Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an API interface united to configured to receive…; a rendering engine control united configured to control…; a rendering engine control unit configured to process…; a composed media sending unit configured to cause…” in claims 1-10.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 11-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12368763 (hereinafter ‘763). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the instant enumerated claims in following table is anticipated by a correspondingly mapped ‘763 claim.
Instant claims
‘763 claims
1. An apparatus for providing a composed media stream for publication to a plurality of presenter(s) and participants that are part of a communication session via interconnected computing devices, comprising:
an API interface unit configured to receive instructions relating to programmatic control over the rendering and publishing of a composed media stream;
a rendering engine control unit configured to control the rendering and publication of the composed media stream based on information received from the API interface unit;
a rendering engine unit configured to process one or more media streams received from the interconnected computing devices of the communication session and supplementary information and configured to generate the composed media stream; and
a composed media sending unit configured to cause the composed media stream to be published to participants of the communication session.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the rendering engine control unit provides a URL to the rendering engine unit, and wherein the rendering engine unit is configured to use the provided URL to access and run a computer program configured to generate the composed media stream.
3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the rendering engine unit is further configured to use the provided URL to obtain one or more media streams that are to be used to generate the composed media stream.
4. The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the rendering engine unit is also configured to use the provided URL to obtain supplementary information that is to be used to generate the composed media stream.
5. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the rendering engine unit further is configured to output audio and video streams for the composed media stream to a virtual audio device unit and a virtual display server unit, respectively.
6. The apparatus of claim 5 wherein the composed media sending unit reads data from the virtual audio device unit and the virtual display server unit and uses the read data to cause the composed media stream to be published to participants of the communication session.
11. An apparatus for providing a composed media stream for publication to a plurality of presenter(s) and participants that are part of a communication session via interconnected computing devices, comprising:
an API interface that includes means for receiving instructions relating to programmatic control over the rendering and publishing of a composed media stream;
means for controlling the rendering and publication of the composed media stream based on information received from the API interface unit;
means for processing one or more media streams received from the interconnected computing devices of the communication session and supplementary information and for generating the composed media stream; and
means for causing the composed media stream to be published to participants of the communication session.
12. A non-transitory computer readable medium containing instructions which, when implemented by one or more processors of a computing device cause the computing device to perform a method comprising:
receiving, via an API interface, instructions relating to programmatic control over the rendering and publishing of a composed media stream;
processing one or more media streams received from the interconnected computing devices of the communication session and supplementary information based on the information received via the API interface to generate the composed media stream; and
causing the composed media stream to be published to participants of the communication session.
13. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 12, wherein the processing step comprises using a provided URL to access and run a computer program configured to generate the composed media stream.
14. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 13, wherein the processing step further comprises using the provided URL to obtain one or more media streams that are to be used to generate the composed media stream.
15. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 14, wherein the processing step further comprises using the provided URL to obtain supplementary information that is to be used to generate the composed media stream.
16. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 12 wherein the method further comprises: outputting an audio stream for the composed media stream to a virtual audio device unit; and outputting a video stream for the composed media stream to a virtual display server unit.
17. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, wherein causing the composed media stream to be published comprises reading data from the virtual audio device unit and the virtual display server unit and using the read data to cause the composed media stream to be published to participants of the communication session.
1. An apparatus for providing a composed media stream for publication to a plurality of presenter(s) and participants that are part of a communication session via interconnected computing devices, comprising:
an API interface unit configured to receive instructions relating to programmatic control over the rendering and publishing of a composed media stream;
a rendering engine control unit configured to control the rendering and publication of the composed media stream based on information received from the API interface unit;
a rendering engine unit configured to process one or more media streams received from the interconnected computing devices of the communication session and supplementary information and configured to generate the composed media stream; and
a composed media sending unit configured to cause the composed media stream to be published to participants of the communication session;
wherein the rendering engine control unit provides a URL to the rendering engine unit, and wherein the rendering engine unit is configured to use the provided URL to access and run a computer program configured to generate the composed media stream.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the rendering engine unit is further configured to use the provided URL to obtain one or more media streams that are to be used to generate the composed media stream.
3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the rendering engine unit is also configured to use the provided URL to obtain supplementary information that is to be used to generate the composed media stream.
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the rendering engine unit further is configured to output audio and video streams for the composed media stream to a virtual audio device unit and a virtual display server unit, respectively.
5. The apparatus of claim 4 wherein the composed media sending unit reads data from the virtual audio device unit and the virtual display server unit and uses the read data to cause the composed media stream to be published to participants of the communication session.
6. An apparatus for providing a composed media stream for publication to a plurality of presenter(s) and participants that are part of a communication session via interconnected computing devices, comprising:
an API interface that includes means for receiving instructions relating to programmatic control over the rendering and publishing of a composed media stream;
means for controlling the rendering and publication of the composed media stream based on information received from the API interface unit;
means for processing one or more media streams received from the interconnected computing devices of the communication session and supplementary information and for generating the composed media stream; and
means for causing the composed media stream to be published to participants of the communication session;
wherein the means for controlling the rendering and publication of the composed media stream provides a URL to the means for processing one or more media streams, and wherein the means for processing one or more media streams is configured to use the provided URL to access and run a computer program configured to generate the composed media stream.
7. A non-transitory computer readable medium containing instructions which, when implemented by one or more processors of a computing device cause the computing device to perform a method comprising:
receiving, via an API interface, instructions relating to programmatic control over the rendering and publishing of a composed media stream;
processing one or more media streams received from the interconnected computing devices of the communication session and supplementary information based on the information received via the API interface to generate the composed media stream; and
causing the composed media stream to be published to participants of the communication session;
wherein processing one or more media streams comprises using a provided URL to access and run a computer program configured to generate the composed media stream.
8. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 7, wherein the processing step further comprises using the provided URL to obtain one or more media streams that are to be used to generate the composed media stream.
9. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein the processing step further comprises using the provided URL to obtain supplementary information that is to be used to generate the composed media stream.
10. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 7, wherein the method further comprises: outputting an audio stream for the composed media stream to a virtual audio device unit; and outputting a video stream for the composed media stream to a virtual display server unit.
11. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, wherein causing the composed media stream to be published comprises reading data from the virtual audio device unit and the virtual display server unit and using the read data to cause the composed media stream to be published to participants of the communication session.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant disclosed Kroepfl US 20180131746, in view of Applicant disclosed Gwock US 20180054596.
For claims 1 and 11, Kroepfl discloses:
An apparatus for providing a composed media stream for publication to a plurality of presenter(s) and participants that are part of a communication session via interconnected computing devices, comprising:
a rendering engine control unit configured to control the rendering and publication of the composed media stream based on information received from the API interface unit (par. 0086: “From such information 8a-d, the data rate for each of the compressed outgoing data streams 4a-d is subject to a controlling adjustment by the server unit 1 for transmitting to the respective specified first receiver units 5a-d, preferably through the software-assisted precalculation of the resource load of the respective first receiver units 5a-d on the part of the server unit 1.”);
a rendering engine unit configured to process one or more media streams received from the interconnected computing devices of the communication session and supplementary information (par. 0086: “Through data connections…each of the first receiver units 5a-d transmits information 8a-d regarding its resource load back to the server unit 1, after its calculation with the aid of the corresponding computer program in the respective first receiver unit 5a-d.”) and configured to generate the composed media stream (par. 0085: “In the server unit 1, the incoming data streams 2a-d are combined to form one mosaic image 7, which is subsequently compressed in the server unit 1 into four different outgoing data streams 4a-d with different data rates.”); and
a composed media sending unit configured to cause the composed media stream to be published to participants of the communication session (par. 0085: “In the server unit 1, the incoming data streams 2a-d are combined to form one mosaic image 7, which is subsequently compressed in the server unit 1 into four different outgoing data streams 4a-d with different data rates. The compressed outgoing data streams 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d are sent to the first receiver units 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d, respectively.”).
While Kroepfl discloses a client providing metrics regarding its capability to a video conferencing server (see, par. 0086: “[t]hrough data connections…each of the first receiver units 5a-d transmits information 8a-d regarding its resource load back to the server unit 1…”, it fails to explicitly disclose:
“an API interface unit configured to receive instructions relating to programmatic control over the rendering and publishing of a composed media stream”.
However, in a related field, Gwock discloses “a process in which the third electronic device 330 participating in the video conference notifies the video conference server 340 of a playable resolution of the third electronic device 330 and the video conference server 340 responds thereto.” (par. 0067)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before effective filing date of claimed invention to have Gwock’s teachings alongside those of Kroepfl. The motivation to combine would have been to reduce server burden by providing video stream quality in accordance with capabilities/desire of requesting client (Gwock, par. 0068 and 0070).
For claim 12, Kroepfl discloses
A non-transitory computer readable medium containing instructions which, when implemented by one or more processors of a computing device cause the computing device to perform a method comprising:
processing one or more media streams received from the interconnected computing devices of the communication session and supplementary information (par. 0086: “Through data connections…each of the first receiver units 5a-d transmits information 8a-d regarding its resource load back to the server unit 1, after its calculation with the aid of the corresponding computer program in the respective first receiver unit 5a-d.”) based on the information received via the API interface to generate the composed media stream (par. 0085: “In the server unit 1, the incoming data streams 2a-d are combined to form one mosaic image 7, which is subsequently compressed in the server unit 1 into four different outgoing data streams 4a-d with different data rates.”); and
causing the composed media stream to be published to participants of the communication session (par. 0085: “In the server unit 1, the incoming data streams 2a-d are combined to form one mosaic image 7, which is subsequently compressed in the server unit 1 into four different outgoing data streams 4a-d with different data rates. The compressed outgoing data streams 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d are sent to the first receiver units 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d, respectively.”).
While Kroepfl discloses a client providing metrics regarding its capability to a video conferencing server (see, par. 0086: “[t]hrough data connections…each of the first receiver units 5a-d transmits information 8a-d regarding its resource load back to the server unit 1…”, it fails to explicitly disclose:
“receiving, via an API interface, instructions relating to programmatic control over the rendering and publishing of a composed media stream”.
However, in a related field, Gwock discloses “a process in which the third electronic device 330 participating in the video conference notifies the video conference server 340 of a playable resolution of the third electronic device 330 and the video conference server 340 responds thereto.” (par. 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before effective filing date of claimed invention to have Gwock’s teachings alongside those of Kroepfl. The motivation to combine would have been to reduce server burden by providing video stream quality in accordance with capabilities/desire of requesting client (Gwock, par. 0068 and 0070).
Claims 5, 6, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroepfl US 20180131746, in view of Gwock US 20180054596, in view of Applicant disclosed Dudko US 20180192087.
For claims 5 and 16, Kroepfl-Gwock discloses:
The apparatus of claim 2, but fails to explicitly disclose “wherein the rendering engine unit further is configured to output audio and video streams for the composed media stream to a virtual audio device unit and a virtual display server unit, respectively.”
However, in a related field, Dudko discloses virtual client computers receiving live stream signal from split-streaming server (par. 0090).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before effective filing date of claimed invention to have Dudko’s teachings alongside those of Kroepfl-Gwock. The motivation to combine would have been to lessen burden of a serve redistributing video signal to a plurality of targets and/or devices (Dudko, par. 0114 and 0115).
For claims 6 and 17, Kroepfl-Gwock-Dudko discloses:
The apparatus of claim 5 wherein the composed media sending unit reads data from the virtual audio device unit and the virtual display server unit and uses the read data to cause the composed media stream to be published to participants of the communication session (Dudko, par. 0090: Virtual client simultaneously provides video feed to a plurality of platforms).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
/CLAYTON R WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443