DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 26 June 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Status of Application
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 14, and 15 are independent.
This NON-FINAL action is in response to communications received 28 July 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 – “a portion of the vehicle's kinetic energy into electric energy during a braking event” should be corrected to a portion of the vehicle's kinetic energy into electric energy during the braking event” to avoid antecedent issues.
Claim 3 – “transfer from the wheels to the regenerative braking system during a braking event” should be corrected to “transfer from the wheels to the regenerative braking system during the braking event” to avoid antecedent issues.
Claim 7 – “convert at least a portion of the vehicle's kinetic energy into electric energy during a braking event” should be corrected to convert at least a portion of the vehicle's kinetic energy into electric energy during the braking event” to avoid antecedent issues.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 14 is directed to a computer program product (software per se). Therefore, Claim 14 is NOT within at least one of the four statutory categories and does not warrant further analysis.
Office Note: In order to overcome this rejection, the Office suggests further defining the limitations of the independent claims, for example linking the claimed subject matter to a non-generic device (structural limitation) in order to fall within a statutory category. Limitations such as these suggested above would further bring the claimed subject matter out of the realm of abstract idea and into the realm of a statutory category.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nefcy et al. (US 20180141557 A1), hereinafter Nefcy (1).
Regarding claim 1, Nefcy (1) discloses:
A computer system comprising processing circuitry configured to issue control data for controlling a transmission of a vehicle during a braking event, the transmission being adapted to individually engage each one of a plurality of gears, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to ([0003], According to embodiments of the present disclosure, systems and methods for controlling a transmission downshift during a regenerative braking event to increase regenerative braking efficiency and fuel economy are disclosed. In particular, the timing of the first regenerative braking downshift is adjusted based on the upcoming or predicted brake torque rate and/or brake pedal input rate.):
identify an upcoming braking event during which braking of the vehicle is performed ([0003], In particular, the timing of the first regenerative braking downshift is adjusted based on the upcoming or predicted brake torque rate and/or brake pedal input rate.);
obtain driving characteristic data comprising data indicative of a current or predicted driving condition of the vehicle ([0005], The vehicle includes a controller configured to, in response to actuation of a brake pedal, command the transmission to downshift during a regenerative braking event based on a regenerative braking downshift torque determined from a predicted brake torque rate. The predicted brake torque rate may be based on a predicted deceleration rate of the vehicle over a future time interval that begins upon actuation of the brake pedal. The predicted brake torque rate may also be based on a vehicle speed prediction and a road grade prediction within a future time interval that begins upon actuation of the brake pedal; [0025], The controller communicates with various engine/vehicle sensors and actuators via an input/output (I/O) interface that may be implemented as a single integrated interface that provides various raw data or signal conditioning, processing, and/or conversion, short-circuit protection, and the like. Alternatively, one or more dedicated hardware or firmware chips may be used to condition and process particular signals before being supplied to the CPU. As generally illustrated in the representative embodiment of FIG. 1, controller 50 may communicate signals to and/or from engine 14, disconnect clutch 26, M/G 18, launch clutch 34, transmission gearbox 24, and power electronics 56. Although not explicitly illustrated, those of ordinary skill in the art will recognize various functions or components that may be controlled by controller 50 within each of the subsystems identified above. Representative examples of parameters, systems, and/or components that may be directly or indirectly actuated using control logic executed by the controller include fuel injection timing, rate, and duration, throttle valve position, spark plug ignition timing (for spark-ignition engines), intake/exhaust valve timing and duration, front-end accessory drive (FEAD) components such as an alternator, air conditioning compressor, battery charging, regenerative braking, M/G operation, clutch pressures for disconnect clutch 26, launch clutch 34, and transmission gearbox 24, and the like. Sensors communicating input through the I/O interface may be used to indicate turbocharger boost pressure, crankshaft position (PIP), engine rotational speed (RPM), wheel speeds (WS1, WS2), vehicle speed (VSS), coolant temperature (ECT), intake manifold pressure (MAP), accelerator pedal position (APPS), ignition switch position (IGN), throttle valve position (TP), air temperature (TMP), exhaust gas oxygen (EGO) or other exhaust gas component concentration or presence, intake air flow (MAF), transmission gear, ratio, or mode, transmission oil temperature (TOT), transmission turbine speed (TS), torque converter bypass clutch 34 status (TCC), deceleration or shift mode (MDE), for example);
input the driving characteristic data to a braking characteristic model to determine braking characteristic data indicative of predicted braking characteristics during the upcoming braking event (Fig. 4; Fig. 5; Fig. 6; [0044], Now referring to FIG. 5, a flow diagram is shown having a start 500 for determining a regenerative braking downshift torque (Tq.sub.qdownshift), which is the torque value at which regenerative braking downshift of the transmission is scheduled. At step 502, the controller determines a minimum regenerative torque (Tq.sub.regenMin) based on the minimum motor torque (Tq.sub.motorMin) plus a safe margin (Tq.sub.safeMargin) associated with safe operation of the motor taking into consideration motor limits, resulting in Tq.sub.regenMin=Tq.sub.motorMin Tg.sub.safeMargin. At step 504, the controller then estimates the brake torque rate (Tqe.sub.brakeRate) or the brake pedal input rate classification dependent on the vehicle information available. As shown at steps 506 and 508, the regenerative braking downshift torque (Tq.sub.downshift) is estimated based on the minimum regenerative torque (Tq.sub.regenMin) adjusted by a shift time (t.sub.shift) and the brake torque rate (Tqe.sub.brakeRate) or the brake pedal input rate classification (f(Brake Rate Classification)), dependent on available vehicle information. Here the shift time (t.sub.shift) is the time between execution of the transmission gear downshift and a change in the torque ratio due to the shift.);
and select a gear to be engaged by the transmission on the basis of the braking characteristic data ([0021], The gearbox 24 may include gear sets (not shown) that are selectively placed in different gear ratios by selective engagement of friction elements such as clutches and brakes (not shown) to establish the desired multiple discrete or step drive ratios. The friction elements are controllable through a shift schedule that connects and disconnects certain elements of the gear sets to control the ratio between a transmission output shaft 36 and the transmission input shaft 32. The gearbox 24 is automatically shifted from one ratio to another based on various vehicle and ambient operating conditions by an associated controller, such as a powertrain control unit (PCU). The gearbox 24 then provides powertrain output torque to output shaft 36.).
Regarding claim 2, Nefcy (1) discloses:
A vehicle comprising the computer system of claim 1, the vehicle comprising a transmission adapted to individually engage each one of a plurality of gears (Abstract, A vehicle may include an engine selectively coupled to a motor and a transmission. The vehicle may include a controller configured to, in response to actuation of a brake pedal, command the transmission to downshift during a regenerative braking event based on a regenerative braking downshift torque. The regenerative braking downshift torque may be determined from a predicted brake pedal input rate. The predicted brake pedal input rate may be based on road grade, vehicle headway range and a driver history. The predicted brake pedal input rate may be classified as Low, Medium, or High. The regenerative braking downshift torque may also be determined from a predicted brake torque rate that is based on a predicted deceleration rate of the vehicle, a vehicle speed prediction and a road grade prediction within a future time interval that begins upon actuation of the brake pedal.).
Regarding claim 3, Nefcy (1) discloses:
further comprising a set of wheels and a regenerative braking system being adapted to convert at least a portion of the vehicle's kinetic energy into electric energy during a braking event, the regenerative braking system and the set of wheels being located on opposite sides of the transmission, as seen along a direction of torque transfer from the wheels to the regenerative braking system during a braking event (Fig. 1; [0030], The M/G 18 may additionally act as a generator during times of regenerative braking in which rotational energy from spinning wheels 42 is transferred back through the gearbox 24 and is converted into electrical energy for storage in the battery 20.).
Regarding claim 4, Nefcy (1) discloses:
A computer-implemented method for issuing control data for controlling a transmission of a vehicle during a braking event, the transmission being adapted to individually engage each one of a plurality of gears, the method comprising ([0003], According to embodiments of the present disclosure, systems and methods for controlling a transmission downshift during a regenerative braking event to increase regenerative braking efficiency and fuel economy are disclosed. In particular, the timing of the first regenerative braking downshift is adjusted based on the upcoming or predicted brake torque rate and/or brake pedal input rate.):
identifying, by processing circuitry of a computer system, an upcoming braking event during which braking of the vehicle is performed ([0003], In particular, the timing of the first regenerative braking downshift is adjusted based on the upcoming or predicted brake torque rate and/or brake pedal input rate.);
obtaining, by the processing circuitry, driving characteristic data comprising data indicative of a current or predicted driving condition of the vehicle ([0005], The vehicle includes a controller configured to, in response to actuation of a brake pedal, command the transmission to downshift during a regenerative braking event based on a regenerative braking downshift torque determined from a predicted brake torque rate. The predicted brake torque rate may be based on a predicted deceleration rate of the vehicle over a future time interval that begins upon actuation of the brake pedal. The predicted brake torque rate may also be based on a vehicle speed prediction and a road grade prediction within a future time interval that begins upon actuation of the brake pedal; [0025], The controller communicates with various engine/vehicle sensors and actuators via an input/output (I/O) interface that may be implemented as a single integrated interface that provides various raw data or signal conditioning, processing, and/or conversion, short-circuit protection, and the like. Alternatively, one or more dedicated hardware or firmware chips may be used to condition and process particular signals before being supplied to the CPU. As generally illustrated in the representative embodiment of FIG. 1, controller 50 may communicate signals to and/or from engine 14, disconnect clutch 26, M/G 18, launch clutch 34, transmission gearbox 24, and power electronics 56. Although not explicitly illustrated, those of ordinary skill in the art will recognize various functions or components that may be controlled by controller 50 within each of the subsystems identified above. Representative examples of parameters, systems, and/or components that may be directly or indirectly actuated using control logic executed by the controller include fuel injection timing, rate, and duration, throttle valve position, spark plug ignition timing (for spark-ignition engines), intake/exhaust valve timing and duration, front-end accessory drive (FEAD) components such as an alternator, air conditioning compressor, battery charging, regenerative braking, M/G operation, clutch pressures for disconnect clutch 26, launch clutch 34, and transmission gearbox 24, and the like. Sensors communicating input through the I/O interface may be used to indicate turbocharger boost pressure, crankshaft position (PIP), engine rotational speed (RPM), wheel speeds (WS1, WS2), vehicle speed (VSS), coolant temperature (ECT), intake manifold pressure (MAP), accelerator pedal position (APPS), ignition switch position (IGN), throttle valve position (TP), air temperature (TMP), exhaust gas oxygen (EGO) or other exhaust gas component concentration or presence, intake air flow (MAF), transmission gear, ratio, or mode, transmission oil temperature (TOT), transmission turbine speed (TS), torque converter bypass clutch 34 status (TCC), deceleration or shift mode (MDE), for example);
inputting, by the processing circuitry, the driving characteristic data to a braking characteristic model to determine braking characteristic data indicative of predicted braking characteristics during the upcoming braking event (Fig. 4; Fig. 5; Fig. 6; [0044], Now referring to FIG. 5, a flow diagram is shown having a start 500 for determining a regenerative braking downshift torque (Tq.sub.qdownshift), which is the torque value at which regenerative braking downshift of the transmission is scheduled. At step 502, the controller determines a minimum regenerative torque (Tq.sub.regenMin) based on the minimum motor torque (Tq.sub.motorMin) plus a safe margin (Tq.sub.safeMargin) associated with safe operation of the motor taking into consideration motor limits, resulting in Tq.sub.regenMin=Tq.sub.motorMin Tg.sub.safeMargin. At step 504, the controller then estimates the brake torque rate (Tqe.sub.brakeRate) or the brake pedal input rate classification dependent on the vehicle information available. As shown at steps 506 and 508, the regenerative braking downshift torque (Tq.sub.downshift) is estimated based on the minimum regenerative torque (Tq.sub.regenMin) adjusted by a shift time (t.sub.shift) and the brake torque rate (Tqe.sub.brakeRate) or the brake pedal input rate classification (f(Brake Rate Classification)), dependent on available vehicle information. Here the shift time (t.sub.shift) is the time between execution of the transmission gear downshift and a change in the torque ratio due to the shift.);
and selecting, by the processing circuitry, a gear to be engaged by the transmission on the basis of the braking characteristic data ([0021], The gearbox 24 may include gear sets (not shown) that are selectively placed in different gear ratios by selective engagement of friction elements such as clutches and brakes (not shown) to establish the desired multiple discrete or step drive ratios. The friction elements are controllable through a shift schedule that connects and disconnects certain elements of the gear sets to control the ratio between a transmission output shaft 36 and the transmission input shaft 32. The gearbox 24 is automatically shifted from one ratio to another based on various vehicle and ambient operating conditions by an associated controller, such as a powertrain control unit (PCU). The gearbox 24 then provides powertrain output torque to output shaft 36.).
Regarding claim 5, Nefcy (1) discloses:
wherein the braking characteristic data comprises information indicative of one or more of the following parameters: a braking duration, a final vehicle speed at the end of the braking event, and an average braking power required for preforming the braking event (Abstract, The regenerative braking downshift torque may also be determined from a predicted brake torque rate that is based on a predicted deceleration rate of the vehicle, a vehicle speed prediction and a road grade prediction within a future time interval that begins upon actuation of the brake pedal; [0043], The vehicle speed within (t.sub.start, t.sub.end) may be predicted using a linear representation. For example, if the vehicle speed must reach zero within the distance between t.sub.start and t.sub.end, the controller will anticipate a linear slope to reach zero in the given distance. The vehicle speed may also be predicted with a more complex method, which may include other sources of information available to the vehicle controller, as described above. At step 406, the instantaneous brake torque may be estimated using known first principal equations when road grade, the coefficient of road friction, and the coefficient of drag are known. From this, the predicted brake torque rate can be determined at step 408.).
Regarding claim 6, Nefcy (1) discloses:
wherein at least one, preferably each one, of the parameters of the braking characteristics is classified into one of the following categories: a high level, a medium level, or a low level (Abstract, The predicted brake pedal input rate may be classified as Low, Medium, or High; [0035], The classification of the predicted brake pedal input rate can be done with fuzzy logic rules or with lookup tables. The predicted brake pedal input rate can be classified into three levels: High, Medium, or Low, or it can be further refined into additional levels.).
Regarding claim 7, Nefcy (1) discloses:
wherein the vehicle comprises a regenerative braking system being adapted to convert at least a portion of the vehicle's kinetic energy into electric energy during a braking event, wherein the method further comprises: selecting, by the processing circuitry, the gear to be engaged by the transmission on the basis of the braking characteristic data such that at least one of the following conditions is fulfilled: an amount of the electric energy that can be converted by the regenerative braking system during the braking event is above an energy conversion threshold and a drive comfort parameter of the vehicle is within an allowable drive comfort parameter range ([0004], The regenerative braking downshift torque may also be determined from a minimum regenerative torque that is based on a minimum motor torque and a threshold value associated with a specified margin of operation of the motor).
Regarding claim 12, Nefcy (1) discloses:
wherein the current or predicted driving condition of the vehicle comprises one or more of the following parameters: a vehicle length, preferably measured between a front bumper to a rearmost point of a rear bumper; a gross vehicle weight, a current speed, a current cruise control set speed, a brake pedal depression state, a road profile of a road that the vehicle is intended to follow, preferably the road profile comprises at least one of the following: an inclination of the road, a curvature of the road, an existence of roundabouts and/or crossings on the road, traffic lights information, and information about a preceding vehicle in accordance with at least one of the following: a distance to the preceding vehicle, a vehicle speed of the preceding vehicle, and an acceleration of the preceding vehicle (Abstract, The regenerative braking downshift torque may be determined from a predicted brake pedal input rate. The predicted brake pedal input rate may be based on road grade, vehicle headway range and a driver history. The predicted brake pedal input rate may be classified as Low, Medium, or High. The regenerative braking downshift torque may also be determined from a predicted brake torque rate that is based on a predicted deceleration rate of the vehicle, a vehicle speed prediction and a road grade prediction within a future time interval that begins upon actuation of the brake pedal; [0039], Now referring to FIG. 3, a flow diagram is shown having a start 300 for classifying a predicted brake pedal input rate based on vehicle headway range information. The headway range or distance to a preceding vehicle may be measured using electromagnetic waves and optics (e.g., LiDAR or RADAR). This calculation provides an indication of the need to brake due to proximity to other vehicles. A brake pedal input rate classification may be determined based on this headway range.).
Regarding claim 14, Nefcy (1) discloses:
A computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by the processing circuitry, the method of claim 4 ([0026], The control logic may be implemented primarily in software executed by a microprocessor-based vehicle, engine, and/or powertrain controller, such as controller 50. Of course, the control logic may be implemented in software, hardware, or a combination of software and hardware in one or more controllers depending upon the particular application. When implemented in software, the control logic may be provided in one or more computer-readable storage devices or media having stored data representing code or instructions executed by a computer to control the vehicle or its subsystems. The computer-readable storage devices or media may include one or more of a number of known physical devices which utilize electric, magnetic, and/or optical storage to keep executable instructions and associated calibration information, operating variables, and the like).
Regarding claim 15, Nefcy (1) discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 4 ([0024], Computer readable storage devices or media may include volatile and nonvolatile storage in read-only memory (ROM), random-access memory (RAM), and keep-alive memory (KAM), for example. KAM is a persistent or non-volatile memory that may be used to store various operating variables while the CPU is powered down. Computer-readable storage devices or media may be implemented using any of a number of known memory devices such as PROMs (programmable read-only memory), EPROMs (electrically PROM), EEPROMs (electrically erasable PROM), flash memory, or any other electric, magnetic, optical, or combination memory devices capable of storing data, some of which represent executable instructions, used by the controller in controlling the engine or vehicle; [0026], one or more computer-readable storage devices or media having stored data representing code or instructions executed by a computer to control the vehicle or its subsystems. The computer-readable storage devices or media may include one or more of a number of known physical devices which utilize electric, magnetic, and/or optical storage to keep executable instructions and associated calibration information, operating variables, and the like;).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nefcy (1) in view of Nefcy et al. (US 20130244829 A1), hereinafter Nefcy (2).
Regarding claim 8, Nefcy (1) does not specifically state:
wherein the method further comprises: selecting, by the processing circuitry, the gear to be engaged by the transmission on the basis of the braking characteristic data such that a torque imparted on the regenerative braking system during the upcoming braking event is below a maximum allowed torque.
Nefcy (2) teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: selecting, by the processing circuitry, the gear to be engaged by the transmission on the basis of the braking characteristic data such that a torque imparted on the regenerative braking system during the upcoming braking event is below a maximum allowed torque ([0082], The controller applies regenerative powertrain braking as long as the limits of the regenerative powertrain braking system, including the M/G and battery, are within a threshold capacity. The threshold capacity of the regenerative powertrain braking system may be based on the state of charge of the battery, the torque capacity of the M/G, the quantity of the braking request or any other parameters known to those skilled in the art and suggested by this disclosure.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Nefcy (2) into the invention of Nefcy (1) to include torque capability of an electric motor as Nefcy (2) discloses with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art to create a more robust system that considers the limitations of an electric motor when regenerative braking such as state of charge and torque capacity. Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well-known elements of a transmission downshifting system for a hybrid electric vehicle as disclosed by Nefcy (1) and limitations of electric motors as taught by Nefcy (2). The combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 9, Nefcy (1) in view of Nefcy (2) teaches:
on the basis of the maximum allowed torque, an average braking power required for performing the braking event and preferably also a maximum allowed power that can be imparted on the regenerative braking system during the upcoming braking event, determining, by the processing circuitry, a shift point speed indicative of a rotational speed of a portion of the regenerative braking system at or below which a gear shift of the transmission should be carried out (Nefcy (1): [0031], The electric motor (M/G) 18 usually operates at a constant torque region when the motor speed is below a base speed, and operates at a constant power region when the motor speed is above the base speed. At this constant torque region, the electric motor 18 cannot deliver its maximum power. As a result, the braking power recuperated may be limited by power of the electric motor 18 during a braking event. To maximize regenerative braking efficiency, it is often desirable to raise the motor speed to have it operate at the constant power region to use the full potential of the electric motor 18. At the instant when the brake pedal 53 is applied, the electric motor speed is usually below the base speed, and the brake torque increases from zero to a relatively constant level. It is therefore important to have the first downshift of the automatic transmission 24 scheduled at a proper time during the brake application such that the constant torque region can be avoided to maximize regenerative braking efficiency.).
Regarding claim 10, Nefcy (1) in view of Nefcy (2) teaches:
obtaining, by the processing circuitry, a current vehicle speed and a current regenerative braking system speed indicative of a current rotational speed of a portion of the regenerative braking system (Nefcy (1): [0025], Sensors communicating input through the I/O interface may be used to indicate turbocharger boost pressure, crankshaft position (PIP), engine rotational speed (RPM), wheel speeds (WS1, WS2), vehicle speed (VSS), coolant temperature (ECT), intake manifold pressure (MAP), accelerator pedal position (APPS), ignition switch position (IGN), throttle valve position (TP), air temperature (TMP), exhaust gas oxygen (EGO) or other exhaust gas component concentration or presence, intake air flow (MAF), transmission gear, ratio, or mode, transmission oil temperature (TOT), transmission turbine speed (TS), torque converter bypass clutch 34 status (TCC), deceleration or shift mode (MDE), for example.),
determining, by the processing circuitry, a predicted level or value for each one of the following parameters comprised in braking characteristic data: a predicted braking duration level associated with a braking duration of the upcoming braking event, a predicted vehicle final speed associated with a vehicle speed at the end of the upcoming braking event, and a predicted average braking power level for performing the upcoming braking event (Nefcy (1): [0004], The regenerative braking downshift torque is determined from a predicted brake pedal input rate. The predicted brake pedal input rate may be based on an instantaneous road grade calculated upon actuation of the brake pedal and an average road grade estimated over a future time interval that begins with actuation of the brake pedal. The predicted brake pedal input rate may also be based on a driver history. The predicted brake pedal input rate may further be based on a headway range and a rate of change thereof; [0034], In particular, embodiments related to controlling the first regenerative braking downshift using a predicted brake pedal input rate and a predicted brake torque rate are disclosed and described herein; [0042], a predicted brake torque rate estimated from a vehicle speed prediction within a look ahead window or future time interval particular, the controller may receive t.sub.start at step 402, which may be initiated by application of the brake pedal),
selecting, by the processing circuitry, the gear that is currently engaged in response to determining that at least one of the following criteria is fulfilled: the predicted braking duration level is below a first braking duration threshold level, or the predicted average braking power level is below a first braking power threshold level, or an absolute value of the difference between the predicted final vehicle speed and the obtained current vehicle speed is below a predetermined speed difference threshold, and the obtained current regenerative braking system speed is higher than the shift point speed (Nefcy (1): Fig. 6; [0031], The electric motor (M/G) 18 usually operates at a constant torque region when the motor speed is below a base speed, and operates at a constant power region when the motor speed is above the base speed. At this constant torque region, the electric motor 18 cannot deliver its maximum power. As a result, the braking power recuperated may be limited by power of the electric motor 18 during a braking event. To maximize regenerative braking efficiency, it is often desirable to raise the motor speed to have it operate at the constant power region to use the full potential of the electric motor 18. At the instant when the brake pedal 53 is applied, the electric motor speed is usually below the base speed, and the brake torque increases from zero to a relatively constant level. It is therefore important to have the first downshift of the automatic transmission 24 scheduled at a proper time during the brake application such that the constant torque region can be avoided to maximize regenerative braking efficiency; [0046], Now referring to FIG. 6, a graphical illustration is provided for showing the effects of downshift timing on motor operation for a given brake torque request 603.).
Regarding claim 11, Nefcy (1) in view of Nefcy (2) teaches:
obtaining, by the processing circuitry, a current vehicle speed and a current regenerative braking system speed indicative of a current rotational speed of a portion of the regenerative braking system (Nefcy (1): [0025], Sensors communicating input through the I/O interface may be used to indicate turbocharger boost pressure, crankshaft position (PIP), engine rotational speed (RPM), wheel speeds (WS1, WS2), vehicle speed (VSS), coolant temperature (ECT), intake manifold pressure (MAP), accelerator pedal position (APPS), ignition switch position (IGN), throttle valve position (TP), air temperature (TMP), exhaust gas oxygen (EGO) or other exhaust gas component concentration or presence, intake air flow (MAF), transmission gear, ratio, or mode, transmission oil temperature (TOT), transmission turbine speed (TS), torque converter bypass clutch 34 status (TCC), deceleration or shift mode (MDE), for example.),
determining, by the processing circuitry, a predicted level or value for each one of the following parameters comprised in braking characteristic data: a predicted braking duration level associated with a braking duration for the upcoming braking event, a predicted vehicle final speed associated with a vehicle speed at the end of the upcoming braking event, and a predicted average braking power level for performing the upcoming braking event (Nefcy (1): [0004], The regenerative braking downshift torque is determined from a predicted brake pedal input rate. The predicted brake pedal input rate may be based on an instantaneous road grade calculated upon actuation of the brake pedal and an average road grade estimated over a future time interval that begins with actuation of the brake pedal. The predicted brake pedal input rate may also be based on a driver history. The predicted brake pedal input rate may further be based on a headway range and a rate of change thereof; [0034], In particular, embodiments related to controlling the first regenerative braking downshift using a predicted brake pedal input rate and a predicted brake torque rate are disclosed and described herein; [0042], a predicted brake torque rate estimated from a vehicle speed prediction within a look ahead window or future time interval particular, the controller may receive t.sub.start at step 402, which may be initiated by application of the brake pedal),
and selecting, by the processing circuitry, a gear that is lower than the gear that is currently engaged if the following criterion is fulfilled: the obtained current regenerative braking system speed is lower than the shift point speed, or alternatively if the following criteria are fulfilled: the predicted braking duration level is above a second braking duration threshold level, wherein the second braking duration threshold level is preferably higher than the first braking duration threshold level, and the obtained current regenerative braking system speed is equal to, or higher than the shift point speed, if the regenerative braking system speed is expected to be lower than the shift point speed during the upcoming braking event (Nefcy (1): Fig. 6; [0031], The electric motor (M/G) 18 usually operates at a constant torque region when the motor speed is below a base speed, and operates at a constant power region when the motor speed is above the base speed. At this constant torque region, the electric motor 18 cannot deliver its maximum power. As a result, the braking power recuperated may be limited by power of the electric motor 18 during a braking event. To maximize regenerative braking efficiency, it is often desirable to raise the motor speed to have it operate at the constant power region to use the full potential of the electric motor 18. At the instant when the brake pedal 53 is applied, the electric motor speed is usually below the base speed, and the brake torque increases from zero to a relatively constant level. It is therefore important to have the first downshift of the automatic transmission 24 scheduled at a proper time during the brake application such that the constant torque region can be avoided to maximize regenerative braking efficiency; [0046], Now referring to FIG. 6, a graphical illustration is provided for showing the effects of downshift timing on motor operation for a given brake torque request 603.).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nefcy (1) in view of Vernekar et al. (US 20240295244 A1), hereinafter Vernekar.
Regarding claim 13, Nefcy (1) does not specifically state:
wherein the braking characteristic model is a trained model, preferably a trained learning model such as a machine-learning model, more preferred a neural network model.
Vernekar teaches:
wherein the braking characteristic model is a trained model, preferably a trained learning model such as a machine-learning model, more preferred a neural network model ([0043], The transmission controller 29 includes at least one processor and a computer-readable storage device or media. The processor may be any custom-made or commercially available processor, a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) (e.g., a custom ASIC implementing a neural network), a field programmable gate array (FPGA), an auxiliary processor among several processors associated with the transmission controller 29, a semiconductor-based microprocessor (in the form of a microchip or chip set), any combination thereof, or generally any device for executing instructions.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Vernekar into the invention of Nefcy (1) to include a machine learning model for transmission control as Vernekar discloses with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art to create a more robust system that utilizes a machine learning model to learn transmission behavior and to adjust to a driver’s habits. Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well-known elements of a transmission system for a hybrid vehicle as disclosed by Nefcy (1) and machine learning model to model transmission behavior as taught by Vernekar. The combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Documents Considered but Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Szczepaniak (US 20210053552 A1) discloses a regenerative braking control method for a vehicle includes releasing an accelerator pedal at a desired vehicle speed; detecting a subsequent increase in vehicle speed from the desired vehicle speed while the accelerator pedal is released; in response to detecting the subsequent increase in vehicle speed, increasing a regenerative braking torque to decrease vehicle speed and drive vehicle speed toward the desired vehicle speed; and in response to a next engagement of the accelerator pedal after the releasing the accelerator pedal, suspending regenerative braking torque and controlling vehicle speed based on a position of the accelerator pedal. Jeong (US 20100133032 A1) discloses a control unit of vehicle is provided including a device for controlling regenerative braking of a vehicle. The device is provided with a drive wheel and a drive motor driving the drive wheel may include a vehicle control unit for calculating a regenerative amount and distributing a target braking force corresponding to the calculated regenerative amount; and a control unit controlling a transmission so that torque of the motor is increased in case of decelerating regeneration of the drive motor. Heap et al. (US 20090118885 A1) discloses an engine and a second power generating device transmit power through a transmission to a driveline to a wheel. A control module determines a regenerative braking axle torque capacity and a regenerative braking torque. Power output from the second power generating device is controlled based upon a regenerative braking axle torque request. A brake control module determines a total braking torque request and generates the regenerative braking axle torque request based upon the total braking torque request, the regenerative braking axle torque capacity, and the regenerative braking torque. The brake control module controls a friction brake.
Conclusion
/I.A.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666