Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al., US 20220030232 A1 “Hu”.
A bit stream generated by a method, the method comprising… is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bit stream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 20 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no fictional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by REFERENCE which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream (Hu, para. 32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyce et al (US Pub. No.: 20120230431, “Boyce”), In view of Yin et al. "Adaptive Filter Shape Switch for ALF" 1-53 Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-TSG 16 WP3 and ISOAEC JTC1/SC 29 26th Meeting, JVET-Z0149-v1, 14 April 2022 (2022-04-14) (IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Boyce discloses a method for processing video data (BOYCE, Abstract, System and methods for video decoding include receiving at least one
Dependency Parameter Set (DPS); and determining at least one inter-layer dependency
based on the received DPS. Systems and methods for video encoding include selecting a
layering structure; encoding at least one Dependency Parameter Set (DPS) including a
representation of the layering structure in a binary format; and including the encoded DPS in a bitstream or sending the encoded DPS out of band); determining at least one inter-layer dependency
based on the received DPS. Systems and methods for video encoding include selecting a
layering structure; encoding at least one Dependency Parameter Set (DPS) including a
representation of the layering structure in a binary format; and including the encoded DPS
in a bitstream or sending the encoded DPS out of band) comprising:
receiving a video bitstream (i.e. video decoding after receiving as cited above);
extracting a video syntax (i.e. Fig. 6, syntax element) from the video bitstream, comprising:
It is noted that BOYCE is silent about as determining to employ an adaptive loop filter (ALF) with at least one extended tap and at least one spatial tap; and performing a conversion between a visual media data and a bitstream based on the ALF as claimed.
However, YIN disclose determining to employ an adaptive loop filter (ALF) (use in an adaptive loop filter (ALF): as cited below, i.e. luma filters in ALF) with at least one extended tap (as cited below, i.e. The number of coefficients that need to be trained and signaled for a luma filter is 22 for both the filter shapes. Please note that these 22 taps, see BOYCE, pg. 1-2) and at least one spatial tap ((With AFSS, two candidate filter shapes: a diamond shape as shown in YIN, Figure2-1,which is currently applied in ECM and a cross shape as shown in Figure2-2, which is newly introduced, can be adaptively selected by the luma filters in ALF. The number of coefficients that need to be trained and signaled for a luma filter is 22 for both the filter shapes. Please note that these 22 taps are constituted with 20 spatial taps and 2 offline-trained-filters based taps in both of the filter shapes. In each APS, a shape index for the online trained luma filters is signaled to decoder. Each APS contains the luma filters that are associated with the filter shape index. For each CTB, an APS index is signaled to indicate which luma filter shape is used to filter the current CTB. When filtering a luma sample, the coefficients and clip indices are also rearranged according to the corresponding filter shape. It should be noted that all the sample positions of spatial taps in the newly introduced filtering shape may also be accessed by an existing fixed filter in the current ALF); and performing a conversion between a visual media data (i.e. media data with luma data) and a bitstream (i.e. the data formed into a bitstream after passing the ALF) based on the ALF.
Both BOYCE and YIN teach systems with video encoder and decoder, and those systems are comparable to that of the instant application. Because the two cited references are analogous to the instant application, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to include in the BOYCE disclosure, filtering design, as taught by BOYCE. Such inclusion would have increased the usefulness of the system by improving the video processing efficient, and would have been consistent with the rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results to show a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP 2143(I)(A)) under KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, BOYCE/YIN, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one spatial tap receives values of reconstructed spatial neighbor samples after application of a deblocking filter (DBF), a sample adaptive offset (SAO) filter, or a bilateral filter (BF); or wherein the at least one spatial tap receives only neighbor luma samples to filter a central luma sample inside the ALF; or wherein the at least one spatial tap receives only neighbor chroma samples to filter a central chroma sample inside the ALF (YIN, pg. 1 and 2, citing both luma and chroma components).
Regarding claim 4, BOYCE/YIN, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the ALF filter with the at least one extended tap is only applied to process a luma component or only applied to process one chroma component (YIN, pg. 1 and 2, citing both luma and chroma components).
Regarding claim 7, BOYCE/YIN, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the spatial tap employs a diamond shape or a cross shape, and wherein the at least one extended tap employs a diamond shape or a cross shape (see rejection of claim 1, YIN, pg. 1 and 2, citing Diamond shape).
Regarding claim 16, BOYCE/YIN, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the visual media data into the bitstream (BOYCE, see rejection of claim 1 about encoding into bitstream)
Regarding claim 17, BOYCE/YIN, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes decoding the visual media data from the bitstream (BOYCE, see rejection of claim 1 about encoding into bitstream)
Regarding claim 18, BOYCE/YIN, for the same motivation of combination, discloses an apparatus for processing video data comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor: determine to employ an adaptive loop filter (ALF) with at least one extended tap and at least one spatial tap; and perform a conversion between a visual media data and a bitstream based on the ALF (this claim recited similar limitation as claim, see rejection of claim 1)
Regarding claim 19, BOYCE/YIN, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising instructions that cause a processor to perform the method of claim 1 (this claim recited similar limitation as claim, see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 20, BOYCE/YIN, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by a video processing apparatus, wherein the method comprises: determining to employ an adaptive loop filter (ALF) with at least one extended tap and at least one spatial tap; and generating the bitstream based on the ALF (this claim recited similar limitation as claim, see rejection of claim 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-6, and 8-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20200366891 A1 MULTIPLE ADAPTIVE LOOP FILTER SETS FOR VIDEO CODING
US 20200344494 A1 ADAPTIVE LOOP FILTER SET INDEX SIGNALING
US 10708622 B2 Adaptive loop filtering (ALF) for video coding
/FRANK F HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485