DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,695,275. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claimed invention must fall into one of the four recognized statutory classes of invention, a process (or method), a machine (or system); an article of manufacture; or a composite of matter. However, claims 16-20 do not fall within one of these recognized categories. Applicant’s specification does not preclude the medium from being a carrier wave. Examiner notes that since claims 16-20 are drawn to a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments, the claims maybe amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments, the examiner suggests to the applicant to overcome rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101, amend the claim to include the phrase “non-transitory”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al., US Pg. Pub. No. (2019/0184838) referred to hereinafter as Lee.
As per claim 1, Lee teaches a method to distribute power in an electrical power delivery environment (see at least Abstract), the method comprising: detecting incoming electrical power provided by a connection with a power source (see at least abstract, Summary, Para 28, 53,); determining power needs for a vehicle electrical storage system (see at least abstract, Summary, Para 28, 53, 60); determining power needs for a climate control unit used in a transport climate control system (see at least abstract, Summary, Para 28, 53, 60, fig. 2); determining electrical power source priorities among the vehicle electrical storage system and the climate control unit based on at least the determined power needs (see at least abstract, Summary, Para 28, 53, 60, fig. 2); and apportioning the incoming electrical power between the vehicle electrical storage system and the climate control unit based on at least in part the determined electrical power source priorities (see at least abstract, Summary, Para 28, 53, 60, fig. 2 s15-s17).
As per claim 2, Lee teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the method is executed by a power distribution unit that is electrically affixed to a vehicle that is at least partially electrically powered (see at least abstract, Summary, Para 28, 53, 60, fig. 2).
As per claim 3, Lee teaches a method of claim 2, wherein the determining of electrical charging priorities includes assessing a time required to fully power the vehicle electrical storage system and the climate control unit (see at least abstract, Summary, Para 28, 53, 60, fig. 2).
As per claim 4, Lee teaches a method of claim 2, wherein the determining of the electrical power source priorities includes placing a higher priority on delivering power to the climate control unit (see at least abstract, Summary, Para 28, 53, 60, fig. 2).
As per claim 5, Lee teaches a method of claim 4, wherein the vehicle electrical storage system delivers power to a battery of the vehicle (see at least abstract, Summary, Para 28, 53, 60, fig. 2).
As per claim 6, Lee teaches a method of claim 4, wherein the power is delivered to an electrical storage device of the climate control unit (see at least abstract, Summary, Para 28, 53, 60, fig. 2).
As per claim 7, Lee teaches a method of claim 4, wherein the determining of electrical power source priorities includes prioritizing transport load integrity over delivering power to the vehicle electrical storage system (see at least abstract, Summary, Para 28, 53, 60, fig. 2).
As per claim 8, Lee teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the apportioning includes directing at least a majority of the incoming electrical power to the climate control unit (see at least abstract, Summary, Para 28, 53, 60, fig. 2).
As per claim 9, Lee teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the apportioning includes directing at least some of the incoming electrical power to the vehicle electrical storage system (see at least abstract, Summary, Para 28, 53, 60, fig. 2).
As per claims 10-20, the limitations of claims 10-20 are similar to the limitations of claims 1-9, therefore they are rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
Please refer to from 892 for cited references.
/MUSSA A SHAAWAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665