Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species 3 (Figures 6-9 and 13) in the reply filed on 6/15/2026 is acknowledged. In the reply, Applicant indicated claims 1-7 read on the elected species. However, upon further consideration of the claims, it appears that independent claim 4 (and claims 5-7 that depend therefrom) are directed to a non-elected species. Claim 4 defines “the flap portion can be worn independently of the tubular body portion” which is shown in Figure 5 (non-elected species 2) as described in paragraph [0036]. Therefore, claims 4-8 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, line 12, it appears “the first hook and loop fastener” should be “the first hook/loop fastener”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the limitation “a cushion portion interposed between the flap hook/loop fastener” since it is unclear how the cushion portion can be interposed between one element. For examination purposes, Examiner interprets the limitation as “a cushion portion interposed between the flap hook/loop fastener and the second hook/loop fastener”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fletcher (US 5,332,135).
Regarding claim 1, Fletcher discloses a removable protective watch cover (See Figs. 1-2) comprising: a tubular body portion (at 18 in Fig. 1) having a window (between the first slit and second slit labeled in Fig. 1 below) capable of viewing a face of an associated watch when positioned on a body of a user; and a flap portion (at 10 in Fig. 1) selectively securable to the tubular body portion in closed position covering the window (as shown in Fig. 2); wherein the flap portion includes cushioning material (material of element 10 in Fig. 1 inherently provides some degree of cushioning to an object placed thereunder) configured to overlay at least the window of the tubular body portion when the flap portion is in the closed position (as shown in Fig. 2); a strip of material (strip of material between 30 and 22 in Fig. 1) having a first portion having the window and first and second cooperating hook/loop fasteners (at 24 and 20B in Fig. 1 – See Fig. 1 labeled below) on opposite sides of the window such that the first portion can be transformed from a substantially planar structure to the tubular body portion by engaging the first and second cooperating hook/loop fasteners (as shown in Fig. 2); and a flap hook/loop fastener (at 12/14) at an end of the strip opposite the first hook and loop fastener and a cushion portion (material inherently provides some degree of cushioning to an object placed thereunder) interposed between the flap hook/loop fastener and the second hook/loop fastener such that the flap hook/loop fastener can be engaged with the second hook/loop fastener with the cushion portion positioned over the window.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fletcher (US 5,332,135) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Krass et al. (US 2016/0250782). As described above, Fletcher discloses the claimed invention except for the specifics of the cushioning material. However, Krass teaches an article (See Fig. 2) comprising a first layer (102A) and a second layer (102B) sandwiching a core layer (104), wherein the layers are formed from fabric material, for the purpose of providing controlled flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cushioning portion of Fletcher to be sandwiched by first and second layers as taught by Krass in order to have the desired strength and flexibility. Furthermore, Krass teaches it is well known in the art that silicone material has a high tear strength, water resistant and weather resistant ([0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cushioning portion of Fletcher to be formed with a silicone material as taught by Krass in order to have desired strength and water/weather resistance. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Fletcher teaches it is well known in the art for a cover material to be formed from a mesh fabric (nylon) material for the purpose of having stretch, cushion and strength protective properties (column 6, lines 49-66). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the layers of the cushioning portion of Fletcher-Krass to be formed with a mesh fabric material as taught by Fletcher in order to have desired stretch, cushion and strength. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/STEVEN A. REYNOLDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735