DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06-26-2025 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duffy et al. (2021/0392992).
Regarding claim 1, Duffy discloses a golf shoe, comprising: an upper; and a sole assembly connected to the upper (figs 1-18), the sole assembly comprising
a midsole (member 28 and 32) and an outsole (member 25) comprising a forefoot region, a midfoot region, and a rearfoot region, wherein the outsole comprises a first traction zone located in the forefoot region or the midfoot region of the outsole and a second traction zone located in the midfoot region or the rearfoot region of the outsole, wherein the first traction zone and the second traction zone have a wave-like configuration (figs 2, 13, and 18); and
a reinforcement structure (member 30) comprising a bottom loaded U-shaped support frame (figs 3-6 and 14-17) positioned between the midsole and the outsole.
Regarding claims 2-3, Duffy discloses the wave-like configuration is periodic or the wave-like configuration is symmetrical (fig 13 annotated above).
Regarding claims 4-5, Duffy discloses the wave-like configuration is aperiodic or the wave-like configuration is asymmetrical (fig 13 annotated above).
Regarding claim 6, Duffy discloses a portion or a section of the first traction zone or the second traction zone is configured to extend upwards and/or along a medial side or a lateral side of the outsole (figs 2, 13, and 18).
Regarding claim 7, Duffy discloses said portion or section of the first traction zone or the second traction zone has a periodic wave-like configuration (fig 13 annotated above).
Regarding claim 8, Duffy discloses said portion or section of the first traction zone or the second traction zone has a symmetrical wave-like configuration (fig 13 annotated above).
Regarding claim 9, Duffy discloses said portion or section of the first traction zone or the second traction zone has an aperiodic wave-like configuration (fig 13 annotated above).
Regarding claim 10, Duffy discloses said portion or section of the first traction zone or the second traction zone has an asymmetrical wave-like configuration (fig 13 annotated above).
Regarding claim 14, Duffy discloses the outsole comprises a plurality of flex zones (fig 13 annotated above).
Regarding claim 15, Duffy discloses the plurality of flex zones are positioned and oriented to separate or divide different regions or subregions of the first traction zone and the second traction zone to yield the wave-like configuration (fig 13 annotated above).
Regarding claim 16, Duffy discloses the plurality of flex zones are configured to extend between adjacent cleats or cleat receptacles provided on the outsole (figs 3-6 and 14-17)
Regarding claim 17, Duffy discloses a portion of the reinforcement structure is integrated with one or more traction zones of the outsole (figs 2-6 and 13-17).
Regarding claim 18, Duffy discloses a portion of the reinforcement structure is disposed directly adjacent to one or more traction zones of the outsole (figs 2-6 and 13-17).
Regarding claim 19, Duffy discloses a portion of the reinforcement structure is exposed or visible through the midsole or the outsole (figs 2-6 and 13-17).
Regarding claim 20, Duffy discloses the reinforcement structure comprises a medial support or a lateral support extending upwards and/or along a medial side or a lateral side of the midsole or the outsole (figs 2-6 and 13-17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy et al. (2021/0392992) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of James (2012/0278999).
Regarding claim 11, Duffy teaches all limitation of the claim except the first traction zone comprises a first material and the second traction zone comprises a second material that is different than the first material.
James teaches an outsole having different zone with different material (para 0006 and 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the outsole of Duffy by using the different material, as taught by James, in order to provide different resistance or resilient deformation.
Regarding claim 12, the modified shoe Duffy-James discloses the first material comprises a TPU-based material and the second material comprises a rubber-based material (Duffy, para 0063).
Regarding claim 13, the modified shoe Duffy-James discloses the first material comprises a rubber-based material and the second material comprises a TPU-based material (Duffy, para 0063).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-10 of U.S. Patent No. (12,290,142). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim essentially the same elements such as an footwear comprising an upper, a midsole, an outsole, and a U-shape wherein the U-shape is between the midsole and outsole.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is listed on the attached PTO-892.
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732