Notice to Applicant
Claims 1- 20 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 6/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1-20 are directed to providing personalized work information.
Claim 1 recites a method for providing personalized work information, Claim 8 recites an apparatus for providing personalized work information and Claim 15 recites an article of manufacture for providing personalized work information, which include identifying a work list including a first work, and at least one module necessary for performing the first work, based on first information including work system data of a first user; generating user-customized detailed information on the at least one module, based on second information including experience of the first user; and automatically creating a user-customized user interface (UI), based on the work list, the at least one module, and the user-customized detailed information.
As drafted, this is, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, within the Abstract idea grouping of “Methods of Organizing Human Activity” – managing personal behavior. The recitation of “computing device”, “memory”, “processor”, “computer program”, “user interface” and “computer readable storage medium”, provide nothing in the claim elements to preclude the step from being “Methods of Organizing Human Activity”- managing personal behavior. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims primarily recite the additional element of using computer components to perform each step. The “computing device”, “memory”, “processor”, “computer program”, “user interface” and “computer readable storage medium” is recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer component. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims also fail to recite any improvements to another technology or technical field, improvements to the functioning of the computer itself, use of a particular machine, effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, and/or an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. See 84 Fed. Reg. 55. In particular, there is a lack of improvement to a computer or technical field in task analysis.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “computing device”, “memory”, “processor”, “computer program”, “user interface” and “computer readable storage medium” is insufficient to amount to significantly more. (See MPEP 2106.05(f) – Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception – “Thus, for example, claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible.” Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 235). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
The claim fails to recite any improvements to another technology or technical field, improvements to the functioning of the computer itself, use of a particular machine, effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, adding unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application, and/or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular environment. See 84 Fed. Reg. 55. Viewed individually or as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. With regards to receiving data and step 2B, it is M2106.05(d)- Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information) and Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Examiner concludes that the additional elements in combination fail to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea based on findings that each element merely performs the same function(s) in combination as each element performs separately. The claim is not patent eligible. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually.
Dependent Claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 recite wherein the work list and the at least one module are updated in real time based on update of the first information, wherein the user-customized detailed information is updated in real time based on update of the second information; wherein the first information further includes work system data of a second user different from the first user, wherein the second information further includes experience of the second user different from the first user, wherein the work list and the at least one module are updated in real time based on update of the first information, wherein the user-customized detailed information is updated in real time based on update of the second information; determining whether the user-customized UI needs to be updated based on the first information and the second information; and upon determination that the user-customized UI needs to be updated, updating the user- customized UI; wherein the identifying of the work list and the at least one module includes: identifying the work list including the first work based on the first information; checking whether a module related to the first work is required, based on the first information; and identifying the at least one module necessary for performing the first work, based on the checking result; wherein the generating of the user-customized detailed information on the at least one module includes: analyzing the second information including the experience of the first user; identifying the user-customized detailed information on the at least one module, based on the analyzing result; and generating the identified user-customized detailed information; wherein the automatically generating of the user-customized UI includes: searching for an optimal UI; creating a design based on the searched UI; creating a first work card including the created design; providing a feedback about whether the first user is satisfied with the first work card; and creating a second work card based on the provided feedback and further narrowing the abstract idea. These recited limitations in the dependent claims do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exceptions in Claims 1, 8 and 15. Regarding Claims, 4, 7, 11, 14 and 18 and the additional elements of “user interface” it is M2106.05(d)- Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information) and M2106.05(h)- field of use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheeks, US Publication No. 20200111043A1, [hereinafter Cheeks], in view of Sharma et al., US Publication No. 20170123631A1, [hereinafter Sharma].
Regarding Claim 1,
Cheeks teaches
A method for providing personalized work information, the method being performed by a computing device, wherein the method comprises: identifying a work list including a first work, and at least one module necessary for performing the first work, based on first information including work system data of a first user (Cheeks Par. 5; Par. 15-In at least some exemplary embodiments, the exemplary disclosed system and method may recommend tools, tasks, and/or educational courses to help a user be successful in professional and/or personal fields of endeavor. For example, if a given user would like to become a successful clothes designer or build a successful social media business, the exemplary system may create a “to do” list of courses and tasks the user may perform to achieve such a desired goal.; Par. 17-18-In at least some exemplary embodiments, the exemplary disclosed system may ask specific questions (e.g., prompt users with questions) and search (e.g., look out) for specific keywords and any other suitable criteria for creating a custom plan (e.g., plan customized to user). The plan may include one or more tasks (e.g., stages, steps, and/or goals). A user (e.g., consumer) may be tracked and guided through a plurality of stages or steps of a plan with reminders. Each stage or step may be broken down into small goals, and the user or consumer may be rewarded for each stage or step completion (e.g., and/or each goal completion). Rewards may vary from system course credits, currency (e.g., U.S. Dollars, other national currency, cryptocurrency, and/or any other desired currency), system coins (e.g., Self Coins) or points, and/or any other suitable credits or rewards.);
generating user-customized detailed information on the at least one module, based on second information including experience of the first user (Cheeks Par. 18; Par. 23-24- Also for example, a user may be prompted by the exemplary disclosed system using the geo-location module to travel to a specific location (e.g., a location that may serve as a milestone location) to complete a goal (e.g., a goal that may be part of a stage or step). For example, if the user wants to become a real estate agent (e.g., or other professional or working activity), the exemplary system may guide the user to attend a class or seminar that may provide them with tailored or hands-on training to accomplish this exemplary customized plan. The exemplary system may also use the geolocation feature to track the user's location as confirmation (e.g., evidence or proof) that the user went to a given location.);
…based on the work list, the at least one module, and the user-customized detailed information. (Cheeks Par. 5-“ The personalized planning system includes a personalized planning module, comprising computer-executable code stored in non-volatile memory, a processor, and a user interface. The personalized planning module, the processor, and the user interface are configured to prompt a user to provide input data that includes biographical information and at least one user goal, use artificial intelligence to analyze the input data, and provide output data via the user interface based on using artificial intelligence to analyze the input data. The output data includes a user-specific customized plan. The user-specific customized plan includes a plurality of tasks. Completion of the plurality of tasks by a user results in completion of the at least one user goal.”; Par. 44-47)
Cheeks teaches task analysis and the feature is expounded upon by Sharma:
and automatically creating a user-customized user interface (UI), based on … the user-customized detailed information. (Sharma Par. 18-22-“ Customized guided workflow element arrangement techniques involve customizing UI elements that correspond to entry points for workflows. In the context of the described techniques, workflows are designed to provide step-by-step instructions to walk users through complicated, multiple step operations associated with creation and editing of digital content via applications. For example, when launched, a workflow may provide various textual descriptions and visual clues regarding the steps involved in completion of a corresponding task. Workflows may be presented via a pop-up window, side-bar, and annotations within a user interface for a content editing applications. Elements that correspond to entry points for workflows may be presented on one or more pages of the user interface in arrangements that are customized using the techniques discussed above and below.”)
Cheeks and Sharma are directed to task analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon data analysis of Cheeks, as taught by Sharma, by modifying the user interface with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Cheeks with the motivation of provide step-by-step instructions to walk users through complicated, multiple step operations associated with creation and editing of digital content via applications (Sharma Par. 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 9 and Claim 16 teach The method of claim 1,…, The device of claim 8,… and The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,…
wherein the work list and the at least one module are updated in real time based on update of the first information, wherein the user-customized detailed information is updated in real time based on update of the second information (Cheeks Par. 21-22; Par. 36- In at least some exemplary embodiments, the exemplary disclosed system and method may include a tracking feature (e.g., a stage, step, or goal tracking feature) that may track progress of a given user's customized plan. The tracking feature may confirm whether stages, steps, or goals of a plan have been completed, and may be validated or confirmed by system administrators (e.g., using a customizer relationship management module) and/or the exemplary geo-location feature to confirm physical location when relevant to a given stage, step, or goal. For example, stages, steps, goals, or other portions of a customized plan may be verified (e.g., by system administrators or automatically based on operation of the exemplary system) within a predetermined period of time (e.g., within 24 hours).”)
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 10 and Claim 17 teach The method of claim 1,…, The device of claim 8,… and The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,…
wherein the first information further includes work system data of a second user different from the first user, wherein the second information further includes experience of the second user different from the first user, wherein the work list and the at least one module are updated in real time based on update of the first information, wherein the user-customized detailed information is updated in real time based on update of the second information. (Cheeks Par. 15-18- In at least some exemplary embodiments, the exemplary disclosed system may operate partially or substantially entirely utilizing Artificial Intelligence and/or any other suitable technique for learning actions and/or behaviors of users (e.g., single users and/or aggregate behaviors of sets of users) and using this exemplary learning to personalize or customize activity plans and/or goal plans for users.”)
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 11 and Claim 18 teach The method of claim 3, further comprising…, The device of claim 10, wherein when the computer program is executed by the at least one processor, the computer program causes the at least one processor to:,… and The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the computer program is further configured to be executed by the computer device to cause the computer device to:,…
Cheeks teaches task analysis and the feature is expounded upon by Sharma:
determining whether the user-customized UI needs to be updated based on the first information and the second information; and upon determination that the user-customized UI needs to be updated, updating the user- customized UI. (Sharma Par. 18-22; Par. 34-“ Additionally, the image processing service 120 may produce updates 122 to rankings, workflows, and elements that are delivered for use by the element manager 116. Updates 122 can include new workflows that can be associated with preset ranks to control where the new workflows are displayed within a UI. The new workflows can be promoted by setting sufficiently high default ranks to cause elements for the new workflows to be displayed prominently. Updates 122 can also include ranking lists targeted to particular user behavior, characteristics, and/or geo-locations. For example, different default workflow rankings for users in North America and users in China may be generated and distributed based on location. Various updates and group-based rankings may be generated based on usage tracking for a user community as a whole. The different ranking lists may be based on differences in workflow usage recognized for different groups of users. Details regarding these and other aspects of customized guided workflow element arrangement techniques are discussed in relation the following example user interfaces and procedures.”)
Cheeks and Sharma are directed to task analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon data analysis of Cheeks, as taught by Sharma, by modifying the user interface with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Cheeks with the motivation of provide step-by-step instructions to walk users through complicated, multiple step operations associated with creation and editing of digital content via applications (Sharma Par. 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 12 and Claim 19 teach The method of claim 1,…, The device of claim 8,… and The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,…
wherein the identifying of the work list and the at least one module includes: identifying the work list including the first work based on the first information; checking whether a module related to the first work is required, based on the first information; and identifying the at least one module necessary for performing the first work, based on the checking result. (Cheeks Par. 36- In at least some exemplary embodiments, the exemplary disclosed system and method may include a tracking feature (e.g., a stage, step, or goal tracking feature) that may track progress of a given user's customized plan. The tracking feature may confirm whether stages, steps, or goals of a plan have been completed, and may be validated or confirmed by system administrators (e.g., using a customizer relationship management module) and/or the exemplary geo-location feature to confirm physical location when relevant to a given stage, step, or goal. For example, stages, steps, goals, or other portions of a customized plan may be verified (e.g., by system administrators or automatically based on operation of the exemplary system) within a predetermined period of time (e.g., within 24 hours).”; Par. 47-48)
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 13 and Claim 20 teach The method of claim 1,…, The device of claim 8,… and The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,…
wherein the generating of the user-customized detailed information on the at least one module includes: analyzing the second information including the experience of the first user; identifying the user-customized detailed information on the at least one module, based on the analyzing result; and generating the identified user-customized detailed information. (Cheeks Par. 30; Par. 46- Module 310 may perform analysis (e.g., including artificial intelligence analysis as described herein) using the data received from one or more user interfaces 320. For example, personal communication module 310 may utilize sophisticated machine learning and/or artificial intelligence techniques to perform predictive analysis using some or substantially all data collected by one or more user interfaces 320. For example, system 300 (e.g., module 310) may for example utilize the collected data to prepare and submit (e.g., via network 301, for example via wireless transmission such as via 4G LTE networks) datasets and variables to cloud computing clusters and/or other analytical tools (e.g., predictive analytical tools) which may analyze such data using artificial intelligence neural networks. Module 310 may for example include cloud computing clusters performing predictive analysis. For example, personal communication module 310 may utilize neural network-based artificial intelligence.”; Par. 47-48)
Regarding Claim 7 and Claim 14 teach The method of claim 1, …, The device of claim 8, …
Cheeks teaches task analysis and the feature is expounded upon by Sharma:
wherein the automatically generating of the user-customized UI includes: searching for an optimal UI; creating a design based on the searched UT; creating a first work card including the created design; providing a feedback about whether the first user is satisfied with the first work card; and creating a second work card based on the provided feedback. (Sharma Par. 16-18-“ Ranks or priorities are set and adjusted over time for the workflows based at least upon relative usage of corresponding features as determined through the tracking. For example, default ranks set for available workflows may be updated based upon tracking data that indicates features and operations that particular users have interacted with and the frequency of use of those features and operations. Tracking data is collected on a per-user basis and may be associated with a user account to enable user-specific customizations of the workflow selection screen and roaming of the customizations across different devices. The ranks set based on the tracking data establish an order for different workflows one to another such that workflows including frequently used features and operations attain higher ranks and priorities over time relative to infrequently used items. Various UI elements associated with guided workflows (e.g., icons, tabs, interactive cards, tiles, and/other UI instrumentalities that may be configured as workflow entry points) are customized and arranged according to the workflow ranking. For example, a user interface that implements the workflow selection screen may be exposed having various UI elements that are configured as entry points to different guided workflows and arranged in accordance with the rankings. By way of example and not limitation, customizations may include arrangements of different tabs corresponding to different feature categories provided within a tabbed user interface as well as arrangement of elements (e.g., cards, tiles, icons) corresponding to different individual application features exposed via the different tabs. In this manner, the arrangement of elements is automatically customized based on the relative usage of features.; Par. 50”)
Cheeks and Sharma are directed to task analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon data analysis of Cheeks, as taught by Sharma, by modifying the user interface with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Cheeks with the motivation of provide step-by-step instructions to walk users through complicated, multiple step operations associated with creation and editing of digital content via applications (Sharma Par. 2).
Regarding Claim 8,
Cheeks teaches
A device for providing personalized work information, the device comprising: at least one processor; and a memory storing therein a computer program executed by the at least one processor, wherein when the computer program is executed by the at least one processor, the computer program causes the at least one processor to: identify a work list including a first work, and at least one module necessary for performing the first work, based on first information including work system data of a first user (Cheeks Par. 5; Par. 15-In at least some exemplary embodiments, the exemplary disclosed system and method may recommend tools, tasks, and/or educational courses to help a user be successful in professional and/or personal fields of endeavor. For example, if a given user would like to become a successful clothes designer or build a successful social media business, the exemplary system may create a “to do” list of courses and tasks the user may perform to achieve such a desired goal.; Par. 17-18-In at least some exemplary embodiments, the exemplary disclosed system may ask specific questions (e.g., prompt users with questions) and search (e.g., look out) for specific keywords and any other suitable criteria for creating a custom plan (e.g., plan customized to user). The plan may include one or more tasks (e.g., stages, steps, and/or goals). A user (e.g., consumer) may be tracked and guided through a plurality of stages or steps of a plan with reminders. Each stage or step may be broken down into small goals, and the user or consumer may be rewarded for each stage or step completion (e.g., and/or each goal completion). Rewards may vary from system course credits, currency (e.g., U.S. Dollars, other national currency, cryptocurrency, and/or any other desired currency), system coins (e.g., Self Coins) or points, and/or any other suitable credits or rewards.);
generate user-customized detailed information on the at least one module, based on second information including experience of the first user (Cheeks Par. 18; Par. 23-24- Also for example, a user may be prompted by the exemplary disclosed system using the geo-location module to travel to a specific location (e.g., a location that may serve as a milestone location) to complete a goal (e.g., a goal that may be part of a stage or step). For example, if the user wants to become a real estate agent (e.g., or other professional or working activity), the exemplary system may guide the user to attend a class or seminar that may provide them with tailored or hands-on training to accomplish this exemplary customized plan. The exemplary system may also use the geolocation feature to track the user's location as confirmation (e.g., evidence or proof) that the user went to a given location.);
…based on the work list, the at least one module, and the user-customized detailed information. (Cheeks Par. 5-“ The personalized planning system includes a personalized planning module, comprising computer-executable code stored in non-volatile memory, a processor, and a user interface. The personalized planning module, the processor, and the user interface are configured to prompt a user to provide input data that includes biographical information and at least one user goal, use artificial intelligence to analyze the input data, and provide output data via the user interface based on using artificial intelligence to analyze the input data. The output data includes a user-specific customized plan. The user-specific customized plan includes a plurality of tasks. Completion of the plurality of tasks by a user results in completion of the at least one user goal.”; Par. 44-47)
Cheeks teaches task analysis and the feature is expounded upon by Sharma:
and automatically create a user-customized user interface (UT), based on… the user-customized detailed information. (Sharma Par. 18-22-“ Customized guided workflow element arrangement techniques involve customizing UI elements that correspond to entry points for workflows. In the context of the described techniques, workflows are designed to provide step-by-step instructions to walk users through complicated, multiple step operations associated with creation and editing of digital content via applications. For example, when launched, a workflow may provide various textual descriptions and visual clues regarding the steps involved in completion of a corresponding task. Workflows may be presented via a pop-up window, side-bar, and annotations within a user interface for a content editing applications. Elements that correspond to entry points for workflows may be presented on one or more pages of the user interface in arrangements that are customized using the techniques discussed above and below.”)
Cheeks and Sharma are directed to task analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon data analysis of Cheeks, as taught by Sharma, by modifying the user interface with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Cheeks with the motivation of provide step-by-step instructions to walk users through complicated, multiple step operations associated with creation and editing of digital content via applications (Sharma Par. 2).
Regarding Claim 15,
Cheeks teaches
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer program, which is configured to be executed by a computing device to cause the computer device to: identify a work list including a first work, and at least one module necessary for performing the first work, based on first information including work system data of a first user (Cheeks Par. 5; Par. 62; Par. 15-In at least some exemplary embodiments, the exemplary disclosed system and method may recommend tools, tasks, and/or educational courses to help a user be successful in professional and/or personal fields of endeavor. For example, if a given user would like to become a successful clothes designer or build a successful social media business, the exemplary system may create a “to do” list of courses and tasks the user may perform to achieve such a desired goal.; Par. 17-18-In at least some exemplary embodiments, the exemplary disclosed system may ask specific questions (e.g., prompt users with questions) and search (e.g., look out) for specific keywords and any other suitable criteria for creating a custom plan (e.g., plan customized to user). The plan may include one or more tasks (e.g., stages, steps, and/or goals). A user (e.g., consumer) may be tracked and guided through a plurality of stages or steps of a plan with reminders. Each stage or step may be broken down into small goals, and the user or consumer may be rewarded for each stage or step completion (e.g., and/or each goal completion). Rewards may vary from system course credits, currency (e.g., U.S. Dollars, other national currency, cryptocurrency, and/or any other desired currency), system coins (e.g., Self Coins) or points, and/or any other suitable credits or rewards.);
generate user-customized detailed information on the at least one module, based on second information including experience of the first user (Cheeks Par. 18; Par. 23-24- Also for example, a user may be prompted by the exemplary disclosed system using the geo-location module to travel to a specific location (e.g., a location that may serve as a milestone location) to complete a goal (e.g., a goal that may be part of a stage or step). For example, if the user wants to become a real estate agent (e.g., or other professional or working activity), the exemplary system may guide the user to attend a class or seminar that may provide them with tailored or hands-on training to accomplish this exemplary customized plan. The exemplary system may also use the geolocation feature to track the user's location as confirmation (e.g., evidence or proof) that the user went to a given location.);
…based on the work list, the at least one module, and the user-customized detailed information. (Cheeks Par. 5-“ The personalized planning system includes a personalized planning module, comprising computer-executable code stored in non-volatile memory, a processor, and a user interface. The personalized planning module, the processor, and the user interface are configured to prompt a user to provide input data that includes biographical information and at least one user goal, use artificial intelligence to analyze the input data, and provide output data via the user interface based on using artificial intelligence to analyze the input data. The output data includes a user-specific customized plan. The user-specific customized plan includes a plurality of tasks. Completion of the plurality of tasks by a user results in completion of the at least one user goal.”; Par. 44-47)
Cheeks teaches task analysis and the feature is expounded upon by Sharma:
and automatically create a user-customized user interface (UI), based on … the user-customized detailed information. (Sharma Par. 18-22-“ Customized guided workflow element arrangement techniques involve customizing UI elements that correspond to entry points for workflows. In the context of the described techniques, workflows are designed to provide step-by-step instructions to walk users through complicated, multiple step operations associated with creation and editing of digital content via applications. For example, when launched, a workflow may provide various textual descriptions and visual clues regarding the steps involved in completion of a corresponding task. Workflows may be presented via a pop-up window, side-bar, and annotations within a user interface for a content editing applications. Elements that correspond to entry points for workflows may be presented on one or more pages of the user interface in arrangements that are customized using the techniques discussed above and below.”)
Cheeks and Sharma are directed to task analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon data analysis of Cheeks, as taught by Sharma, by modifying the user interface with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Cheeks with the motivation of provide step-by-step instructions to walk users through complicated, multiple step operations associated with creation and editing of digital content via applications (Sharma Par. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US Publication No. 20150012467A1 to Greystoke et al.- Abstract-“ Decision systems and processes implementing digital personas are presented. A digital persona is a digital representation of an entity in accordance with a specific set of rules, preferences, or priorities with respect to a defined situation or opportunity. A digital persona may interact with a universe, which can be a set of conditions and information that an artificial intelligence engine implementing the digital personas can perceive. The digital personas can learn, via the artificial intelligence engine, from actions of a user, events in the universe, other personas, or a multitude of other factors. In some examples discussed, the artificial intelligence engine may include a persona artificial intelligence engine and an evolutionary artificial intelligence engine.”
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Chesiree Walton, whose telephone number is (571) 272-5219. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday to Friday between 8 AM and 5 PM. If any attempt to reach the examiner by telephone is unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Patricia Munson, can be reached at (571) 270-5396. The fax telephone numbers for this group are either (571) 273-8300 or (703) 872-9326 (for official communications including After Final communications labeled “Box AF”).
Another resource that is available to applicants is the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR). Information regarding the status of an application can be obtained from the (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, please feel free to contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
Applicants are invited to contact the Office to schedule an in-person interview to discuss and resolve the issues set forth in this Office Action. Although an interview is not required, the Office believes that an interview can be of use to resolve any issues related to a patent application in an efficient and prompt manner.
Sincerely,
/CHESIREE A WALTON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3624