CTNF 19/249,780 CTNF 87510 DETAILED ACTION Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the geometry and the attribute are included in a bitstram” has a typo error . Appropriate correction is required. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over (claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. US 12361598 B2, claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. US 12380605 B2, claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12602835 B2) in view of Ray et al. (US 20220114763 A1). Ray discloses a bitstream including information for an origin related to a laser beam for the point cloud data ([0102] The third syntax element of the point cloud data is indicative of a coordinate of an origin used in processing of angular coding mode; [0103] generate geom_angular_origin_xyz[k] (e.g., third syntax element in above example)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of (US 12361598 B2, US 12380605 B2, US 12602835 B2) and Ray, to include information for an origin related to a laser beam for the point cloud data, in order to effectively code the point cloud data. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over G-PCC codec description v8 (hereafter G-PCC) in view of Ray et al. (US 20220114763 A1) . Regarding claim 1. G-PCC discloses A point cloud data encoding method (1 abstract, point cloud coding technology), comprising: encoding a geometry of point cloud data (1 abstract, the point cloud compression G-PCC (Geometry based Point Cloud Compression); 2 overview, paragraph 1, the G-PCC encoder and decoder; 2 overview, paragraph 2, In both the encoder and decoder, point cloud positions are coded first; 3.2 Octree geometry encoding/decoding; 3.3.2 Entropy encoding of vertices, The geometry bitstream becomes a compound bitstream comprising octree, segment indicator, and vertex position bitstreams); and encoding an attribute of the point cloud data (2 overview, paragraph 2, In both the encoder and decoder, point cloud positions are coded first. Attribute coding depends on the decoded geometry), wherein the point is represented based on a x axis, a y axis, and a z axis (3.13 Attribute coding with coordinate conversion, document page 113, the conversion to X'Y'Z' coordinate system), wherein a coordinate of the point cloud data is converted based on an angular coordinate including a radial distance and angles (3.13 Attribute coding with coordinate conversion, paragraph 3, use coordinate system with uniform sampling distance where the coordinate conversion is conducted to the position of the input point cloud data; 3.13 Attribute coding with coordinate conversion, document page 113, In the conversion to X'Y'Z' coordinate system, it is used the followings PNG media_image1.png 26 312 media_image1.png Greyscale where PNG media_image2.png 22 69 media_image2.png Greyscale are scaling factors (r, θ, and φ are the radial distance and angles)), wherein the geometry and the attribute are included in a bitstram (3.2 Octree geometry encoding/decoding, paragraph 2, encode all the information put into the bitstream), information for a scale factor related to the angular coordinate for the attribute (3.13 Attribute coding with coordinate conversion, document page 113, PNG media_image3.png 34 107 media_image3.png Greyscale are scaling factors) and information for an origin related to a laser beam for the point cloud data (3.2.5.1 Corrected angles per laser beam, document pages 33-34, (x_Lidar, y_Lidar, z_Lidar) indicates a lidar absolute head position). Ray discloses a bitstream including information for a scale factor related to the angular coordinate for the attribute ([0127] attr_coord_conv_scale[k] specifies the scale factor of the converted coordinate axis in units of 2.sup.−8; [0163] a syntax element indicative of a scaling factor value for spherical coordinate conversion) and information for an origin related to a laser beam for the point cloud data ([0102] The third syntax element of the point cloud data is indicative of a coordinate of an origin used in processing of angular coding mode; [0103] generate geom_angular_origin_xyz[k] (e.g., third syntax element in above example)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of G-PCC and Ray, to include information for a scale factor related to the angular coordinate for the attribute and information for an origin related to a laser beam for the point cloud data, in order to effectively code the point cloud data. Regarding claim 2. G-PCC discloses The point cloud data encoding method of claim 1, wherein the angles include at least one of an azimuthal angle or an elevation angle (3.13 Attribute coding with coordinate conversion, paragraph 1, the points can be represented in the cylindrical coordinate system with radial, azimuthal, and elevation angular directional sampling with the limited elevation angle range; 3.13 Attribute coding with coordinate conversion, document page 113, In the conversion to X'Y'Z' coordinate system, it is used the followings PNG media_image4.png 41 501 media_image4.png Greyscale where PNG media_image3.png 34 107 media_image3.png Greyscale are scaling factors), wherein the azimuthal angle or the elevation angle is adjusted based on an index (3.2.5.1 Corrected angles per laser beam, document pages 33-34, the correction does depend on a particular laser L). Regarding claim 3. G-PCC discloses The point cloud data encoding method of claim 2, wherein the bitstream includes information about a geometry coding coordinate system, an attribute coding coordinate system, and an output coordinate system (2 overview, paragraph 2, In both the encoder and decoder, point cloud positions are coded first. Attribute coding depends on the decoded geometry; 3.2 Octree geometry encoding/decoding, paragraph 3, reading from the bitstream the dimensions of the bounding box B; 3.3.2 Entropy encoding of vertices, The geometry bitstream becomes a compound bitstream comprising octree, segment indicator, and vertex position bitstreams; 3.1.1 Coordinate transform and inverse; 3.13 attribute coding with coordinate conversion). Regarding claim 4. G-PCC discloses The point cloud data encoding method of claim 3, wherein the information about the output coordinate system includes information about a coordinate system including at least one of an index-adjusted coordinate value or a scaled coordinate value (3.2.5.1 Corrected angles per laser beam, document pages 33-34, the correction does depend on a particular laser L; 3.13 Attribute coding with coordinate conversion, document page 113, In the conversion to X'Y'Z' coordinate system, it is used the followings PNG media_image4.png 41 501 media_image4.png Greyscale where PNG media_image3.png 34 107 media_image3.png Greyscale are scaling factors). Regarding claim 5, the same analysis has been stated in claim 1. Regarding claim 6, the same analysis has been stated in claim 2. Regarding claim 7, the same analysis has been stated in claim 3. Regarding claim 8, the same analysis has been stated in claim 4. Regarding claim 9, the same analysis has been stated in claim 1. Furthermore, G-PCC discloses transmitting data for the point cloud data including the bitstream (document page 69, last paragraph, transmit and receive the bitstream as a whole). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to XIAOLAN XU whose telephone number is (571)270-7580. The examiner can normally be reached Mon. to Fri. 9am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, SATH V. PERUNGAVOOR can be reached at (571) 272-7455. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /XIAOLAN XU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/249,780 Page 2 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/249,780 Page 3 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/249,780 Page 4 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/249,780 Page 5 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/249,780 Page 6 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/249,780 Page 7 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/249,780 Page 8 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/249,780 Page 9 Art Unit: 2488