DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, 7, 8, and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“thermos-chromic” in claim 3, line 1 should be amended to recite --thermo-chromic--
“fit the front teeth” in claim 4, line 2 should be amended to recite --fit front teeth--
“a user’s” in claim 4, line 3 should be amended to recite --the user’s--
“the range” in claim 7, lines 2 and 3 should be amended to recite --a range--
“the sidewall” in claim 8, line 3 should be amended to recite --one of the sidewalls--
“a user’s” in claim 8, line 3 should be amended to recite --the user’s--
“configure” in claim 8, line 5 should be amended to recite --configured--
“at temperature” in claim 8, line 6 should be amended to recite --a temperature--
“; and the insert layer is formed of a foam material” in claim 10, line 2 should be deleted, as this is already claimed in claim 1
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The claim limitation “a temperature visualization means” in claim 9, lines 1-2 is interpreted under 112(f) as thermo-chromic material, as described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites the limitations “the thickness” in lines 2, and 3. There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites the limitation “exceeds at temperature within a range of 100-102 degrees F” in line 6. The term “exceeds” indicates that the temperature needs to surpass some value, but the term “within” requires it also to fall within the range. For example, it is unclear whether 102 degrees F meets the claimed limitation (because it technically exceeds 101 F, which is within the range), or if it does not meet the claimed limitation (because it does not exceed the claimed range). Thus, the scope of the claim is unclear, and clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enicks et al. US 3,089,487 in view of Shah US 2019/0091060 A1 further in view of Kamradt US 2013/0247922 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Enicks discloses a mouth guard 12 configured to be fitted to teeth of a user (fig. 1 and col. 1, lines 8-12), the mouth guard 12 comprising:
an outer layer 26 that forms a lowermost layer and side walls defining a U-shape (col. 2, lines 52-56, latex material 26; fig. 4, the layers of latex 26 that are underneath reinforcement 30 and form the outside layers of the mouthguard 12 are interpreted as the “outer layer”, as this “outer layer” forms the lowermost layer and sidewalls of the U-shaped mouthguard 12);
an insert layer 30 formed of a shock absorbing material disposed on an upper surface of the outer layer 26 and extending between the sidewalls of the outer layer 26 (col. 2, lines 60-72, reinforcement 30 may be a pad of textile material, which is capable of absorbing shock; fig. 4, the insert layer 30 is disposed above outer layer 26 and extends across the bottom of the U-shaped cross-section between the sidewalls of the mouthguard 12); and
an inner layer 24/28 formed on the insert layer 30 and extending between the sidewalls of the outer layer 26 (col. 2, lines 52-56, latex layers 24/28 being interpreted as the “inner layer”, which is above insert layer 30, as seen in fig. 4, and extends across the U-shaped cross section between the sidewalls of the mouthguard 12), the inner layer 24/28 comprising a sidewall portion that extends along and adjacent the sidewalls of the outer portion 26, and an outer surface portion forming a flat surface extending in a U-shape and running parallel to a surface of the insert layer 30 that is in contact with an inner surface of the inner layer 30 (please see annotated fig. A below, where the upstanding portions of the inner layer 24/28 are interpreted as the sidewall portions that extend along the sidewalls of the outer layer 26; further, the horizontal/flat portion of the inner layer 24/28 is interpreted as the outer surface portion that forms the flat surface for receipt of the occlusal surface of the teeth; the lower surface of the outer surface portion that abuts the insert layer 30 is interpreted as the inner surface of inner layer 24/28; thus, this horizontal/flat portion of the inner layer 24/28 (i.e., the outer surface portion) is horizontal and runs parallel to the surface of the insert layer 30 in contact with the inner surface of the inner layer 24/28, shown in annotated fig. A);
wherein the insert layer 30 is formed of a material softer than the outer layer 26 and the inner layer 24/28 to absorb forces exerted on the outer layer 26 and the inner layer 24/28 (as described previously, insert layer 30 is a pad of textile material, while layers 26 and 24/28 are solid latex, allowing insert layer 30 to absorb shock).
Enicks is silent on the shock absorbing material being foam.
However, Shah teaches an oral device 10 (fig. 1 and [0002]) comprising an analogous pressure-receiving pad 12 that is foam (fig. 1 and [0084], pad 12 can be styrene foam and be fiber-filled to facilitate an even distribution of pressure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Enicks’ fibrous shock absorbing material to be (fiber-filled) foam, as taught by Shah, as foam is a material well-known for its shock absorbing and protective properties, and a fiber-filled foam would comprise the positive properties of both the fibers and the foam.
Enicks in view of Shah is silent on the outer layer being formed of a material harder than the insert layer and the inner layer.
However, Kamradt teaches an analogous shock absorbing mouth guard (fig. 1 and [0001]) comprising an outer layer 1 that is formed of a material harder than an analogous inner layer 2 (fig. 1 and [0016], outer layer 1 is made of a hard resilient material and inner layer 2 is soft and rubber-like, similar to Enicks’ latex inner layer); therefore, the combination of Enicks, Shah, and Kamradt teaches the outer layer (Kamradt’s outer layer, which is harder than rubber/latex) being harder than the insert layer (Enicks in view of Shah’s fibrous foam)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the outer layer of Enicks in view of Shah to be formed of a material harder than the insert layer and the inner layer, as taught by Kamradt, to better protect the teeth from impact by providing a hard shield.
Regarding claim 5, Enicks in view of Shah further in view of Kamradt discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Enicks further discloses the inner layer 24/28 being thicker in a bit direction than the outer layer 26 (fig. 4, the inner layer 24/28 is shown having many more plies than the outer layer 26, making it thicker).
Regarding claim 10, Enicks in view of Shah further in view of Kamradt discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Enicks in view of Shah further in view of Kamradt further teach in combination the outer layer and the inner layer being formed of an elastomeric polymer (Enicks’ inner layer 24/28 is latex, see col. 2, lines 52-56; the outer layer 1 as modified by Kamradt is urethane, see claims 2 and 3); and the insert layer is formed of a foam material (the insert layer 12 as modified by Shah is foam, see [0084]), to provide a combination of materials that can absorb force and protect the teeth from impact.
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enicks et al. US 3,089,487 in view of Shah US 2019/0091060 A1 further in view of Kamradt US 2013/0247922 A1 and Morgan et al. US 2006/0237020 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Enicks in view of Shah further in view of Kamradt discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Enicks in view of Shah further in view of Kamradt is silent on the outer layer comprising a thermo-chromic material configured to change color in response to the outer layer reaching a temperature in excess of 100 degrees F.
However, Morgan teaches a mouth guard 10 (fig. 1 and [0034]) comprising a layer comprising a thermo-chromic material configured to change color in response to the layer reaching a temperature in excess of 100 degrees F ([0079], the thermoplastic material of the mouth guard can include thermochromic elements that cause the mouth guard to display a first color under 100 degrees Fahrenheit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the outer layer of Ericks in view of Shah further in view of Kamradt to comprise a thermo-chromic material configured to change color in response to the outer layer reaching a temperature in excess of 100 degrees F, as taught by Morgan, to be indicative of the wearer’s body temperature, which may reflect the physical health of the wearer.
Regarding claim 9, Enicks in view of Shah further in view of Kamradt discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Enicks in view of Shah further in view of Kamradt is silent on a temperature visualization means for indicating a temperature change of the mouth guard.
However, Morgan teaches a mouth guard 10 (fig. 1 and [0034]) comprising a temperature visualization means for indicating a temperature change of the mouth guard ([0079], the thermoplastic material of the mouth guard can include thermochromic elements that cause the mouth guard to display a first color under specific temperature thresholds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the provided the mouth guard of Ericks in view of Shah further in view of Kamradt with a temperature visualization means for indicating a temperature change of the mouth guard, as taught by Morgan, to be indicative of the wearer’s body temperature, which may reflect the physical health of the wearer.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enicks et al. US 3,089,487 in view of Shah US 2019/0091060 A1 further in view of Kamradt US 2013/0247922 A1 and Manzo US 2011/0005531 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Enicks in view of Shah further in view of Kamradt discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Enicks in view of Shah further in view of Kamradt is silent on the insert layer being thicker than the inner layer and the outer layer in the bit direction.
However, Manzo teaches an mouth guard 10 (fig. 1 and [0002]) comprising an analogous insert layer 14 that is thicker than the inner layer and the outer layer in the bit direction (fig. 11 and [0029], impact absorbing members 14; as can be seen in the figure, members 14 are thicker in the biting direction than the layer forming the upper channel 30 and the layer forming the lower channel 32; the upper and lower layers are analogous inner and outer layers, since they sandwich the impact members 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the insert layer of Enicks in view of Shah further in view of Kamradt to be thicker than the inner layer and the outer layer in the bit direction, as taught by Manzo, to provide ample shock absorption and prevent the teeth from grinding together.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enicks et al. US 3,089,487 in view of Shah US 2019/0091060 A1 further in view of Kamradt US 2013/0247922 A1, Manzo US 2011/0005531 A1, Lesniak US 2008/0295850 A1, and McLaughlin US 6,274,122 B1.
Regarding claim 7, Enicks in view of Shah further in view of Kamradt and Manzo discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Manzo further teaches the thickness of the insert layer 14 being within the range of 3.5-4.4 mm ([0034], impact absorbing members 14 are about 3-10 mm in thickness), to provide ample shock absorption and prevent the teeth from grinding together.
Enicks in view of Shah further in view of Kamradt and Manzo is silent on the thickness of the outer layer being within the range of 1-2 mm.
However, Lesniak teaches interocclusal appliance 10 (fig. 1 and [0002]) comprising an analogous outer layer 12 with a thickness in the range of 1-2 mm (fig. 2 and [0069], base 12 has a thickness from 0.25-4 mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the outer layer of Enicks in view of Shah further in view of Kamradt and Manzo to have a thickness within the range of 1-2 mm, as taught by Lesniak, to protect the teeth without adding bulk.
Enicks in view of Shah further in view of Kamradt, Manzo, and Lesniak is silent on the thickness of the inner layer being within the range of 3.3-3.8 mm.
However, McLaughlin teaches a dental tray 10 (fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 31-33) comprising an inner layer 5,6 with a thickness within the range of 3.3-3.8 mm (fig. 1 and col. 4, lines 53-58, inner layer 5, 6 can be thicker than 3 mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the inner layer of Enicks in view of Shah further in view of Kamradt, Manzo, and Lesniak to have a thickness within the range of 3.3-3.8 mm, as taught by McLaughlin, to allow the teeth to be securely impressed and surrounded.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 8 recite allowable subject matter.
Regarding dependent claim 3, the prior art of record when applied alone or in combination neither anticipates nor renders obvious the thermo-chromic material is configured to change the color from a dark color to a transparent or semitransparent material, and the insert layer is formed of a bright color whereby the bright color is visible through the outer layer when semitransparent due to the temperature in excess of 100 degrees F. The rejection of claim 2 above provides the closest prior art combination based on the search to date. However, no other reference to date has been found in the prior art that would be able to properly modify Enicks, Shah US 2019/0091060 A1, Kamradt, and Morgan et al. US 2006/0237020 A1 to address their deficiencies. Dependent claim 4 would be allowable by virtue of its dependence on claim 3.
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding dependent claim 8, the prior art of record when applied alone or in combination neither anticipates nor renders obvious wherein the outer layer is configured to change from a dark color to a transparent color and has a thickness in the range of 1-1.5 mm along a front portion of the sidewall configured to face opposite a user's teeth, and the inner layer abuts the outer layer inside the front portion and has a bright color, and wherein the bright color and thickness of the front portion are configure to show the bright color when the temperature of the outer layer exceeds at temperature within the range of 100-102 degrees F. The rejection of claim 2 above provides the closest prior art combination based on the search to date. However, no other reference to date has been found in the prior art that would be able to properly modify Enicks, Shah US 2019/0091060 A1, Kamradt, and Morgan et al. US 2006/0237020 A1 to address their deficiencies.
Kuo et al. US 6,607,382 B1 and Castaldi US 5,031,638 are additional references that are the most relevant prior art to date for the above claimed subject matter. Kuo discloses in col. 14, lines 14-20 a dental appliance 42 that is more transparent when heated, and more visibly colored when cooled. Castaldi discloses in col. 4, lines 18-28 a rigid core that has a color, while the outer layers are transparent. However, Kuo and Castaldi do not teach in combination the thermo-chromic material configured to change the color from a dark color to a transparent or semitransparent material, and the insert layer is formed of a bright color whereby the bright color is visible through the outer layer when semitransparent due to the temperature in excess of 100 degrees F. One would not have been motivated to modify Castaldi’s outermost layer to have a color that transitions to transparency when warmed, because Castaldi states that the visible color allows officials to quickly determine if athletes are abiding by the rules governing mouthguards (col. 4, lines 24-28). An outer layer (and, even more, a dark outer layer) that requires time to transition to transparency or semitransparency would jeopardize the ability for officials to quickly make these evaluations. Further, even if a combination of Kuo and Castaldi (or Enicks, Shah, Kamradt, Kuo, and Castaldi) was made, the combined references do not specify that the outer layer specifically transitions from a dark color to semitransparency or transparency while the insert layer is formed of a bright color that is visible through the outer layer. The usage of “dark” and “bright” to describe the respective layers links the two colors in a way that requires relative darkness/brightness, which cannot be taught by any combination of these references.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements (including the Double Patenting issues detailed below) or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9, and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,900 B2 (first interpretation) in view of Enicks et al. US 3,089,487.
Regarding claim 1, the patent claims all imitations of the claim except the inner layer comprising a sidewall portion that extends along and adjacent the sidewalls of the outer portion, and an outer surface portion forming a flat surface extending in a U-shape and running parallel to a surface of the insert layer that is in contact with an inner surface of the inner layer (see claim 1).
However, Enicks teaches a mouth guard 12 configured to be fitted to teeth of a user (fig. 1 and col. 1, lines 8-12), the mouth guard 12 comprising: an inner layer 24/28 (col. 2, lines 52-56, latex layers 24/28 being interpreted as the “inner layer”, which is above insert layer 30, as seen in fig. 4, and extends across the U-shaped cross section between the sidewalls of the mouthguard 12), the inner layer 24/28 comprising a sidewall portion that extends along and adjacent the sidewalls of the outer portion 26, and an outer surface portion forming a flat surface extending in a U-shape and running parallel to a surface of the insert layer 30 that is in contact with an inner surface of the inner layer 30 (annotated fig. A, where the upstanding portions of the inner layer 24/28 are interpreted as the sidewall portions that extend along the sidewalls of the outer layer 26; further, the horizontal/flat portion of the inner layer 24/28 is interpreted as the outer surface portion that forms the flat surface for receipt of the occlusal surface of the teeth; the lower surface of the outer surface portion that abuts the insert layer 30 is interpreted as the inner surface of inner layer 24/28; thus, this horizontal/flat portion of the inner layer 24/28 (i.e., the outer surface portion) is horizontal and runs parallel to the surface of the insert layer 30 in contact with the inner surface of the inner layer 24/28, shown in annotated fig. A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the inner layer of the patent with a sidewall portion that extends along and adjacent the sidewalls of the outer portion, and an outer surface portion forming a flat surface extending in a U-shape and running parallel to a surface of the insert layer that is in contact with an inner surface of the inner layer, as taught by Enicks, so that all the layers of the mouthguard abut and are in close parallel contact with each other, such that the mouthguard is compact and comfortable.
Regarding claim 2, the patent in view of Enicks discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent claims the entirety of this claim (claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, the patent in view of Enicks discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent claims the entirety of this claim (claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, the patent in view of Enicks discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent claims the entirety of this claim (claim 5).
Regarding claim 5, the patent in view of Enicks discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent claims the entirety of this claim (claim 2).
Regarding claim 6, the patent in view of Enicks discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent claims the entirety of this claim (claim 3).
Regarding claim 7, the patent in view of Enicks discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent claims the entirety of this claim (claim 4).
Regarding claim 9, the patent in view of Enicks discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent claims the entirety of this claim (claim 1, wherein thermochromic material is a temperature visualization means for indicating a temperature change of the mouth guard).
Regarding claim 10, the patent in view of Enicks discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent claims the entirety of this claim (claim 6, where the insert layer being a foam material is already claimed in claim 1).
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,900 B2 (second interpretation) in view of Enicks et al. US 3,089,487.
Regarding claim 1, the patent claims all imitations of the claim except the inner layer comprising a sidewall portion that extends along and adjacent the sidewalls of the outer portion, and an outer surface portion forming a flat surface extending in a U-shape and running parallel to a surface of the insert layer that is in contact with an inner surface of the inner layer (see claim 7).
However, Enicks teaches a mouth guard 12 configured to be fitted to teeth of a user (fig. 1 and col. 1, lines 8-12), the mouth guard 12 comprising: an inner layer 24/28 (col. 2, lines 52-56, latex layers 24/28 being interpreted as the “inner layer”, which is above insert layer 30, as seen in fig. 4, and extends across the U-shaped cross section between the sidewalls of the mouthguard 12), the inner layer 24/28 comprising a sidewall portion that extends along and adjacent the sidewalls of the outer portion 26, and an outer surface portion forming a flat surface extending in a U-shape and running parallel to a surface of the insert layer 30 that is in contact with an inner surface of the inner layer 30 (annotated fig. A, where the upstanding portions of the inner layer 24/28 are interpreted as the sidewall portions that extend along the sidewalls of the outer layer 26; further, the horizontal/flat portion of the inner layer 24/28 is interpreted as the outer surface portion that forms the flat surface for receipt of the occlusal surface of the teeth; the lower surface of the outer surface portion that abuts the insert layer 30 is interpreted as the inner surface of inner layer 24/28; thus, this horizontal/flat portion of the inner layer 24/28 (i.e., the outer surface portion) is horizontal and runs parallel to the surface of the insert layer 30 in contact with the inner surface of the inner layer 24/28, shown in annotated fig. A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the inner layer of the patent with a sidewall portion that extends along and adjacent the sidewalls of the outer portion, and an outer surface portion forming a flat surface extending in a U-shape and running parallel to a surface of the insert layer that is in contact with an inner surface of the inner layer, as taught by Enicks, so that all the layers of the mouthguard abut and are in close parallel contact with each other, such that the mouthguard is compact and comfortable.
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,900 B2 (second interpretation) in view of Enicks et al. US 3,089,487 further in view of Morgan et al. US 2006/0237020 A1.
Regarding claim 2, the patent in view of Enicks discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent in view of Enicks is silent on the outer layer comprising a thermo-chromic material configured to change color in response to the outer layer reaching a temperature in excess of 100 degrees F.
However, Morgan teaches a mouth guard 10 (fig. 1 and [0034]) comprising a layer comprising a thermo-chromic material configured to change color in response to the layer reaching a temperature in excess of 100 degrees F ([0079], the thermoplastic material of the mouth guard can include thermochromic elements that cause the mouth guard to display a first color under 100 degrees Fahrenheit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the outer layer of the patent in view of Enicks to comprise a thermo-chromic material configured to change color in response to the outer layer reaching a temperature in excess of 100 degrees F, as taught by Morgan, to be indicative of the wearer’s body temperature, which may reflect the physical health of the wearer.
Regarding claim 8, the patent in view of Enicks further in view of Morgan discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent claims the entirety of this claim (claim 7).
Conclusion
/MICHELLE J LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786