DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species H in the reply filed on August 3, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that generic claims 1-3, 10, and 13 are generic. The examiner finds this argument persuasive, and will examine these claims as generic to all species. Regarding applicant’s arguments that the Figures do not represent multiple embodiments, the applicant is directed to the language in the specification description of Figures which describes each Figure as relating to “some embodiments” indicating multiple embodiments.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 4, 7-8, 11-12, and 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on August 3, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 14, the limitation “a lingual side edge” should be worded as “a second lingual side edge” to avoid confusion with the lingual side edge introduced in line 5 and the limitation in line 16 “a buccal side edge” should be worded as “ a second buccal side edge” to avoid confusion with the buccal side edge cited in line 7. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 recites the limitation "one or more additional appliances" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2021/0315669 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang discloses an orthodontic treatment system (abstract), comprising a series of appliances configured to progressively implement a treatment plan on a set of teeth and gums (abstract), the series of appliances comprising at least a first appliance (Figure 2, X101) and a second appliance (Figure 2, X103), where the first appliance includes a first support portion (Figure 6A, 11) configured to be in contact with at least some of the teeth, the first support portion has a lingual side edge extending toward the gums to form a first inner wall to be arranged on a lingual side of a dental arch (as seen in Figure 6A, inner wall of appliance), and the first support portion has a buccal side edge extending toward the gums to form a first outer wall configured to be in contact with labial and buccal muscles (as seen in Figure 6B, outer wall of appliance), the first outer wall, the first support portion, and the first inner wall together define a first upper groove configured to limit an upper dental arch and a first lower groove configured to limit a lower dental arch (as seen in Figures 6A, 6B, and 7A, 7B the appliance forms an upper groove for the upper dental arch and a lower groove for the lower dental arch which are limited as seen in Figure 7C), and in a sagittal direction, an anterior region of the first upper groove is spaced apart from an anterior region of the first lower groove by a first distance configured for a first stage of the treatment plan (Figure 13A). Huang further discloses a second appliance (Figure 10, 20) that includes a second support portion configured to be in contact with at least some of the teeth, the second support portion has a lingual side edge extending toward the gums to form a second inner wall to be arranged on a lingual side of a dental arch, and the second support portion has a buccal side edge extending toward the gums to form a second outer wall configured to be in contact with the labial and buccal muscles, the second outer wall, the second support portion, and the second inner wall together define a second upper groove configured to limit the upper dental arch and a second lower groove configured to limit the lower dental arch (where all second elements are found in the second appliance as described in [0051 – 0052)], and in the sagittal direction, an anterior region of the second upper groove is spaced apart from an anterior region of the second lower groove by a second distance configured for a second stage of the treatment plan (Figure 5B), and the first distance differs from the second distance (as described in [0045] and Figs. 13a-b).
Regarding Claim 2, Huang discloses the orthodontic treatment system according to claim 1, wherein the second stage is subsequent to the first stage, and the second distance is less than the first distance (as described in [0056] and Figs. 13a-b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang.
Regarding Claims 3, Huang discloses the orthodontic treatment system of Claim 1 as described above and discloses that the relationship between the first distance of and expanding pace and the second distance of an expanding space is smaller than or equal to 0.4 times the first expanding space or larger than 0.2 times the first expanding space ([0020-0022]) depending on the teeth to me affected, but does not specifically disclose that the difference between the first distance and the second distance is in a range of 1 mm to 5 mm in response to the first stage and the second stage being adjacent stages of the treatment plan. However, as modification of the distance between the first expanding space and the second expanding space would merely involve routine skill in the art as a clinician would determine the appropriate and desired amount of movement based on the needs of the patient, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a difference in a range of 1mm to 5mm between the first distance and the second distance if that would be the most desirable range for the patient based on expected outcomes as such modification would merely involve the optimization of a result effective variable, which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A)).
Regarding Claim 10, Huang discloses the orthodontic treatment system of Claim 3 as described above but does not specifically disclose that a vertical height of an anterior region of the first support portion is equal to a vertical height of an anterior region of the second support portion. However, as modification of the vertical heights of the anterior region from the first support portion to the second support portion would merely involve routine skill in the art as a clinician would determine the appropriate and desired amount of spacing based on the needs of the patient, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a vertical height of an anterior region of the first support portion is equal to a vertical height of an anterior region of the second support portion if that would be the most desirable height for the patient based on expected outcomes as such modification would merely involve the optimization of a result effective variable, which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A)).
Regarding Claim 13, Huang discloses the orthodontic treatment system of Claim 1 as described above, and teaches use of one or more additional appliances ([0015] teaches a third orthodontic appliance), but does not specifically teach that the vertical heights of posterior regions of the first support portion, the second support portion, and one or more support portions of the one or more additional appliances progressively decrease as treatment progresses. However, as modification of the vertical heights of the anterior region from the first support portion to the second support portion would merely involve routine skill in the art as a clinician would determine the appropriate and desired amount of spacing based on the needs of the patient, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the vertical heights of posterior regions of the first support portion, the second support portion, and one or more support portions of the one or more additional appliances progressively decrease as treatment progresses if that would be the most desirable height relationship between components for the patient based on expected outcomes as such modification would merely involve the optimization of a result effective variable, which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A)).
Claims 5, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Bergersen (US 2005/0037311 A1).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Huang discloses the invention of Claim 1 substantially as described above, but does not teach a torque ridge on an inner surface of at least one of the first inner wall or the first outer wall and/or on an inner surface of at least one of the second inner wall or the second outer wall, where the torque ridge protrudes from the inner surface toward the teeth. In the same art of dental appliance, Bergersen teaches a torque ridge (Figure 35, rib 334) that protrudes from the inner surface of the inner wall toward the teeth. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Huang to add a torque ridge/rib as taught by Bergersen in order to increase lingual root torque of the upper or lower teeth (Bergersen [0249]).
Regarding Claim 9, Huang as modified by Bergersen discloses the invention of Claim 6 and Bergersen further discloses that the torque ridge may extend to one or more front upper or lower teeth. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the orthodontic appliance of Huang as modified by Bergersen to cover at least four teeth consecutively up to three teeth that are spaced if that was the optimum configuration for the best patient outcome as determined by the practitioner.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3772 /EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772