DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment and corresponding arguments, filed 5/2/2026, have been reviewed and considered. Claims 1, 5-6, 10, 13, 15-16, and 19 have been amended and claims 4, 7-9, 12 and 18 have been canceled. Therefore, claims 1-3, 5-6, 10-11, 13-17 and 19-20 are currently pending. Regarding the amendments to the drawings and specification, please note the drawing objection below. Applicant’s amendment to independent claim 1 is considered sufficient in overcoming the prior art rejections of the previous Office Action. Applicant’s amendment to independent claim 16 is NOT persuasive in overcoming the prior art rejections of the previous Office Action. Note that the added limitations of claim 16 recite that the housing is defined with the first, second and third compartments. Within previous allowable claim 18, the applicant had recited that the air duct cavity comprised the first, second and third compartments (there was a 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection applied). Accordingly, claim 16 does not overcome the prior art rejections of the previous Office Action because all of the added limitations have been previously addressed and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by DENG et al. (CN 113389029 A) in view of SIBEAUD et al. (US 2022/0120028 A1) previously. This Office Action is a Final Rejection.
Drawings
The drawings, filed 5/2/2026, are objected to because the figures are not sufficient for reproduction. Note that the lines of the drawings appear to have been lightened as compared to the originally filed drawings, dated 6/26/2025. The MPEP states that, “All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction.” (37 C.F.R. 1.84(l)) (MPEP 608.02; note section “V” entitled “Drawing Standards”).
Additionally, note that the line, as indicated by the applicant as the “filter layer” (reference character 170), appears to just be a boundary of the filter plate (160). Regardless, if the line (170) is representative of the filter layer as indicated, please refrain from thickening the line on the drawings. Note that the thickening of the line or the addition of a non-shown “filter layer” is considered “new matter” because the applicant is providing at least a “thickness” that was not portrayed in the originally filed disclosure (objection under 35 U.S.C. 132(a)). The examiner suggests re-submitting the originally filed drawings (that have proper reproduction characteristics) and including the identification of the referenced “line” (without thickening) using reference character, “170”. Note that if the “filter layer” is not shown in the original filed disclosure/drawings, the examiner suggests deleting the “filter layer” from the claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5-6, 10, 13-14 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Within line 21 of claim 1, lines 1-2 of claim 10, line 3 of claim 13, lines 3-4 of claim 14, and line 5 of claim 19, please replace “the filter aperture” with “the at least one filter aperture” to keep the terminology consistent and thus avoid confusion.
Within line 21 of claim 1, line 2 of claim 5, line 2 of claim 10, and line 3 of claim 13, please replace “the suction inlet” with “the at least one suction inlet” to keep the terminology consistent and thus avoid confusion.
Within lines 1-2 of claim 6, please replace “at least one suction” with “at least one suction inlet”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitations "the air suction zone" and “the suction member” in lines 13-16 of the claim (two occurrences of each). There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Note that previous claim 18 (now cancelled) was dependent from claim 17 which introduced “a suction member”. If the first occurrence of “the suction member” within claim 16 is amended to recite “a suction member”, please amend “a suction member” of claim 17 to recite “the suction member” or “said suction member”.
All remaining claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being dependent from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DENG et al. (CN 113389029 A) in view of SIBEAUD et al. (US 2022/0120028 A1).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, DENG discloses an ironing machine comprising: a housing (12, 1231, 23) having an air outlet (24); a steam generator (13) arranged in the housing; a reservoir (18) coupled to the housing, and configured for supplying aqueous media (i.e., water) to the steam generator (13); and a working part (11 and front extension of 13 which contains 131) coupled to the housing, the working part having at least one steam outlet (131) and at least one suction inlet (1131); the ironing machine comprises an air duct cavity (14, 211) arrange inside the housing (12, 1231, 23), the at least one suction inlet (1131) and the air outlet (24) are in fluid communication with the air duct cavity (14, 211) to establish a primary airflow channel of the ironing machine (Figures 2-4); and wherein the working part further comprises a heat equalization member (extension from 13 which contains outlets 131) coupled to the steam generator (13) and a suction member (11; specifically, 113) arranged on the periphery of the heat equalization member (extension from 13 that contains 131) (Figures 1-3). DENG discloses wherein the housing (12, 1231, 23) is defined with a first compartment (front portion of 12), a second compartment (1231) and a third compartment (rear portion of 12), the steam generator (13) is disposed in the first compartment (front portion of 12); an air suction zone (outer surface of 11; specifically 113) is arranged at one side of the suction member (11; specifically 113) away from the steam generator (13), the at least one suction inlet (1131) is arranged on the air suction zone and penetrated through the suction member (11; specifically 113), the air outlet (24) is in communication with the second compartment (1231); the ironing machine further comprises a pump (16) disposed in the third compartment (rear portion of 12) (Figures 2-3).
However, DENG fails to disclose the steam generator and the heat equalization member together defining a steam reheat chamber. Note that the internal structure and connection of these two elements is not discussed within DENG. SIBEAUD discloses an ironing machine comprising a steam generator (6) and a heat equalization member (34) wherein the steam generator (6) and the heat equalization member (34) together defining a steam reheat chamber (35; Fig. 4) (note that the front end of 6 extends into the protrusion 34 to heat the surface 31 and defines a boundary of the chamber 35 thus “reheating” the steam) in order to evenly distribute steam to steam outlets (33) (Figures 1-5). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the ironing machine of DENG with a steam reheat chamber defined by the steam generator and the heat equalization member together, in light of the teachings of SIBEAUD, in order to evenly distribute steam to steam outlets. For future reference, please note LAI (US 2021/0277591 A1) which discloses a steam reheat chamber (cavity of third layer 84) between a steam generator (62) and heat equalization member (46) in order to both reheat steam and to evenly distribute steam to steam ports (48) (Figures 11 and 28-29).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10-11 and 13-15 are allowable. However, note that claims 1, 5-6, 10 and 13-14 have been objected to for minor informalities as discussed above. Accordingly, all of claims 1-3, 5-6, 10-11 and 13-15 will be marked as objected to because each is either objected to or dependent from a base claim that is object to.
Claims 19 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NED
/NATHAN E DURHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732