Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Luo et al. CN 209650540
1. Luo discloses A flying apparatus comprising:
a main body (1, 3 “defined as a machine body”) assembly;
an arm 55 extending from the main body assembly;
a rotor 56 attached to the arm;
a driver (81) to drive the rotor; and
a cooling system 83 to water-cool the driver; wherein
the cooling system includes a cooler 813 to cool a coolant (disclosed as water) supplied to the driver and a pump 833 to circulate the coolant between the cooler and the driver; and
the pump is provided at a lower portion of the main body assembly (clearly understood to be lower than the body from fig. 3 and 1).
2. Luo discloses The flying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the pump 833 is located lower than
the cooler 813 (seen in Fig. 3).
3. Luo discloses The flying apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
the cooler includes one or more radiators (seen on either side of 813 in fig. 3 – further disclosed in paragraphs detailing fig. 3); and
the pump is located lower than the one or more radiators (shown in Fig. 3).
4. Luo discloses The flying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the driver includes an engine (disclosed in the first paragraph after the figure descriptions “the power device 8 comprises an engine assembly connected with 81”); and
the cooler 83 (connected to the engine) cools a coolant supplied to the engine.
5. Luo discloses The flying apparatus according to claim 4, wherein
the cooler is located lower than the engine (Clearly shown in Fig. 1).
6. Luo discloses The flying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the cooling system includes connecting pipes (Shown in Fig. 3) including:
a first pipe to connect a delivery port of the pump and the driver (835 connecting the pump to the diverter and subsequently driver);
a second pipe to connect a suction port of the pump and the cooler (suction portion of the pump from tank 832 connected through the dissipation element 831 to 813); and
a third pipe (driver 81 connected to cooler 813) to connect the driver and the cooler; and
a lower end of the pump is located lower than the driver, the cooler and the
connecting pipes (Shown in Fig. 3 – pump being located lower than most things aside from the air cleaner 86).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. CN 209650540
7. Luo discloses The flying apparatus according to claim 3, wherein
the one or more radiators include a first radiator and a second radiator juxtaposed in a
horizontal direction (813 clearly disclosed in Fig. 3);
Luo does not specifically teach the pump is provided between the first radiator and the second radiator in the horizontal direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention and with reasonable expectation of success to rearrange the pump to be horizontally in between the radiators in order to provide a more compact design as rearrangement of the working parts involves routine skill in the art.
8. The flying apparatus according to claim 7, wherein
the cooling system includes connecting pipes including:
a first pipe to connect a delivery port of the pump and the driver (835 connecting the pump to the diverter and subsequently driver);
a second pipe to connect a suction port of the pump and the cooler (suction portion of the pump from tank 832 connected through the dissipation element 831 to 813); and
a third pipe to connect the driver and the cooler (driver 81 connected to cooler 813);
the second pipe diverges at an intermediate portion thereof into two branch pipes (out to the elements 831); and
of the branch pipes, one branch pipe is connected to the first radiator and another
branch pipe is connected to the second radiator (Clearly shown in Fig. 3 going to each radiator).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. CN 209650540 in view of Austin US 4163535
9. Luo discloses an oil tank 2 but does not teach The flying apparatus according to claim 4, further comprising: a fuel tank to store fuel to be supplied to the engine; wherein
the fuel tank includes a lower portion which has a form of a truncated cone with a
diameter decreasing downward; and
at least a portion of the cooling system overlaps the fuel tank in a planar view, and
overlaps the lower portion of the fuel tank when viewed in the up-down direction.
Austin teaches a conical fuel tank (B) where in combination the cooling system of Luo would overlap with the tank of Austin.
Austin further does not teach the cone facing downward, or the pump being under the cone.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention and with reasonable expectation of success to use the fuel tank of Austin in the invention of Luo in order to provide a fuel to power a higher powered driver and sprayer. Additionally it would have been obvious to rearrange the pump as in claim 9 in order to provide a more compact design as rearrangement of the working parts involves routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure include rotored craft with cooling means for drivers/engines.
/JUSTIN M. BENEDIK/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/JUSTIN M BENEDIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642