DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in People's Replubic of China on July 1, 2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202410875926.9 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “distributor”, “plurality of interfaces”, “distribution passage” recited in claim 9, line 2, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, line 8, the recitation “and the second valve core” should read –[[and]] the second valve core--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the same mounting end” in line 11; however, the claim is unclear as to if this refers to the “mounting end” recited in claim 1, line 2, or a different mounting end therefrom.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the first passage” in line 7; however, the claim is unclear as to if this recitation refers to a single one, some or each of the “one or more first passages” recited in claim 7, line 3.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the second passage” in line 7; however, the claim is unclear as to if this recitation refers to a single one, some or each of the “one or more second passages” recited in claim 7, line 5.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the interfaces" in line 5; however, the claim is unclear as to if this recitation refers to some or each of the “plurality of interfaces” recited in claim 9, line 3, or different interfaces therefrom.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the same mounting end” in line 14; however, the claim is unclear as to if this refers to the “mounting end” recited in claim 11, line 2, or a different mounting end therefrom.
Claims 2-6, 8, 10 and 12-20 are rejected because they depend on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US3126915 (“Hunt”).
Regarding claim 1, Hunt discloses a reversing valve, comprising: a valve body (mainly defined by “10” and “11”) comprising a valve cavity (cavity defined by bore “13”) and a mounting end (top end of body “11” enclosed by cap “12”) in communication with the valve cavity; a first valve seat (“36”) and a second valve seat (“35”), the first valve seat and the second valve seat being arranged opposite one another within the valve cavity; and a first valve core (“42”), the first valve core being movably disposed between the first valve seat and the second valve seat and configured to be separated from one of the first valve seat and the second valve seat when abutting against a remaining one of the first valve seat and the second valve seat (see positions illustrated in figs. 1 and 2), wherein the first valve seat, the second valve seat, and the first valve core are configured to be inserted into the valve cavity via the same mounting end (sleeve defined by members “20”, “21” and “22”, and first valve core “42” can be removed by removal of cap “12”).
Regarding claim 2, Hunt discloses a third valve seat (“37”), the third valve seat and the first valve seat (“36”) being arranged facing away from each other (in the upwards and downwards, respectively, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) within the valve cavity (cavity defined by bore “13”); and a second valve core (“43”) fixedly connected to the first valve core (“42”; see fig. 1) within the valve cavity, and wherein: the second valve core is configured to be separated from the third valve seat (see position of fig. 1) when the first valve core abuts against the first valve seat, and the second valve core is configured to abut against the third valve seat (see fig. 2) when the first valve core abuts against the second valve seat.
Regarding claim 3, Hunt discloses a fourth valve seat (“38”), and the third valve seat (“37”) and the fourth valve seat are arranged opposite one another (see fig. 1) within the valve cavity (cavity defined by bore “13”), the second valve core (“43”) is movably disposed between the third valve seat and the fourth valve seat and is configured to be separated from one of the third valve seat and the fourth valve seat when abutting against the other of the third valve seat and the fourth valve seat (see positions of figs. 1 and 2), and the second valve core is configured to abut against the fourth valve seat when the first valve core abuts against the first valve seat (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Hunt discloses at least a portion of the first valve seat (“36”) and at least a portion of the third valve seat (“37”) are integrally formed (integrally formed as sleeve “21”; see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Hunt discloses a pilot valve (defined mainly by solenoid “50”, valve core “48” and valve seats “45” and “59”) for adjusting a position (between positions of figs. 1 and 2 via piston “41”) of the first valve core (“42”), the pilot valve comprising a pilot valve core (“58”) arranged coaxially with the first valve core (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Hunt discloses the first valve seat (“36”) is constructed by a first valve sleeve (“21”), and the second valve seat (“35”) is constructed by a second valve sleeve (“20”) independent of the first valve sleeve.
Regarding claim 7, Hunt discloses the first valve sleeve (“21”) and the second valve sleeve (“22”) are cylindrical (fitted to interior of bore “13”), the first valve sleeve is provided with one or more first passages (“31”) extending through a circumferential wall of the first valve sleeve along a radial direction of the first valve sleeve (see fig. 1), the second valve sleeve is provided with one or more second passages (“29” and/or “30”) extending through a circumferential wall of the second valve sleeve along a radial direction of the second valve sleeve (see fig. 1), and the first passage is configured to be in communication with the second passage (flow is permitted through openings “30” and “31” in position of fig. 2) when the first valve core (“42”) abuts against the second valve seat (“35”).
Regarding claim 8, Hunt discloses a valve stem (stem connecting first valve core “42” and second valve core “43”), the valve stem being disposed on a radially inner side of the first valve sleeve (“21”) and supporting the first valve core (“42”), the valve stem and the first valve seat jointly defining a third passage (passage communicating between openings “30” and “31”; see position of fig. 2), and the first passage (“31”) is configured to be in communication with the second passage (“30”) via the third passage when the first valve core (“42”) abuts the second valve seat (“35”).
Regarding claim 9, Hunt discloses a thermal management system, comprising: a distributor (“10”) comprising a plurality of interfaces (seals “19” for each of ports “115”, “116”, “117” and “118”) and a distribution passage (“215”, “216”, “217” and/or “218”) connected between the plurality of interfaces (via bore “13” and openings “15”, “16”, “17” and/or “18”); and the reversing valve being connected to the distribution passage via the interfaces (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Hunt discloses at least a portion of the valve body (mainly defined by “10” and “11”) is integrally formed with at least a portion of the distributor (“10”).
Regarding claim 11, Hunt discloses a reversing valve, comprising: a valve body (mainly defined by “10” and “11”) comprising a valve cavity (cavity defined by bore “13”) and a mounting end (top end of body “11” enclosed by cap “12”) in communication with the valve cavity; a coil (“53”) fixed to the valve body; an armature (“58”) disposed within the coil and configured to be moved via the coil along an axial direction (vertical direction, relative to the orientation of fig. 1); a first valve seat (“35”) and a second valve seat (“36”), the first valve seat and the second valve seat being arranged opposite one another within the valve cavity (see fig. 1); and a first valve core (“42”), the first valve core being movably disposed between the first valve seat and the second valve seat (between positions illustrated in figs. 1 and 2) and configured to be separated from one of the first valve seat and the second valve set when abutting against a remaining one of the first valve seat and the second valve seat, wherein the first valve seat, the second valve seat, and the first valve core are configured to be inserted into the valve cavity via the same mounting end (sleeve defined by members “20”, “21” and “22”, and first valve core “42” can be removed by removal of cap “12”).
Regarding claim 12, Hunt discloses wherein: in a first mode (see fig. 2) of the reversing valve, the armature (“58”) is in an upper position (abutting seat “59”) and the first valve core (“42”) is abutted with the first valve seat (“35”); and in a second mode (see fig. 1) of the reversing valve, the armature is in a lower position (abutting seat “45”) and the first valve core is abutted with the second valve seat (“36”).
Regarding claim 13, Hunt discloses the coil (“53”) is fixed to the mounting end (top end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) of the valve body (mainly defined by “10” and “11”).
Regarding claim 14, Hunt discloses a third valve seat (“38”) disposed in the valve cavity (cavity defined by bore “13”); and a second valve core (“43”) movably disposed in the valve cavity, the second valve core configured to abut with the third valve seat (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Hunt discloses the second valve core (“43”) is fixedly connected to the first valve core (“42”; see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Hunt discloses the second valve seat (“36”) is integral with (via nested configuration of sleeve portions “21” and “22”; see fig. 1) the third valve seat (“38”).
Regarding claim 17, Hunt discloses in a first mode (see fig. 2) of the reversing valve, the armature (“58”) is in an upper position (abutting seat “59”) and the first valve core (“42”) is abutted with the first valve seat (“35”); and in a second mode (see fig. 1) of the reversing valve, the armature is in a lower position (abutting seat “45”) and: i) the first valve core is abutted with the second valve seat (“36”), and ii) the second valve core (“43”) is abutted with the third valve seat (“38”).
Regarding claim 18, Hunt discloses a fourth valve seat (“37”) configured to abut with the second valve core ( “43”).
Regarding claim 19, Hunt discloses in the first mode (see fig. 2) of the reversing valve, the second valve core (“43”) is abutted with the fourth valve seat (“37”) and not the third valve seat (“38”).
Regarding claim 20, Hunt discloses the first valve seat (“35”), the second valve seat (“36”), the third valve seat (“38”), and the fourth valve seat (“37”) are coaxial (along central longitudinal axis of shaft “40”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US3318333 discloses a multi-way valve having at least one seat sleeve. US4469134, US6810911 and US2867237 discloses a multi-way valve having a valve member with a bore extending therethrough.
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753