DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/20/2026; 07/20/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3,11-12,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0407955) in view of Noh et al. (US 2021/0392224), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0201709).
As to Claim 1, Kim et al. discloses An electronic device, comprising: a first housing (fig.3, frame 101); a second housing configured to move with respect to the first housing (fig.3, second frame 102 moves with respect to first frame 101; para.0084, 0095, 0100, 0108-0109);
a driving device, comprising a motor and a gear, configured to slide in or slide out the second housing (fig.3, second frame 102 slides in or slides out relative to first frame 101; para.0078, 0084, 0095, 0100, 0108-0109,0139);
a flexible display (fig.3, flexible display 151; para.0068), wherein a portion of the flexible display is configured to be inserted into the first housing or drawn out from the first housing based on sliding in or sliding out movement of the second housing (fig.3, flexible display portion 1513 may be inserted into first frame 101 or drawn out of first frame 102 based on sliding movement of second frame 102; para.0107-0108),
a touchscreen configured to receive a touch input (fig.3, display 151 may include a touch screen);
at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, operably connected to the first housing, the second housing, the driving device, the flexible display and the touchscreen (fig.1, controller 180; para.0061-0061 ); and memory configured to store instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively ( fig.1, memory 170; para.0060-0062), cause the electronic device to:
displaying, through the flexible display, a first screen in a multi-window mode when the electronic device is in a slide-in state, wherein the first screen includes a first execution screen of a first application and a second execution screen of a second application (fig.14, slide in state [14-1], application execution screen 2000A-1 and application execution screen 2000A-2 are displayed; para.0189) ; and
based on receiving a first input for sliding out the second housing while the electronic device is in the slide-in state, extend the first screen into an extended screen while maintaining the multi-window mode displayed in the slide-in state (fig.14, based on user command 2070/2072, the mobile terminal is switched from contracted display mode to extended display mode [14-3], and the application execution screen 2000A-1 is extended into extended display mode, while maintaining the multi-window display mode in the contracted mode [14-1]; para.0190, 0192); and
based on receiving a second input for sliding out the second housing while the electronic device is in the slide-in state, terminate the multi-window mode displayed in the slide-in state, display a second screen in a single window mode different from the multi-window mode, and extend the second screen into the extended screen.
Kim et al. does not expressly disclose a driving device, comprising a motor and a gear; based on receiving a second input for sliding out the second housing while the electronic device is in the slide-in state, terminate the multi-window mode displayed in the slide-in state, display a second screen in a single window mode different from the multi-window mode, and extend the second screen into the extended screen.
Noh et al. discloses a driving device, comprising a motor and a gear (fig.6-7, para.0138-0141).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim et al. by providing a driving unit as disclosed by Noh et al., to cause the second frame to stably move without distortion.
Kim et al. in view of Noh et al. do not expressly disclose, but Lee et al. discloses: based on receiving a second input for sliding out the second housing while the electronic device is in the slide-in state, terminate the multi-window mode displayed in the slide-in state, display a second screen in a single window mode different from the multi-window mode, and extend the second screen into the extended screen (fig.2, 4, 7-9; para.0071-0072,0085-0087,0089-0090; in a retracted state (fig. 7) first application window 710 and second application 720 are simultaneously displayed on display surface (multi-window mode), and in the extended state (fig.8), the first application window 710 is displayed in first display region and the second application window 720 is displayed in a second display region {single window mode}).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Kim et al. in view of Noh et al. with the teachings of Lee et al., such that when in contracted display mode, based on second input (layout selection input of Lee) the first and second application window (2000A-1, 2000B) are displayed in respective display region when in an extended state (as disclosed by Lee). The motivation being to effectively provide content associated with content in response to the display changing in size based on application information and layout information.
As to Claim 3, Kim et al. in view of Noh et al., as modified by Lee et al. disclose wherein the second screen includes one of the first execution screen of the first application or the second execution screen of the second application (Kim-fig.14, second application 2000A-2; Lee-fig.8, second application).
As to Claim 11 is a method claim drawn to the apparatus of Claim 1 and is rejected for the reasons set forth above.
As to Claim 12, Kim et al. in view of Noh et al. as modified by Lee et al. do not expressly disclose wherein the second input includes a drag gesture for a first visual element representing a boundary between the first execution screen and the second execution screen. However, Kim et al. discloses where the touch input may be dragging gesture that is directed downward from the upper end of the flexible display), but is not limited thereto. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Kim et al. in view of Noh et al. as modified by Lee et al. by implementing the preset touch as a touch dragging gesture directed downward from boundary region between application window 2000A-1 and 2000A-2, since in doing so would not have modified the operation of the device, yielding predictable results, in particular, extending the display (Kim-fig.14) and displaying the application windows in respective display screen (as disclosed Lee-fig.7-8).
As to Claim 17 has limitations similar to those of Claim 11 and are met by the references as set forth above.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0407955) in view of Noh et al. (US 2021/0392224), further in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0201709), and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0017891, hereinafter Kim891).
As to Claim 2, Kim et al. in view of Noh et al., as modified by Lee et al. disclose where the second input includes an input through the touchscreen (Lee-para.0050, 0121).
Kim et al. in view of Noh et al, as modified by Lee et al. do not expressly disclose, but discloses Kim891 discloses a trigger button configured to slide in and/or slide out the second housing, wherein the first input includes an input by manipulation of the trigger button (fig. 15, para.0049, 0052, 0158, switching to the extended display mode from the contracted display mode may be performed by a user's touch input performed on the display or a user's separate hardware button manipulation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Kim et al. in view of Noh et al. as modified by Lee et al., with the teachings of Kim891, since doing do would not have modified the operation of the device, yielding predictable results.
Claim(s) 5-6, 9-10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0407955) in view of Noh et al. (US 2021/0392224), further in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0201709), and further in view of Shim et al. (US 2021/0157366).
As to Claim 5, Kim et al. in view of Noh et al. as modified by Lee et al. do not expressly disclose, wherein the second input includes a user gesture to move a visual object into a designated area on the touchscreen, and wherein the designated area includes an area around an upper edge of a portion where the touchscreen is exposed and/or visible.
Shim et al. discloses wherein the second input includes a user gesture to move a visual object into a designated area on the touchscreen (fig.19, para.0221-0222, an indicator is displayed based on position of user input). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Kim et al. in view of Noh et al. as modified by Lee et al., with the teachings of Shim et al., the motivation being to expand the display based on a user input.
Kim et al. in view of Noh et al. as modified by Lee et al. and Shim et al., do not wherein the designated area includes an area around an upper edge of a portion where the touchscreen is exposed and/or visible.
Shim et al. discloses where the user input towards the upper edge and the display is expanded in vertical direction (fig.19). In a separate embodiment Shim et al. discloses where the position of the user input may vary and an indicator is displayed based on the position of the input (fig.12; para.0192-0193). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Kim et al. in view of Noh et al. as modified by Lee et al. and Shim et al., such that the user input (1910) is moved toward the upper surface of the display. The motivation being since in doing so would not have modified the operation of the device, yielding predictable results in particular, expansion of the display in a direction of the movement of the user input.
As to Claim 6, Kim et al. in view of Noh et al. as modified by Lee et al. and Shim et al. disclose based on detecting that the user gesture is held and then released in the designated area when the electronic device is in the slide-in state (Shim-fig.4,12,19; para.0144, 0192-0193, user input may be maintained for a predetermined time), draw out the second housing to the outside of the first housing by a designated length while terminating the multi-window0193-display is expanded; Lee-fig.4,7-8- application windows 710, 720 displayed in first state {fig.7, multi-window, before expansion} are displayed in respective display region {single window, after expansion}).
As to Claim 9, Kim et al. in view of Noh et al. as modified by Lee et al. and Shim et al. disclose based on the user gesture being held, display at least one indicator indicating a drawn-out direction of thefig.4,12,18-19; para.0144,0186,0199).
As to Claim 10, et al. in view of Noh et al. as modified by Lee et al. and Shim et al. disclose wherein the at least one indicator is not displayed when the user gesture is released (para.0144-0145).
As to Claim 14 is a method claim drawn to the apparatus of Claim 5 and is rejected for the reasons as set forth above.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0407955) in view of Noh et al. (US 2021/0392224), further in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0201709), and further in view of Shim et al. (US 2021/0157366), and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0017891, hereinafter Kim891).
As to Claim 7, Kim et al. in view of Noh et al. as modified by Lee et al. and Shim et al. disclose display at least one first icon when the visual object is positioned in the designated area, and wherein the at least one first icon includes a plurality of icons each representing a screen ratio (Shim-fig.11- plurality of display size information may be displayed in the rounded bar of the indicator; para.0144, 0187-0190; fig.12,19- user input and indicator may be positioned toward the upper surface).
Kim et al. in view of Noh et al. as modified by Lee et al. and Shim et al. do not expressly disclose, but Kim891 discloses: wherein the at least one first icon includes a plurality of icons each representing a screen ratio (fig.8, para.0130-0132, 0134, layout indicators 2111, 2112,2113,2114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Kim et al. in view of Noh et al. as modified by Lee et al. and Shim et al., with the teachings of Kim891, such that a plurality of indicators (as disclosed by Kim891) are displayed corresponding to the screen ratios (of Shim). The motivation being to provide a user with visual indicator of the display layout of the two or more application execution screens.
As to Claim 8, Kim et al. in view of Noh et al. as modified by Lee et al. and Shim et al. and Kim891, disclose on the user gesture being held, determine whether the electronic device is in the slide-in state (Shim-fig.4,12,19; para.0144, display expanded in direction of user input and user input may be maintained for a predetermined time); and when the electronic device is in the slide-in state, not display the at least one first icon (Kim891-fig.8, layout indicators not displayed in contracted display mode).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 15 is allowable over the prior art since the cited references alone or in combination do not teach or suggest “detecting a user gesture including a drag gesture for a first visual element representing a boundary between the first execution screen and the second execution screen on the first screen displayed on the flexible display; and based on detecting that the user gesture is held and then released in a designated area when the electronic device is the slide-in state, drawing out the second housing to the outside of the first housing while terminating the multi-window mode” along with the other limitations in the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,11,17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejections applied as necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DISMERY MERCEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627