DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the control unit, the heat dissipation port and the filter layer must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Within the first line of claim 19, please replace “claim18” with “claim 18” (add a space between “claim” and “18”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 11, 15 and 18-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the applicant recites that “the air suction zone is provided with a plurality of suction inlets”; however, base claim 4 already recites that “the air suction zone is provided with a suction inlet”. It is unclear if these suction inlets are related. Is the suction inlet of claim 4 one of the plurality of suction inlets of claim 6? Is the applicant trying to state that the suction inlet [of claim 4] comprises a plurality of suction inlets? If so, note that “a suction inlet” could be written as “at least one suction inlet” and claim 6 could recite, “the at least one suction inlet of the air suction zone is provided with a plurality of suction inlets”.
Regarding claims 6, 11 and 15, the applicant recites either the phrase “is range” or “is ranged” when referring to a ratio. These phrases are considered indefinite because it is not clear if the ratio (of each claim) is supposed to fail with the range or if the ratio itself is varying. For the purpose of this Office Action, the phrase will be interpreted as “within a range…”.
Regarding claim 18, the applicant recites that “the air duct cavity comprises a first compartment, a second compart and a third compartment”; however, the applicant’s specification and figures do not show or express that the third compartment (1124; Fig. 6) is within the air duct (116; Fig. 7). It appears that the third compartment is within the housing but not the air duct. Additionally, the applicant recites the air suction zone is provided with “a suction inlet” in line 5 of the claim. Is this suction inlet the same or related to the “at least one suction inlet” of the working part as introduced within base claim 16?
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the air suction zone" in line 3 thereof (second occurrence in lines 4-5). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
All remaining claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being dependent from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DENG et al. (CN 113389029 A) in view of SIBEAUD et al. (US 2022/0120028 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, DENG discloses an ironing machine comprising: a housing (12, 1231, 23) having an air outlet (24); a steam generator (13) arranged in the housing; a reservoir (18) coupled to the housing, and configured for supplying aqueous media (i.e., water) to the steam generator (13); and a working part (11 and front extension of 13 which contains 131) coupled to the housing, wherein the working part comprises a heat equalization member (extension from 13 which contains outlets 131) having a thermal equalization zone (outer surface thereof away from steam generator 13) and a suction member (11; specifically 113) having an air suction zone (outer surface thereof), the heat equalization member (extension from 13 that contains 131) is coupled to the steam generator (13), the suction member (11; specifically 113) is arranged on the periphery of the heat equalization member (extension from 13 that contains 131) (Figures 1-3). However, DENG fails to disclose the steam generator and the heat equalization member together defining a steam reheat chamber. Note that the internal structure and connection of these two elements is not discussed within DENG.
SIBEAUD discloses an ironing machine comprising a steam generator (6) and a heat equalization member (34) wherein the steam generator (6) and the heat equalization member (34) together defining a steam reheat chamber (35; Fig. 4) (note that the front end of 6 extends into the protrusion 34 to heat the surface 31 and defines a boundary of the chamber 35 thus “reheating” the steam) in order to evenly distribute steam to steam outlets (33) (Figures 1-5). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the ironing machine of DENG with a steam reheat chamber defined by the steam generator and the heat equalization member together, in light of the teachings of SIBEAUD, in order to evenly distribute steam to steam outlets. For future reference, please note LAI (US 2021/0277591 A1) which discloses a steam reheat chamber (cavity of third layer 84) between a steam generator (62) and heat equalization member (46) in order to both reheat steam and to evenly distribute steam to steam ports (48) (Figures 11 and 28-29).
Regarding claim 4, DENG discloses wherein the housing (12, 1231, 23) is defined with a first compartment (front portion of 12), a second compartment (1231) and a third compartment (rear portion of 12), the steam generator (13) is disposed in the first compartment (front portion of 12); the air suction zone (outer surface of 11; specifically 113) is arranged at one side of the suction member (11; specifically 113) away from the steam generator (13), the air suction zone is provided with a suction inlet (1131) penetrated through the suction member (11; specifically 113), the air outlet (24) is in communication with the second compartment (1231); the ironing machine further comprises a pump (16) disposed in the third compartment (rear portion of 12) (Figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 5, DENG discloses wherein the housing comprises an air duct cavity (14, 211) communicated with the air suction zone, the suction inlet (1131) and the air outlet (24) are communicated through the air duct cavity (14, 211) to establish the primary airflow channel of the ironing machine (Figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 6, DENG discloses wherein the air suction zone is provided with a plurality of suction inlets (1131) (Fig. 2). However, DENG fails to disclose a specific ratio of total area of all suction inlets to total area of the air suction zone. Note that the ratio of total area of all suction inlets to total are of suction zone (including number and size of suction inlets) is a result-effective variable that influences the ability of the ironing machine to hold fabric against the ironing surface and thus properly iron the fabric. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the ratio of total area of all suction inlets to total area of the air suction zone in a range from 0.3 to 0.5 because it has been held that the determining of a specific value or a range for a result-effective variable only involves routine skill in the art (through routine experimentation) and is therefore not patentable distinguishable from the prior art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 7, DENG discloses a motor (21) and a control unit (17) connected thereto (Figures 2-3). However, DENG fails to disclose the motor being arranged in the first compartment and the control unit being arranged in the third compartment. It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the motor and control unit of DENG in the first compartment and the third compartment, respectively, since it has been held that merely rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Additionally, note the prior art as cited on the attached PTO-892 wherein it can be seen that it is common for the components of a handheld steam iron to be in different locations while still functioning similarly.
Regarding claim 8, DENG discloses wherein the housing has an opening (121), the third compartment (rear portion of 12) is provided with a heat dissipation port (seat 15; note that the seat 15 connects pipes 14, 211 and is therefore fully capable of functioning to dissipated heat or hot air), the steam generator (13) is arranged close to the opening (121), the motor (21) is arranged at one side (to the right side) of the steam generator (13) away from the opening (121) (note that the applicant has not recited how close the motor has to be to the steam generator)(Figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 9, DENG discloses wherein the working part (11 and front extension of 13 which contains 131) comprises a filter plate (114) arranged at one side of the suction member (113) towards the steam generator (13), the filter plate (114) is provided with at least one filter aperture (1141) penetrated through the filter plate (114), the filter plate (114) and the suction member (113) are arranged in a stacked configuration, the filter plate (114) and the suction member (113) are arranged on the periphery of the heat equalization member (extension from 13 that contains 131), the filter aperture (1141) is in fluid communication with the suction inlet (1131) (Figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 15, DENG discloses an ironing machine comprising a thermal equalization zone and an air suction zone as discussed above. However, besides what is shown in the drawings, DENG fails to disclose the exact area of each zone or a ratio relating the areas of the two zones. Note that a ratio relating the areas of the two zones is a result-effective variable that influences the ability of the ironing machine to hold fabric against the ironing surface and properly iron the fabric (provide enough heat, steam, etc.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the claimed ratio (relating the thermal equalization zone and the air suction zone) ranged from 0.4 to 0.7 because it has been held that the determining of a specific value or a range for a result-effective variable only involves routine skill in the art (through routine experimentation) and is therefore not patentable distinguishable from the prior art (MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 16 and 17 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by DENG et al. in view of SIBEAUD for the reasons addressed above. Additionally, note that the working part has at least one steam outlet (131) and at least one suction inlet (1131) wherein the at least one suction inlet (1131) and the air outlet (24) are in fluid communication with the air duct cavity (14, 211) to form a primary airflow channel of the ironing machine (figures 2-3).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DENG et al. (CN 113389029 A) in view of SIBEAUD et al. (US 2022/0120028 A1) and in further view of WEN (CN 216891677 U).
DENG in view of SIBEAUD teaches an ironing machine comprising a thermal equalization zone as discussed above. However, DENG in view of SIBEAUD fails to disclose the thermal equalization zone being provided with a groove wherein the steam outlet(s) is arranged in the groove. WEN discloses an ironing machine comprising a heat equalization member (11) having a thermal equalization zone (111) wherein the thermal equalization zone (111) is provided with a groove (17), a steam outlet (12) being arranged in the groove (17) (Fig. 3). WEN discloses the steam outlet (12) being provided within the groove (17) in order to store sprayed steam when performing an ironing process (Spec) (Fig. 3). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the thermal equalization zone of DEN in view of SIBEAUD with a groove wherein the steam outlet(s) is arranged in the groove, in light of the teachings of WEN, in order to store sprayed steam when performing an ironing process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11 and 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, as cited on attached PTO-892, and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. As discussed above, US 2021/0277591 discloses an ironing machine with a steam reheat chamber. CN 216304248 U discloses an ironing machine comprising a working part wherein a suction member thereof contains a filter. CN 117904854 U discloses an ironing machine comprising a working part wherein a suction member surrounds a heat equalization member.
NED
/NATHAN E DURHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732