DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 10/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 38-45 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 26-37 are pending examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the periodic lattice pattern in claims 26-27 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26, 31, 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraki JP 2015123420 A in view of Wu CN 113714161 A.
Regarding claim 1, Shiraki discloses an induction system for removing a coating from a substrate [fig. 1, Abstract, “[t]o provide a device and method of peeling which suppress effect of smoke generated during induction heating of a metal member and can securely carry out peeling work in peeling a coating layer of a surface of the metal member”], comprising:
a power supply; at least one induction head electrically connected to the power supply [“main body 3 includes a power supply unit that supplies current to the induction coil”],
wherein:
the power supply and the at least one induction head are configured to deliver energy to the coating at an energy density level at or above an incineration threshold [i.e., smoke, “heating causes the bonded portion of the coating layer C to burn and generate smoke”] for the coating, such that at least a portion of the coating is incinerated to produce incineration products, including both solid residue on the substrate along with airborne fumes [the intended use of the system will be capable of producing incineration products, including both solid residue on the substrate along with airborne fumes],
wherein the at least one induction head includes a contacting side 12 configured to contact the coating [C]; and
a vacuum system 11 configured to extract at least a portion of the coating, including incineration products generated by delivery of the energy to the coating [“sucking part 11 which is attached to the induction heating part 10, and sucks smoke generated in induction-heating”].
Shiraki does not teach the contacting side having a textured surface configured to aid in dislodging at least a portion of the solid residue from the substrate.
Wu teaches a cleaning and removing device [fig. 1] comprising a blade 4431 having a friction plate 4434 and heating device 4433 [fig. 4]. The friction plate 4434 is a contacting side of the blade 4431 having a textured surface 4434 configured to aid in dislodging at least a portion of the solid residue from the substrate [“heat conducting resistor 4433 and the friction plate 4434, through the wiping blade 4431 when the rotating … matched with the heat-conducting resistor 4433 to heat the air, the adhesive on the small advertisement is softened, so that the cleaning effect and utilization efficiency of the device is further improved”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the textured surface of Wu with the induction system of Shiraki to yield the predictable result of removing the coating efficiently.
Regarding claim 31, Shiraki and Wu teach the invention as discussed above. Wu further teaches wherein the textured surface is configured to increase friction between the contacting side of the induction head and the solid residue, as compared to a non-textured surface [friction plate 4434].
Regarding claims 35, Shiraki and Wu teach the invention as discussed above. Shirazi further teaches wherein the coating includes at least one of epoxy, urethane, lead-based coating, fire retardant coating, organic coating, glued rubber, vulcanized rubber or chlorinated rubber [“a material such as a rubber material, an FRP material, polyethylene, a fluororesin material, or a resin coating is formed in a layer shape and adhered to the surface of the metal member”].
Claim(s) 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraki JP 2015123420 A in view of Wu CN 113714161 A and in further view of Weinberger US 2012/0028554 A.
Re claims 27-30, Shirazi and Wu teach the invention as discussed above but fail to teach wherein the textured surface includes a periodic lattice pattern; wherein the textured surface includes a random pattern; and wherein the textured surface includes micrometer-scale or millimeter-scale features.
Weinberger teaches a scrapper assembly with multiple abrasive mechanism including periodic lattice patterns [fig. 5D], random patterns [¶238, “abrasive elements may be uniformly arranged or randomly dispersed”], and millimeter-scale features [“the space between the abrasive elements may be about 0.22 inches to about 0.46 inches”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the textured features of Weinberger with the system of Shiraki in order to yield the predictable result of optimizing contact between the elements and the surface to be cleaned.
Claim(s) 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraki JP 2015123420 A in view of Wu CN 113714161 A and in further view of Morino JP 2022186272 A and Ishii JP 5950272 B2.
Regarding claims 32, Shiraki and Wu teach the invention as discussed above but fail to teach a scraper blade, wherein the scraper blade is configured to dislodge at least some of the solid residue generated by delivery of the energy to the coating; and wherein the scraper blade is integral to the vacuum system.
Morino teaches a scraper, wherein the scraper is configured to dislodge at least some of the incineration products generated by delivery of the energy to the coating [peeling process St2, “the coating layer 20 with the adhesive layer 21 destroyed can be peeled off from the surface S1 by using a scraper”]. Ishii teaches a coating film peeling apparatus 1 (fig. 1) including a scraper blade 3 (fig. 5) associated with a vacuum system [23, 24, 25].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the scraper of Morino and Ishii with the system of Shiraki in order to yield the predictable result of scraping and vacuum at the same time.
Claim(s) 34, 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraki JP 2015123420 A in view of Wu CN 113714161 A and in further view of Morino JP 2022186272 A.
Regarding claims 34. 36, Shiraki and Wu teach the invention as discussed above but fail to teach wherein the substrate includes a ferrous-based metal; wherein the coating includes at least one of lead, chromium or cadmium-based pigments.
Morino further discloses wherein the substrate includes a ferrous-based metal [“a method for removing a film such as a film formed on an iron structure”]; and wherein the coating includes at least one of lead, chromium or cadmium-based pigments [“[e]xamples of the paint that becomes the first undercoat layer….read lead, lead suboxide...”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morino with the system of Shiraki in order to yield the predictable result of removing multiple types of coatings in multiple types of substrates.
Regarding claim 37, Shiraki and Wu teach the invention as discussed above but fail to teach a laser system configured to ablate or burn off by thermal decomposition a substrate residual layer left behind on the substrate after removing the incineration products; and wherein the vacuum system is configured to perform a second vacuum extraction to extract products generated by the ablation or thermal decomposition of the residual layer of coating.
Morino further teaches a laser system 200 (fig. 3) configured to ablate or burn off by thermal decomposition the substrate residual layer [surface treatment St4]; and,
a vacuum system 250 configured to extract products generated by the ablation or thermal decomposition of the residual layer of coating [“[t]he suction device 250 is a device for sucking smoke generated in… the surface treatment step St4”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the laser and vacuum of Morino with the system of Shiraki in order to yield the predictable result of removes residues present on the surface of the substrate exposed by peeling the coating layer [“[t]he laser device 200 removes residues present on the surface S1 of the base material 10 (hereinafter referred to as the exposed surface) exposed by peeling the coating layer 20 with the adhesive layer 21 destroyed.”].
Correspondence
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Carlos A. Rivera whose telephone number is (571)270-5697. The examiner can normally be reached 9AM -4PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Brian Keller can be reached on (571) 272-8548. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
C. A. R.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/C. A. RIVERA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723