DETAILED ACTION
Status of the claims
Claims 1-24 are pending and they are examined in this office action.
Examiner’s note
The amendment claims submitted on 06/26/2025 are analyzed in this office action. For following analysis substitute specification clean submitted on 09/05/2025 is cited for referencing to page numbers.
Specification
The use of the term “MiSeq” in paragraph 220, page 68, paragraph 0220, “Biolistic” in page 65, paragraph 0214, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Spec, pages 73-78 comprise listed claims, applicants are advised not to recite the claims in specification. See MPEP § 608.01(m) which states the claim or claims must commence on a separate physical sheet or electronic page and should appear after the detailed description of the invention. Any sheet including a claim or portion of a claim may not contain any other parts of the application or other material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Obvious over Gordon et al. and further in view of Davis et al., Novina et al., Chen et al., and George et al.
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9-11, 13, 15-18, and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordon et al. (WIPO International Publication Number: WO 2018/231999 A1, International Publication Date: 20 December 2018), and further in view of Davis et al. (US Patent Application Publication No.: US 2019/0202856 A1, Publication Date: Jul. 4, 2019), Novina et al. (WIPO International Publication Number: WO 2016/103233 A2, International Publication Date: 30 June 2016), and further in view of Chen et al. (Published: 2013, Journal: Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews 65: 1357–1369), and further in view of George et al. (Published: 2002, Journal: Protein Eng. 15: 871–879).
The claims are drawn a ribonucleoprotein comprising ribonucleoprotein comprising: (a) a recombinant polypeptide comprising: (i) an amino acid sequence encoding a Cas12a nuclease; (ii) an amino acid sequence encoding a linker having at least 93% identity to SEQ ID NO:3; and (iii) an amino acid sequence encoding a HUH nuclease; and (b) at least one guide nucleic acid. The claims are drawn to the ribonucleoprotein wherein the ribonucleoprotein further comprises at least one template nucleic acid molecule. The claims are drawn to a host cell, a plant cell comprising the ribonucleoprotein. The claims are drawn to a method of generating an edit in a target DNA molecule comprising contacting the target DNA molecule with the ribonucleoprotein.
Regarding claim 1, Gordon et al. teaches a ribonucleoprotein (Pg.3, Ln. 10, a RNP [ribonucleic acid protein] molecular complex) comprising: (a) a recombinant polypeptide comprising: (i) an amino acid sequence encoding a Cas9 nuclease; (ii) an amino acid sequence encoding a linker; and (iii) an amino acid sequence encoding a HUH nuclease; and (b) at least one guide nucleic acid (Pg. 3, Lns. 10-12, a RNP molecular complex ... include a recombinant Cas9/HUH tag fusion polypeptide, a gRNA that recognizes a specific site in the genome of a cell; Pg. 3, Lns.4-6, a fusion polypeptide comprising a Cas9 polypeptide and an HUH tag. The polypeptide can further include a linker (e.g., a linker positioned between the Cas9 polypeptide and the HUH tag) (pg. 3, Lns. 4-6).
Gordon et al. teaches the ribonucleoprotein of claim 1. Gordon et al. further discloses wherein the HUH nuclease is selected from the group consisting of a faba bean necrosis yellow virus (FBNYV) HUH endonuclease, a porcine circovirus 2 (PCV) HUH endonuclease, a duck circovirus (DCV) HUH endonuclease, a Streptococcus agalactiae replication protein RepB (RepB), a Fructobacillus tropaeoli RepB (RepBm), an Escherichia coli conjugation protein Tral (Tral), an E.coli mobilization protein A (mMobA), and a Staphylococcus aureus nicking enzyme (NES) (Pg. 9, Lns. 3-4, Representative HUH sequences include ... the amino acid sequences set forth in SEQ ID NOS: 1-13; Pg. 9, Ln. 7, SEQ ID NO: 1 (porcine circovirus 2(PCV2)).
Gordon et al. fails to explicitly teach an amino acid sequence encoding a Cas12a nuclease.
Davis et al. claims 1-2 and 4 teach a CRISPR protein engineered to comprise at least one modification which comprises an insertion of a domain from a protein known to covalently bind nucleic acids which is HUH endonuclease (page 2, paragraph 0015). Davis et al. teaches the example of CRISPR protein include Cpf proteins, and the engineered CRISPR protein can be derived from a type V CRISPR/Cpf1 system (page 2, paragraph 0016) also referred to as Cas12a (Spec, page 6, paragraph 0028). Furthermore, Davis et al. claim 14 teaches a system comprising the engineered modified CRISPR protein with the HUH comprises a guide RNA. Thus Davis et al. teaches engineered protein comprising Cas12a and HUH endonuclease and a guide nucleic acid. Applicant teaches Linkers are short amino acid sequences used to join two or more proteins or protein domains into one larger protein complex and linkers do not interfere with the native function of any protein, or protein domain, to which they are attached (Spec, page 13, paragraph 0053).
The prior art of record of Gordon et al. and Davis et al. individually or in combination, does not teach or fairly suggest the ribonucleoprotein of claim 1, wherein the linker comprises an amino acid sequence at least 93% identical or similar to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3.
Novina et al. teaches protein comprising a linker which is positively charged, negatively charged acids or polar which comprises of amino and can vary in length from about 5 AA to 100 AA in length (page 15, paragraph 00058) wherein exemplary linker include a linker which has 66.7% identity and 90.9% local similarity to SEQ ID NO:3 (see alignment below). Novina et al. teaches linker between proteins dCas9 and MTase wherein dCas9 is fused to the MTase fragment (page 57, paragraph 00179, Figure 6). Novina et al. teaches peptide linker can be systematically varied and tested (page 58, paragraph 000180). Furthermore, applicant has not showed the linker of specific composition would have affected the ribonucleoprotein composition and its use compared to other linkers.
The difference between the Novina et al.’s linker and applicant’s SEQ ID NO: 3 would be for the end domain of “LDS” that is not included in Novina et al.
George et al. teaches inter-domain linkers and their properties to design linkers for domain function (page871, Abstract). Georg et al. teaches Thr (i.e. T), Pro (i.e. P), Asp (i.e. D), Gly (.e. G), Ser (i.e. S) are desirable linker constituents (page 871, right paragraph 2) and Leu (i.e. L) is desirable helical linkers (page 874, left last paragraph) that would make the linker more rigid, structurally organized and functional linker (Chen et al., page 1361, left paragraph 4). Chen et al. teaches there are multiple linker designing tools available such as LINKER (page1363, right last paragraph).
Therefore someone skilled in the art would obviously try finite number of desirable linker amino acids taught by George et al. to add to the linker taught by Novina et al. leading to extending linker taught by Novina et al. to include domain “LDS” that would make the linker more structurally organized and that would lead to the linker of having 93% identity to SEQ ID NO: 3 of applicant.
Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 3 to Amino acid Geneseq 202427 database:
RESULT 7
BDB79990
ID BDB79990 standard; peptide; 31 AA.
XX
AC BDB79990;
XX
DT 25-AUG-2016 (first entry)
XX
DE Fusion protein constructing linker peptide #2.
XX
KW epigenetic modification; fluorescence; protein therapy;
KW recombinant protein; therapeutic.
XX
OS Synthetic.
XX
CC PN WO2016103233-A2.
XX
CC PD 30-JUN-2016.
XX
CC PF 24-DEC-2015; 2015WO-IB059984.
XX
PR 24-DEC-2014; 2014US-0096766P.
PR 04-APR-2015; 2015US-0143080P.
PR 30-JUN-2015; 2015US-0186862P.
XX
CC PA (DAND ) DANA FARBER CANCER INST INC.
CC PA (UYJO ) UNIV JOHNS HOPKINS.
XX
CC PI Novina C, Meister G, Ostermeier M, Xiong T;
XX
DR WPI; 2016-40519E/48.
XX
CC PT System useful in epigenetic therapy for treating subject having e.g.
CC PT cancer, hematologic disorder, and neurodegenerative disorder, comprises
CC PT bifurcated enzyme comprising first fragment and second fragment.
XX
CC PS Disclosure; Page 15; 104pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel system, useful in an epigenetic
CC therapy for treating a subject having cancer, hematologic disorder and
CC neurodegenerative disorder. The system comprises bifurcated enzyme
CC comprising first fragment and second fragment. The invention also
CC provides: a fusion protein comprising RNA guided nuclease and first
CC portion of bifurcated methyltransferase, wherein the fusion protein is
CC expressed in mammalian cells; an expression cassette comprising a nucleic
CC acid encoding the bifurcated methyltransferase, DNA binding domain and
CC mammalian promoter; a mammalian cell stably expressing the expression
CC cassette; a reporter plasmid comprising backbone free of any methylation
CC sites having target promoter sequence inserted upstream of a nucleic acid
CC encoding first fluorescent protein and control promoter sequences
CC inserted upstream of nucleic acid encoding second fluorescent protein; a
CC cell comprising the plasmid; a method for identifying a functionally
CC repressive cytosine-phosphate-guanine (CpG) site in a target promoter by
CC contacting the cell with several guide RNAs, and measuring fluorescent
CC intensity of the first and second fluorescent protein; a method for
CC performing an epigenetic reprogramming of a mammalian cell; and a method
CC for performing epigenetic therapy. The system is also useful for treating
CC heart disease, diabetes or mental illness. The hematologic disorder is
CC sickle cell or thalassemia. The cancer is lymphoma. The present sequence
CC represents a linker peptide, which is used in constructing the fusion
CC protein involved in preparing the system of the invention, for performing
CC epigenetic therapy for treating the above mentioned diseases.
XX
SQ Sequence 31 AA;
Query Match 66.7%; Score 52; Length 31;
Best Local Similarity 90.9%;
Matches 10; Conservative 1; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 2 ASDTGGSSETG 12
:||||||||||
Db 16 SSDTGGSSETG 26
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective date of filing of the invention from teaching from Gordon et al. to develop a ribonucleoprotein comprising a recombinant polypeptide a nuclease, linker and a HUH nuclease and a guide RNA. Furthermore, it would have been obvious that the nuclease would be Cas12a as taught by Davis et al. and the linker would have been the amino acid sequence with at least 93% identical to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:3 as taught by Noviva et al., George et al. and Chen et al.
Regarding claim 3, Modified Gordon et al. teaches the ribonucleoprotein of claim 1. Gordon et al. further teaches wherein the HUH nuclease comprises an amino acid sequence having an amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 14 (Pg. 9, Lns. 3-4, Representative HUH sequences include ... the amino acid sequences set forth in SEQ ID NOS: 1-13; wherein SEQ ID NO: 1 of Gordon et al. comprises amino acids of 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 14 of the instant application).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Gordon et al. and Davis et al. teaches the ribonucleoprotein of claim 1. Gordon et al. further teaches wherein the ribonucleoprotein further comprises at least one template nucleic acid molecule (Pg. 3, Lns. 10-13, a RNP molecular complex ... include a recombinant Cas9/HUH tag fusion polypeptide, a gRNA that recognizes a specific site in the genome of a cell, and a piece of DNA containing a single-stranded target sequence).
Regarding claims 9-10, Gordon et al. teaches the method of claim 46. Gordon et al. further teaches wherein the cell is a prokaryotic cell or a eukaryotic cell (Pg. 20, Lns. 23-24, This document also provides methods for modifying the genetic material of a cell (e.g., a plant cell, an animal cell, or a bacterial, yeast).
Regarding claim 11, Gordon et al. and further in view of Davis et al., Chen et al., George et al. and Novina et al. teaches the recited ribonucleoprotein, see analysis above.
Gordon et al. teaches genomic modification method which comprise a guide RNA (page 24, line 20).Gordon et al. teaches Cas9-PCV HUH along with gRNA fusion induced double stranded break (page24, lines 26-32).
Gordon et al. teaches tethering of the donor DNA (i.e. template) to Cas9, gRNA where gene editing was detected (page 25, lines 5-11, lines 28-29).
Therefore the it would have been obvious to develop he recited method of generating an edit in a target DNA molecule comprising contacting with a nucleoprotein comprising a Cas12a, gRNA, HUH endonuclease and a linker which has 93% identity to SEQ ID NO:3 that would promote the genome editing compared to cas12a alone.
Regarding claim 13, Gordon et al. teaches the method is applied to a human cell line HCT119 wherein the Cas9-PCV RNPs with a gRNA targeted GFP (page 24, lines 19-32). Gordon et al. teaches the Cas9-PCV, sgRNA and donor DNA had improved HDR, gene editing in HEK293 cells (page 25, lines 5-21, page26, lines 4-6 and 11-12, see Figure 7 below).
Furthermore, Davis et al.’s claims 1, 4 and 8 teaches Cpf1 (i.e. Cas12a) forms covalent bond with HUH endonuclease and the system comprise guide RNA (claim 15) and it is in a single nuclei acid (claim 17).
Therefore it would have been obvious to develop the method of generating edit in a target DNA molecule of a cell with a Cas12a, linker, HUH nuclease, guide RNA and template that would promote genome editing compared to the Cas12a alone.
Regarding claims 15-16, 21, Gordon et al. teaches their nucleic acid composition causes insertion and deletions and HiBIT incorporation (page26, lines 17-20, page25, lines 22-28).
Regarding claims 17, 22, Gordon et al. teaches gene editing is used to introducing mutation in noncoding region (i.e. that would comprise non-genic region) of the genome (page1, lines 15-18).
Regarding claims 18 and 23-24, Gordon et al. teaches the Cas9-PCV fusion complexed with gRNA targeted the endogenous GAPDH gene (i.e. within the gene in genomic DNA) in HEK293T cells to incorporate 11 amino acid peptide as a split luciferase (page 4, lines 5-11).
Obvious over Gordon et al. and further in view of Davis et al., Novina et al., Chen et al., George et al. and Liu et al.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 11-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordon et al., and further in view of Davis et al., and further in view of Novina et al. and further in view of Chen et al. and further in view of George et al. and further in view of Liu et al. (US Patent Application Publication No.: US 2018/0073012 A1, Publication Date: Mar. 15, 2018).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 13, Gordon et al., Davis et al., Novina et al., Chen et al., and George et al. teaches a ribonucleoprotein complex comprising Cas12a, a linker having 95% identity to SEQ ID NO:3, a HUH nuclease and a guide RNA (claims 1) and method of generating edits by contacting a DNA molecule with the ribonucleoprotein (claim 11) and the method would further comprise a template nucleic acid molecule interacting with the HUH nuclease (claim 13), see analysis above.
Regarding claims 2, 12 and 14, Gordon et al., Davis et al., Novina et al., Chen et al., and George et al. fails to expressly teach wherein the Cas12a nuclease comprises an amino acid sequence having at least 95% sequence identity to an amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1, 15 and 26.
Liu et al. teaches a fusion protein containing an amino acid sequence encoding a Cas12a nuclease (Para. [0372]) a fusion protein comprising a napDNAbp ... and an adenosine deaminase; Para. [0297] the nucleic acid programmable DNA binding protein (napDNAbp) of any of the fusion proteins provided herein may be a Cpf1 (i.e. Cas12a) protein ... In some embodiments, the dCpf1 [a nuclease inactive Cpf1] comprises an amino acid sequence of any one SEQ ID NOs: 376-382; see University of California, Para. (0006) type V CRISPR/Cas proteins (e.g., Cas 12a proteins such as Cpf1 (Cas12a)).
Liu et al. teaches SEQ ID NO: 15 (Para. [0297] the dCpf1 [a nuclease inactive Cpf1] comprises an amino acid sequence of any one SEQ ID NOs: 376-382; wherein SEQ ID NO: 376 of Liu et al. comprises amino acids with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 15 of the instant application, see alignment below).
US-15-791-085-376
Filing date in PALM: 2017-10-23
Sequence 376, US/15791085
Publication No. US20180073012A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF LIU ET AL.
TITLE OF INVENTION: ADENOSINE NUCLEOBASE EDITORS AND USES THEREOF
FILE REFERENCE: H0824.70244US03
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/15/791,085
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2017-10-23
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/US2017/045381
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-08-03
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/370,684
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2016-08-03
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/454,035
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-02-02
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/473,714
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-03-20
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 5526
SEQ ID NO 376
LENGTH: 1300
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Francisella novicida
ALIGNMENT:
Query Match 100.0%; Score 6758; Length 1300;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 1299; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 SIYQEFVNKYSLSKTLRFELIPQGKTLENIKARGLILDDEKRAKDYKKAKQIIDKYHQFF 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2 SIYQEFVNKYSLSKTLRFELIPQGKTLENIKARGLILDDEKRAKDYKKAKQIIDKYHQFF 61
Qy 61 IEEILSSVCISEDLLQNYSDVYFKLKKSDDDNLQKDFKSAKDTIKKQISEYIKDSEKFKN 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 62 IEEILSSVCISEDLLQNYSDVYFKLKKSDDDNLQKDFKSAKDTIKKQISEYIKDSEKFKN 121
Qy 121 LFNQNLIDAKKGQESDLILWLKQSKDNGIELFKANSDITDIDEALEIIKSFKGWTTYFKG 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 122 LFNQNLIDAKKGQESDLILWLKQSKDNGIELFKANSDITDIDEALEIIKSFKGWTTYFKG 181
Qy 181 FHENRKNVYSSNDIPTSIIYRIVDDNLPKFLENKAKYESLKDKAPEAINYEQIKKDLAEE 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 182 FHENRKNVYSSNDIPTSIIYRIVDDNLPKFLENKAKYESLKDKAPEAINYEQIKKDLAEE 241
Qy 241 LTFDIDYKTSEVNQRVFSLDEVFEIANFNNYLNQSGITKFNTIIGGKFVNGENTKRKGIN 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 242 LTFDIDYKTSEVNQRVFSLDEVFEIANFNNYLNQSGITKFNTIIGGKFVNGENTKRKGIN 301
Qy 301 EYINLYSQQINDKTLKKYKMSVLFKQILSDTESKSFVIDKLEDDSDVVTTMQSFYEQIAA 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 302 EYINLYSQQINDKTLKKYKMSVLFKQILSDTESKSFVIDKLEDDSDVVTTMQSFYEQIAA 361
Qy 361 FKTVEEKSIKETLSLLFDDLKAQKLDLSKIYFKNDKSLTDLSQQVFDDYSVIGTAVLEYI 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 362 FKTVEEKSIKETLSLLFDDLKAQKLDLSKIYFKNDKSLTDLSQQVFDDYSVIGTAVLEYI 421
Qy 421 TQQIAPKNLDNPSKKEQELIAKKTEKAKYLSLETIKLALEEFNKHRDIDKQCRFEEILAN 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 422 TQQIAPKNLDNPSKKEQELIAKKTEKAKYLSLETIKLALEEFNKHRDIDKQCRFEEILAN 481
Qy 481 FAAIPMIFDEIAQNKDNLAQISIKYQNQGKKDLLQASAEDDVKAIKDLLDQTNNLLHKLK 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 482 FAAIPMIFDEIAQNKDNLAQISIKYQNQGKKDLLQASAEDDVKAIKDLLDQTNNLLHKLK 541
Qy 541 IFHISQSEDKANILDKDEHFYLVFEECYFELANIVPLYNKIRNYITQKPYSDEKFKLNFE 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 542 IFHISQSEDKANILDKDEHFYLVFEECYFELANIVPLYNKIRNYITQKPYSDEKFKLNFE 601
Qy 601 NSTLANGWDKNKEPDNTAILFIKDDKYYLGVMNKKNNKIFDDKAIKENKGEGYKKIVYKL 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 602 NSTLANGWDKNKEPDNTAILFIKDDKYYLGVMNKKNNKIFDDKAIKENKGEGYKKIVYKL 661
Qy 661 LPGANKMLPKVFFSAKSIKFYNPSEDILRIRNHSTHTKNGSPQKGYEKFEFNIEDCRKFI 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 662 LPGANKMLPKVFFSAKSIKFYNPSEDILRIRNHSTHTKNGSPQKGYEKFEFNIEDCRKFI 721
Qy 721 DFYKQSISKHPEWKDFGFRFSDTQRYNSIDEFYREVENQGYKLTFENISESYIDSVVNQG 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 722 DFYKQSISKHPEWKDFGFRFSDTQRYNSIDEFYREVENQGYKLTFENISESYIDSVVNQG 781
Qy 781 KLYLFQIYNKDFSAYSKGRPNLHTLYWKALFDERNLQDVVYKLNGEAELFYRKQSIPKKI 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 782 KLYLFQIYNKDFSAYSKGRPNLHTLYWKALFDERNLQDVVYKLNGEAELFYRKQSIPKKI 841
Qy 841 THPAKEAIA NKNKDNPKKESVFEYDLIKDKRFTEDKFFFHCPITINFKSSGANKFNDEIN 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 842 THPAKEAIA NKNKDNPKKESVFEYDLIKDKRFTEDKFFFHCPITINFKSSGANKFNDEIN 901
Qy 901 LLLKEKANDVHILSIDRGERHLAYYTLVDGKGNIIKQDTFNIIGNDRMKTNYHDKLAAIE 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 902 LLLKEKANDVHILSIDRGERHLAYYTLVDGKGNIIKQDTFNIIGNDRMKTNYHDKLAAIE 961
Qy 961 KDRDSARKDWKKINNIKEMKEGYLSQVVHEIAKLVIEYNAIVVFEDLNFGFKRGRFKVEK 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 962 KDRDSARKDWKKINNIKEMKEGYLSQVVHEIAKLVIEYNAIVVFEDLNFGFKRGRFKVEK 1021
Qy 1021 QVYQKLEKMLIEKLNYLVFKDNEFDKTGGVLRAYQLTAPFETFKKMGKQTGIIYYVPAGF 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1022 QVYQKLEKMLIEKLNYLVFKDNEFDKTGGVLRAYQLTAPFETFKKMGKQTGIIYYVPAGF 1081
Qy 1081 TSKICPVTGFVNQLYPKYESVSKSQEFFSKFDKICYNLDKGYFEFSFDYKNFGDKAAKGK 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1082 TSKICPVTGFVNQLYPKYESVSKSQEFFSKFDKICYNLDKGYFEFSFDYKNFGDKAAKGK 1141
Qy 1141 WTIASFGSRLINFRNSDKNHNWDTREVYPTKELEKLLKDYSIEYGHGECIKAAICGESDK 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1142 WTIASFGSRLINFRNSDKNHNWDTREVYPTKELEKLLKDYSIEYGHGECIKAAICGESDK 1201
Qy 1201 KFFAKLTSVLNTILQMRNSKTGTELDYLISPVADVNGNFFDSRQAPKNMPQDADANGAYH 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1202 KFFAKLTSVLNTILQMRNSKTGTELDYLISPVADVNGNFFDSRQAPKNMPQDADANGAYH 1261
Qy 1261 IGLKGLMLLGRIKNNQEGKKLNLVIKNEEYFEFVQNRNN 1299
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1262 IGLKGLMLLGRIKNNQEGKKLNLVIKNEEYFEFVQNRNN 1300
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the filling of the invention to modify the ribonucleoprotein of Gordon et al. with the teaching of Liu et al. for the purpose of a ribonucleoprotein comprising Applicant’s SEQ ID NO:15 that would be utilized in the method of genome editing.
Obvious over Gordon et al. and further in view of Davis et al., Novina et al., Chen et al., George et al. and Zhang et al.
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordon et al., and further in view of Davis et al., and further in view of Novina et al. and further in view of Chen et al. and further in view of George et al. and further in view of Zhang et al. (US Patent No.: US 9, 790, 490 B2, Publication Date: Oct. 17, 2017).
Regarding claims 1, Gordon et al., Davis et al., Novina et al., Chen et al., and George et al. teaches a ribonucleoprotein complex comprising Cas12a, a linker having 95% identity to SEQ ID NO:3, a HUH nuclease and a guide RNA (claims 1), see analysis above.
Regarding claim 4, Applicant’s SEQ ID NO:2 as FBNYV HUH nuclease and Gordon et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 7 has 100% sequence identity, see snippet below. Applicant describes SEQ ID NO: 20 is Cys-free LbCas12a:Linker:FBNYV. Furthermore, Zhang et al. teaches a modified Cas12 a protein as SEQ ID NO:106 that has 99.2% identity to applicant’s SEQ ID NO:1 that is the cas12a (i.e. Cpf1) derived from Lachnospiraceae bacterium ND2006 (col. 8, lines 46-66, col. 417, lines 25-66). Therefore someone skilled in the art would utilize such modified Cas12a in their composition of genome editing nucleic acid.
Therefore Gordon et al. and further in view of Novina et al., George et al., Chen et al. and Zhang et al. teaches the sequence having 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 20. For example the SEQ ID NO: 20 is 1341 amino acids long which comprise applicant’s linker sequence SEQ ID NO: 3 taught by Novina et al., George et al., Chen et al. which has 16 amino acid sequences, Cas12a is 1227 amino acid long as SEQ ID NO:1 and it is taught by Zhang et al. and HUH nuclease as SEQ ID NO: 2 is 98 amino acids and it is taught by Gordon et al. which would make a sequence 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 20.
Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 1 to the iaa__le40000 database:
RESULT 7
US-14-975-085A-109
(NOTE: this sequence has 128 duplicates in the database searched)
Sequence 109, US/14975085A
Patent No. 9790490
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: ZHANG, FENG
APPLICANT: ZETSCHE, BERND
APPLICANT: SLAYMAKER, IAN
APPLICANT: GOOTENBERG, JONATHAN S.
APPLICANT: ABUDAYYEH, OMAR O.
TITLE OF INVENTION: NOVEL CRISPR ENZYMES AND SYSTEMS
FILE REFERENCE: 47627.05.2123
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/14/975,085A
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2015-12-18
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/232,067
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2015-09-24
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/205,733
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2015-08-16
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/201,542
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2015-08-05
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/193,507
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2015-07-16
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/181,739
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2015-06-18
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 1595
SEQ ID NO 109
LENGTH: 1228
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Unknown
FEATURE:
OTHER INFORMATION: Description of Unknown:
Lachnospiraceae bacterium sequence
Query Match 99.2%; Score 6308; Length 1228;
Best Local Similarity 99.3%;
Matches 1218; Conservative 0; Mismatches 9; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 SKLEKFTNLYSLSKTLRFKAIPVGKTQENIDNKRLLVEDEKRAEDYKGVKKLLDRYYLSF 60
|||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2 SKLEKFTNCYSLSKTLRFKAIPVGKTQENIDNKRLLVEDEKRAEDYKGVKKLLDRYYLSF 61
Qy 61 INDVLHSIKLKNLNNYISLFRKKTRTEKENKELENLEINLRKEIAKAFKGNEGYKSLFKK 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 62 INDVLHSIKLKNLNNYISLFRKKTRTEKENKELENLEINLRKEIAKAFKGNEGYKSLFKK 121
Qy 121 DIIETILPEFLDDKDEIALVNSFNGFTTAFTGFFDNRENMFSEEAKSTSIAFRIINENLT 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||
Db 122 DIIETILPEFLDDKDEIALVNSFNGFTTAFTGFFDNRENMFSEEAKSTSIAFRCINENLT 181
Qy 181 RYISNMDIFEKVDAIFDKHEVQEIKEKILNSDYDVEDFFEGEFFNFVLTQEGIDVYNAII 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 182 RYISNMDIFEKVDAIFDKHEVQEIKEKILNSDYDVEDFFEGEFFNFVLTQEGIDVYNAII 241
Qy 241 GGFVTESGEKIKGLNEYINLYNQKTKQKLPKFKPLYKQVLSDRESLSFYGEGYTSDEEVL 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 242 GGFVTESGEKIKGLNEYINLYNQKTKQKLPKFKPLYKQVLSDRESLSFYGEGYTSDEEVL 301
Qy 301 EVFRNTLNKNSEIFSSIKKLEKLFKNFDEYSSAGIFVKNGPAISTISKDIFGEWNVIRDK 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 302 EVFRNTLNKNSEIFSSIKKLEKLFKNFDEYSSAGIFVKNGPAISTISKDIFGEWNVIRDK 361
Qy 361 WNAEYDDIHLKKKAVVTEKYEDDRRKSFKKIGSFSLEQLQEYADADLSVVEKLKEIIIQK 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 362 WNAEYDDIHLKKKAVVTEKYEDDRRKSFKKIGSFSLEQLQEYADADLSVVEKLKEIIIQK 421
Qy 421 VDEIYKVYGSSEKLFDADFVLEKSLKKNDAVVAIMKDLLDSVKSFENYIKAFFGEGKETN 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 422 VDEIYKVYGSSEKLFDADFVLEKSLKKNDAVVAIMKDLLDSVKSFENYIKAFFGEGKETN 481
Qy 481 RDESFYGDFVLAYDILLKVDHIYDAIRNYVTQKPYSKDKFKLYFQNPQFMGGWDKDKETD 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 482 RDESFYGDFVLAYDILLKVDHIYDAIRNYVTQKPYSKDKFKLYFQNPQFMGGWDKDKETD 541
Qy 541 YRATILRYGSKYYLAIMDKKYAKSLQKIDKDDVNGNYEKINYKLLPGPNKMLPKVFFSKK 600
||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 542 YRATILRYGSKYYLAIMDKKYAKCLQKIDKDDVNGNYEKINYKLLPGPNKMLPKVFFSKK 601
Qy 601 WMAYYNPSEDIQKIYKNGTFKKGDMFNLNDLHKLIDFFKDSISRYPKWSNAYDFNFSETE 660
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 602 WMAYYNPSEDIQKIYKNGTFKKGDMFNLNDCHKLIDFFKDSISRYPKWSNAYDFNFSETE 661
Qy 661 KYKDIAGFYREVEEQGYKVSFESASKKEVDKLVEEGKLYMFQIYNKDFSDKSHGTPNLHT 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 662 KYKDIAGFYREVEEQGYKVSFESASKKEVDKLVEEGKLYMFQIYNKDFSDKSHGTPNLHT 721
Qy 721 MYFKLLFDENNHGQIRLSGGAELFMRRASLKKEELVVHPANSPIANKNPDNPKKTTTLSY 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 722 MYFKLLFDENNHGQIRLSGGAELFMRRASLKKEELVVHPANSPIANKNPDNPKKTTTLSY 781
Qy 781 DVYKDKRFSEDQYELHIPIAINKAPKNIFKINTEVRVLLKHDDNPYVIGIDRGERNLLYI 840
||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 782 DVYKDKRFSEDQYELHIPIAINKCPKNIFKINTEVRVLLKHDDNPYVIGIDRGERNLLYI 841
Qy 841 VVVDGKGNIVEQYSLNEIINNFNGIRIKTDYHSLLDKKEKERFEARQNWTSIENIKELKA 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 842 VVVDGKGNIVEQYSLNEIINNFNGIRIKTDYHSLLDKKEKERFEARQNWTSIENIKELKA 901
Qy 901 GYISQVVHKIVELVEKYDAVIALEDLNSGFKNSRVKVEKQVYQKFEKMLIDKLNYMVDKK 960
|||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 902 GYISQVVHKICELVEKYDAVIALEDLNSGFKNSRVKVEKQVYQKFEKMLIDKLNYMVDKK 961
Qy 961 SNPSATGGALKGYQITNKFESFKSMSTQNGFIFYIPAWLTSKIDPSTGFVNLLKTKYTSI 1020
||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 962 SNPCATGGALKGYQITNKFESFKSMSTQNGFIFYIPAWLTSKIDPSTGFVNLLKTKYTSI 1021
Qy 1021 ADSKKFISSFDRIMYVPEEDLFEFALDYKNFSRTDADYIKKWKLYSYGNRIRIFRNPKKN 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1022 ADSKKFISSFDRIMYVPEEDLFEFALDYKNFSRTDADYIKKWKLYSYGNRIRIFRNPKKN 1081
Qy 1081 NVFDWEEVPLTSAYKELFNKYGINYQQGDIRALLLEQSDKAFYSSFMALMSLMLQMRNSI 1140
|||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1082 NVFDWEEVCLTSAYKELFNKYGINYQQGDIRALLCEQSDKAFYSSFMALMSLMLQMRNSI 1141
Qy 1141 TGRTDVDFLISPVKNSDGIFYDSRNYEAQENAILPKNADANGAYNIARKVLWAIGQFKKA 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1142 TGRTDVDFLISPVKNSDGIFYDSRNYEAQENAILPKNADANGAYNIARKVLWAIGQFKKA 1201
Qy 1201 EDEKLDKVKIAISNKEWLEYAQTSVKH 1227
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1202 EDEKLDKVKIAISNKEWLEYAQTSVKH 1228
Obvious over Gordon et al. and further in view of Gordon et al, Gordon’395 et al., Davis et al., Novina et al., Chen et al, and George et al.
Claims 1, 5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordon et al., and further in view of Davis et al., and further in view of Novina et al. and further in view of Chen et al. and further in view of George et al. and further in view of Gordon’395 et al. (US Patent Application Publication No.: US 2016/0340395 A1, Publication Date: Nov. 24, 2016).
Regarding claims 1, 5, Gordon et al., Davis et al., Novina et al., Chen et al., and George et al. teaches a ribonucleoprotein complex comprising Cas12a, a template nucleic acid and a linker having 95% identity to SEQ ID NO:3, a HUH nuclease and a guide RNA (claims 1), see analysis above.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Gordon et al. Davis et al., Novina et al., Chen et al., and George et al. fails to expressly teach wherein the template nucleic acid molecule comprises a nucleic acid sequence encoding an origin of replication (ori).
Gordon’395 et al. teaches a nucleic acid sequence encoding an origin of replication (ori) (Para. [0024]) there are many examples of HUH endonucleases ... each with its own specific target sequence ... A panel of exemplary HUH-endonuclease is provided in Table 1, wherein Table 1 of University of Minnesota '395 includes HUH tag: PCV2; and Ori. Sequence: agtatt/accagaaa (SEQ ID NO: 12); slash(/) denotes site of cleavage by endonuclease ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the ribonucleoprotein taught by Gordon et al. Davis et al., Novina et al., Chen et al., and George et al. to include a nucleic acid sequence encoding an ori as a template nucleic acid molecule, since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art (Gordon et al., Pg. 3, Lns. 10-13, a RNP molecular complex ... include a recombinant Cas9/HUH tag fusion polypeptide, a gRNA that recognizes a specific site in the genome of a cell, and a piece of DNA containing a single-stranded target sequence recognized by the HUH tag; Pg. 5, Lns. 13-16, Cas9- PCV fusions were complexed with a gRNA targeted to the 3' end of GAPDH and reacted with a 200 bp ssODN ... containing (PCV+ ssODN) a 5' PCV target sequence to allow covalent tethering to the HUH tag.
Obvious over Gordon et al. and further in view of Davis et al., Novina et al., Chen et al., George et al., and Bagemann et al.
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordon et al., and further in view of Davis et al., and further in view of Novina et al. and further in view of Chen et al. and further in view of George et al. and further in view of Bagemann et al. (Published Year: 2017, Journal: Scientific Reports, Vol.7, pages: 1-6).
Regarding claim 13, Gordon et al., Davis et al., Novina et al., Chen et al., and George et al. teaches a ribonucleoprotein complex comprising Cas12a, a linker having 95% identity to SEQ ID NO:3, a HUH nuclease and a guide RNA (claims 1) and method of generating edits by contacting a DNA molecule with the ribonucleoprotein, and the method would further comprise a template nucleic acid molecule interacting with the HUH nuclease (claim 13), see analysis above.
Regarding claim 19 , Gordon et al., Davis et al., Novina et al., Chen et al., and George et al. does not expressly teach can be applicable to a rice plant cell. Gordon et al. further discloses wherein the cell is a prokaryotic cell or a eukaryotic cell (Pg. 20, Lns. 23-24, This document also provides methods for modifying the genetic material of a cell (e.g., a plant cell, an animal cell, or a bacterial, yeast).
Davis et al. teaches their engineered nuclei acid in a plant cell (page 6, paragraph 0054 and 0055).
However, a method of generating an edit in a target DNA molecule of a rice plant comprising providing a rice plant cell polypeptides of a Cas12a (i.e. cpf1) nuclease and a guide nuclei acid and a template nucleic acid where in the ribonucleoprotein generates at least one edit in the garget DNA within the rice plant cell was taught by Bagemann et al. (Bagemann et al., page 1, Abstract). Furthermore, Bagemann teaches further refinements and broad adoption of the Cpf1 (i.e. Cas12a genome editing technology have the potential to make a dramatic impact on plant biotechnology (Bagemann et al., page 1, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the host cell of Gordon et al., Davis et al., Chen et al, Novina et al. and George et al., with the teaching of Bagemenn et al. for the purpose of developing a method of generating an edit in a target DNA of a rice plant using a Cas12a, a HUH nuclease, a gRNA, a template nuclei acid and a linker with reasonable expectation of improvement on genome editing in a Rice plant.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,371,695 B2 (Hereafter referenced as ‘695).
Regarding claims 1-10, Patent ‘695 claim 1 teaches a ribonucleoprotein comprising Cas12a as SEQ ID NO:1, a linker as SEQ ID NO:3 and HUH nuclease and at least a guide nuclei acid. Claim 2 teaches HUH nuclease has SEQ ID NO: 2. Claim 3 recites recombinant polypeptide is SEQ ID NO:20. Claims 4-7 recite the ribonucleoprotein further comprise a template nucleic acid which comprise origin of replication as SEQ ID NO:12. Claim 8-9 recite a host cell or a plant cell comprising the ribonucleoprotein.
The order of the ribonucleoprotein would have been obvious to try to find the best order to use it, for example, for gene editing and even the Cas12a is cysteine free it is within 95% identity to Cas12a of SEQ ID NO:1.
Regarding claims 11-24, the patent ‘695 claim 10 recite method of generating edit, a mutation, a integration using the ribonucleoprotein and claims 11- 21 method to use in a cell wherein the edit is in non-genic or genic DNA and the cell is corn plant cell.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Examiner’s Contact Information
/SANTOSH SHARMA/ Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/Amjad Abraham/ SPE, Art Unit 1663