DETAILED ACTION
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it recites “said” in line 2 (replace with –the--). Re line 1, delete “that” and re line 4 replace “that” with – that is-- A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 5, 6, 8, 9, 14, 15, 17, 15, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12367360. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variants, wherein re claim 9 of the instant Application, the heat shield is read on by the dissipating rivet of Patent claim 15.
Claim 1 of the instant Application recites “A casing… a first portion… attach to a mobile device… includes an internal battery… scan an image… image contains a decodable indicia… external battery in the second portion… powers the scanning device and charges the internal battery…” wherein claim 1 of the ‘360 Patent recites “…casing… partially enclose a mobile device… includes an internal battery… scan an image… images comprises a decodable indicia… external battery in the casing… powers the scanning device and charges the internal battery…”
Claims 2-10 of the instant Application, respectively recite “top cover”, “unobstructed”, “second portion”, “15 degree”, “scan button”, “belt rivet”, “standby button”, “battery life”, “heat”, and “(ABS)”, wherein claims 5, 6, 8, 9, 14, 15, 17, 15, and 19 of the Patent recites “top cover”, “unobstructed”, “ second portion”, “15 degree”, “scan button”, “belt rivet”, “standby button”, “battery life”, “heat”, and “(ABS)”
Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “A casing for a data entry and scanning apparatus” but the claim does not recite a “data entry and scanning apparatus” but instead recites a mobile device and a scanning device which is vague/ indefinite and the dependent claims are rejected at least based on their dependency.
Claim 8 recites a button accessible through a top cover which is vague and indefinite since the claim should be rewritten as a casing claim wherein the casing has a top cover with an opening therein that enables access to the data entry and scanning apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yashiki et al. (US 2014009995).
Re claim 1, Yashiki et al. teaches:
A casing for a data entry and scanning apparatus comprising:
a first portion configured to attach a mobile device, wherein the mobile device includes an internal battery (FIG. 1 wherein mobile device is 10 and has a battery (paragraph [0037] and a first portion such as near 3/5/6);
a second portion comprising a scanning device, wherein, in an operational configuration in which the mobile device is attached to the casing, the scanning device is configured to scan an image and output data to the mobile device, wherein the image contains decodable indicia (FIG. 3, step S102+ and S104+ wherein a barcode is read from the connected terminal 10 per paragraphs [0049], [0052], [0069]), and though silent to the reader being in the second portion, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be int eh second portion as one of two possible options, (top and bottom) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to choose of the known possible solutions such as for design variation, ease of use, space for electronics, etc.); and
an external battery in the second portion, wherein the external battery is in electrical communication with the scanning device and the internal battery of the mobile device, and wherein the external battery powers the scanning device and charges the internal battery of the mobile device (charging control unit 74 controls charging of a battery of the portable terminal 10 paragraph [0059] and paragraph [0037]] teaches a battery can be applied as a power supply of the scanner device 1).
Re claim 2, the casing has a top and bottom of the housing and thus has a top and bottom cover.
Re claim 3, the top cover of device 10 (casing) has an input opening such as connector 5 so that the mobile device is unobstructed when connected (FIG. 1).
Re claim 4, the second portion has a (the bottom base of 1 is the second portion) is curved/ shaped to facilitate support by a user.
Re claim 5, the mobile device is held at an angle (FIG. 1+), and while silent to 15 degrees, the selection of an angle value (optimum value/ range) when an angle is taught is within the ordinary skill in the art to ease of use/ ease of reading/ design variation that involves only routine skill in the art and not unexpected results. An image held in front of the casing (parallel) would be at an angle to the portable device.
Re claim 6, input button 3b reads on such limitations.
Re claim 8, the limitations are drawn to a mobile device which are not germane to the casing. Nonetheless, as the mobile device is on the mounting portion 6 the mobile device is accessible through a top cover of the casing. Though silent to a standby button on the mobile device, it would have been obvious to have a standby button as known to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to reduce energy consumption as is common practice. The display is accessible through a top cover as it is accessible through use of a top cover.
Re claim 9, heat can also be deflected from the back 6 which supports the device 10 and heat from the rear of the device, for example. Contact points have not been defined, so the presence of the backing can read on such limitations.
Re claim 10, though silent to PC and ABS, the Examiner note that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to use a preferred material(s) for the expected benefits, such as low cost, durability, weight, etc.
Claims 7 and 9 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yashiki et al., as discussed above, in view of Conti et al. (US 20090168337).
Re claim 7, the teachings of Yashiki et al. have been discussed above but are silent to belt rivets.
Conti et al. teaches the use of rivets as fasteners (paragraph [0035]+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings to use known techniques for fastening for expected results.
Re claim 9, belt rivets are interpreted to function as a heat shield to dissipate/ deflect heat.
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20130013813) in view of Yashiki et al., as discussed above.
Lee teaches a first portion with an internal battery (FIG. 7A+ such as 234/205 to connect to a mobile device with an internal batter);
A second portion with a scanning device to scan image and output data to the mobile device including decodable indicia (FIG. 7C and barcode scanner 204/214);
An external battery in the second portion in communication the scanning device and internal battery of the mobile device (paragraph [0041]+ and 223 wherein there is USB connector for both sled and mobile device charging and paragraph [0008]+ which teaches a supplemental battery back in the sled to charge the mobile device) battery in the sled that allows a user to charge the smart phone port that connects the sled with the ) but is silent to the external battery both powering the scanning device and charging the mobile device.
Yashiki et al. teaches such limitations as discussed above.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for more convenience of providing power to both devices.
Re claim 2, fig. 7C+ teaches a top and bottom cover.
Re claim 3, input openings are in the top cover such as the side openings on the top cover (FIG. 7C).
Re claim 4, FIG. 1B+ teaches curved shapes, as does Yashiki et al., as discussed above.
Re claim 5, a 15 degree angle has been discussed above, such as for imaging convenience.
Re claim 6, button 200 reads on such limitations and also has been taught above with Yashiki et al.
Re claim 8, the limitations are drawn to a mobile device which are not germane to the casing. Nonetheless, as the mobile device is on the mounting portion 6 the mobile device is accessible through a top cover of the casing. Though silent to a standby button on the mobile device, it would have been obvious to have a standby button as known to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to reduce energy consumption as is common practice. The display is accessible through a top cover as it is accessible through use of a top cover.
Re claim 9, heat can also be deflected from the top (FIG. 7A+) which supports the device and heat from the rear of the device, for example. Contact points have not been defined, so the presence of the backing can read on such limitations.
Re claim 10, though silent to PC and ABS, the Examiner note that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to use a preferred material(s) for the expected benefits, such as low cost, durability, weight, etc.
Claims 7 and 9 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lee, as discussed above, in view of Conti et al., as discussed above.
Re claim 7, the teachings of Lee have been discussed above but are silent to belt rivets.
Conti et al. teaches the use of rivets as fasteners (paragraph [0035]+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings to use known techniques for fastening for expected results.
Re claim 9, belt rivets are interpreted to function as a heat shield to dissipate/ deflect heat.
Conclusion
/DANIEL I WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876