DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the bag comprising both gussets on a side wall as well as bottom gussets must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 2 "are side gussets" is repeated twice. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 8-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 10-12, 14, 15, 17 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,793,120 in view of AU 2016201970.
Claims 10 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,793,120 disclose claims 8 and 14 of the instant invention, respectively, but fail to disclose the bag being made of polyethylene terephthalate. AU 2016201970 teaches a grow bag comprising polyethylene terephthalate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success for the grow bag to comprise polyethylene terephthalate as to provide a water-impermeable bag (AU 2016201970, column 5: lines 15-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “thin” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 1 contains the limitations “a tear strip provided in an area below said sealable top end” in both lines 7 and 10. The duplicate limitation should be removed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Van Graas AU 2016201970.
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Van Graas further discloses a grow bag comprising a continuous sidewall comprising polyethylene terephthalate (Van Grass, page 5: lines 15-16) and formed into an elongated body, said body defining a fillable cavity (10) with a closed bottom and open top (Van Graas, Figure 8) adapted for heat sealing (Van Graas, page 7: lines 18-21); a score line (Van Graas, Figure 6) that is used as a tear strip to open the bag; one or more bottom gussets (22) configured to lay flat for shipping and deploy at planting; said gussets allowing the bag to be manufactured and shipped in a rectangular form that is deployable as a cylinder for use when planting; said bag configured elongated to allow sealing said top after filling with grow media (3) and allowing said bag to lay relatively flat for palletization.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Graas AU 2016201970.
Regarding claim 11, Van Graas discloses the device of claim 8 but fails to disclose the claimed dimensions of the bag. However, the claimed dimensions could be obtained by routine procedures producing predictable results. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the invention of Van Graas so that the bag comprised the claimed dimensions depending on the size and type of plant the user intended to grow.
Claim(s) 8, 9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckerman US 5,210,975 in view of Van Graas AU 2016201970..
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Beckerman further discloses a grow bag comprising a continuous sidewall comprising polymer (Beckerman, column 3: lines 14-19) and formed into an elongated body, said body defining a fillable cavity (Beckerman, abstract) with a closed bottom (32) and open top (Beckerman, column 4: lines 30-33) adapted for heat sealing (at 30); a score line (Beckerman, column 5: lines 59-61) that is used as a tear strip to open the bag; one or more side gussets (52) configured to lay flat for shipping and deploy at planting; said gussets allowing the bag to be manufactured and shipped in a rectangular form that is deployable as a cylinder for use when planting; said bag configured elongated to allow sealing said top after filling with grow media (18) and allowing said bag to lay relatively flat for palletization. Beckerman fails to disclose the grown bag comprising polyethylene terephthalate. Van Graas teaches a gusseted grow bag comprising polyethylene terephthalate Van Grass, page 5: lines 15-16. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success for the poly bag of Beckerman to comprise polyethylene terephthalate as taught by Van Graas as to provide a water-impermeable bag (Van Graas, column 5: lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 11-13, Beckerman in view of Van Graas discloses the device of claims 8 and 9, respectively, but fails to disclose the claimed dimensions of the bag. However, the claimed dimensions could be obtained by routine procedures producing predictable results. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the invention of Beckerman in view of Van Graas so that the bag comprised the claimed dimensions depending on the size and type of plant the user intended to grow.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to disclose either alone or in combination the invention of claim 1 with a tear strip comprising a thin strip of fabric plasticized across a top area of said bag and punctured with a line of perforations to form a score line.
US 4,118,890 teaches a grow bag that is inflated before shipping, teaching against the grow bags lying flat for shipping.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: DE 102020120706.
/KRISTEN C HAYES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642