DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see application, filed 09/11/2026, with respect to the 112 rejection has been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see application, filed 09/11/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 8-12, 14-15, 22-27, 29 and 31 rejected Li (US 20220232254) has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Li (US 20200021810).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-12, 14-15, 22-27, 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (herein after will be referred to as Li) (US 20200021810).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses
a method of decoding video data, the method comprising: [See Li [Fig. 4]]
receiving a block of video data to be decoded using a subblock transform mode; [See Li [0122]
determining a subblock partitioning for the block based on a size of the block, [See Li [0134, 0138] Sub-regions are based on the width or height of the CU.]
wherein the subblock partitioning is one of a plurality of subblock partitioning types, the plurality of subblock partitioning types including at least one of a corner subblock partitioning type, a center subblock partitioning type, or a cross shape subblock partitioning type; and [See Li [Fig. 13] SVT patterns including corner (1312-1342) or center (1302).]
decoding the block based on the subblock partitioning. [See Li [0122 and/or Fig. 4]
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses the method of claim 1. Furthermore, Li discloses
wherein determining the subblock partitioning further comprises: determining two or more subblocks for the block, [See Li [0130] CU is separated into different sub-regions (i.e. plural) based on the residual data.]
wherein the two or more subblocks include non-zero residuals. [See Li [0130] First sub-regions include large residues.]
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses the method of claim 1. Furthermore, Li discloses
wherein the two or more subblocks have different sizes or different shapes. [See Li [0138]
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses the method of claim 1. Furthermore, Li discloses
wherein the subblock partitioning is the center subblock partitioning type. [See Li [Fig. 13] SVT pattern including center (1302).]
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses the method of claim 10. Furthermore, Li discloses
wherein decoding the block based on the subblock partitioning comprises: applying a DCT-2 inverse transform to a center subblock partition determined from the center subblock partitioning type. [See Li [Fig. 13] SVT pattern including center (1302). Also, see 0103, DCT-II employed for transform.]
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses the method of claim 1. Furthermore, Li discloses
wherein the subblock partitioning is the corner subblock partitioning type, wherein the corner subblock partitioning type includes subblocks having sizes that are one-half a width and a height of the block, and one-quarter the width and the height of the block. [See Li [Fig. 13] SVT patterns including corner (1312-1342). Area ratio is 1/2, 1/4.]
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses the method of claim 1. Furthermore, Li discloses
wherein decoding the block based on the subblock partitioning comprises: determining a non-zero residual subblock for the block based on the subblock partitioning; applying an inverse transform to the non-zero residual subblock to reconstruct a non-zero residual; and performing a prediction process on the non-zero residual to generate a decoded block. [See Li [0017]].
Regarding claim 15, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claim 22, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 16, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20200021810) in view of Han et al. (herein after will be referred to as Han) (US Patent No. 9,807,423).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses the method of claim 1. Furthermore, Li does not explicitly disclose
wherein determining the subblock partitioning for the block based on the size of the block further comprises: determining the subblock partitioning for the block based on the size of the block and based on a smallest transform size for the subblock transform mode.
However, Han does disclose
wherein determining the subblock partitioning for the block based on the size of the block further comprises: determining the subblock partitioning for the block based on the size of the block and based on a smallest transform size for the subblock transform mode. [See Han [Col. 11 lines 12-26] Transform mode includes different transform sizes. A minimum block size is specified for transform mode….The residual block (i.e. size) is above the minimum block size.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method by Li to add the teachings of Han, in order to consider a smallest transform size when performing partitioning.
Regarding claim 16, see examiners rejection for claim 2 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 30, see examiners rejection for claim 2 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 30.
Regarding claim 32, see examiners rejection for claim 2 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 32.
Claims 13 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20200021810) in view of Zhao et al. (herein after will be referred to as Zhao) (US 20200186838).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses the method of claim 1. Furthermore, Li does not explicitly disclose
further comprising: predicting a position of a subblock of the subblock partitioning based on information associated with the block, the information including one or more of information associated with a prediction block of the block, a residue block of the block, a mode of the block, or motion information of the block.
However, Zhao does disclose
further comprising: predicting a position of a subblock of the subblock partitioning based on information associated with the block, the information including one or more of information associated with a prediction block of the block, a residue block of the block, a mode of the block, or motion information of the block. [See Zhao [0002] Adaptive sub-block transform which uses the prediction block information. Also, see 0165, prediction blocks are used to determine transform position. Also, see 0197.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method by Li to add the teachings of Zhao, in order to improve upon video compression of sub-block transform information [See Zhao [0114]].
Regarding claim 28, see examiners rejection for claim 13 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 28.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 17-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486