Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 06/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 11 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niemi (WO 2024222758 A1) in view of Sugawara et al. (US 20240147403 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Niemi teaches a method for a User Equipment (UE) (scenario 300 of an enhanced NAS procedure with a satellite in the S&F operation mode, Figs. 3A-B, [0027]), comprising:
initiating a first procedure to a first network, wherein the first procedure is an attach, tracking area update (TAU) procedure, or a service request procedure (UE initiates the initial registration/attach procedure by transmitting a REGISTRATION/ATTACH, step 302, [0027]);
receiving a configuration of a wait time for a Store and Forward (S&F) operation (the first satellite rejects the initial registration/attach procedure by transmitting a REGISTRATION/ATTACH REJECT message to the UE, and the REGISTRATION/ATTACH REJECT message includes at least a new reject cause (e.g., for indicating that the NAS procedure is not completed due to S&F operation) and a re-attempt assistance information (i.e., an indication for assisting the UE on subsequent re-attempts or resumptions of the NAS procedure) . In this scenario, the re-attempt assistance information includes a value of a timer for indicating when the UE is allowed to re-attempt or resume the NAS procedure, step 303, [0028]);
starting a first timer based on the wait time, wherein the UE is prohibited to initiate the first procedure to the first network for the S&F operation when the first timer is running (UE suspends/terminates the initial registration/attach procedure, and starts the timer with the value and the UE is not allowed to re-attempt or resume the NAS procedure before the timer expires, step 304, [0029]); and
wherein the second procedure is an attach, TAU procedure, or a service request procedure (UE re-attempts or resumes the initial registration/attach procedure by transmitting a REGISTRATION/ATTACH REQUEST message, step 308, [0030]).
However, Niemi does not clearly teach initiating a second procedure in a cell of a second network, while the first timer is running; and stopping the first timer when the first timer is running if the UE successfully completes the second procedure, wherein the second procedure is an attach, TAU procedure, or a service request procedure.
In an analogous art, Sugawara teaches teach initiating a second procedure in a cell of a second network, while the first timer is running (In a case of making emergency call during when the timer using the wait timer is running (that is, before expiration), the UE may select another PLMN and/or the same or a different RAT and perform the MM procedure and/or the SM procedure for the selected PLMN and RAT even before the timer expires, [0211]); and stopping the first timer when the first timer is running if the UE successfully completes the second procedure (Note that the UE may stop the timer after performing the MM procedure and/or the SM procedure…in a case that the control message received from the UE includes the information indicating that it is the emergency call via the satellite, the network (for example, the AMF and/or the SMF) may transmit, to the UE, the control message including information indicating allowing the emergency call via the satellite, [0211]), wherein the second procedure is an attach, TAU procedure, or a service request procedure (MM procedure is the registration procedure, [0211]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the store and forward method of Niemi with the timer of Sugawara to provide an overload control in the discontinuous coverage provided by NR satellite access for power saving enhancement in the UE as suggested, Sugawara [0008].
Regarding claim 2, Niemi as modified by Sugawara teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration of the wait time is included in a response message of the first procedure (the first satellite rejects the initial registration/attach procedure by transmitting a REGISTRATION/ATTACH REJECT message to the UE, and the REGISTRATION/ATTACH REJECT message includes at least a new reject cause (e.g., for indicating that the NAS procedure is not completed due to S&F operation) and a re-attempt assistance information (i.e., an indication for assisting the UE on subsequent re-attempts or resumptions of the NAS procedure) . In this scenario, the re-attempt assistance information includes a value of a timer for indicating when the UE is allowed to re-attempt or resume the NAS procedure, step 303, [0028]).
Regarding claim 3, Niemi as modified by Sugawara teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first procedure is for S&F operation (within the REGISTRATION/ATTACH REQUEST message, the UE may include its capability information indicating the UE’s ability to handle S&F operations, step 302, [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Niemi as modified by Sugawara teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second procedure is for normal service or not for S&F operation (UE re-attempts or resumes the initial registration/attach procedure by transmitting a REGISTRATION/ATTACH REQUESTmessage, [0030]).
Regarding claim 5, Niemi as modified by Sugawara teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first network is a satellite cell in S&F operation of a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) (e.g. NTN cell Niemi Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Niemi as modified by Sugawara teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the second network is not a satellite cell in S&F operation of the first PLMN (the third satellite also gets connected to the GS via the feeder link and the E-UTRAN AVs for the subscriber/UE are also uploaded to the third satellite, given that the third satellite is expected to fly over the area where the UE may re-attempt/resume the initial registration/attach procedure after the timer expires, [0030]).
Regarding claim 7, Niemi as modified by Sugawara teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first network is indicated by a list of satellite Identifications (IDs), and/or wherein the list of satellite IDs indicates one or more satellites over which the UE may not re-attempt the first procedure when the first timer is running (the re-attempt assistance information indicates a number of satellites in sequence that the UE needs to wait before re-attempting or resuming the NAS procedure, the UE may determine to re-attempt or resume the NAS procedure only in a satellite with the number of satellites next to the satellite where the NAS procedure is rejected, [0032]).
Regarding claim 9, Niemi t as modified by Sugawara teaches the method of claim 1. Niemi teaches wherein the second network is a satellite cell in normal service and/or a Terrestrial Network (TN) (NTN network of Niemi Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Niemi as modified by Sugawara teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the UE is allowed to initiate the first procedure to the first network after the first timer is expired (In step 306, the timer expires on the UE. From this point on, the UE knows that the initial registration/attach procedure can be re-attempted or resumed in any upcoming satellite cell of the PLMN, [0030]).
Regarding claim 11, Niemi teaches a User Equipment (UE) (UE of Fig. 5 performing method of Figs. 3A-3B), comprising: a memory (memory 51); and a processor operatively coupled with the memory (processor 512), wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code to:
initiate a first procedure to a first network, wherein the first procedure is an attach, tracking area update (TAU) procedure, or a service request procedure (UE initiates the initial registration/attach procedure by transmitting a REGISTRATION/ATTACH, step 302, [0027]);
receive a configuration of a wait time for a Store and Forward (S&F) operation (the first satellite rejects the initial registration/attach procedure by transmitting a REGISTRATION/ATTACH REJECT message to the UE, and the REGISTRATION/ATTACH REJECT message includes at least a new reject cause (e.g., for indicating that the NAS procedure is not completed due to S&F operation) and a re-attempt assistance information (i.e., an indication for assisting the UE on subsequent re-attempts or resumptions of the NAS procedure) . In this scenario, the re-attempt assistance information includes a value of a timer for indicating when the UE is allowed to re-attempt or resume the NAS procedure, step 303, [0028]);
start a first timer based on the wait time, wherein the UE is prohibited to initiate the first procedure to the first network for the S&F operation when the first timer is running (UE suspends/terminates the initial registration/attach procedure, and starts the timer with the value and the UE is not allowed to re-attempt or resume the NAS procedure before the timer expires, step 304, [0029]).
wherein the second procedure is an attach, TAU procedure, or a service request procedure (UE re-attempts or resumes the initial registration/attach procedure by transmitting a REGISTRATION/ATTACH REQUEST message, step 308, [0030]).
However, Niemi does not clearly teach initiating a second procedure in a cell of a second network, while the first timer is running; and stopping the first timer when the first timer is running if the UE successfully completes the second procedure, wherein the second procedure is an attach, TAU procedure, or a service request procedure.
In an analogous art, Sugawara teaches teach initiating a second procedure in a cell of a second network, while the first timer is running (In a case of making emergency call during when the timer using the wait timer is running (that is, before expiration), the UE may select another PLMN and/or the same or a different RAT and perform the MM procedure and/or the SM procedure for the selected PLMN and RAT even before the timer expires, [0211]); and stopping the first timer when the first timer is running if the UE successfully completes the second procedure (Note that the UE may stop the timer after performing the MM procedure and/or the SM procedure…in a case that the control message received from the UE includes the information indicating that it is the emergency call via the satellite, the network (for example, the AMF and/or the SMF) may transmit, to the UE, the control message including information indicating allowing the emergency call via the satellite, [0211]), wherein the second procedure is an attach, TAU procedure, or a service request procedure (MM procedure is the registration procedure, [0211]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the store and forward method of Niemi with the timer of Sugawara to provide an overload control in the discontinuous coverage provided by NR satellite access for power saving enhancement in the UE as suggested, Sugawara [0008].
Regarding claim 12, Niemi as modified by Sugawara teaches the UE of claim 11, wherein the configuration of the wait time is included in a response message of the first procedure (e.g., for indicating that the NAS procedure is not completed due to S&F operation) and a re-attempt assistance information (i.e., an indication for assisting the UE on subsequent re-attempts or resumptions of the NAS procedure) . In this scenario, the re-attempt assistance information includes a value of a timer for indicating when the UE is allowed to re-attempt or resume the NAS procedure, step 303, [0028]).
Regarding claim 13, Niemi as modified by Sugawara teaches the UE of claim 11, wherein the first procedure is for S&F operation (within the REGISTRATION/ATTACH REQUEST message, the UE may include its capability information indicating the UE’s ability to handle S&F operations, step 302, [0027]).
Regarding claim 14, Niemi as modified by Sugawara teaches the UE of claim 11, wherein the second procedure is for normal service or not for S&F operation (UE re-attempts or resumes the initial registration/attach procedure by transmitting a REGISTRATION/ATTACH REQUEST message, [0030]).
Regarding claim 15, Niemi as modified by Sugawara teaches the UE of claim 11, wherein the first network is a satellite cell in S&F operation of a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) (NTN network of Niemi Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Niemi as modified by Sugawara teaches the UE of claim 15, wherein the second network is not a satellite cell in S&F operation of the first PLMN (the third satellite also gets connected to the GS via the feeder link and the E-UTRAN AVs for the subscriber/UE are also uploaded to the third satellite, given that the third satellite is expected to fly over the area where the UE may re-attempt/resume the initial registration/attach procedure after the timer expires, [0030]).
Regarding claim 17, Niemi as modified by Sugawara teaches the UE of claim 11, wherein the first network is indicated by a list of satellite Identifications (IDs), and/or wherein the list of satellite IDs indicates one or more satellites over which the UE may not re-attempt the first procedure when the first timer is running (the re-attempt assistance information indicates a number of satellites in sequence that the UE needs to wait before re-attempting or resuming the NAS procedure, the UE may determine to re-attempt or resume the NAS procedure only in a satellite with the number of satellites next to the satellite where the NAS procedure is rejected, [0032]).
Regarding claim 19, Niemi as modified by Sugawara teaches the UE of The UE of wherein the second network is a satellite cell in normal service and/or a Terrestrial Network (TN) (NTN network of Niemi Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Niemi as modified by Sugawara teaches the UE of claim 1I. Niemi further teaches wherein the UE is allowed to initiate the first procedure to the first network after the first timer is expired (In step 306, the timer expires on the UE. From this point on, the UE knows that the initial registration/attach procedure can be re-attempted or resumed in any upcoming satellite cell of the PLMN, [0030]).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niemi in view of as Sugawara and further in view of Niemi et al. (US 20240014886 A1)(Hereinafter Niemi886).
Regarding claim 8, Niemi as modified by Chiba teaches the method of claim.
However, Niemi and Chiba do not teach Niemi further teaches wherein the second network is a second PLMN.
In an analogous art, Niemi886 teaches wherein the second network is a second PLMN (UE 110 may start (or auto-start) the same procedure when a corresponding suitable cell (from the same or different public land mobile network (PLMN) or from the same or different tracking area (TA)) is available again, Niemi [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the store and forward method of Niemi and Sugawara with the PLMN of Niemi886 to provide a method to improvement to signaling over satellite access in mobile communications as suggested, Niemi [0006].
Regarding claim 18, Niemi as modified by Sugawara teaches the UE of claim 17.
However, Niemi and Sugawara do not teach Niemi further teaches wherein the second network is a second PLMN.
In an analogous art, Niemi886 teaches wherein the second network is a second PLMN (UE 110 may start (or auto-start) the same procedure when a corresponding suitable cell (from the same or different public land mobile network (PLMN) or from the same or different tracking area (TA)) is available again, Niemi [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the store and forward method of Niemi and Sugawara with the PLMN of Niemi886 to provide a method to improvement to signaling over satellite access in mobile communications as suggested, Niemi [0006].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dong (US 20230388955 A1): A tracking-area update method, performed by UE, and including: reporting auxiliary information, the auxiliary information includes location information and movement information of the UE; the auxiliary information is configured to determine whether the UE is located in a boundary of two Tracking Areas by a core network.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641