1-20Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 5/8/2026 has been entered. All previous objections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goldstein (US 6,571,788).
Claim 1: Goldstein discloses a blower (Figs. 1-5) comprising a housing (14/30) extending along an axial direction; a battery pack (54) detachably connected to the housing (as can be appreciated from Fig. 4); a drive assembly (40/48/46/50) at least partially housed within the housing; and a blow pipe assembly (note portion of 22) connected to the housing, wherein the housing comprises a connection portion (note transition portion 18) connected to the blow pipe assembly, a main body portion (14) connected to a rear end of the connection portion (Fig. 5), and a mounting portion (30) connected to the main body portion, and wherein the drive assembly comprises a motor (40) and a fan (46/48/50) driven by the motor to generate airflow flowing through the blow pipe assembly; wherein the main body portion comprises an air inlet (16) and a pre-intake region (note space behind 16) located axially behind the air inlet, wherein the pre-intake region is located on two sides of the mounting portion in a transverse direction perpendicular to the axial direction (Fig. 5); wherein the mounting portion (30) is located axially behind the air inlet and the pre-intake region (Fig. 5, note portion of 30 behind 16 and the air space immediately behind 16), the battery pack is detachably connected to the mounting portion along the axial direction (Fig. 5), and the air inlet and the pre-intake region are configured to open toward the mounting portion (Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN110158522A) in view of Shangguan (US20200198115).
Claim 1: Shangguan discloses a blower (Fig. 1) comprising a housing (13) extending along an axial direction; a drive assembly (11/12) at least partially housed within the housing; a main body portion (note main housing around 12) connected to a rear end of a connection portion (10), and a mounting portion (see Figure below) connected to the main body portion, and wherein the drive assembly comprises a motor (11) and a fan (12) driven by the motor to generate airflow flowing through the assembly (Figs. 1-2); wherein the main body portion comprises an air inlet (14) and a pre-intake region (note space upstream of 14) located axially behind the air inlet, wherein the pre-intake region is located on two sides of the mounting portion in a transverse direction perpendicular to the axial direction (Fig. 1); wherein the mounting portion is located axially behind the air inlet and the pre-intake region (Fig. 1), and the air inlet and the pre-intake region are configured to open toward the mounting portion (Fig. 1, both the air inlet and pre-intake region open towards the back which is towards the direction of the mounting portion).
Yang depicts using a battery pack that can be detachably connected to the housing (see pages 2-3 and Figure below) but is not explicit about the battery pack is detachably connected to the mounting portion along the axial direction. Yang is also not explicit about a blow pipe assembly connected to the housing, wherein the housing comprises a connection portion connected to the blow pipe assembly. However, Shangguan teaches a blower whose battery pack is detachably connected to the mounting portion along the axial direction (note in Fig. 1, battery pack receptacle at the back is situated to allow the battery pack to be detachably connected in the axial direction). Shangguan also teaches a blow pipe assembly (102) connected to a housing (10), wherein the housing comprises a connection portion (note connection portion between 10 and 102) connected to the blow pipe assembly. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize the batter pack placement and the blow pipe arrangement as taught by Shangguan into the apparatus of Yang in order to more easily remove the battery pack (as the removal would not need to overcome the force of gravity) as well as allow the airflow to be directed in a more targeted location.
Claim 2: Yang and Shangguan teach the previous limitations. Modified Yang further teaches that the air inlet and the pre-intake region are axially located between the mounting portion and the connection portion (as can be appreciated from Yang, Figure 1).
Claim 3: Yang and Shangguan teach the previous limitations. Modified Yang further teaches that the main body portion comprises a bearing wall located at the rear end thereof and connected to the mounting portion (see Figure above), wherein an axial spacing between the bearing wall and the air inlet forms the pre-intake region (Fig. 1).
Claim 4: Yang and Shangguan teach the previous limitations. Modified Yang further teaches that the main body portion comprises an expansion wall (note Figure above) connecting the connection portion to the air inlet and an extension wall (note Figure above) connecting the air inlet to the bearing wall (Fig. 1), wherein a transverse dimension of the expansion wall is larger than a transverse dimension of the extension wall (Fig. 1), the air inlet is arranged on a protruding region of the expansion wall that protrudes transversely from the extension wall (Fig. 1), and the extension wall is configured to extend axially forward from the bearing wall and is recessed transversely inward to form the pre-intake region (Fig. 1, Examiner noting that the bearing wall is at a transverse angle and similarly recessed with respect to the plane orthogonal to the axial direction of the blower).
Claim 5: Yang and Shangguan teach the previous limitations. Modified Yang further teaches that the expansion wall and the extension wall are of a substantially closed structure in the transverse direction (Fig. 1).
Claim 6: Yang and Shangguan teach the previous limitations. Modified Yang further teaches a plurality of flow guide portions (note grid sections of 14) spaced apart at the air inlet, wherein an extension direction of the plurality of flow guide portions is substantially parallel to an insertion/removal direction of the battery pack (Fig. 1).
Claim 7: Yang and Shangguan teach the previous limitations. Modified Yang further teaches that the plurality of flow guide portions are integrally formed with the main body portion (Fig. 1).
Claim 8: Yang and Shangguan teach the previous limitations. Modified Yang further teaches that a ratio of a maximum transverse dimension of the air inlet to a maximum transverse dimension of the main body portion is greater than or equal to 0.1 (Fig. 1).
Claim 9: Yang and Shangguan teach the previous limitations. Modified Yang further teaches that the housing comprises a handle portion (134) connecting the main body portion to the mounting portion (Fig. 1), wherein a bearing wall (see Figure above) connected to the mounting portion is provided at the axially rear end of the main body portion (Fig. 1), and comprises a first sidewall facing the handle portion (see Figure above) and a second sidewall facing the battery pack (see Figure above), wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall are located on opposite sides of the mounting portion in a vertical direction perpendicular to the axial direction and the transverse direction (Fig. 1).
Claim 10: Yang and Shangguan teach the previous limitations. Modified Yang further teaches that a projection of the air inlet along the vertical direction at least partially overlaps with a projection of the handle portion along the vertical direction (as can be appreciated from Fig. 2), and a projection of the air inlet along the axial direction at least partially overlaps with a projection of the battery pack along the axial direction (as can be appreciated from Fig. 2).
Claim 11: Shangguan discloses a blower (Fig. 1), comprising a housing (13) extending along an axial direction, the housing comprising a main body portion (note main housing around 12) and a mounting portion (see Figure below) connected to an axially rear end of the main body portion; a motor (11), at least partially housed within the main body portion; and a fan (12), driven by the motor to rotate to generate airflow (Fig. 2); wherein the blower comprises a pre-intake region (note space upstream of 14) and an air inlet (14) axially communicating interior and exterior of the housing, wherein the main body portion has a front edge a rear edge (note front and rear ends of main body portion in Fig. 1) and a wall continuously connecting the front edge to the rear edge in the axial direction (as can be appreciated from Fig. 1), the air inlet is axially positioned between the front edge and the rear edge and is spaced apart from the rear edge by a predetermined axial distance (see Fig. 1, above), and the predetermined axial distance is configured to form the pre-intake region (Fig. 1); wherein the mounting portion is disposed at an axially rear end of the rear edge of the main body portion (see Fig. 1, above).
Yang depicts using a battery pack that can be detachably connected to the housing (see pages 2-3 and Figure below) but is not explicit about the battery pack is detachably connected to the mounting portion along the axial direction. Yang is also not explicit about a blow pipe assembly connected to the housing, wherein the housing comprises a connection portion connected to the blow pipe assembly. However, Shangguan teaches a blower whose battery pack is detachably connected to the mounting portion along the axial direction (note in Fig. 1, battery pack receptacle at the back is situated to allow the battery pack to be detachably connected in the axial direction). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize the batter pack placement and the blow pipe arrangement as taught by Shangguan into the apparatus of Yang in order to more easily remove the battery pack (as the removal would not need to overcome the force of gravity).
Claim 12: Yang and Shangguan teach the previous limitations. Modified Yang further teaches that the main body portion comprises an expansion wall (see Figure 1, above), a bearing wall connected to the mounting portion (see Fig. 1, above), and an extension wall (see Figure 1, above) connecting the expansion wall with the bearing wall, wherein a transverse dimension of the expansion wall is larger than a transverse dimension of the extension wall (Fig. 1), and the air inlet is arranged on a protruding region of the expansion wall that protrudes laterally from the extension wall (Fig. 1).
Claim 13: Yang and Shangguan teach the previous limitations. Modified Yang further teaches that the bearing wall constitutes the rear edge (Fig. 1), wherein the extension wall extends axially forward from the bearing wall and is laterally indented to form the pre-intake region (Fig. 1), wherein the pre-intake region is positioned between the air inlet and the mounting portion (Fig. 1).
Claim 14: Yang and Shangguan teach the previous limitations. Modified Yang further teaches that the expansion wall and the extension wall form an enclosed structure in a transverse direction (Fig. 1), wherein the expansion wall, the air inlet, and the extension wall together form the pre-intake region (Fig. 1).
Claim 15: Yang and Shangguan teach the previous limitations. Modified Yang further teaches that the housing comprises a handle portion (134) connected to the main body portion (Figs. 1-2), wherein the handle portion comprises a first end and a second end spaced apart in the axial direction (Figs. 1-2), wherein the air inlet is axially positioned between the first end and the second end in the axial direction (Figs. 1-2).
Claim 16: Yang and Shangguan teach the previous limitations. Modified Yang further teaches that the air inlet comprises a first air inlet (note 14 on one side) positioned on one side of the handle portion and a second air inlet (note 14 on opposite side, see Fig. 3) positioned on another side of the handle portion, wherein an axial distance between the first air inlet and the rear edge forms a first pre-intake region (Fig. 1), and an axial distance between the second air inlet and the rear edge forms a second pre-intake region (see Figs. 1-3), wherein the first pre-intake region and the second pre- intake region are formed as open spaces without any physical barriers between the air inlet and the rear edge (Figs. 1-3).
Claim 17: Yang and Shangguan teach the previous limitations. Modified Yang further teaches that the battery pack is connected to the mounting portion, wherein an axial projection of the air inlet at least partially overlaps with an axial projection of the battery pack (as can be appreciated from Fig. 2).
Claim 18: Yang and Shangguan teach the previous limitations. Modified Yang further teaches that a ratio of a maximum transverse dimension of the air inlet to a maximum transverse dimension of the main body portion is greater than or equal to 0.1 (Fig. 1).
Claim 19: Yang discloses a blower (Fig. 1) comprising a housing (13) extending along an axial direction, the housing comprising a connection portion (note end near 15), a main body portion (note main housing around 12) connected to an axially rear side of the connection portion (Fig. 1), and a mounting portion (see Fig. 1, above) connected to a rear side of the main body portion; a handle portion (134) connected to the housing; and a drive assembly (11, 12) at least partially housed in the main body portion, the drive assembly comprising a motor (11) and a fan (12) driven by the motor to rotate to generate airflow; wherein the main body portion comprises a first air inlet (note 14 on one side) and a second air inlet (note inlet 14 on other side, Fig. 3) respectively located on opposite sides of the handle portion, wherein the first and second air inlets are open axially rearward (Fig. 1), an axial distance between the first air inlet and the mounting portion forms a first pre-intake region (see Fig. 1, above and Fig. 3) , and an axial distance between the second air inlet and the mounting portion forms a second pre-intake region (see Fig. 1, above and Fig. 3, wherein the first pre-intake region and the second pre-intake region are formed as open spaces without any physical barriers between the air inlet and the mounting portion (Fig. 3); wherein the first air inlet is separated from the second air inlet along a transverse direction perpendicular to the axial direction (Fig. 3).
Yang depicts using a battery pack that can be detachably connected to the housing (see pages 2-3 and Figure below) but is not explicit about the battery pack is detachably connected to the mounting portion along the axial direction. Yang is also not explicit about a blow pipe assembly connected to the housing, wherein the housing comprises a connection portion connected to the blow pipe assembly. However, Shangguan teaches a blower whose battery pack is detachably connected to the mounting portion along the axial direction (note in Fig. 1, battery pack receptacle at the back is situated to allow the battery pack to be detachably connected in the axial direction). Shangguan also teaches a blow pipe assembly (102) connected to a housing (10), wherein the housing comprises a connection portion (note connection portion between 10 and 102) connected to the blow pipe assembly. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize the batter pack placement and the blow pipe arrangement as taught by Shangguan into the apparatus of Yang in order to more easily remove the battery pack (as the removal would not need to overcome the force of gravity) as well as allow the airflow to be directed in a more targeted location.
Claim 20: Yang and Shangguan teach the previous limitations. Modified Yang further teaches that a transverse dimension of the main body is larger than a transverse dimension of the mounting portion (see Figs. 1-3), and the first pre-intake region and the second pre-intake region are formed between the mounting portion and a protruding region of the main body that protrudes laterally from the mounting portion (Fig. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner has newly relied upon the Yang, Shangguan and Goldstein references.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746