DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-24 & 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUR`701, Pub. No. US 20210331701 A1 in view of AUSTIN et al., Pub. No.: US 20220024280 A1.
Regarding claim 21, HUR`701 discloses an apparatus of controlling an in-car temperature of an autonomous vehicle ([0851] “The sensing unit 120 may sense the state of the vehicle. The sensing unit 120 may include an attitude sensor …, a location module, …, an in-vehicle temperature sensor, an in-vehicle humidity sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, an illumination sensor, an accelerator pedal location sensor, and a brake pedal location sensor.”).
HUR`701 is not explicit on “environmental information around the autonomous vehicle”, however, AUSTIN et al., US 20220024280 A1, teaches SYSTEM AND METHOD OF GREEN TEMPERATURE OPTIMIZATION IN A VEHICLE and discloses, the apparatus comprising:
a sensor device provided in the autonomous vehicle and configured to obtain environmental information around the autonomous vehicle ([0040] A passenger vehicle 100 may further include sensors such one or more thermometers for monitoring the cabin environmental conditions …may also include video cameras and infrared thermometer sensors … internal sensors, ... the vehicle engine may include various sensors for pressure, temperature, … temperature in the cabin may be measured as a heat map that is determined by several infrared thermometers positioned throughout the cabin.” & [0042] A control module 105 of a vehicle, also referred to as an Electronic Control Unit (ECU), may control vehicle functions”), ([0045] “The dynamic information may include sensor output information including environmental condition, LiDAR data, radar data, camera video data, GPS navigation information. The GPS information may also provide information about vehicle environment based on the location of the vehicle.” & [0046] “a driver or vehicle user may use the green temperature control to monitor the interior of the vehicle” & [0047] “sensor readings may be received from external sensors as information about the external environment of the vehicle.” & [0084] “The optimal parking spot may be determined not only on using meteorological information (sun trajectory, ambient temperature) but also static objects (buildings or trees, e.g., that provide shade) and dynamic conditions … The circuitry 105, 250 uses external vehicle sensors (e.g., cameras, LiDAR, radar, ultrasonic, GPS, etc.) to scan the external environment. The circuitry 105, 250 may determine the trajectory of the sun, the time of day, structures in and around the parking lot (e.g., buildings, trees, vehicles, etc.), heights of the structures, where shadows will occur, etc.).” & [0085] “the vehicle may use sensors to monitor the external environment. … Exterior conditions may include ambient temperature, whether the vehicle is in a shaded location or is exposed to direct sunlight, … the shaded condition is due to a nearby vehicle, nearby trees or bushes, or a building structure.” & [0086] “the external environment is monitored to predict the effects on the internal environment of the vehicle, including radiant heat from direct sunlight.” & [0094]-[0096] “the sensor data may include image data of objects that are nearby the vehicle. The objects may include stationary objects or movable objects.” & [0098] “The target parking spot may be determined not only on using meteorological information (sun trajectory, ambient temp) but also information of static objects (buildings or trees, e.g., that provide shade) and information on dynamic conditions (like nearby vehicles that provide shade but may be moved).” & [0102] “a sensor that detects an object (an obstacle or white lines) around the vehicle 100 and a sensor that is used for detecting whether or not the vehicle 100 is in contact with the obstacle. ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by AUSTIN et al. with the system disclosed by HUR`701 in order to provide a temperature optimization system to minimize temperature fluctuations in the vehicle, uses external vehicle sensors to scan the external environment. The circuitry may determine structures in and around the parking lot (e.g., buildings, trees, vehicles, etc.), heights of the structures, where shadows will occur, etc. The mobile application 413 may advise the driver or vehicle user where to park (e.g., next to a building, next to a large vehicle, etc.) to minimize temperature changes (see Abstract & para. [0001] & 90084]).
Further HUR`701 discloses;
a communication device configured with communicate with a control server ([0080] “a service system including a surveillance camera system, a service provider server, and a management server connected to a communication system and providing at least one vehicle service”); and
a controller electrically connected to the sensor device ([0778] The sound output unit 252 converts an electrical signal from the processor 270 or the controller 170 into an audio signal, and outputs the audio signal.” & [0780] “user interface device 200 may operate under control of the controller 170 or a processor of a different device inside the vehicle 100.” ) and
configured to transmit the environmental information related to the autonomous vehicle to the control server through the communication device ([0093] The autonomous vehicle transmits specific information to the 5G network (S1). & [0097] The 5G network may transmit information (or signal) related to remote control to the autonomous vehicle (S3). & [0109] “FIG. 3 shows an example in which … and the DL grant receiving process of the autonomous vehicle and 5G communication are combined through the process of S20 to S26” & [0118] Also, the autonomous vehicle receives a DL grant for receiving a response to specific information from the 5G network (S34).),
receive information related to parking position based on an in-car temperature and an outdoor temperature from the control server, through the communication device, and perform autonomous driving and autonomous parking according to the information related to the parking position ([0080] “data received from the management server on the display, and transmitting user data to the management server.” & [0850] The navigation system 770 may provide navigation information. The navigation information may include at least one of the following: map information, information on a set destination, information on a route to the set destination, information on various objects along the route, lane information, and information on the current location of a vehicle. ... The processor may control the operation of the navigation system 770. In some implementations, the navigation system 770 may update pre-stored information by receiving information from an external device through the communication device 400.” & [0851] The sensing unit 120 may sense the state of the vehicle. The sensing unit 120 may include an attitude sensor…, an in-vehicle temperature sensor, an in-vehicle humidity sensor, an ultrasonic sensor” & [0852] The sensing unit 120 may acquire sensing signals with regard to, for example, vehicle attitude information, vehicle collision information, vehicle driving direction information, vehicle location information (GPS information), … in-vehicle temperature information, in-vehicle humidity information, steering-wheel rotation angle information, out-of-vehicle illumination information, information about the pressure applied to an accelerator pedal, and information about the pressure applied to a brake pedal. The information acquired by the sensing unit 120 may be included in vehicle traveling information. & [0853] The sensing unit 120 may further include, for example,… an Air Temperature Sensor (ATS), a Water Temperature Sensor (WTS)” & [0937] After receiving all the previously registered vehicle services, the vehicle 100 autonomously travels to the parking lot 10, searches for an empty space, and is parked therein under the control of the management server 40. In the case of the vehicle 100 parked in the parking lot 10, when the user requests a real-time situation on the UX screen, the management server 40 may transmit parking position information of the vehicle 100 to the user terminal 50 in order to inform the user about the current parking location of the vehicle. & [0957] “When the vehicle 100 is in the parking mode and the user requests parking information on the UX screen (S764), the UX may display parking information regarding a parking position of the vehicle 100 received from the management server 40 (S770)”).
Regarding claim 22, HUR`701 discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the controller is configured to perform autonomous exit, when an exit command is received from the control server through the communication device and to perform internal air conditioning control based on a target temperature ([0759] The input unit 210 is configured to receive a user command from a user, and data collected in the input unit 210 may be analyzed by the processor 270 and then recognized as a control command of the user. & [0824] The maneuvering device 500 is configured to receive a user command for driving the vehicle 100.” & [0826] The steering input device 510 may receive a user command for steering of the vehicle 100.” & [0845] The operation system 700 is a system for controlling the overall operation of the vehicle 100. The operation system 700 may operate in an autonomous driving mode. The operation system 700 may include the driving system 710, the parking-out system 740, and the vehicle parking system 750.”).
Regarding claim 23, HUR`701 discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the controller is configured to redetermine the in-car temperature, based on a time when a part or all of the autonomous vehicle is disposed in a shadow generated by a surrounding building or a surrounding object and an initial in-car temperature, when performing the autonomous driving or the autonomous parking in the parking position ([0851] “The sensing unit 120 may include an attitude sensor … an in-vehicle temperature sensor” & [0852] “The sensing unit 120 may acquire sensing signals with regard to, for example, … in-vehicle temperature information … The information acquired by the sensing unit 120 may be included in vehicle traveling information.” & [0853] “The sensing unit 120 may further include, for example, … an Air Temperature Sensor (ATS),”).
Regarding claims 24 & 35, HUR`701 discloses a system & a method for controlling an in-car temperature of an autonomous vehicle, the system & the method comprising:
a control server configured to determine an in-car temperature of the autonomous vehicle, select a parking position based on the in-car temperature, an outdoor temperature, and transmit information related to the parking position ( See claim 1 disclosure : “[0080], [0851]-[0853], [0937] & [0957]; “a service system …, a service provider server, and a management server”); and
the autonomous vehicle including a controller configured to perform autonomous driving and autonomous parking according to the information related to the parking position ( See claim 1 disclosure : “[0937] & [0957]; the vehicle 100 autonomously travels to the parking lot 10, searches for an empty space, and is parked therein under the control of the management server 40. … the management server 40 may transmit parking position information of the vehicle 100 to the user terminal 50” & [0957] “the UX may display parking information regarding a parking position of the vehicle 100 received from the management server 40 (S770)”).
Claims 25-34 & 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUR`701, Pub. No. US 20210331701 A1 in view of AUSTIN et al., Pub. No.: US 20220024280 A1, further in view of CHELIAN`001, Pub. No.: US 20190382001 A1.
Regarding claims 25-34 & 36-40, HUR`701 discloses the system of claim 24 & the method of claim 35.
HUR`701 is not explicit on “select ... parking position”, however, CHELIAN`001, US 20190382001 A1, teaches AUTOMATED EXPLOITATION OF SHADE-GIVING STRUCTURES and discloses;
(claim 25) wherein the control server is configured to select the one or more parking positions corresponding to a destination or a re-riding position, based on a distance away from the destination or the re-riding position,
(claims 26 & 36-37) wherein the control server is configured (the selecting of the parking position by the control server includes): to compare a difference between the in-car temperature and a target temperature with a difference between an outdoor temperature (according to a re-riding time) and the target temperature to select the parking position
(claims 27 & 37-38) wherein the control server is configured to select a parking position having the in-car temperature closest to the target temperature as the parking position, when there is a parking position where a value obtained by subtracting the difference between the in-car temperature and the target temperature from the difference between the outdoor temperature and the target temperature is greater than a threshold.
(claims 28 & 37-38) wherein the control server is configured to select a temporary parking position, based on a distance away from the destination or the re-riding position, when there is no parking position where a value obtained by subtracting the difference between the in-car temperature and the target temperature from the difference between the outdoor temperature and the target temperature is greater than a threshold,
(claim 29) wherein the control server is configured to select a parking position having the in-car temperature closest to the target temperature as the parking position, when there is the parking position where the value obtained by subtracting the difference between the in-car temperature and the target temperature from the difference between the outdoor temperature and the target temperature is greater than the threshold, when the autonomous vehicle is parked in the temporary parking position and configured to transmit information related to the parking position to the autonomous vehicle, and wherein the controller of the autonomous vehicle is configured to perform the autonomous driving and the autonomous parking in the parking position in a state where the autonomous vehicle is parked in the temporary parking position.
([0015] “the mobile machines may be autonomous or semi-autonomous with respect to moving between geographic positions. Alternatively, the mobile machines may be human-operated between geographic positions. Examples of mobile machines may include robots, drones, self-driving cars, human-operated cars, equipment (e.g., construction/maintenance equipment such as a backhoe, a street-sweeper, a steam roller, etc.), storage pods (e.g., a transportable storage unit, etc.), or any other suitable devices configured to move between geographic positions.” & [0021] “the parking area constraint may include non-visual designations of the parking area/parking position that may be sensed or determined, such as …, temperatures, altitudes, air density, air quality, etc. For example, the mobile machine may park, for example, where: …, ambient air temperature is within a certain temperature range, charging apparatuses are available, etc. & [0028] “another type of input used to determine the selectable parking positions 125 may include the mobile machine parameters 110a. The mobile machine parameters 110a may include, for example, a current temperature of the mobile machine, a predicted temperature of the mobile machine, a target temperature of the mobile machine, …, or any other suitable parameter used to determine the selectable parking positions 125.” & [0029] “the current temperature of the mobile machine may correspond to one or both of a current component temperature of a component of the mobile machine and a current ambient air temperature of an interior of the mobile machine. For example, the current component temperature may be a real-time temperature that corresponds to one or more components of the mobile machine. The components of the mobile machine may be inside the mobile machine (e.g., the interior of the mobile machine) or outside the mobile machine (e.g., an exterior of the mobile machine). The interior of the mobile machine may include any portion of the mobile machine within an exterior of the mobile machine. & [0030] In some embodiments, the predicted temperature of the mobile machine may correspond to one or both of a predicted component temperature of a component of the mobile machine and a predicted ambient air temperature of an interior of the mobile machine. For example, the predicted component temperature may include a forecasted temperature, a typical temperature, or a historical temperature that corresponds to one or more components of the mobile machine. & [0031] “the target component temperature may be a temperature setting, a temperature goal, or a desired temperature that corresponds to one or more components of the mobile machine. In these or other embodiments, the current component temperature, the predicted component temperature, and the target component temperature may include or be represented by any of a temperature range, an estimated temperature, a minimum temperature, a maximum temperature, a change in temperature, etc. ).
(claim 30 & 39) wherein the controller of the autonomous vehicle is configured to redetermine the in-car temperature, based on a time when a part or all of the autonomous vehicle is disposed in a shadow generated by a surrounding building or a surrounding object and an initial in-car temperature, when performing the autonomous driving or the autonomous parking in the parking position ([0013] An amount of sunlight that irradiates a mobile machine (“irradiating sunlight”) may affect different parameters of the mobile machine. For example, the amount of irradiating sunlight may affect parameters of the mobile machine such as temperature and electrical output of solar panels (“solar panel output”) of the mobile machine. ... The amount of irradiating sunlight at a particular location may be affected by a position of the sun with respect to shade-providing objects that may at least partially block the sunlight (i.e., cast a shadow) that may irradiate the particular location.),
(claims 31 & 40) wherein the controller of the autonomous vehicle is configured to determine the time when the part or all of the autonomous vehicle is disposed in the shadow generated by the surrounding building or the surrounding object, based on a movement path of the sun identified based on at least one of a latitude, a longitude, an elevation angle, or an azimuth angle corresponding to a position of the autonomous vehicle. ([0020] “the parking area constraint may include metes and bounds of the parking area defining a spatial region available for parking the mobile machine and may include individual parking positions. For instance, metes and bounds may include or may be based relative to GPS coordinates, streets” & [0056] “given a geographic positioning (e.g., GPS coordinates) of the parking area as described in the parking area constraint, the GPS coordinates may correspond to one or more shade-providing objects in close proximity to the parking area that are configured to cast a shadow on the parking area.”),
(claim 32) wherein the control server is configured to determine whether there is a need to change a parking position of the autonomous vehicle, based on a difference between the redetermined in-car temperature and the target temperature ([0014] “parking the mobile machine in the shade (e.g., blocking some irradiant sunlight) may help achieve a target temperature. ... Additionally or alternatively, parking the mobile machine in the sunlight (e.g., outside of the shade) may help the mobile machine achieve the same or other target parameters such as a target solar panel output.” & [0028] “The mobile machine parameters 110a may include, for example, a current temperature of the mobile machine, a predicted temperature of the mobile machine, a target temperature of the mobile machine, the solar panel output of the mobile machine, …, or any other suitable parameter used to determine the selectable parking positions 125. & [0029] In some embodiments, the current temperature of the mobile machine may correspond to one or both of a current component temperature of a component of the mobile machine and a current ambient air temperature of an interior of the mobile machine. For example, the current component temperature may be a real-time temperature that corresponds to one or more components of the mobile machine.” & [0030] In some embodiments, the predicted temperature of the mobile machine may correspond to one or both of a predicted component temperature of a component of the mobile machine and a predicted ambient air temperature of an interior of the mobile machine. For example, the predicted component temperature may include a forecasted temperature, a typical temperature, or a historical temperature that corresponds to one or more components of the mobile machine. & [0031] In some embodiments, the target temperature of the mobile machine may correspond to one and both of a target component temperature of a component of the mobile machine or a target ambient air temperature of an interior of the mobile machine. For example, the target component temperature may be a temperature setting, a temperature goal, or a desired temperature … a temperature range, an estimated temperature, a minimum temperature, a maximum temperature, a change in temperature, etc. ),
(claim 33) wherein the controller of the autonomous vehicle is configured to redetermine the in-car temperature, with regard to at least one of a color of the autonomous vehicle, current weather, or a season ([0037] In some embodiments, one or more factors such as the factors 112a may affect the mobile machine parameters 110a and the mobile machine parameters 110b. For example, the factors 112a may include one or more of: a time of day of the time period, a time of year of the time period, current weather conditions of the parking area during the time period, a distance from a first target location to the parking area, and a distance from the parking area to a second target location, energy costs to move to or between various positions, and so on.),
(claim 34) wherein the control server is configured to transmit an exit command to the autonomous vehicle, when a time remaining until a re-riding time reaches a predetermined specific time, and wherein the controller of the autonomous vehicle is configured to perform autonomous exit, when the exit command is received, and configured to perform internal air conditioning control based on the target temperature.
([0013] An amount of sunlight that irradiates a mobile machine (“irradiating sunlight”) may affect different parameters of the mobile machine. For example, the amount of irradiating sunlight may affect parameters of the mobile machine such as temperature and electrical output of solar panels (“solar panel output”) of the mobile machine. ... The amount of irradiating sunlight at a particular location may be affected by a position of the sun with respect to shade-providing objects that may at least partially block the sunlight (i.e., cast a shadow) that may irradiate the particular location.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by CHELIAN`001 with the system disclosed by HUR`701 in order to provide a method obtaining a parking area constraint that delineates a parking area within which a mobile machine is designated to park; obtaining a time constraint with mobile machine parameters affected by an amount of sunlight that irradiates the mobile machine; determining, a first parking position within the parking area during the time period; determining, a second parking position within the parking area during the time period; identifying, shade-providing objects; determining shadow profiles automated exploitation of shade-giving structures (see Abstract & para.[0004]-[0005]).
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 24 & 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 & 15 of KIM, U.S. Patent No. US12/370,863. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because;
- modifying the instant claim element, such as; “parking position” from “optimal parking position or a temporal parking position selected”,
- modifying the instant claim element, such as; “an in-car temperature and an outdoor temperature” from “an expected in-car temperature and an outdoor air temperature”
- removing some claim elements,
- perfecting the claim language;
makes the claim language compact and broader but does not make patentable distinct from the parent patent claim (See below independent claims comparison table).
Claim comparison between instant application versus parent patent claims:
Instant App. # 19/ 251,560
Parent App. # 17/874,121
(Patent No.: US12/370,863)
Independent Claim 21
Independent Claim 1
21. An apparatus of controlling an in-car temperature of an autonomous vehicle, the apparatus comprising:
1. An apparatus of controlling an in-car temperature of an autonomous vehicle, the apparatus comprising:
a sensor device provided in the autonomous vehicle and configured to obtain environmental information around the autonomous vehicle;
a sensor device provided in the autonomous vehicle and configured to obtain environmental information around the autonomous vehicle,
wherein the environmental information includes a position, a size, and a height about a building or an object around the autonomous vehicle;
a communication device configured with communicate with a control server; and
a communication device configured with communicate with a control server; and
a controller electrically connected to the sensor device and configured to transmit the environmental information related to the autonomous vehicle to the control server through the communication device,
a controller electrically connected to the sensor device and configured to transmit the environmental information related to the autonomous vehicle to the control server through the communication device,
receive information related to parking position
receive information related to an optimal parking position or a temporal parking position selected
based on an in-car temperature and an outdoor temperature
based on an expected in-car temperature and an outdoor air temperature
according to a re-riding time of each of one or more parking positions corresponding to a destination or a re-riding position of the autonomous vehicle
from the control server, through the communication device, and
from the control server, through the communication device, and
perform autonomous driving and autonomous parking according to the information related to the parking position.
perform autonomous driving and autonomous parking according to the information related to the optimal parking position or the temporary parking position.
Independent Claim 24
Independent Claim 4
24. A system for controlling an in-car temperature of an autonomous vehicle, the system comprising:
4. A system for controlling an in-car temperature of an autonomous vehicle, the system comprising:
a control server configured to determine an in-car temperature
a control server configured to determine an expected in-car temperature
according to a re- riding time of each of one or more parking positions corresponding to a destination or a re-riding position
of the autonomous vehicle,
of the autonomous vehicle
based on environmental information around the autonomous vehicle obtained by the autonomous vehicle,
select a parking position
select an optimal parking position or a temporary parking position
based on the in-car temperature, an outdoor temperature, and
based on the expected in-car temperature, an outdoor air temperature
according to the re-riding time, and a predetermined target temperature, and
transmit information related to the parking position; and
transmit information related to the optimal parking position or the temporary parking position
to the autonomous vehicle; and
the autonomous vehicle including a controller configured to perform autonomous driving and autonomous parking according to the information related to the parking position.
the autonomous vehicle including a controller configured to perform autonomous driving and autonomous parking according to the information related to the optimal parking position or the temporary parking positions
wherein the environmental information includes a position, a size, and a height about a building or an object around the autonomous vehicle.
Independent Claim 35
Independent Claim 15
35. A method for controlling an in-car temperature of an autonomous vehicle, the method comprising:
15. A method for controlling an in-car temperature of an autonomous vehicle, the method comprising:
determining, by a control server, an in-car temperature
determining, by a control server, an expected in-car temperature
according to a re-riding time of each of one or more parking positions corresponding to a destination or a re-riding position
of the autonomous vehicle;
of the autonomous vehicle,
based on environmental information around the autonomous vehicle obtained by the autonomous vehicle;
selecting, by the control server, parking position
selecting, by the control server, an optimal parking position or a temporary parking position
based on the in-car temperature and an outdoor temperature;
based on the expected in-car temperature and an outdoor air temperature
according to the re-riding time;
transmitting, by the control server, information related to the parking position to the autonomous vehicle; and
transmitting, by the control server, information related to the optimal parking position or the temporary parking position to the autonomous vehicle; and
performing, by a controller of the autonomous vehicle, autonomous driving and autonomous parking according to the information related to the parking position.
performing, by a controller of the autonomous vehicle, autonomous driving and autonomous parking according to the information related to the optimal parking position or the temporary parking position,
wherein the environmental information includes a position, a size, and a height about a building or an object around the autonomous vehicle.
Regarding dependent claims 22-23, 25-34 & 36-40; these claims are substantial duplicates of Parent Patent claims 2-3, 5-14 & 16-20.
The instant claims recitations are obvious variation of the Prior Patent claims recitation in which both claims are represented by common drawings and are comingled in scope as mapped out above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References cited.
/Jalal C CODUROGLU/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/DONALD J WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665