DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ran (US 20220299781) in view of Kassner et al. (US 20210247617).
As to claim 1, Ran discloses a head-mounted display device (Fig. 1(100), [0069]: head-mounted display (HMD) can be a VR glass, an AR glass, etc.), comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1(10): first housing assembly, [0069]);
a main circuit board (Fig. 1(80): motherboard, [0069]);
at least two camera components (Fig. 16(71, 72): TOF camera 71 and RGB camera 72, [0114]: camera assembly 70 includes TOF camera 71 and RGB camera 72);
wherein the main circuit board (Fig. 1(80): motherboard) and the at least two camera components (Fig. 16(71, 72): TOF camera 71 and RGB camera 72) are provided in the housing (Figs. 1(10): first housing assembly); and
each camera component (Fig. 16(71, 72): TOF camera 71 and RGB camera 72) is electrically connected to the main circuit board (Fig. 1(80): motherboard) through a corresponding flexible connecting member (FIGS. 21-23, [0147] – [0149]: as shown in FIGs. 16, 21 and 22, an upper end formed by the FPC 722 and the FPC 713 connected together and an upper end of the FPC 733 may be connected to the motherboard 80, to enable transmission of electrical current and/or signals).
Ran does not explicitly teach at least two flexible connecting members respectively connected in correspondence with the at least two camera components; at least two of the flexible connecting members are stacked and insulated from each other; and the at least two flexible connecting members are in a bent state.
Kassner teaches at least two flexible connecting members respectively connected in correspondence with at least two camera components ([0472]: right eye camera controller board 874 is connected with the right camera 24 via a part of the flexible cable 873 or a further flexible cable);
flexible connecting members are stacked and insulated from each other ([0468]: flexible cable 871 may e.g. be made from flexible stranded insulated wire, flexible coaxial cables, or flexible circuitry (flex-PCB) based on Kapton or other polymeric material (flex circuit cable)); and
flexible connecting members are in a bent state (Fig. 9A: flexible cable 871 shown in bent state near the end).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ran’s head-mounted display device by incorporating Kassner’s idea of using insulated, flexible, and bendable connecting members that can be stacked and bent in order to minimize device size.
As to claim 10, Ran teaches the head-mounted display device according to claim 1, wherein the main circuit board and the flexible connecting member are connected by the plug-in interface ([0172]: first electrical connection portion 2132 includes a wiring portion 2132a connected to the motherboard 80; the wiring portion 2132a can be a plugging interface).
Ran does not specifically teach camera component and the flexible connecting member are connected by a plug-in interface.
Kassner teaches the camera component and the flexible connecting member are connected by a plug-in interface ([0456]: plug connection 860, 861 can be provided for electrical connecting the scene camera 806 with internal electronic components; “plug connection 860” is interpreted as “plug-in interface”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ran’s head-mounted display device by adapting Kassner’s idea of having plug-in interface to connect camera component in order to provide user flexibility.
As to claim 13, Ran (as modified by Kassner) teach the head-mounted display device according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a front housing, a middle housing and a rear housing connected in sequence (Ran: Fig. 21), the camera component (Ran: Fig. 21(70): camera assembly) is mounted on the front housing, and the main circuit board (Ran: Fig. 21(80): motherboard) is mounted on the middle housing (Ran: Fig. 21).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ran (US 20220299781) in view of Kassner et al. (US 20210247617) and in further view of Farrell et al. (US 20250085475).
As to claim 4, Ran (as modified by Kassner) teach the head-mounted display device according to claim 1, further comprising a display screen ([0069], [0071]: display), wherein the main circuit board (Fig. 1(80): motherboard) is electrically connected to the head-mounted display device (Fig. 1, [0069]).
Ran (as modified by Kassner) do not expressly teach the main circuit board is electrically connected with a capacitor, a central axis of the capacitor is parallel to the main circuit board, and the capacitor is connected to the display screen through the main circuit board.
Farrell teaches the main circuit board is electrically connected with a capacitor, and the capacitor is connected to the display screen through the main circuit board ([0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head-mounted display device of Ran (as modified by Kassner) by incorporating Farrell’s idea of connecting the capacitor to the display screen through the main circuit board in order to provide current and/or voltage stabilization (see Farrell: [0109]).
Ran (as modified by Kassner and Farrell) do not expressly teach a central axis of the capacitor is parallel to the main circuit board.
However, it is a design choice to have a central axis of the capacitor is parallel to the main circuit board in order to simplify the circuit design.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-9, 11-12 and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AFROZA CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628