DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 05-11-2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 12,290,142 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is rejected because of the limitations “wherein the outsole comprises a medial extension extending upwards from a medial perimeter of the outsole to a medial sidewall of the midsole and a lateral extension extending upwards from a lateral perimeter of the outsole to a lateral sidewall of the midsole; and a reinforcement structure comprising a bottom loaded U-shaped support frame positioned between the midsole and the outsole, wherein the support frame comprises a medial wing that is sandwiched between the medial extension of the outsole and the medial sidewall of the midsole and a lateral wing that is sandwiched between the lateral extension of the outsole and the lateral sidewall of the midsole” lacks support in the original specification which filed 06-26-2025; therefore such lack of detailed support in the original disclosure constitutes new matter.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hanat et al. (2020/0323309).
Regarding claim 1, Hanat discloses a golf shoe (figs 1-7), comprising:
an upper (member 2); and
a sole assembly (member 3) connected to the upper, the sole assembly comprising a midsole (member 331) and an outsole (member 332) comprising a forefoot region, a midfoot region, and a rearfoot region, wherein the outsole comprises a first traction zone located in the forefoot region or the midfoot region of the outsole and a second traction zone located in the midfoot region or the rearfoot region of the outsole, wherein the first traction zone and the second traction zone have a wave-like configuration (fig 4), wherein the outsole comprises a medial extension extending upwards from a medial perimeter of the outsole to a medial sidewall of the midsole and a lateral extension extending upwards from a lateral perimeter of the outsole to a lateral sidewall of the midsole (fig 4); and
a reinforcement structure (member 4) comprising a bottom loaded U-shaped support frame positioned between the midsole and the outsole (fig 6), wherein the support frame comprises a medial wing that is sandwiched between the medial extension of the outsole and the medial sidewall of the midsole and a lateral wing that is sandwiched between the lateral extension of the outsole and the lateral sidewall of the midsole (fig 4).
Regarding claim 2, Hanat discloses the wave-like configuration is periodic (fig 5 annotated above).
Regarding claim 3, Hanat discloses the wave-like configuration is symmetrical (fig 5 annotated above).
Regarding claim 4, Hanat discloses the wave-like configuration is aperiodic (fig 5 annotated above).
Regarding claim 5, Hanat discloses the wave-like configuration is asymmetrical (fig 5 annotated above).
Regarding claim 6, Hanat discloses a portion or a section of the first traction zone or the second traction zone is configured to extend upwards and/or along a medial side or a lateral side of the outsole (fig 5 annotated above).
Regarding claim 7, Hanat discloses said portion or section of the first traction zone or the second traction zone has a periodic wave-like configuration (fig 5 annotated above).
Regarding claim 8, Hanat discloses said portion or section of the first traction zone or the second traction zone has a symmetrical wave-like configuration (fig 5 annotated above).
Regarding claim 9, Hanat discloses said portion or section of the first traction zone or the second traction zone has an aperiodic wave-like configuration (fig 5 annotated above).
Regarding claim 10, Hanat discloses said portion or section of the first traction zone or the second traction zone has an asymmetrical wave-like configuration (fig 5 annotated above).
Regarding claim 14, Hanat discloses the outsole comprises a plurality of flex zones (fig 5 annotated above).
Regarding claim 15, Hanat discloses the plurality of flex zones are positioned and oriented to separate or divide different regions or subregions of the first traction zone and the second traction zone to yield the wave-like configuration (fig 5 annotated above).
Regarding claim 16, Hanat discloses the plurality of flex zones are configured to extend between adjacent cleats or cleat receptacles provided on the outsole (fig 5 annotated above).
Regarding claim 17, Hanat discloses a portion of the reinforcement structure is integrated with one or more traction zones of the outsole (fig 4).
Regarding claim 18, Hanat discloses a portion of the reinforcement structure is disposed directly adjacent to one or more traction zones of the outsole (figs 4-5).
Regarding claim 19, Hanat discloses a portion of the reinforcement structure is exposed or visible through the midsole or the outsole (fig 4).
Regarding claim 20, Hanat discloses the reinforcement structure comprises a medial support or a lateral support extending upwards and/or along a medial side or a lateral side of the midsole or the outsole (fig 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanat et al. (2020/0323309) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of James (2012/0278999).
Regarding claim 11, Hanat teaches all limitation of the claim except the first traction zone comprises a first material and the second traction zone comprises a second material that is different than the first material.
James teaches an outsole having different zone with different material (para 0006 and 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the outsole of Hanat by using the different material, as taught by James, in order to provide different resistance or resilient deformation.
Regarding claim 12, the modified shoe Hanat-James discloses the first material comprises a TPU-based material and the second material comprises a rubber-based material (Hanat, para 0048 to 0050 and 0056).
Regarding claim 13, the modified shoe Hanat-James discloses the first material comprises a rubber-based material and the second material comprises a TPU-based material (Hanat, para 0048 to 0050 and 0056).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20, filed 05-11-2026, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732