DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement(s) filed on 6/27/2025 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form or PTO/SB/08A and 08B forms).
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 line 1 has the “a” before “second transmitter” crossed out, but this appears to be a typographical error, and the “a” should be included. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "a first amplifier stage" in line 2, but it is unclear whether this refers to the “first amplifier stage” in claim 1, line 5, since the same term is used in both claims, but appear to refer to different features. It is suggested to applicant to differentiate the term in claim 7 using a modifier such as “secondary.”
Claim 7, lines 5-7, also rectie terms “a hysteresis stage,” “a current source,” and “a second amplifier” that duplicate the terminology of features in the first receiver of claim 1. It is also suggested to applicant to amend these terms in claim 7 using “secondary” to distinguish these limitations from those of claim 1.
Claim 7 is unclear and indefinite.
Claims 8-9 are dependent on claim 7, and are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marsh et al. (US 2005/0246125).
Regarding claim 1, Marsh et al. discloses a Universal Serial Bus (USB) repeater, comprising:
a first channel including a first receiver and a first transmitter having differential outputs (differential driver circuit to transmit a differential output signal and a differential receiver circuit to receive said differential output circuit, see claim 1 of Marsh et al. ), the first receiver having:
differential inputs (inherent in differential receiver is coupled to differential output node and receives differential output signal (see claim 1 of Marsh et al.);
a first amplifier stage, having first and second inputs coupled to the differential inputs, and having first and second outputs coupled to first and second load devices (differential receiver circuit comprises a differential amplifier coupled to said differential output node and adapted to receive said differential output signal; and also coupled to both built-in offset voltage comparator and output stage, see claim 11 of Marsh et al.); and
a hysteresis stage (said differential receiver further comprises a second built-in offset voltage comparator circuit, and first and second comparator circuits form a hysteresis comparator, i.e. “hysteresis stage”, see claim 12 of Marsh et al.).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,563,462. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims disclose all of the claimed subject matter of the present application.
Claims 1-5, 7-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, 7, 10-14 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,984,941. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims disclose all of the claimed subject matter of the present application.
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,375,127. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims disclose all of the claimed subject matter of the present application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kumar et al. (US 2004/0155689) discloses differential input receivers with hysteresis to achieve higher immunity to noise.
/David S Huang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 9/19/2026