s argument that in contrast the instant invention, in the Kirsanske device, air moves through the inlet 4 and out the outlet passage 5 in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis 9 of the scanning device, the examiner disagrees. According to Fig. 10a of Kirsanske, the air close to the fan 7 is moving in a direction mainly perpendicular to the longitudinal axis 9 of the intraoral device.
Therefore, when interpreted broadly, Kirsanske still meets that the flow generating unit (fan 7) is configured to move air into the air inlet (4), through the heat exchanger unit (6), and out through the air outlet (5) while moving the air in a direction (see above inserted big arrow) mainly perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (9) of the intraoral scanning device.
In view of above arguments, it is clear that applicant fails to overcome Kirsanske. As a result, the prior art rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bhatia (6,111,748) discloses a flat fan (Fig. 2).
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422