Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-12, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US-2025/0239423) in view of Bruwer et al. (US-2024/0371563).
In regards to claim 1, Lu teaches a switch device, comprising a circuit board having a through hole running through the circuit board [fig. 2 elements 10 (circuit board) and 15 (through hole), par. 0024 L. 5-7, par. 0026 L. 8-10]. Lu further teaches that the switch device comprises a lower cover located over a coil structure and an upper cover disposed on the lower cover [fig. 2 elements 20 (coil structure), 33 (upper cover),40 (lower cover), par. 0027 L. 1-9, par. 0030 L. 1-2, par. 0035 L. 1-2]. Also, Lu teaches that the lower cover and the upper cover define an accommodating space [fig. 3]. Furthermore, Lu teaches that the switch device comprises an elastic part located in the accommodating space [fig. 2 element 37, fig. 3 element 37, par. 0031 L. 1-6]. Lu also teaches that the switch device comprises a sliding part passing through an opening of the upper cover and configured to slide relative to the lower cover along a direction [figs. 2-4 element 32, par. 0030 L. 7-10]. Furthermore, Lu teaches that the sliding part is configured to drive the elastic part to pass through the through hole along the direction to generate a switch signal corresponding to an inductance variance of the coil structure [figs. 3-4 element 15 and 20 (through hole), 32 (sliding part), 37 (elastic part), par. 0036 L. 11-24].
Lu teaches that the switch device comprises a coil structure disposed in the through hole of the circuit board [figs. 2-3 elements 15 and 20]. However, Lu does not teach that the coil structure surrounds the through hole.
On the other hand, Bruwer teaches that the coil structure is disposed on the circuit board and surrounding the through hole [fig. 1a element 14, par. 0009 L. 2-5, par. 0040, par. 0041 L. 7-8].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Bruwer’s teachings of disposing the coil structure on the circuit board and surrounding the through hole in the switch device taught by Lu because it increase the homogeneous space of the magnetic flux that can be affected by the interfering member [see Bruwer par. 0009 L. 2-5].
In regards to claim 2, the combination of Lu and Bruwer, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, further teaches that the coil structure comprises a first coil and a second coil respectively disposed on an upper surface and a lower surface of the circuit board [see Bruwer par. 0009 L. 2-5, par. 0041 L. 7-8].
In regards to claim 3, the combination of Lu and Bruwer, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, further teaches that an end of the elastic part is fixed to the lower cover [see Lu fig. 3 (lower end of spring 37 fixed to element 40)].
In regards to claim 4, the combination of Lu and Bruwer, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, further teaches that the lower cover comprises a sleeve located in the accommodating space, and an end of the elastic part is fixed to the sleeve [see Lu fig. 3 elements 37 and 41].
In regards to claim 5, the combination of Lu and Bruwer, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, further teaches that the sliding part comprises a main body [see Lu fig. 2 element 321]. Also, the combination teaches that the sliding part comprises a connecting portion disposed on a side of the main body away from the lower cover [see Lu figs. 2-3 element 32]. Furthermore, the combination also teaches that the sliding part comprises a shaft body disposed on a side of the main body close to the lower cover and passing through the elastic part [see Lu figs. 2-3 element 35].
In regards to claim 6, the combination of Lu and Bruwer, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, further teaches that the shaft body of the sliding part drives a portion of the elastic part to reciprocally move in the through hole [see Lu figs. 2-3 elements 35 and 37].
In regards to claim 7, the combination of Lu and Bruwer, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, further teaches that the elastic part comprises a plurality of turns [see Lu fig. 2 element 37]. Also, the combination teaches that the turns of a portion of the elastic part pass through the through hole [see Lu figs. 3-4 middle part of element 37]. Furthermore, the combination teaches that the turns of another portion of the elastic part connected to the portion are flattened against the lower cover [see Lu figs. 3-4 lower part of element 37 flattens against lower cover 40].
In regards to claim 11, Lu teaches a switch device, comprising a circuit board [fig. 2 elements 10 (circuit board), par. 0024 L. 5-7]. Lu further teaches that the switch device comprises a lower cover located over a coil structure and an upper cover disposed on the lower cover [fig. 2 elements 20 (coil structure), 33 (upper cover),40 (lower cover), par. 0027 L. 1-9, par. 0030 L. 1-2, par. 0035 L. 1-2]. Also, Lu teaches that the lower cover and the upper cover define an accommodating space [fig. 3]. Furthermore, Lu teaches that the switch device comprises an elastic part located in the accommodating space [fig. 2 element 37, fig. 3 element 37, par. 0031 L. 1-6]. Lu also teaches that the elastic part being separated from the coil structure by the lower cover [fig. 3 element 37 and 45]. Lu further teaches that the switch device comprises a sliding part passing through an opening of the upper cover and configured to slide relative to the lower cover along a direction [figs. 2-4 element 32, par. 0030 L. 7-10]. Lu teaches that two ends of the elastic part respectively abutting against the lower cover and the sliding part [fig. 3 (upper end of element 37 abutting against the sliding part 32 and lower end of element 37 abutting against the lower cover 40)]. Furthermore, Lu teaches that the sliding part is configured to drive the elastic part to stretch and contract along the direction to generate a switch signal corresponding to an inductance variance of the coil structure [figs. 3-4 element 15 and 20 (through hole), 32 (sliding part), 37 (elastic part), par. 0036 L. 11-24].
Lu teaches that the switch device comprises a coil structure disposed around a through hole of the circuit board [figs. 2-3 elements 15 and 20]. However, Lu does not teach that the coil structure is disposed on the circuit board.
On the other hand, Bruwer teaches that the coil structure is disposed on the circuit board [fig. 1a element 14, par. 0009 L. 2-5, par. 0040, par. 0041 L. 7-8].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Bruwer’s teachings of disposing the coil structure on the circuit board and surrounding the through hole in the switch device taught by Lu because it increase the homogeneous space of the magnetic flux that can be affected by the interfering member [see Bruwer par. 0009 L. 2-5].
In regards to claim 12, the combination of Lu and Bruwer, as shown in the rejection of claim 2 above, teaches the claimed limitations.
In regards to claim 16, the combination of Lu and Bruwer, as applied in the rejection of claim 11 above, further teaches that the sliding part comprises a main body [see Lu fig. 2 element 321]. Also, the combination teaches that the sliding part comprises a connecting portion disposed on a side of the main body away from the lower cover [see Lu figs. 2-3 element 32]. Furthermore, the combination also teaches that two ends of the elastic part respectively abut against the lower cover and the main body of the sliding part [see Lu fig. 3-4 (upper part of element 37 abuts against the main body of the sliding part) and lower part of element 37 abuts against the lower cover].
In regards to claim 17, the combination of Lu and Bruwer, as applied in the rejection of claim 16 above, further teaches that the elastic part comprises a first portion [see Lu figs. 3-4 (upper end of element 37)], a second portion connected to the first portion and located under the first portion [see Lu figs. 3-4 (middle part of element 37)] and a third portion connected to the second portion and located under the second portion [see Lu figs. 3-4 (lower end of element 37)]. The combination further teaches that the first portion of the elastic part abuts against the main body of the sliding part [see Lu figs. 3-4 (upper end of element 37)] and the third portion of the elastic part abuts against the lower cover [see Lu figs. 3-4 (lower end of element 37)].
In regards to claim 18, the combination of Lu and Bruwer, as applied in the rejection of claim 17 above, further teaches that the elastic part comprises a plurality of turns, an end of the turns of the second portion of the elastic part abuts against the lower cover, and the turns of the third portion of the elastic part are flattened against the lower cover [see LU fig. 4 (lower end of element 37 and middle part of element 37)].
In regards to claim 19, the combination of Lu and Bruwer, as applied in the rejection of claim 11 above, further teaches that the sliding part comprises a main body [see Lu fig. 2 element 321]. Also, the combination teaches that the sliding part comprises a connecting portion disposed on a side of the main body away from the lower cover [see Lu figs. 2-3 element 32]. Furthermore, the combination also teaches that the sliding part comprise a shaft body disposed on a side of the main body close to the lower cover and abutting against the elastic part [see Lu fig. 2 element 35, see fig. 3 (upper end of element 37 is abutted by upper end of shaft body)].
Claim(s) 9 and 20 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US-2025/0239423) in view of Bruwer et al. (US-2024/0371563) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rosenau et al. (US-8,259,456).
In regards to claim 9, the combination of Lu and Bruwer, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, further teaches that the sliding part comprises a main body [see Lu fig. 2 element 321]. Also, the combination teaches that the sliding part comprises a connecting portion disposed on a side of the main body away from the lower cover [see Lu figs. 2-3 element 32].
The combination also teaches that the sliding part comprises a shaft body disposed on a side of the main body close to the lower cover [see Lu figs. 2-3 element 35]. However, the combination does not teach that the shaft body abuts against the elastic part.
On the other hand, Rosenau teaches that the elastic part of a switch device that detects actuation via inductance variance can be a dome that gets pushed down by the shaft body of a sling part [figs. 1-2 elements 68 (shaft body) and 74 (elastic part), col. 3 L. 19-31]. This teaching means that the shaft body abuts against the elastic part.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Rosenau’s teachings of making the elastic part to be a dome that gets pushed down by the shaft body in the switch device taught by the combination because a dome provides reliable means to return the switch to its original position when it is not actuated while still providing inductance variance for detection of switch actuation.
In regards to claim 20, the combination of Lu and Bruwer, as applied in the rejection of claim 20 above, does not teach that the elastic part comprises two first portions, a second portion and a third portion.
On the other hand, Rosenau teaches that that an elastic part of an inductive switch device can comprises two first portions [fig. 2 elements 74B, col. 2 L. 33-36]. Also, Rosenau teaches that the elastic part comprises a second portion connected to the two first portions [fig. 2 arms of element 74]. Furthermore, Rosenau teaches that the elastic part comprises a third portion connected to the two first portions by the second portion and located between the two first portions [fig. 2 middle top of element 74]. Rosenau teaches that the shaft body abuts against the third portion of the elastic part, such that the third portion reciprocally moves relative to the two first portions along the direction [fig. 2 element 74, col. 3 L. 19-31]. Rosenau also teaches that the two first portions and the second portion of the elastic part are flattened against the surface where the elastic part is mounted when the shaft body of the sliding part abuts the third portion of the elastic part against the lower cover [fig. 2 element 74, col. 3 L. 19-31].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Rosenau’s teachings of making the elastic part to be a dome that gets pushed down by the shaft body in the switch device taught by the combination because a dome provides reliable means to return the switch to its original position when it is not actuated while still providing inductance variance for detection of switch actuation.
The combination of Lu, Bruwer and Rosenau teaches an elastic part comprising the claimed portions [see Rosenau fig. 2 element 74]. The combination does not teach that the two first portions are fixed to the lower cover, but the combination teaches that when the switch device comprises a lower cover, the elastic part can be mounted inside the lower cover [figs. 2-3 element 37 and 40]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to fix the two first portions to the lower cover when a lower cover is present because mounting the elastic part inside the lower cover still permits to detect inductance variance while protecting the elastic part from the external environment.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US-2025/0239423) in view of Bruwer et al. (US-2024/0371563) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Ruff (DE-102022107300B3).
In regards to claim 13, the combination of Lu and Bruwer, as applied in the rejection of claim 11 above, further teaches that the elastic part comprises a first elastic part [see Lu fig. 2 element 37]. However, the combination does not teach that the elastic part comprises a second elastic part surrounding the first elastic part.
On the other hand, Ruff teaches an inductive switch device comprising a second elastic part surrounding the first elastic part [fig. 6 elements 8a and 8b, par. 0017, par. 0019, par. 0071, par. 0072 L. 1-4].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Ruff’s teachings of making the elastic part to have a second elastic part that surrounds the first elastic part in the switch device taught by the combination because it will permit to not only detect actuation of the switch but also how hard the switch was actuated [see Ruff par. 0031 L. 5-11].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8, 10 and 14-15 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 8, the prior art cited in this office action does not teach either by anticipation or combination the following limitations: the elastic part comprises: a first portion fixed to the lower cover; a second portion connected to the first portion; and a third portion connected to the second portion and located over the through hole, wherein the first portion surrounds the third portion, wherein the shaft body of the sliding part drives the third portion of the elastic part to reciprocally move in the through hole, wherein the third portion of the elastic part passes through the through hole, and the second portion of the elastic part is flattened against the lower cover.
In regards to claim 10, the prior art cited in this office action does not teach either by anticipation or combination the following limitations: the elastic part comprises: a first portion fixed to the lower cover; a second portion connected to the first portion; and a third portion connected to the second portion and located over the through hole, wherein the shaft body of the sliding part abuts against the third portion of the elastic part, such that the third portion reciprocally moves relative to the first portion along the direction, wherein a part of the third portion of the elastic part passes through the through hole, and a remaining part of the third portion of the elastic part is flattened against the lower cover.
In regards to claim 14, the prior art cited in this office action does not teach either by anticipation or combination the following limitations: wherein two ends of the first elastic part respectively abut against the lower cover and the shaft body of the sliding part, an end of the second elastic part abuts against the lower cover, and another end of the second elastic part sleeves the main body of the sliding part.
In regards to claim 15, the claim would be allowable due to its dependency on claim 14.
.
Conclusion
/FRANKLIN D BALSECA/Examiner, Art Unit 2688