Detailed Action
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and its dependents are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1, line 7, the phrase “rear end the connection portion” should be changed to “rear end of the connection portion”. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
BLOWER HOUSING WITH PRE-INTAKE ARRANGEMENT
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “drive assembly” in claims 1 and 19; “connection portion”, “main body portion” and “mounting portion” in claims 1, 11 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall (US 6,490,756) in view of Zhu (US20180140146A1).
Claim 1: Marshall discloses a blower (Figs. 1-4) comprising a housing (10) extending along an axial direction (Fig. 1); a battery pack connected to the housing (see col. 2, lines 60-63); a drive assembly (32/33) at least partially housed within the housing (Fig. 3); and a blow pipe assembly (22) connected to the housing (Fig. 3), wherein the housing comprises a connection portion (14) connected to the blow pipe assembly, a main body portion (note main body portion of 12a to 30) connected to a rear end the connection portion (Fig. 3), and a mounting portion (12b) connected to the main body portion (Fig. 3), and wherein the drive assembly comprises a motor (32/33) and a fan (28) driven by the motor to generate airflow flowing through the blow pipe assembly (Fig. 3); wherein the main body portion comprises an air inlet (see Figure below) and a pre-intake region (see Figs. 1-2, note region 20) located axially behind the air inlet, wherein the pre-intake region is located on two sides of the mounting portion in a transverse direction perpendicular to the axial direction (Figs. 1-3).
Marshall mentions alternative power sources such as a battery (see col. 2, lines 62-63) but is not explicit about the battery pack being detachable. However, Zhu teaches a blower which uses a detachable battery pack (Fig. 1, note 60 which couples/decouples with 40; see also paragraph 26). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a battery as taught by Zhu into the apparatus of Marshall in order to allow an operator the freedom of not needing to be near a power plug outlet.
Claim 2: Marshall and Zhu teach the previous limitations. Marshall further discloses that the air inlet and the pre-intake region are axially located between the mounting portion and the connection portion (see Figure above).
Claim 3: Marshall and Zhu teach the previous limitations. Marshall further discloses that the main body portion comprises a bearing wall (see Figure above) located at the rear end thereof and connected to the mounting portion (see Figure above), wherein the air inlet is configured to open axially rearward (see Figure above), and an axial spacing between the bearing wall and the air inlet forms the pre-intake region (see Figure above).
Claim 4: Marshall and Zhu teach the previous limitations. Marshall further discloses that the main body portion comprises an expansion wall connecting the connection portion to the air inlet (see Figure above) and an extension wall connecting the air inlet to the bearing wall (see Figure above), wherein a transverse dimension of the expansion wall is larger than a transverse dimension of the extension wall (see Figure above), the air inlet is arranged on a protruding region of the expansion wall that protrudes transversely from the extension wall (see Figure above), and the extension wall is configured to extend axially forward from the bearing wall and is recessed transversely inward to form the pre-intake region (see Figure above).
Claim 5: Marshall and Zhu teach the previous limitations. Marshall further discloses that the expansion wall and the extension wall are of a substantially closed structure in the transverse direction (see Figure above).
Claim 11: Marshall discloses a blower (Figs. 1-4) comprising a housing (1) extending along an axial direction (Fig. 1), the housing comprising a main body portion (note main body portion of 12a to 30) and a mounting portion (12b) connected to an axially rear end of the main body portion (Fig. 3); a power input (note power input near 26) connected to the mounting portion (Fig. 3); a motor (32/33), at least partially housed within the main body portion (Fig. 3); and a fan (28), driven by the motor to rotate to generate airflow (Fig. 3); wherein the blower comprises a pre-intake region (see Figs. 1-2, note region 20) and an air inlet (see Figure 3 below) axially communicating interior and exterior of the housing (Fig. 3), wherein the main body portion has a front edge and a rear edge in the axial direction (see Figure 3 below), and the air inlet is axially positioned between the front edge and the rear edge and is spaced apart from the rear edge by a predetermined axial distance (see Figure 3 below), and the predetermined axial distance is configured to form the pre-intake region (see Figure 3 below).
Marshall mentions alternative power sources such as a battery (see col. 2, lines 62-63) but is not explicit about the battery pack being detachable. However, Zhu teaches a blower which uses a detachable battery pack (Fig. 1, note 60 which couples/decouples with 40; see also paragraph 26). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a battery as taught by Zhu into the apparatus of Marshall in order to allow an operator the freedom of not needing to be near a power plug outlet.
Claim 12: Marshall and Zhu teach the previous limitations. Marshall further discloses that the main body portion comprises an expansion wall (see Figure 3 above), a bearing wall connected to the mounting portion (see Figure 3 above), and an extension wall connecting the expansion wall with the bearing wall (see Figure 3, above), wherein a transverse dimension of the expansion wall is larger than a transverse dimension of the extension wall (see Figure 3, above), and the air inlet is arranged on a protruding region of the expansion wall that protrudes laterally from the extension wall (see Figure above).
Claim 13: Marshall and Zhu teach the previous limitations. Marshall further discloses that the bearing wall constitutes the rear edge (see Figure 3, above), wherein the extension wall extends axially forward from the bearing wall and is laterally indented to form the pre-intake region (see Figure 3, above), wherein the pre-intake region is positioned between the air inlet and the mounting portion (see Figure 3, above).
Claim 14: Marshall and Zhu teach the previous limitations. Marshall further discloses that the expansion wall and the extension wall form an enclosed structure in a transverse direction (see Figure 3, above and Figure 2), wherein the expansion wall, the air inlet, and the extension wall together form the pre-intake region (see Fig. 3, above and Figure 2).
Claim 15: Marshall and Zhu teach the previous limitations. Marshall further discloses that the housing comprises a handle portion (16) connected to the main body portion, wherein the handle portion comprises a first end (note end near 12) and a second end (note end near 24) spaced apart in the axial direction, wherein the air inlet is axially positioned between the first end and the second end in the axial direction (Fig. 3).
Claim 16: Marshall and Zhu teach the previous limitations. Marshall further discloses that the air inlet comprises a first air inlet positioned on one side of the handle portion and a second air inlet positioned on another side of the handle portion (see Figs. 2-3, note inlet portions 20 that are situated on both side directions of the handle), wherein an axial distance between the first air inlet and the rear edge forms a first pre-intake region (see Figs. 2-3), and an axial distance between the second air inlet and the rear edge forms a second pre-intake region (Figs. 2-3), wherein the first pre-intake region and the second pre-intake region are formed as open spaces without any physical barriers between the air inlet and the rear edge (see Figure below).
Claim 17: Marshall and Zhu teach the previous limitations. Marshall further discloses that the battery pack is connected to the mounting portion, wherein an axial projection of the air inlet at least partially overlaps with an axial projection of the battery pack (see Figure 3, above; Examiner noting that the plug interface space, which will be occupied by the battery, shares overlap with portion of the inlet around 20).
Claim 18: Marshall and Zhu teach the previous limitations. Marshall further discloses that a ratio of a maximum transverse dimension of the air inlet to a maximum transverse dimension of the main body portion is greater than or equal to 0.1 (note Figs. 2-3, Examiner noting that the radial extension of main body portion near the inlet well exceeds the width of the inlet, therefore exceeding a 1:1 ratio which is greater than .1).
Claim(s) 1 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall (US 6,490,756) in view of Yamaoka (US 9,603,497).
Claim 1: Marshall discloses a blower (Figs. 1-4) comprising a housing (10) extending along an axial direction (Fig. 1); a battery pack connected to the housing (see col. 2, lines 60-63); a drive assembly (32/33) at least partially housed within the housing (Fig. 3); and a blow pipe assembly (22) connected to the housing (Fig. 3), wherein the housing comprises a connection portion (14) connected to the blow pipe assembly, a main body portion (note main body portion of 12a to 30) connected to a rear end the connection portion (Fig. 3), and a mounting portion (12b) connected to the main body portion (Fig. 3), and wherein the drive assembly comprises a motor (32/33) and a fan (28) driven by the motor to generate airflow flowing through the blow pipe assembly (Fig. 3); wherein the main body portion comprises an air inlet (see Figure 3 below) and a pre-intake region (see Figs. 1-2, note region 20) located axially behind the air inlet, wherein the pre-intake region is located on two sides of the mounting portion in a transverse direction perpendicular to the axial direction (Figs. 1-3).
Marshall mentions alternative power sources such as a battery (see col. 2, lines 62-63) but is not explicit about the battery pack being detachable. However, Yamaoka teaches a blower which uses a detachable battery pack (Fig. 1, note battery 50 which couples/decouples with the housing in an axial direction). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a battery as taught by Yamaoka into the apparatus of Marshall in order to allow an operator the freedom of not needing to be near a power plug outlet.
Claim 6: Marshall and Yamaoka teach the previous limitations. Marshall further discloses that the blower comprises a plurality of flow guide portions (note flow guide portions 20 which have an extension component in the axial direction) spaced apart at the air inlet; as modified with the teachings of Yamaoka, the extension direction (in the general axial direction) of the plurality of flow guide portions will be substantially parallel to the insertion/removal direction of the battery pack.
Claim 7: Marshall and Yamaoka teach the previous limitations. Marshall further discloses that the plurality of flow guide portions are integrally formed with the main body portion (see Figure above).
Claim 8: Marshall and Yamaoka teach the previous limitations. Marshall further discloses that a ratio of a maximum transverse dimension of the air inlet to a maximum transverse dimension of the main body portion is greater than or equal to 0.1 (note Figs. 2-3, Examiner noting that the radial extension of main body portion near the inlet well exceeds the width of the inlet, therefore exceeding a 1:1 ratio which is greater than .1).
Claim 9: Marshall and Yamaoka teach the previous limitations. Marshall further discloses that the housing comprises a handle portion (16) connecting the main body portion to the mounting portion (see Figure above), wherein a bearing wall connected to the mounting portion is provided at the axially rear end of the main body portion (see Figure above), and comprises a first sidewall facing the handle portion (see Figure 2 below) and a second sidewall facing the battery pack (see Figure 2 below), wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall are located on opposite sides of the mounting portion in a vertical direction perpendicular to the axial direction and the transverse direction (see Figure 2 below).
Claim 10: Marshall and Yamaoka teach the previous limitations. Marshall further discloses that a projection of the air inlet along the vertical direction at least partially overlaps with a projection of the handle portion along the vertical direction (see Figure 3, above), and a projection of the air inlet along the axial direction at least partially overlaps with a projection of the battery pack along the axial direction (see Figure 3, above, Examiner noting that the plug interface space, which will be occupied by the battery, shares overlap with portion of the inlet around 20).
Claim(s) 11 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Liu (CN207331576AU) in view of Zhu (US20180140146A1).
Claim 11: Liu discloses a blower (Figs. 1-3) comprising a housing (Figs. 1-3, note exterior form of the blower) extending along an axial direction (Fig. 1), the housing comprising a main body portion (110/120) and a mounting portion (see Figure below) connected to an axially rear end of the main body portion (Fig. 3); a motor (141/151), at least partially housed within the main body portion (Fig. 3); and a fan (151), driven by the motor to rotate to generate airflow (Fig. 3); wherein the blower comprises a pre-intake region (see Figure below) and an air inlet (111/120) axially communicating interior and exterior of the housing (Fig. 3), wherein the main body portion has a front edge and a rear edge in the axial direction (see Figure below), and the air inlet is axially positioned between the front edge and the rear edge and is spaced apart from the rear edge by a predetermined axial distance (see Figure below), and the predetermined axial distance is configured to form the pre-intake region (see Figure below).
Liu is not explicit about the battery pack being detachably connected to the mounting portion. However, Zhu teaches a blower which uses a detachable battery pack (Fig. 1, note 60 which couples/decouples with 40; see also paragraph 26) which is detachably connected to a mounting portion. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a battery as taught by Zhu into the apparatus of Liu in order to allow an operator the freedom of not needing to be near a power plug outlet.
Claim 19: Liu discloses a blower (Figs. 1-3) comprising a housing (Figs. 1-3, note exterior form of the blower) extending along an axial direction, the housing comprising a connection portion (see Figure above), a main body portion (110/120) connected to an axially rear side of the connection portion (Fig. 3), and a mounting portion (see Figure below) connected to a rear side of the main body portion (Fig. 3); a blow pipe assembly (see Figure above) connected to the connection portion (Fig. 3); a handle portion (Fig. 2, note handle on left side) connected to the housing; and a drive assembly (141/151) at least partially housed in the main body portion (Fig. 3), the drive assembly comprising a motor (141) and a fan (151) driven by the motor to rotate to generate airflow flowing through the blow pipe assembly (Fig. 3); wherein the main body portion comprises a first air inlet (left side 111/120) and a second air inlet (right 111/120) respectively located on opposite sides of the handle portion (Figs. 1-3), wherein the first and second air inlets are open axially rearward (note 162), an axial distance between the first air inlet and the mounting portion forms a first pre-intake region (see Figure above), and an axial distance between the second air inlet and the mounting portion forms a second pre-intake region (see Figure above), wherein the first pre-intake region and the second pre-intake region are formed as open spaces without any physical barriers between the air inlet and the mounting portion (Fig. 3).
Liu is not explicit about the battery pack being detachably connected to the mounting portion. However, Zhu teaches a blower which uses a detachable battery pack (Fig. 1, note 60 which couples/decouples with 40; see also paragraph 26) which is detachably connected to a mounting portion. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a battery as taught by Zhu into the apparatus of Liu in order to allow an operator the freedom of not needing to be near a power plug outlet.
Claim 20: Liu and Zhu teach the previous limitations. Liu further discloses that a transverse dimension of the main body is larger than a transverse dimension of the mounting portion (see Figure above) and that the first pre-intake region and the second pre-intake region are formed between the mounting portion and a protruding region (note possible protruding regions of 120, 161, bottom lip of 110, etc.) of the main body that protrudes laterally from the mounting portion (see Figure above).
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746