DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to Application #19/251,410 filed on 26 June 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “226” has been used to designate both “piston tube” and “piston head”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Element 226 is referred to as both the piston head and the piston housing in paragraph 35.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 8,826,792 issued to Granger.
Regarding Claim 1, Grainger discloses a paintball marker comprising:
a housing (fig.3, the marker);
a combustion chamber defined within the housing (7);
a piston movable within the housing (9);
a bolt (30) driven by combustion within the combustion chamber (the bolt is driven by combustion that occurs within the combustion chamber see at least column 7 lines 38-40);
a fuel system in fluid communication with the combustion chamber (fuel 14 via fuel container 13);
an oxidizing system in fluid communication with the combustion chamber (2 via tank 1); and
an ignition system configured to ignite a mixture of fuel and oxidizing agent in the combustion chamber (at least column 7 lines 5-10)
, wherein combustion of the mixture drives the piston to actuate the bolt (at least column 7 lines 38-40).
Regarding Claims 4-5, Grainger discloses a fuel reservoir (13) and fuel valve (5), an oxidizing agent reservoir (1) and valve (4).
Regarding Claim 6, Grainger discloses a separation assembly configured to keep the fuel and oxidizing agent separate until combustion is desired (via fuel reservoir 13 and oxidizer reservoir 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Grainger discloses the separation assembly comprises a solenoid valve controlled by an electronic controller (at least column 6 lines 56-58).
Regarding Claim 8, Grainger discloses a paintball marker device comprising:
a housing (fig.3, the marker);
a first chamber containing an oxidizing agent (1);
a second chamber containing a fuel (13);
a separation assembly configured to keep the oxidizing agent and fuel separate during a first stage (the tanks are separated);
a combustion chamber (7);
a valve system configured to selectively allow the oxidizing agent and fuel to enter the combustion chamber during a second stage (column 3 lines 55-57); and
an ignition system configured to ignite a mixture of the oxidizing agent and fuel in the combustion chamber (at least column 7 lines 5-10; fig.3, 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Grainger discloses a piston movable within the housing (9), driven by combustion in the combustion chamber (at least column 7 lines 26-29).
Regarding Claim 11, Grainger discloses the separation assembly comprises a solenoid valve controlled by an electronic controller (at least column 6 lines 56-58).
Regarding Claim 12, Grainger discloses a first oxidizing agent valve and a second fuel valve (valves 4 and 5 see at least column 6 lines 18-26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 8,826,792 issued to Grainger.
Regarding Claim 13, Grainger discloses the first and second valves are solenoid valves (at least column 6 lines 56-58), but does not specifically disclose: actuated by a single solenoid. However, Grainger discloses solenoid valves and utilizing a single valve would have been an obvious engineering design choice to one having ordinary skill to reduce the level of complexity and number of overall components in the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Claims 2-3, 10, 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892 for pertinent art.
/JOHN COOPER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641